About introductions and transfers

What are “introductions and transfers”?

Introductions are the releases of fish or shellfish into waters outside its present range.

Transfers are the releases of fish or shellfish into other waters within its present range.

The planned movement of live aquatic organisms (i.e., fish, shellfish and plants, through introductions or transfers) supports aquaculture, commercial and recreational fisheries, stock enhancement, research, education, and ecological restoration. These movements are regulated to ensure that environmental impacts are limited.

The National Code on Introductions and Transfers of Aquatic Organisms provides federal, territorial and provincial governments with a consistent process for assessing potential impacts of moving aquatic organisms from one water body or facility to another. This process enables each jurisdiction to work with applicants to minimize the risks of unintentionally spreading diseases or pests, altering the genetic makeup of native species, or otherwise negatively impacting surrounding ecosystems. The Code and the establishment of Introductions and Transfers Committees provide a good example of federal, territorial and provincial collaboration that results in increased environmental sustainability.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada administers the Code under the Fishery (General) Regulations and issues licences to authorize the intentional release and transfer of live aquatic organisms into fish-bearing waters or fish-rearing facilities in all provinces and territories, except in Quebec (in freshwater), Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, and Alberta where provincial officials authorize those activities.

Learn more:

À propos des introductions et des transferts

Définition des termes « introduction » et « transfert »

Introduction : Libération de poissons, de mollusques ou de crustacés dans des eaux situées à l'extérieur de leur aire de répartition actuelle.

Transfert :Libération de poissons, de mollusques ou de crustacés dans d'autres eaux de leur aire de répartition actuelle.

Le déplacement délibéré d'organismes aquatiques vivants (c.-à-d. de poissons, de mollusques et crustacés, et de plantes) par des introductions ou des transferts soutient l'aquaculture, les pêches commerciales et récréatives, la mise en valeur des stocks, la recherche, la sensibilisation, ainsi que la restauration écologique. Ces déplacements sont réglementés pour limiter les impacts environnementaux.

Le Code national sur l'introduction et le transfert d'organismes aquatiques fournit aux gouvernements fédéral, territoriaux et provinciaux une procédure cohérente pour évaluer les impacts possibles du déplacement d'organismes aquatiques d'un plan d'eau ou d'une installation à un(e) autre. Cette procédure permet à chaque administration de collaborer avec les demandeurs afin de réduire les risques de propagation accidentelle des maladies ou des parasites, de modification de la constitution génétique des espèces indigènes ou d'avoir d'autres répercussions négatives sur les écosystèmes environnants. Le Code et la création de Comités des introductions et des transferts constituent un bon exemple de collaboration fédérale, provinciale et territoriale qui assure une durabilité environnementale accrue.

Pêches et Océans Canada gère le Code en vertu du Règlement de pêche (dispositions générales) et délivre des permis qui autorisent le rejet ou le transfert délibéré d'organismes aquatiques vivants dans des eaux où vivent des poissons et des installations d'élevage de poissons de toutes les provinces et tous les territoires, à l'exception du Québec (en eau douce), de l'Ontario, du Manitoba, de la Saskatchewan et de l'Alberta (provinces où des agents provinciaux sont responsables de l'autorisation de ces activités).

Pour plus de renseignements :