Videos

Lobster and aquaculture: Studying interactions on Canada’s East Coast

On Canada’s east coast, Fisheries and Oceans Canada scientists conduct studies into the impacts that aquaculture may have on lobsters and crabs. Watch to learn how they collect data both in the field and in their labs.

Lobster and aquaculture: Studying interactions on Canada’s East Coast

Fisheries and Oceans Canada – Aquaculture Science

Ensuring the sustainability of Canada’s wild and farmed aquatic resources is the challenge that scientists at Fisheries and Oceans Canada take on every day.  Through their laboratory and field work, researchers in the department’s Science Branch are contributing to a new level of sustainable aquaculture development, through collaborative research and development with the industry’s many stakeholders. This video showcases a cross section of their work from Newfoundland and Labrador to British Columbia.

Industry Diversification

Aquaculture Research

Shedding light on the effects of oyster farming

Tracking released farmed salmon

Read the Transcript

Deep water mussel farming in Newfoundland and Labrador

Read the Transcript

Alternative Control Methods for Managing Sea Lice

Read the Transcript

Integrated Multi-Trophic Aquaculture (IMTA)

Read the Transcript

Aquaculture Management: Ensuring Sustainable Fisheries In British Columbia

In British Columbia, the aquaculture industry is regulated and managed by the federal government. This responsibility includes monitoring farmed fish health, assessing potential impacts to the environment, and enforcing the Fisheries Act and Regulations. In this video, Fisheries and Oceans Canada staff further explain their role in managing and regulating this important industry in the province.

Video Transcript

In British Columbia, the aquaculture industry is regulated and managed by the federal government. This responsibility includes monitoring farmed fish health, assessing potential impacts to the environment, and enforcing the Fisheries Act and Regulations.

Voice over
In a remote location off the east coast of Vancouver Island sits an Atlantic salmon fish farm. On this day in late February, members of Fisheries and Oceans Canada's Aquaculture Management enforcement team are paying a visit.

Mike Ballard, Field Supervisor, Aquaculture Conservation and Protection Unit, Fisheries and Oceans Canada
It (aquaculture) needs proper government overview. It needs us to go out and ensure the proper conditions are in place to ensure sustainable management in this industry.

Voice over
They're on-site to ensure fish farms are meeting the mandatory operating and reporting requirements, according to the federal rules and regulations. Fisheries and Oceans Canada is now responsible for regulating the aquaculture industry in B.C.

At each site, they spend hours checking the details, the protocols, the records, and the facility itself to ensure that the farm is meeting the required conditions of its federal aquaculture licence, and that the industry is managed in a sustainable manner.

It's a tall order – it will take diligent work by the B.C. Aquaculture Management team to oversee sustainable development of the industry. There are currently over 700 aquaculture sites on the coast, including shellfish, marine finfish and freshwater sites.

Voice over
Enforcement officers, in addition to fish health personnel and other Aquaculture Management staff, may visit up to three farms a day. Many visits are an unexpected drop in. What is expected is that everything is in order.

Mike Ballard
We've gone upstairs and we've looked at all the records. We've looked at the inventory records and we've come out to the site now, and we've checked to see that their inventory control numbers on their nets, and the other equipment, matches the records upstairs.

We've done a visual inspection of the containment array to make sure that the nets are all taut and proper predator controls are in place.

What I've seen here today was very good.

Voice over
The regional Aquaculture Management unit within Fisheries and Oceans Canada was expanded when a court decision transferred control of the fishery from the province of British Columbia to the Federal Government in December 2010.

Under the Fisheries Act, the new Pacific Aquaculture Regulations were developed to ensure that the aquaculture industry in B.C. operates in a sustainable manner, with a goal of protecting the marine environment for future generations.

To undertake its new role, the department has gathered the needed resources and team members to patrol, enforce, monitor and manage the aquaculture industry in British Columbia.

Dr. Mark Sheppard
We first go out to monitor the farms, which each have a health management plan. We go out and monitor and assure ourselves that those health management plans are being followed.

We have two fisheries in place, one is the cultured fishery and the other is the wild fishery, and we want to make sure there is not something happening in one fishery that is going to affect the other fishery.

Voice over
After the fish health team completes their on-site evaluation, some of the fish can be brought back to this secure lab in Courtenay for more extensive testing if required.

Dr. Mark Sheppard
The goal for everybody, the farmers, the regulators and the public of course, is to have clean, wholesome, healthy fish.

Voice over
In addition to the staff working in the field, a dedicated Aquaculture Resource Management unit is responsible for consulting with stakeholders, evaluating industry-generated data, and liaising with provincial and federal departments to coordinate the assessment of licence applications and amendments.

