Language selection

Search

Canada and United States cooperate on marine aquaculture

Canada and the United States are committed to responsible aquaculture that supports jobs in coastal and rural communities on both sides of the border. Ensuring that the environmental impacts of marine net pen aquaculture on fish habitat, water quality, and wild fish populations are minimized is of significant importance to both governments.

The completion of the Regulatory Cooperation Council (RCC) Aquaculture Work Plan is a significant accomplishment for Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) as part of the Government of Canada’s interest in bilateral regulatory alignment and cooperation with the U.S.

The RCC is a high-level initiative that seeks to increase regulatory coordination and transparency between Canada and the U.S., while promoting economic growth and job creation for the benefit of both countries.

Both countries recognize that their regulatory regimes for net pen aquaculture, while different in design, lead to similar outcomes. This is important for Canada and the U.S. as it demonstrates that both countries have confidence in how the other manages net pen aquaculture.

As a result of Canada-United States RCC work, a joint study report was produced on the regulatory regimes for net pen aquaculture in Canada and the United States. The report found our regulatory regimes for net pen aquaculture to be similar in design, with both regimes leading to the production of healthy and sustainable farmed salmon while protecting wild fisheries and the aquatic environment. To receive an accessible copy of this report from Fisheries and Oceans Canada, email us at AMD-DGGA.XNCR@dfo-mpo.gc.ca.

A report on Regulatory Development Initiatives for Offshore Aquaculture in the United States was also completed.

DFO and National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) made a commitment to continue with regular bilateral discussions on aquaculture now that RCC work is complete. This will help to increase collaboration to protect North America’s aquatic environment and fish health, and facilitate the mutual exchange of knowledge and expertise on aquaculture.

Background

Building on the existing bilateral relationship and expertise in both countries, DFO and NOAA undertook greater cooperation in the environmental management of the marine net pen aquaculture sector under four specific work streams between 2015 and 2018:

  1. Comparison of regulatory environmental management objectives and outcomes for net-pen aquaculture;
  2. Cooperation on farmed and wild fish interactions;
  3. Cooperation on regulatory development initiatives for offshore aquaculture; and,
  4. Evaluation of the feasibility, as well as costs and benefits, of a joint-statement on the equivalence of Canada and United States of America regulatory programs.

DFO Aquaculture Management Directorate and NOAA Office of Aquaculture are the lead organizations for the DFO-NOAA aquaculture regulatory partnership and each worked in partnership with their relevant national and sub-national regulatory departments and agencies, as necessary, to further the collaboration.

Improved regulatory cooperation between DFO and NOAA supports continued sustainable aquaculture development in both countries, as well as ensures that aquaculture regulatory reform is aligned to the extent practicable as both countries improve overall environmental management of the sector.

Since the beginning of this arrangement, DFO and NOAA met regularly in Canada and the United States of America to review this Technical Work Plan with the aim of capturing emerging trends in the industry. With the concurrence of the co-chairs of the Aquaculture Regulatory Cooperation Committee, the Technical Work Plan aimed to foster greater cooperation in the environmental management of the marine aquaculture sector. DFO and NOAA met with Canadian aquaculture industry members in May 2016 and provided updates on progress made on the Technical Work Plan, including the draft reports under Work Streams A and B.

Canadian aquaculture industry expressed interest in the assessment of 3rd party certification standards and industry codes of practice as additional work item for consideration under the RCC. DFO managed this request outside the scope of work under the RCC.

As indicated in the Joint Forward Plan, this Technical Work Plan is not intended to create binding obligations under domestic or international law. In addition, meeting the targeted deadlines in this Technical Work Plan is subject to overall support from the executive branch of government in both countries, as well as the availability of appropriations, personnel and other resources.

Work stream A

DFO and NOAA compared regulatory environmental management objectives and outcomes for the aquaculture sector in both countries.

