Using and interpreting aquaculture data: 1. Overview/purpose

1. Overview/purpose

Aquaculture public reporting is the process through which Fisheries and Oceans Canada provides information on activities that have the potential to impact upon aquatic environments. This is to ensure openness and transparency with the Canadian public as part of the Department’s efforts to ensure the protection and conservation of fish and fish habitat.

Through regulations made under the Fisheries Act, Fisheries and Oceans Canada collects detailed information and data on the activities of the aquaculture industry. These data can be combined with other data sources, such as monitoring data collected under other programs and/or jurisdictions and data published directly by the aquaculture industry.

In accordance with Government of Canada policy, much of this data is published through the Open Government Portal. This is the mechanism through which a broad array of information is made accessible to the public.

Those accessing this data should be aware of several considerations to ensure that it is properly analyzed and interpreted in the proper context. The purpose of this guide is to describe these considerations, and assist users in better understanding the information that is being reported.

Related links

Utilisation et interprétation des données sur l’aquaculture : 1. Aperçu et objet

1. Aperçu et objet

La production de rapports publics sur l’aquaculture est le processus par lequel Pêches et Océans Canada fournit des renseignements sur les activités qui pourraient avoir une incidence sur les milieux aquatiques. Ce processus garantit que le Ministère fait preuve d’ouverture et de transparence auprès de la population canadienne dans le cadre des efforts visant à protéger et à conserver le poisson et son habitat.

Par l’entremise de règlements pris en application de la Loi sur les pêches, Pêches et Océans Canada recueille des renseignements détaillés et des données sur les activités de l’industrie de l’aquaculture. Ces données peuvent être combinées avec d’autres sources de données, telles que les données de surveillance recueillies dans le cadre d’autres programmes ou par d’autres instances et les données publiées directement par l’industrie de l’aquaculture.

Conformément à la politique du gouvernement du Canada, la plupart de ces données sont publiées sur le portail Gouvernement ouvert. Il s’agit du mécanisme par lequel une vaste gamme de renseignements sont mis à la disposition du public.

Les personnes qui accèdent à ces données doivent tenir compte de plusieurs facteurs pour s’assurer que les données sont analysées et interprétées comme il se doit dans le bon contexte. Le présent guide vise à décrire ces considérations, ainsi qu’à aider les utilisateurs à mieux comprendre les renseignements déclarés.

Liens connexes