Aquaculture Regulatory Reform

Consistent with the Renewed Sustainable Aquaculture Program’s objective, Fisheries and Oceans Canada is moving forward with a pragmatic aquaculture regulatory reform agenda to address barriers to industry growth while safeguarding the environment. Regulatory proposals that the Department intends to bring forward include:

Projects underway:

Atlantic Fishery Regulations: The amendments will enable shellfish farmers to better manage their growing areas by permitting harvesting and maintenance activities unique to them.

Fishery (General) Regulations: Fisheries and Oceans Canada, with the support of the Canadian Food Inspection Agency, is proposing to amend these regulations to better align both organizations’ mandates and programs when it comes to fish health management. The proposed amendments would eliminate overlap and duplication and clarify roles and responsibilities.

Management of Contaminated Fisheries Regulations: The amendments would enable shellfish aquaculture operations to manage their growing areas so as to further minimize health risks from consumption of bivalve shellfish.

Maritime Provinces Fishery Regulations: The amendments would enable shellfish aquaculture operations to harvest undersized (“cocktail”) oysters from their own lease areas, an activity currently prohibited under the existing Regulations. A licence provision to allow the on - and off-tenure maintenance activities of normal business operations would also be proposed.

Projects completed:

Aquaculture Activities Regulations (AAR): The Regulations came into force on June 29, 2015. They clarify conditions under which aquaculture-related husbandry activities are undertaken under sections 35 and 36 of the Fisheries Act. The Regulations also impose greater public reporting on the environmental performance of the sector.

Pacific Aquaculture Regulations: Amended on May 20, 2015, the amendments to the Regulations establish fees for aquaculture licences in British Columbia and also enable payment by annual installments on a multi-year licence. Licences in the Discovery Islands remain limited to one year pending further scientific assessments and regulatory work in the area.

Réforme réglementaire de l'aquaculture

Conformément à l'objectif du Programme d'aquaculture durable renouvelé, Pêches et Océans Canada entreprend une réforme réglementaire pragmatique de l'aquaculture pour surmonter les obstacles à la croissance de l'industrie tout en protégeant l'environnement. Les propositions réglementaires que le Ministère souhaite présenter comprennent :

Projets en cours :

Règlement de pêche (dispositions générales) : Pêches et Océans Canada, avec le soutien de l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments, propose de modifier ce règlement afin de mieux harmoniser le mandat et les programmes des deux organisations relatif à la gestion de la santé des poissons. Les modifications proposées élimineraient le chevauchement et le dédoublement, et clarifieraient les rôles et les responsabilités.

Règlement de pêche de l'Atlantique : Les modifications proposées permettraient aux exploitants aquacoles qui produisent des coquillages d’élevage de mieux gérer leurs aires de croissance en autorisant des activités de récolte et d'entretien qui leur sont uniques.

Règlement de pêche des provinces maritimes : Les modifications proposées permettraient aux exploitants aquacoles qui produisent des coquillages d’élevage de récolter des huîtres de petite taille (cocktail) dans leurs propres concessions, une activité actuellement interdite par le règlement en vigueur. L'ajout d'une disposition au permis pour autoriser les activités normales d'entretien à l'intérieur et à l'extérieur d'une concession serait également proposé.

Règlement sur la gestion de la pêche du poisson contaminé : Les modifications proposées permettraient aux exploitants aquacoles qui produisent des coquillages d’élevage de gérer leurs aires de croissance de manière à réduire les risques pour la santé liés à la consommation de mollusques bivalves.

Projets complétés :

Règlement sur les activités d'aquaculture : Entré en vigueur le 29 juin 2015, le Règlement clarifie les conditions auxquelles les activités d’élevage liées à l’aquaculture sont entreprises en vertu des articles35 et 36 de la Loi sur les pêches. Le Règlement impose également l’élaboration de rapports publics sur la performance environnementale du secteur.

Règlement du Pacifique sur l’aquaculture  : Modifié le 20 mai 2015, les modifications apportées au Règlement établissent un barème de droits pour l’obtention de permis d’aquaculture en Colombie-Britannique et permettent aussi des versements échelonnés annuellement pour un permis pluriannuel. Les permis octroyés pour les îles Discovery restent limités à un an, en attendant de plus amples évaluations scientifiques et d’autres travaux réglementaires dans la région.