DFO and NOAA share similar environmental management objectives for aquaculture, namely to ensure that living marine resources and their habitats are protected using mitigation, monitoring and compliance approaches that are efficient, effective and commensurate with the potential risk to the environment.

This work was used to evaluate the feasibility, as well as costs and benefits, of developing a joint-statement on the equivalence of Canadian and American regulatory programs for net-pen aquaculture under Work Stream D.

Initiative and sub-deliverables

Dates   

Comparison of regulatory environmental management objectives and outcomes for net-pen aquaculture

2015-2017

Identify working group co-leads

Completed

Establish full membership of working group

Completed

Draft terms of reference for working group

Completed

Draft detailed work plan for working group

Completed

Comparability assessment of regulatory environmental management objectives and outcomes for net-pen aquaculture (Draft Report)

Completed

Review, ensure accuracy, and synthesize the comparability assessment report

Completed

Annual working group meeting involving DFO and NOAA aquaculture co-leads, share information on the comparability assessment, and discuss next steps including broader dissemination

Completed

Work stream B

DFO and NOAA collaborated on management approaches that address farmed to wild fish interactions as they relate to genetic interactions and pathogens.

In order to ensure effective management of the marine aquaculture sector, it is necessary to consider the potential environmental impacts of farmed and wild fish interactions and take appropriate management actions. DFO and NOAA are particularly interested in genetic and pathogen related effects of farmed to wild fish interactions.

Ultimately, cooperation on farmed to wild fish interactions will support the sustainable development of the aquaculture sector in Canada and the United States of America.

Initiatives and sub-deliverables

Dates   

Initiative 1: Cooperation on farmed and wild fish interactions

2016

Comparability assessment of escape/containment regulatory measures (Draft Report)

Completed

Comparability assessment of aquaculture siting decisions (Draft Report)

Completed

Comparability assessment of area management approaches (Draft Report)

Completed

Comparability assessment of overall regulatory risk assessment framework for potential genetic interactions and potential pathogen transfers (Draft Report)

Completed

Review, ensure accuracy, and synthesize comparability reports

Completed

At annual working group meeting, including DFO and NOAA aquaculture co-leads, share information on comparability assessments and discuss next steps including broader dissemination

Completed

Initiative 2: Identification of potential areas for regulatory alignment on management of farmed and wild fish interactions

2018

Exploration of areas for cooperation on escape management and codes of containment

Completed

Work stream C

DFO and NOAA collaborated on regulatory aspects for offshore aquaculture with the goal of advancing development of offshore aquaculture in each country. For purposes of this work, offshore aquaculture refers to open ocean aquaculture in exposed areas of federally managed waters of each country’s exclusive economic zone.

Globally, offshore aquaculture is being explored as the new paradigm in marine aquaculture. Siting aquaculture facilities in deeper waters that are farther away from the coast can potentially reduce environmental impacts and conflicts with other coastal users.

Currently, all marine aquaculture operations in Canada are located in coastal waters. In the United States of America, most marine aquaculture operations occur in coastal waters, with a limited number of offshore aquaculture sites.

The United States of America has been working on regulatory frameworks to enable offshore aquaculture in federal waters. Several new permits for offshore aquaculture in federal waters were issued in 2014 and early 2015. However, economic, scientific, regulatory, and social challenges remain for the industry to reach its full potential. Though Canada has advanced in developing regulatory measures and tools for managing environmental impacts associated with coastal aquaculture, a regulatory regime for offshore aquaculture has not yet been developed. Work Stream C will provide an opportunity for Canada to examine the American regulatory framework for offshore aquaculture and possibly enable alignment of Canada’s future offshore aquaculture development to the American framework.

Initiative and sub-deliverables

Dates   

Cooperation on regulatory development initiatives for offshore aquaculture                      

2017

Inventory of regulatory development initiatives of offshore aquaculture management

Completed

Identification of regulatory tools and challenges moving forward

Completed

Work stream D

Given the results from work done under Work Streams A and B, it can be seen that both countries share similar environmental management objectives, namely to ensure that living marine resources and their habitats are protected using mitigation, monitoring and compliance approaches that are efficient, effective and commensurate with the potential risk to the environment. Both Canada and the United States of America are concerned about the environmental impacts of potential farmed to wild fish interactions and the need to take appropriate management actions.

