Laws, regulations and policies

Every aquaculture site in Canada requires that a valid lease and current licence are in place before fish can be put into the water. The lease entitles the owner or operator to use the sea or lake bed for cultivation and/or anchoring of containment arrays (e.g. fish net pens, long lines, beach culture). The licence allows the owner or operator to put fish or shellfish into the facility, subject to conditions that form part of the licence.

There are three principal regulatory regimes for aquaculture in Canada:

Aquaculture facilities and activities in Canada are regulated under a number of acts, legislations, regulations, and programs related to environmental management and shared use of aquatic resources. These instruments are administered by various federal, provincial and territorial bodies including the following:

Fisheries and Oceans Canada

Some aspects of aquaculture are currently managed under regulations designed for wild-capture fisheries. Through the Aquaculture Regulatory Reform, amendments to these Regulations would be brought forward to address aquaculture's unique regulatory requirements.

Acts and Regulations

Through the Fisheries Act, Fisheries and Oceans Canada regulates the aquaculture industry in order to protect fish and fish habitat. The Act sets out authorities on fisheries licensing, management, protection and pollution prevention.

Compliance

Ensuring that aquaculture operators meet environmental protection standards helps to protect our aquatic environment and keep marine resources productive and available for the benefit of future generations. Federal fishery officers assess compliance for all national and regional regulations under the Fisheries Act that apply to aquaculture, including the Aquaculture Activities Regulations, and in British Columbia, the Pacific Aquaculture Regulations.

Reporting on aquaculture compliance is done through the Canadian Environmental Sustainability Indicator under the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy.

Fisheries Act Regulations

The following Fisheries Act regulations are relevant for aquaculture. Those marked with an asterix (*) would be amended through the Aquaculture Regulatory Reform to address barriers to industry growth while safeguarding the environment:

  • Aquaculture Activities Regulations: the Regulations clarify conditions under which aquaculture operators may treat their fish for disease and parasites, deposit organic matter, and manage their facilities under sections 35 and 36 of the Fisheries Act. The Regulations also impose public reporting on the environmental performance of the sector as well as specific environmental monitoring and sampling requirements.
  • Atlantic Fishery Regulations(*): The aquaculture industry is subject to these wild capture fisheries Regulations.
  • Fishery (General) Regulations(*): They set out Fisheries and Oceans Canada's authorities for approving the release of fish into fish habitat and the transfer of live fish to fish rearing facilities. They also support the Department's management of aquaculture in British Columbia in conjunction with the Pacific Aquaculture Regulations.
  • Management of Contaminated Fisheries Regulations(*): They authorize the Minister to close areas to recreational and commercial fish and shellfish harvests and to take other management measures when biotoxins, bacteria, chemical compounds or other substances are present in fish habitat to a degree that may constitute a danger to public health.
  • Marine Mammal Regulations: They set out authorizations for the management and control of aquatic mammals that cause a nuisance to fisheries and aquaculture activities.
  • Maritime Provinces Fishery Regulations(*): At present, aquaculture operators are constrained by these wild capture Regulations and unable to use current farming practices.
  • Pacific Aquaculture Regulations: These Regulations set out Fisheries and Oceans Canada's licensing (including licence fees) and management authorities for aquaculture in British Columbia.
  • Pacific Fishery Regulations(*): They set out Fisheries and Oceans Canada’s authorities respecting fishing in the Pacific Ocean and the Province of British Columbia.

Species at Risk Act

Species at Risk Act sets out authorities to support the protection of wildlife species at risk in Canada including fish, reptiles, marine mammals and molluscs. The Minister of Fisheries and Oceans, as competent Minister under the Species as Risk Act is responsible for aquatic species at risk.

For more information on Regulations that would be amended

Aquaculture Policies

Policies are established to guide aquaculture programs. Key documents include:

Province of Quebec: Request for an aquaculture site in a marine environment

In the province of Quebec, obtaining an aquaculture site in a marine environment is subject to a joint assessment process between the federal and Quebec provincial government. The assessment will determine the acceptability of the application and identify the authorizations to be issued to the applicant. To this end, a Joint Canada – Quebec guide, Application for or modification to an aquaculture site in a marine environment has been prepared to assist the proponent's efforts to obtain the necessary permits to operate an aquaculture site in marine waters.

