Regulatory Interpretation Policy

General

The Department's Regulatory Interpretation Policy is an overarching document that outlines the commitments, practices, and tools to be applied by Fisheries and Oceans Canada when providing Canadians and businesses with information and guidance on regulations and regulatory obligations to be met. It also identifies the conditions under which written responses to questions will be provided.

Departmental context

Fisheries and Oceans Canada intends to serve the public interest by managing Canada's fisheries and safeguarding its waters through its legislative and regulatory framework. This will be achieved through sound science, forward-looking policy, and operational and service excellence. 

Fisheries and Oceans Canada employees work collaboratively toward the following three strategic outcomes:

To help the Department develop clear and enforceable regulatory requirements in a collaborative manner; to promote and enforce compliance with regulatory requirements; and, to respond to stakeholder questions, DFO has developed several policy instruments. Examples of these policy instruments include, but are not limited to:

  • Fisheries Protection Policyapplies to proponents of existing or proposed works, undertakings or activities (hereafter referred to as projects) that are likely to result in impacts to fish or fish habitat that are part of or support commercial, recreational or Aboriginal fisheries, including projects that have the potential to affect the passage of fish or modify the flow of watercourses. The Fisheries Protection Policy Statement will be used by officials of the Department and the Department's regulatory partners when administering the fisheries protection provisions of the Fisheries Act.
  • Applicant's Guide to Submitting an Application for Authorization under Paragraph 35(2)(b) of the Fisheries ActThis guide is intended to provide an applicant seeking a Paragraph 35(2)(b) Fisheries Act authorization, with guidance to develop and submit an application in accordance with the Applications for Authorization under paragraph 35(2)(b) of the Fisheries Act Regulations.
  • British Columbia Tidal Waters Sport Fishing Guide (PDF 2,52 MB) and British Columbia Freshwater Salmon Supplement (PDF 1,24 MB): explains the British Columbia Sport Fishing Regulations, 1996 in plain language along with the baseline closure and limit information.
  • How to Package and Transport your Catch: sets out the methods harvesters may use to meet the fish identification requirements in s. 36 of the Fishery (General) Regulations.
  • National Code on Introductions and Transfers of Aquatic Organismsassists clients interested in moving aquatic organisms understand the specific scope and specific federal and provincial requirements necessary for the movement of live aquatic organisms in Canada. The 2003 version of the Code is currently available to the public (on the DFO website) but a renewed Code will be made public and implemented to coincide with the pending implementation of domestic movement controls of National Aquatic Animal Health Program. 

These policy instruments encourage consistency and predictability and lead to the consistent interpretation or application of regulations by DFO's officials, as well as the compliance with regulatory requirements by stakeholders.

Other documents that guide stakeholders on how to comply with the regulations include:

  • Integrated Fishery Management Plans for commercial, recreational and aboriginal fisheries, which contain information on enforcement.
  • Licences to fish, which contain conditions for commercial fisheries and set out in detail the actions required to fish in line with fisheries management measures in keeping with the proper management, conservation and protection of the resources. 

Predictability:

Plain language commitment

Fisheries and Oceans Canada commits to:

  1. use plain language in developing regulatory guidance;
  2. develop and link Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) to the department's most accessed regulations on its Acts and regulations web pages, and to regularly update these FAQs to reflect reoccurring stakeholder questions;
  3. develop FAQs whenever a new regulatory initiative with an impact on business is proposed; and
  4. develop FAQs for areas identified by stakeholders as problematic during the 2014-15 consultation on Interpretation Policy.

Providing guidance and building awareness

DFO communicates regularly with its stakeholders through a variety of means to facilitate the development of guidance documentation, and more broadly to ensure awareness of regulatory compliance requirements.  In addition to the above-mentioned policy instruments, Fisheries and Oceans Canada reaches out to regulatees through a variety of tools such as:

  • Federal web pages
  • Regular meetings with stakeholder organizations
  • Direct communication with individual project proponents
  • Signage related to closed fishing areas
  • Local radio and newspaper advertisements
  • Presentations to school groups on the various fisheries and on how they are regulated
  • Attending fairs, sport and leisure shows, etc. to hand out pamphlets and information sheets on compliance and enforcement

Responding to questions

Fisheries and Oceans Canada is committed to considering and issuing a timely, accurate and helpful response to specific enquiries that stakeholders may have. Enquiries received by the Department will be acknowledged within two business days, to inform stakeholders that their submission has been received and is currently being considered by the Department.