From this work, DFO and NOAA evaluated the feasibility of a joint statement on the equivalence of Canadian and American regulatory regimes for marine finfish net pen aquaculture based on the findings from Work Streams A and B.

Planned initiative and sub-deliverables

Targeted dates   

Evaluation of the feasibility, as well as costs and benefits, of a joint-statement on the equivalence of Canada and United States of America regulatory programs

2018

Annual working group meeting involving DFO and NOAA aquaculture co-leads, use information on comparability assessments from Work Streams A and B to discuss the feasibility of a equivalence statement.

Completed

Completed work

All joint DFO-NOAA work under the RCC Aquaculture Work Plan is complete. The completion of the RCC Aquaculture Work Plan is a significant accomplishment for DFO as part of the Government of Canada’s interest in bilateral regulatory alignment and cooperation with the U.S.

Final deliverables

Completion date

Evaluation of the feasibility, as well as costs and benefits, of a joint-statement on the equivalence of Canada and United States of America regulatory programs

December 2017

Joint Study Report on Regulatory Regimes for Net Pen Aquaculture (for an accessible copy, email AMD-DGGA.XNCR@dfo-mpo.gc.ca)

April 2018

Report on Regulatory Initiatives for Offshore Aquaculture in the United States

April 2018

Statement Regarding Ongoing Canada - United States Regulatory Cooperation on Aquaculture

April 2018

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:
Date modified:

Le Canada et les États-Unis coopèrent dans le domaine de l’aquaculture marine

Le Canada et les États-Unis se sont engagés à une aquaculture responsable qui soutient les emplois dans les collectivités côtières et rurales des deux côtés de la frontière. Veiller à réduire au minimum les impacts environnementaux de l’aquaculture marine en parcs en filet sur l’habitat du poisson, la qualité de l’eau et les populations de poissons sauvages est d’une importance considérable pour les deux gouvernements.

L’achèvement du Plan de travail sur l’aquaculture du Conseil de coopération en matière de réglementation (CCR) est une réalisation importante pour Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO), dans le cadre de l’intérêt du gouvernement du Canada envers l’harmonisation et la coopération bilatérales en matière de réglementation avec les États-Unis.

Le CCR est une initiative globale qui vise à accroître la coordination et la transparence en matière de réglementation entre le Canada et les États-Unis, tout en favorisant la croissance économique et la création d’emplois au profit des deux pays.

Les deux pays reconnaissent que, bien que de conception différente, leurs régimes de réglementation de l’aquaculture en parcs en filet mènent à des résultats similaires. Cela est important pour le Canada et les États-Unis, car cela montre que les deux pays ont confiance en leur gestion mutuelle de l’aquaculture en parcs en filet.

À la suite des travaux du CCR entre le Canada et les États-Unis, un rapport d’étude conjoint (en anglais seulement) sur les régimes de réglementation de l’aquaculture en parcs en filet au Canada et aux États-Unis a été produit. Le rapport a constaté que nos régimes réglementaires de l’aquaculture en parcs en filet sont de conception semblable et que tous deux entraînent la production de saumons d’élevage sains et issus de pratiques durables tout en protégeant les pêches sauvages et l’environnement aquatique. Pour obtenir une copie en français ou une copie accessible du rapport, faites-en la demande à Pêches et Océans Canada par courriel à l’adresse AMD-DGGA.XNCR@dfo-mpo.gc.ca.

Un rapport sur les initiatives de développement réglementaires pour l’aquaculture extracôtière des États-Unis a également été produit.