Other federal partners

Many other federal government departments and agencies are involved in the regulation of the aquaculture sector:

Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency

  • Canadian Environmental Protection Act: provides governance respecting pollution prevention and the protection of the environment and human health in order to contribute to sustainable development.

Canadian Food Inspection Agency

  • Feeds Act – sets out authorities governing the manufacture and sale of livestock feeds in Canada to ensure they are safe, effective and labeled appropriately.
  • Fish Inspection Act – sets out authorities to regulate food quality, food safety and identity of fish and seafood products that are processed in federally registered establishments or imported into Canada.
  • Health of Animals Act – sets out authorities to support the management of animal diseases, including aquatic animals (e.g. finfish and shellfish). The Act is delivered through the National Aquatic Animal Health Program (NAAHP) and Health of Animals Regulations.

Health Canada

  • Food and Drugs Act – sets out provisions for the regulation of the production, import, export, and transport across provinces and sale of food, and drugs. It ensures that products are safe for people and animals, that their ingredients are disclosed and that drugs are effective. If the quantity of a drug manufactured or imported into Canada is sufficient, an environmental review is required under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act’s New Substance Notification Regulations.
  • Veterinary Drug Directorate - Through the Veterinary Drugs Directorate, Health Canada evaluates and monitors the safety, quality and effectiveness, sets standards and promotes the prudent use of veterinary drugs administered to food-producing animals.

Pest Management Regulatory Agency

  • Pest Control Products Act – sets out provisions for the regulation and registration of pest control products to ensure that pesticide and related products are safe for people, and animals, efficacious and of value, and that the environment is protected when products are used.

Transport Canada

  • Canada Shipping Act – amongst others, sets out provisions for the regulation of vessel-related pollution prevention and response, vessel requirements and inspections, and vessel personnel and safety.
  • Navigable Waters Protection Act – sets out provisions for the protection of the public right of navigation, ensuring infrastructure and other works in navigable waterways are appropriately reviewed and regulated. Recognizing the variety of users of open water, Transport Canada may require aquaculture operators to obtain a Navigable Waters Protection Act permit.
Provinces and Territories Acts and Regulations

Provincial and Territorial Acts and Regulations

With the exception of British Columbia, Canada’s provinces and territories play an essential role in approving site applications, regulating operations and fostering industry development. The provinces have major powers and responsibilities related to aquaculture management and development.

Learn more about how provinces and territories manage aquaculture:

Learn more about provinces and territories, permits, leases and licences.

Lois, règlements et politiques

Chaque site aquacole au Canada nécessite une concession valide et un permis à jour avant que le poisson puisse être mis à l'eau. La concession permet au propriétaire ou à l'exploitant d'utiliser le fond marin ou celui du lac pour l'élevage ou pour installer des structures de confinement (p. ex., parcs en filet, palangre, élevage sur plage). Le permis autorise le propriétaire ou l'exploitant à mettre des poissons ou des mollusques et crustacés dans l'installation, sous réserve de conditions qui font partie du permis.

Il existe trois principaux régimes réglementaires pour l'aquaculture au Canada :

Au Canada, les activités et les exploitations aquacoles sont réglementées par un certain nombre de lois, de règlements et de programmes liés à la gestion environnementale et à l'utilisation partagée des ressources aquatiques. Ces instruments juridiques sont administrés par divers organismes fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux, dont les suivants :

Pêches et Océans Canada

Certains aspects de l'aquaculture sont actuellement gérés au moyen de règlements conçus pour les pêches sauvages. En vertu de la Réforme réglementaire de l'aquaculture, des modifications seront apportées à ce Règlement pour satisfaire aux exigences réglementaires uniques de l'aquaculture.