This time commitment does not apply to regulatory enquiries that already have a service standard developed, such as those service standards developed for high volume regulatory authorisations. In this instance, the service standards developed for high volume regulatory authorisations would take the place of the two business day commitment.

Regulatory enquiries made directly to the Minister or the Minister's Office are subject to alternate procedures and service standards, and the two business day time commitment does not apply.

Comments received regarding Departmental proposals that have been pre-published in the Canada Gazette, Part I or comments received regarding specific Departmental consultations are subject to alternate procedures, and the two business day time commitment does not apply.

Please note that the time it takes to provide any substantive responses will vary depending on the complexity of the issue. Responses will be made to stakeholders in the form that they are made, whether orally or in writing, or as appropriate.

Service

Service commitment

Fisheries and Oceans Canada pledges to serve you with respect and courtesy; offer accurate, timely and helpful service; and address your requests quickly and effectively.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada commits to provide quality service to clients, companies, government departments, local government, interest groups and individuals. This commitment applies to all services Fisheries and Oceans Canada offers: in person, via the Internet, by email, through written correspondence or over the telephone.

Service accountability

Fisheries and Oceans Canada encourages stakeholders to address their issues by contacting either an identified departmental contact or by calling a communication center or the nearest enforcement office, as applicable.

Staff training

Fisheries and Oceans Canada staff receive on-going training to ensure that their officials have the necessary skills and technical knowledge to provide quality service and accurate regulatory guidance. Standard Operating Procedures (SOPs) and development of Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) promotes a consistent approach to deliver high quality, professional services and to provide information on regulatory requirements.

Stakeholder engagement

Commitment to stakeholder engagement

Fisheries and Oceans Canada commits to engage stakeholders, as appropriate, when developing, reviewing or refining practices and materials for providing information and guidance on regulatory compliance and answering questions.

Stakeholder engagement mechanisms

Fisheries and Oceans Canada communicates regularly with its stakeholders through a variety of means in the regulatory development process.  For example, consultation opportunities may be found on the Consulting with Canadians website and also on the Fisheries and Oceans Canada Forward Regulatory Plan.

Improvement

Fisheries and Oceans Canada commits to:

  1. consult with the stakeholders in 2014-15 through the existing consultation mechanisms and ask for feedback on the current Regulatory Interpretation Policy;
  2. identify by March 31st, 2015, the areas where improvement can be made, as well as the measures for evaluating their implementation; and,
  3. review information received and implement improvements over two years and then update Canadians on our performance in implementing these improvements by March 31st, 2017. 

Related report

For more information

To learn about upcoming or ongoing consultations on proposed federal regulations, visit the Canada Gazette and Consulting with Canadians websites.

Date modified:

Politique en matière d'interprétation des règlements

Généralités

La Politique ministérielle d'interprétation des règlements constitue un document général qui décrit les engagements, les pratiques et les outils qui doivent être appliqués par Pêches et Océans Canada lorsqu'il offre aux Canadiens et aux entreprises de l'information et des directives au sujet des règlements et des obligations réglementaires à respecter. Ce document définit également les conditions dans lesquelles les réponses écrites aux questions seront fournies.

Contexte ministériel

Pêches et Océans Canada entend servir l'intérêt public par la gestion des pêches canadiennes et la préservation de ses eaux au moyen de son cadre législatif et réglementaire. Cela sera réalisé grâce à une politique scientifique saine et proactive ainsi qu'à l'excellence des opérations et des services.