Maintenant que les travaux du CCR sont terminés, le MPO et la National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) se sont engagés à poursuivre des discussions bilatérales régulières sur l’aquaculture. Cela aidera à accroître la collaboration pour protéger l’environnement aquatique et la santé des poissons en Amérique du Nord, et faciliter l’échange mutuel de connaissances et d’expertise sur l’aquaculture.

Contexte

En se fondant sur la relation bilatérale et l’expertise existantes dans les deux pays, le MPO et la NOAA ont amélioré leur coopération en matière de gestion environnementale du secteur de l’aquaculture marine en parcs en filet dans le cadre de quatre champs de travail spécifiques entre 2015 et 2018 :

  1. Comparaison des objectifs et des résultats de la gestion environnementale réglementaire pour l’aquaculture en parcs en filet;
  2. Coopération en matière d’interactions entre les poissons d’élevage et les poissons sauvages;
  3. Coopération en matière d’initiatives de développement réglementaires pour l’aquaculture extracôtière;
  4. Évaluation de la faisabilité, des coûts et des avantages d’une déclaration commune sur l’équivalence des programmes de réglementation du Canada et des États-Unis.

La Direction générale de la gestion de l’aquaculture du MPO et l’Office of Aquaculture de la NOAA sont les organisations responsables du partenariat réglementaire MPO-NOAA sur l’aquaculture. Chacun a travaillé en partenariat avec ses ministères et ses organisations de réglementation nationaux et sous-nationaux concernés, selon les besoins, pour promouvoir la collaboration.

La coopération réglementaire améliorée entre le MPO et la NOAA appuie la poursuite du développement durable de l’aquaculture dans les deux pays, et veille également à ce que la réforme réglementaire de l’aquaculture soit harmonisée dans la mesure du possible, alors que les deux pays améliorent la gestion environnementale générale du secteur.

Depuis le début de cette entente, le MPO et la NOAA se sont réunis régulièrement au Canada et aux États-Unis afin d’examiner ce plan de travail technique et ainsi dégager les nouvelles tendances dans l’industrie. Avec l’accord des coprésidents du Comité de coopération en matière de réglementation sur l’aquaculture, le plan de travail technique a visé à améliorer la coopération en matière de gestion environnementale du secteur de l’aquaculture. Le MPO et la NOAA ont rencontré les membres de l’industrie canadienne de l’aquaculture en mai 2016 et leur ont fourni une mise à jour sur les progrès réalisés concernant le plan de travail technique, y compris les rapports provisoires préparés dans le cadre des champs de travail A et B.

L’industrie canadienne de l’aquaculture a exprimé son intérêt dans l’évaluation des normes de certification de tierces parties et des codes de pratique de l’industrie, élément de travail additionnel à être pris en considération par le CCR. Le MPO a géré cette demande en dehors de la portée des travaux du CCR.

Comme il est indiqué dans le Plan prospectif conjoint, ce plan de travail technique ne vise pas à créer des obligations exécutoires aux termes des lois nationales ou internationales. En outre, le respect des délais visés de ce plan de travail technique est assujetti au soutien global du pouvoir exécutif des gouvernements des deux pays, ainsi qu’à la disponibilité de crédits, de personnel et d’autres ressources.

Champ de travail A

Le MPO et la NOAA ont comparé les objectifs et les résultats de la gestion environnementale réglementaire du secteur de l’aquaculture des deux pays.

Le MPO et la NOAA partagent un objectif de gestion environnementale similaire pour l’aquaculture, notamment la protection des ressources marines vivantes et de leurs habitats à l’aide d’approches d’atténuation, de surveillance et de conformité qui sont efficaces et adaptées au risque potentiel pour l’environnement.

Ce travail a été utilisé pour évaluer la faisabilité, les coûts et les avantages de l’élaboration d’une déclaration commune sur l’équivalence des programmes de réglementation du Canada et des États-Unis pour l’aquaculture en parcs en filet dans le cadre du champ de travail D.

Initiative et sous-livrables

Dates  

Comparaison des objectifs et des résultats de la gestion environnementale réglementaire pour l’aquaculture en parcs en filet

2015-2017

Déterminer les coresponsables du groupe de travail.