Lois et Règlements

Pêches et Océans Canada s'appuie sur la Loi sur les pêches pour réglementer l’industrie de l'aquaculture dans le but de protéger le poisson et son habitat. Cette Loi définit les pouvoirs en ce qui concerne l'attribution de permis de pêche, la gestion et la protection des pêches et la prévention de la pollution.

Conformité

Voir à ce que les exploitants aquacoles respectent les normes de protection environnementale aide à protéger notre environnement aquatique et à assurer la productivité et la disponibilité des ressources marines dans l'intérêt des générations futures. Des agents fédéraux des pêches évaluent la conformité de tous les règlements nationaux et régionaux en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches qui s’appliquent à l’aquaculture, incluant le Règlement sur les activités d'aquaculture ainsi que le Règlement du Pacifique sur l’aquaculture en Colombie-Britannique.

Les rapports sur la conformité pour l'aquaculture se font au moyen des Indicateurs canadiens de durabilité de l’environnement (ICDE) conformément à la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable.

Règlements de la Loi sur les pêches

Les règlements de la Loi sur les pêches qui suivent concernent l’aquaculture. Ceux identifiés d’un astérisque (*) seraient modifiés conformément à la Réforme réglementaire de l’aquaculture afin de surmonter les obstacles à la croissance de l’industrie tout en protégeant l’environnement :

  • Règlement sur les activités d'aquaculture : Ce règlement précise les conditions dans lesquelles les exploitants aquacoles pourront traiter leurs poissons contre les maladies et les parasites, déposer des matières organiques, ainsi que gérer leurs installations en vertu des articles 35 et 36 de la Loi sur les pêches. Ce règlement impose également l’élaboration de rapports sur la performance environnementale du secteur, ainsi que des exigences spécifiques relatives à l’échantillonnage et à la surveillance environnementale.
  • Règlement de pêche de l'Atlantique (*) : L'industrie aquacole est assujettie aux dispositions de ce Règlement qui concernent la capture de poissons sauvages.
  • Règlement de pêche (dispositions générales) (*) : Ce Règlement définit les pouvoirs de Pêches et Océans Canada qui lui permettent d'autoriser la libération de poissons dans leur habitat et le transfert de poissons vivants dans des installations d'élevage. Il appuie également la gestion, par Pêches et Océans Canada, de l'aquaculture en Colombie-Britannique, conjointement avec le Règlement du Pacifique sur l’aquaculture.
  • Règlement sur la gestion de la pêche du poisson contaminé (*) : Ce Règlement autorise le ministre à interdire la pêche récréative et commerciale dans certaines zones, ainsi qu'à prendre d'autres mesures de gestion lorsque des biotoxines, des bactéries, des composés chimiques ou d'autres substances sont présents dans l'habitat du poisson, des mollusques et des crustacés en une quantité susceptible de mettre en danger la santé publique.
  • Règlement sur les mammifères marins : Ce Règlement définit les autorisations en ce qui a trait à la gestion et à la surveillance des mammifères aquatiques qui nuisent aux activités de pêche et d’aquaculture.
  • Règlement de pêche des provinces maritimes (*) : Les dispositions actuelles de ce Règlement qui concernent les captures de poissons sauvages limitent les exploitants en aquaculture et les empêchent d'utiliser les pratiques d'élevage courantes.
  • Règlement du Pacifique sur l’aquaculture : Ce Règlement définit les pouvoirs de Pêches et Océans Canada (incluant les frais de permis) en ce qui a trait à la délivrance de permis d'aquaculture et à la gestion de cette industrie en Colombie-Britannique (C.-B.).
  • Règlement de pêche du Pacifique (*) : Ce Règlement définit les pouvoirs de Pêches et Océans Canada en ce qui concerne la pêche dans l'océan Pacifique et dans la province de la Colombie-Britannique.

Loi sur les espèces en péril

La Loi sur les espèces en péril définit les pouvoirs en ce qui concerne le soutien à la protection des espèces sauvages en péril au Canada, y compris celle des poissons, des reptiles, des mammifères marins et des mollusques. En tant que ministre compétent en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, le ministre des Pêches et des Océans est responsable des espèces aquatiques en péril.