Les employés de Pêches et Océans Canada travaillent en étroite collaboration afin d'atteindre les trois résultats stratégiques suivants :

Afin d'aider le Ministère à élaborer des exigences réglementaires applicables de manière collaborative, en favorisant et en appliquant la conformité aux exigences réglementaires et en répondant aux questions des intervenants, le MPO a élaboré plusieurs instruments de politiques. Les instruments de politiques comprennent notamment :

  • La Politique sur la protection des pêches : s'applique aux promoteurs des travaux, des ouvrages et des activités existants ou proposés (ci-après appelés les projets) qui sont susceptibles d'avoir des répercussions sur le poisson ou sur son habitat et qui sont visés par une pêche commerciale, récréative ou autochtone ou qui la soutiennent, y compris les projets qui sont susceptibles d'avoir une incidence sur le passage du poisson ou de modifier le débit des cours d'eau. L'Énoncé de politique sur la protection des pêches sera utilisé par les représentants du Ministère et par les partenaires en matière de réglementation du Ministère au moment de gérer les dispositions de protection des pêches de la Loi sur les pêches.
  • Le Guide pour soumettre une demande d'autorisation visée à l'alinéa 35(2)b) de la Loi sur les Pêches : vise à offrir au demandeur d'une autorisation visée à l'alinéa 35(2)b) de la Loi sur les Pêches, avec des directives pour préparer et présenter une demande conformément au Règlement de l'alinéa 35(2)b) de la Loi sur les Pêches.
  • Le Guide de la pêche sportive dans les eaux à marées de la Colombie-Britannique (PDF, 2,52 Mo) et le document Pêche en eau douce – Supplément Saumon (PDF, 1,24 Mo) : expliquent le Règlement de pêche sportive de la Colombie-Britannique (1996) dans un langage clair et fournissent l'information de base sur les fermetures et les limites.
  • Le guide Comment emballer correctement votre poisson pour le transport : définit les méthodes pouvant être utilisées par les pêcheurs pour satisfaire aux exigences d'identification du poisson décrites dans l'article 36 du Règlement de pêche (dispositions générales).
  • Le Code national sur l'introduction et le transfert d'organismes aquatiques : aide les clients qui souhaitent déplacer des organismes aquatiques à comprendre la portée et les exigences fédérales et provinciales particulières qui sont nécessaires au déplacement des organismes aquatiques vivants au Canada. La version de 2003 du Code est actuellement accessible au public (sur le site Web du MPO), mais une nouvelle version sera publiée et mise en œuvre en même temps que le lancement des mesures de contrôle du déplacement à l'échelle nationale du Programme national sur la santé des animaux aquatiques.

Ces instruments de politique encouragent l'uniformité et la prévisibilité et permettent l'interprétation ou l'application cohérente des règlements de la part des représentants du MPO, ainsi que le respect des exigences réglementaires de la part des intervenants.

Les autres documents qui orientent les intervenants sur la façon de satisfaire aux règlements sont les suivants :

  • Les plans de gestion intégrée des pêches pour les pêches commerciales, récréatives et autochtones, lesquels contiennent de l'information au sujet des mesures d'application de la loi.
  • Les permis de pêche, lesquels comportent les conditions à respecter pour la pêche commerciale, en accord avec les mesures de gestion des pêches qui reflètent la gestion judicieuse, la conservation et la protection de la ressource.

Prévisibilité

Engagement d'employer un langage clair

Pêches et Océans Canada s'engage :

  1. à employer un langage clair lors de l'élaboration de directives réglementaires;
  2. à élaborer une foire aux questions (FAQ) et mettre un lien vers celle-ci sur les pages Web des lois et règlements du Ministère, particulièrement sur celles des règlements les plus consultés; mettre ces questions à jour de façon régulière afin de refléter les questions récurrentes des intervenants;
  3. à élaborer une FAQ chaque fois qu'une nouvelle initiative réglementaire ayant une incidence sur les entreprises est proposée;
  4. à élaborer une FAQ pour les secteurs décrits comme posant problème par les intervenants pendant la consultation de 2014-2015 sur la politique d'interprétation des règlements.

Donner des directives et accroître la sensibilisation

Le MPO communique régulièrement avec ses intervenants par différents moyens afin de faciliter l'élaboration de documents d'orientation et, de façon plus générale, de faire connaître les exigences en matière de respect de la réglementation. En plus des instruments de politiques mentionnés plus haut, Pêches et Océans Canada communique avec les entités réglementées par l'intermédiaire d'une variété d'outils, tels que :

  • Pages Web du gouvernement fédéral
  • Réunions régulières avec les organisations des intervenants
  • Communication directe avec les promoteurs de projets individuels
  • Signalisation liée aux zones de pêche fermées
  • Publicités à la radio et dans les journaux de la région
  • Présentations à des groupes scolaires des diverses pêches et de la façon dont elles sont réglementées
  • Participation à des foires, à des salons du sport et des loisirs, etc., pour distribuer des brochures et des fiches de renseignements au sujet de la conformité et de la mise en application

Répondre aux questions

Pêches et Océans Canada s'engage à tenir compte des questions particulières des intervenants et à y offrir des réponses opportunes, exactes et utiles. On accusera réception des demandes dans les deux jours ouvrables afin d'indiquer aux intervenants que leur question a été reçue et qu'elle est en cours d'étude par le Ministère.