Terminé

Établir la composition complète du groupe de travail.

Terminé

Rédiger la version préliminaire du mandat du groupe de travail.

Terminé

Rédiger la version préliminaire du plan de travail détaillé du groupe de travail.

Terminé

Effectuer l’évaluation de comparabilité des objectifs et des résultats de la gestion environnementale réglementaire pour l’aquaculture en parcs en filet (rapport préliminaire).

Terminé

Examiner et résumer le rapport d’évaluation de comparabilité. S’assurer de son exactitude.

Terminé

Lors de la réunion annuelle du groupe de travail avec les coresponsables de l’aquaculture du MPO et de la NOAA, présenter les résultats de l’évaluation de comparabilité et discuter des prochaines étapes, incluant la diffusion élargie.

Terminé

Champ de travail B

Le MPO et la NOAA ont collaboré à des approches de gestion qui traitent des interactions entre les poissons d’élevage et les poissons sauvages en ce qui a trait aux interactions génétiques et aux agents pathogènes.

Afin d’assurer une gestion efficace du secteur de l’aquaculture, il est nécessaire de prendre en considération les impacts environnementaux potentiels des interactions entre les poissons d’élevage et les poissons sauvages et de prendre des mesures de gestion appropriées. Le MPO et la NOAA sont particulièrement intéressés aux effets liés à la génétique et aux agents pathogènes des interactions entre les poissons d’élevage et les poissons sauvages.

Au bout du compte, la coopération en matière d’interactions entre les poissons sauvages et les poissons d’élevage appuiera le développement durable du secteur de l’aquaculture au Canada et aux États-Unis.

Initiatives et sous-livrables

Dates  

Initiative 1 : Coopération en matière d’interactions entre les poissons d’élevage et les poissons sauvages

2016

Effectuer l’évaluation de comparabilité des mesures réglementaires sur les évasions et le confinement (rapport préliminaire).

Terminé

Effectuer l’évaluation de comparabilité des décisions prises au sujet de la sélection des sites d’aquaculture (rapport préliminaire).

Terminé

Effectuer l’évaluation de comparabilité des approches de gestion par secteur (rapport préliminaire).

Terminé

Effectuer l’évaluation de comparabilité du cadre d’évaluation du risque réglementaire global relatif aux interactions génétiques potentielles et aux transferts d’agents pathogènes potentiels (rapport préliminaire).

Terminé

Examiner et synthétiser les rapports de comparabilité. S’assurer de leur exactitude.

Terminé

Lors de la réunion annuelle du groupe de travail avec les coresponsables de l’aquaculture du MPO et de la NOAA, présenter les résultats des évaluations de comparabilité et discuter des prochaines étapes, incluant la diffusion élargie.

Terminé

Initiative 2 : Détermination des secteurs potentiels pour l’harmonisation réglementaire de la gestion des interactions entre les poissons d’élevage et les poissons sauvages

2018

Explorer les secteurs de collaboration possibles relatifs à la gestion des évasions et aux codes de confinement.

Terminé

Champ de travail C

Le MPO et la NOAA ont collaboré aux aspects réglementaires de l’aquaculture extracôtière avec l’objectif de favoriser son développement dans chaque pays. Aux fins de ce travail, l’aquaculture extracôtière signifie l’aquaculture en haute mer dans les zones exposées des eaux gérées par le palier fédéral dans la zone économique exclusive de chaque pays.

À l’échelle mondiale, l’aquaculture extracôtière fait l’objet d’étude comme nouveau paradigme potentiel de l’aquaculture marine. La sélection des sites d’installations aquacoles en eaux profondes très éloignées de la côte pourrait réduire les impacts environnementaux et les conflits avec les autres usagers de la zone côtière.

À l’heure actuelle, toutes les activités d’aquaculture marine au Canada sont situées en eaux côtières. Aux États-Unis, la plupart des activités d’aquaculture marine ont lieu en eaux côtières, avec un nombre limité de sites d’aquaculture extracôtière.