Pour de plus amples renseignements au sujet des règlements qui seraient révisés :

Politiques sur l'aquaculture

Politiques sur l'aquaculture

Des politiques sont établies pour orienter la mise en œuvre de programmes liés à l'aquaculture. Voici quelques-unes des principales politiques dans ce domaine :

Province de Québec : Demande de site aquacole en milieu marin

L'obtention d'un site aquacole en milieu marin au Québec est sujette à un processus d'évaluation conjoint entre le gouvernement fédéral et le gouvernement du Québec. L'évaluation permet de déterminer l'acceptabilité de la demande et d'identifier les autorisations qui devront être émises au demandeur. À cette fin, le Guide conjoint Canada – Québec, Demande ou modification de site aquacole en milieu marin a été préparé afin d’aider le promoteur dans ses démarches pour l'obtention des autorisations nécessaires à l'exploitation d'un site aquacole dans les eaux marines.

Autres partenaires fédéraux

Plusieurs autres ministères et agences du gouvernement fédéral sont impliqués dans la réglementation du secteur de l’aquaculture :

Agence canadienne d'évaluation environnementale

Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments

Agence de réglementation de la lutte antiparasitaire

  • Loi sur les produits antiparasitaires – elle énonce les dispositions relatives à la réglementation et à l'homologation des produits antiparasitaires, l'objectif étant de s'assurer que les pesticides et les produits connexes ne présentent pas de danger pour les personnes ou les animaux, qu’ils sont efficaces et utiles, et qu’ils peuvent être utilisés sans danger pour l'environnement.

Santé Canada

  • Loi sur les aliments et drogues – elle énonce les dispositions relatives à la réglementation de la production, de l'importation, de l'exportation, du transport entre les provinces, et de la vente d'aliments et de médicaments. L'objectif est de s'assurer que les produits ne présentent pas de danger pour les personnes ou les animaux, que les ingrédients de ces produits sont indiqués, et que les médicaments sont efficaces. Si un médicament est produit ou importé en quantité suffisante au Canada, une évaluation environnementale est nécessaire en vertu du Règlement sur les renseignements concernant les substances nouvelles pris en application de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement.
  • Direction des médicaments vétérinaires : La Direction des médicaments vétérinaires de Santé Canada évalue et surveille la sécurité, la qualité et l'efficacité des médicaments, établit des normes et fait la promotion d'une utilisation prudente des médicaments vétérinaires administrés aux animaux destinés à l'alimentation.

Transports Canada

  • Loi sur la marine marchande du Canada – elle énonce, entre autres, les dispositions visant à réglementer la prévention de la pollution liée aux navires et les interventions en découlant, les exigences relatives aux navires et l’inspection de ces derniers, et les questions concernant le personnel et la sécurité des navires.
  • Loi sur la protection de la navigation : – elle énonce les dispositions relatives à la protection du droit public de navigation, l'objectif étant de veiller à ce que les infrastructures et autres ouvrages construits sur des cours d'eau navigables soient correctement examinés et réglementés. Compte tenu de la variété d'utilisateurs des eaux libres, Transports Canada peut exiger des exploitants en aquaculture qu'ils obtiennent un permis en vertu de la Loi sur la protection de la navigation.
Province et territoires, lois et règlements

Lois et règlements provinciaux et territoriaux

À l’exception de la Colombie-Britannique, les provinces et les territoires du Canada jouent un rôle essentiel au chapitre de l’approbation des demandes relatives aux emplacements, de la réglementation des activités et de la promotion du développement de l’industrie. Les administrations provinciales disposent de vastes pouvoirs et exercent des responsabilités importantes dans le domaine de la gestion et du développement de l’aquaculture.

Pour en apprendre davantage sur la gestion de l’aquaculture dans les provinces et territoires, veuillez consulter les liens ci-dessous.

Pour en apprendre davantage au sujet des licences, permis et baux dans les provinces et les territoires