Ce délai ne s'applique pas aux demandes réglementaires pour lesquelles il existe déjà une norme de service, comme les normes de service élaborées pour les autorisations réglementaires à demande élevée. Dans ce cas, les normes de service élaborées pour les autorisations réglementaires à demande élevée s'appliqueraient après l'engagement de deux jours ouvrables.

Les demandes réglementaires transmises directement à la ministre ou au Bureau de la ministre sont assujetties à d'autres procédures et normes de service, et le délai de deux jours ouvrables ne s'y applique pas.

Les commentaires concernant les propositions du Ministère qui ont été publiées préalablement dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie I et les commentaires concernant des consultations ministérielles précises sont assujettis à d'autres procédures, et le délai de deux jours ouvrables ne s'y applique pas.

Il convient de noter que le temps nécessaire pour fournir les réponses substantives variera selon la complexité de la question. Les réponses seront fournies aux intervenants de la manière dont la question a été posée, que ce soit à l'oral, à l'écrit, etc.

Service

Engagement en matière de service

Pêches et Océans Canada met tout en œuvre pour vous servir avec respect et courtoisie, offrir un service précis, opportun et utile et répondre à vos demandes de manière rapide et efficace.

Pêches et Océans Canada s'engage à offrir un service de qualité aux clients, entreprises, ministères, gouvernements locaux, groupes d'intérêts et personnes. Cet engagement s'applique à tous les services offerts par Pêches et Océans Canada : en personne, sur Internet, par courriel, par correspondance écrite ou par téléphone.

Responsabilisation en matière de service

Pêches et Océans Canada encourage les intervenants à résoudre leurs difficultés en communiquant avec une personne-ressource du Ministère désignée ou en appelant un centre de communications ou le bureau d'application de la loi le plus proche, au besoin.

Formation du personnel

Pêches et Océans Canada fournit à ses employés une formation continue afin de s'assurer que ses représentants possèdent les compétences nécessaires et les connaissances techniques leur permettant de fournir un service de qualité et des directives réglementaires exactes. Les procédures normales d'exploitation (PNE) et l'élaboration de foires aux questions (FAQ) favorisent une approche cohérente de manière à offrir des services professionnels de haute qualité, ainsi que de l'information au sujet des exigences réglementaires.

Mobilisation des intervenants

Engagement envers la mobilisation des intervenants

Pêches et Océans Canada s'engage à mobiliser les intervenants, au besoin, au moment d'élaborer, d'examiner ou d'améliorer les pratiques et les documents afin d'offrir de l'information et des directives au sujet de la conformité réglementaire et des réponses aux questions.

Mécanismes de mobilisation des intervenants

Pêches et Océans Canada communique régulièrement avec ses intervenants par des moyens divers au cours du processus d'élaboration de règlements. Par exemple, des occasions de consultation se trouvent sur le site Web Consultations auprès des Canadiens, ainsi que dans le plan de réglementation prospectif de Pêches et Océans Canada.

Amélioration

Pêches et Océans Canada s'engage à :

  1. consulter les intervenants en 2014-2015 par l'intermédiaire des mécanismes de consultation existants et demander de la rétroaction au sujet de la politique d'interprétation des règlements actuelle;
  2. déterminer avant le 31 mars 2015 les domaines à améliorer, ainsi que les mesures permettant d'évaluer leur mise en œuvre;
  3. passer en revue l'information reçue et mettre en œuvre les améliorations sur deux ans, puis aviser les Canadiens de notre capacité à mettre en œuvre ces améliorations avant le 31 mars 2017. 

Rapport connexe

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements :

Pour en savoir plus au sujet des consultations en cours et à venir sur la réglementation fédérale proposée, consultez les sites Web de la Gazette du Canada et de Consultation auprès des Canadiens.

Date de modification