Les États-Unis ont travaillé à l’élaboration de cadres réglementaires pour permettre l’aquaculture au large des côtes en eaux fédérales. Plusieurs nouveaux permis pour l’aquaculture extracôtière en eaux fédérales ont été délivrés en 2014 et au début de 2015. Néanmoins, il reste des défis économiques, scientifiques, réglementaires et sociaux à relever pour que l’industrie atteigne son plein potentiel. Bien que le Canada ait progressé en matière d’élaboration de mesures et d’outils réglementaires pour gérer les impacts environnementaux associés à l’aquaculture extracôtière, un régime réglementaire de l’aquaculture extracôtière n’a pas encore été instauré. Le champ de travail C donnera au Canada l’occasion d’examiner le cadre réglementaire des États-Unis relatif à l’aquaculture extracôtière et permettra possiblement d’harmoniser le futur développement de l’aquaculture extracôtière canadienne au cadre américain.

Initiative et sous-livrables

Dates  

Coopération en matière d’initiatives de développement réglementaires pour l’aquaculture extracôtière

2017

Faire l’inventaire des initiatives de développement réglementaire en matière de gestion de l’aquaculture extracôtière.

Terminé

Cibler les outils et les défis réglementaires à venir.

Terminé

Champ de travail D

Au vu des résultats des travaux effectués dans le cadre des champs de travail A et B, on constate que les deux pays partagent un objectif de gestion environnementale similaire, notamment la protection des ressources marines vivantes et de leurs habitats à l’aide d’approches d’atténuation, de surveillance et de conformité qui sont efficaces et adaptées au risque potentiel pour l’environnement. Le Canada et les États-Unis sont préoccupés par les impacts environnementaux des interactions potentielles entre les poissons d’élevage et les poissons sauvages et la nécessité de prendre des mesures de gestion appropriées.

À partir de ces travaux, le MPO et la NOAA ont évalué la faisabilité d’une déclaration commune sur l’équivalence des régimes réglementaires du Canada et des États-Unis pour l’aquaculture marine des poissons à nageoires en parcs en filet d’après les conclusions tirées des champs de travail A et B.

Initiative prévue et sous-produits livrables

Dates cibles  

Évaluation de la faisabilité, des coûts et des avantages d’une déclaration commune sur l’équivalence des programmes de réglementation du Canada et des États-Unis

2018

Lors de la réunion annuelle du groupe de travail avec les coresponsables de l’aquaculture du MPO et de la NOAA, inclure les résultats des évaluations de comparabilité découlant des champs de travail A et B dans la discussion sur la faisabilité d’une déclaration commune.

Terminé

Travaux terminés

Tous les travaux conjoints du MPO et de la NOAA relevant du Plan de travail sur l’aquaculture du CCR sont terminés. L’achèvement du Plan de travail sur l’aquaculture du CCR est une réalisation importante pour le MPO, dans le cadre de l’intérêt du gouvernement du Canada envers l’harmonisation et la coopération bilatérales en matière de réglementation avec les États-Unis.

Livrables finaux

Date de fin

Évaluation de la faisabilité, des coûts et des avantages d’une déclaration commune sur l’équivalence des programmes de réglementation du Canada et des États-Unis

Décembre 2017

Rapport d’étude conjoint sur les régimes de réglementation de l’aquaculture en parcs en filet (en anglais seulement). Pour obtenir une copie en français ou une copie accessible du rapport, faites-en la demande à Pêches et Océans Canada par courriel à l’adresse AMD-DGGA.XNCR@dfo-mpo.gc.ca.

Avril 2018

Rapport sur les initiatives de développement réglementaires pour l’aquaculture extracôtière des États-Unis

Avril 2018

Déclaration sur la coopération suivie Canada-États-unis en matière de réglementation dans le domaine de l’aquaculture

Avril 2018