On the water and in the lab, members of another unit, the Aquaculture Environmental Operations team, are hard at work. Members of this team travel up and down the coast visiting and auditing finfish and shellfish farms, as well as land-based fish farms. Still others on the team are charged with sea bottom testing.

Robyn Pearce, Biologist, Aquaculture Environmental Operations, Fisheries and Oceans Canada
We're setting up our davit and our grab right now so that we can do bed sampling, so that's sampling of the sediment on the sea floor.

Voice over
From May through September, the Environmental Operations group visits active fish farm sites, testing both hard bottom and soft bottom sea beds to measure any effects of fish farms on the seabed.

Thresholds and indicators have been set to help federal staff assess the impact that each fish farm has on its environment. For example, the measurement of sulphides in a sample provides a chemical indicator of impacts to the sediments under fish farms. If sulphide levels are too high, the decomposition of organic matter cannot occur, and a site must be left empty until these levels are deemed acceptable.

Robyn Pearce
We are specifically looking for compliance measurements that we have specified in our finfish conditions of licence.

We regulate based on the mean sulphide level. So when we get the sub-sample of sediments, right there on deck we take a sulphide measurement and a redux measurement, and that can give us an idea of whether they are in compliance within their thresholds or not.

Voice over
The federal regulation of the aquaculture industry in B.C. is an important undertaking.

It's a role that Fisheries and Oceans Canada is well qualified to handle, being the manager of both the aquaculture industry and wild fisheries, which include commercial, recreational and First Nations harvesters.

This unique viewpoint allows the Department to take a balanced, coordinated approach to the stewardship and sustainability of one of Canada's most important resources. In B.C., the management and regulatory conditions in place not only allow the aquaculture industry to succeed and thrive, but also protect our marine resources and the interests of Canadians.

Mark Sheppard
We want to make sure farming is done in a manner that is very sustainable and has as minimal effect as possible on the surrounding habitat.

Voice over
Please visit our website for more information. www.pac.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/aquaculture/index-eng.html

Coast of Bays

The Coast of Bays Region is located on the south coast of Newfoundland and Labrador, and includes the Fortune Bay north shore, Bay d’Espoir and the Connaigre Peninsula. There are over a dozen communities in the region – Pool’s Cove, St. Alban’s, Milltown, Belleoram, Harbour Breton, Conne River, Hermitage and Rencontre East to name a few – that are positively influenced by the growth of the aquaculture industry.

Net Gain: Sustainable Canadian Shellfish Aquaculture

This video was produced in 2006 by AquaNet, a federal research network in aquaculture.

Read the transcript

Vidéos

Homard et aquaculture : Étude des interactions sur la côte est du Canada

Sur la côte est du Canada, les scientifiques de Pêches et Océans Canada conduisent des études sur les effets que peuvent avoir les activités d’aquaculture sur le homard et le crabe. Regardez ce qui suit pour apprendre comment ils recueillent leurs données, à la fois sur le terrain et en laboratoire.

Homard et aquaculture : Étude des interactions sur la côte est du Canada

Pêches et Océans Canada – Science aquacole

Assurer la durabilité des ressources aquatiques sauvages et cultivées du Canada est le défi que les scientifiques de Pêches et Océans Canada doivent relever chaque jour. En laboratoire et sur le terrain, les chercheurs de la Direction des sciences du Ministère contribuent à accroître la durabilité de l'aquaculture en entreprenant des travaux de recherche­développement avec de nombreux intervenants de l'industrie. La vidéo présente un aperçu des travaux qu'ils réalisent de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador à la Colombie-Britannique.

La diversification de l'industrie

Recherche en aquaculture

Faire la lumière sur les effets de l'ostréiculture

où vont les saumons d'élevage relâchés dans la nature

Lisez la transcription

Élevage de moules en eau profonde à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Lisez la transcription

Nouvelles méthodes de contrôle pour gérer le pou du poisson

Lisez la transcription

Aquaculture multitrophique intégrée (AMTI) - Organismes limivores

Lisez la transcription

Gestion de l'Aquaculture : Garantir des pêches durables en Colombie-Britannique

En Colombie-Britannique l'aquaculture est régie par le gouvernement fédéral. Il a pour responsabilité de surveiller la santé des poissons d'élevage et d'évaluer les répercussions possibles sur l'environnement et de faire appliquer la Loi sur les pêches et son règlement.

Transcription de la vidéo

Voix hors champ
Dans un endroit isolé au large de la côte est de l'île de Vancouver se trouve une pisciculture de saumons de l'Atlantique. En ce jour de fin février, l'équipe de la Direction générale de la gestion de l'aquaculture de Pêches et Océans Canada est sur place.

Mike Ballard, superviseur sur le terrain pour la Conservation et la Protection de l'aquaculture à Pêches et Océans Canada
Une supervision appropriée du gouvernement est nécessaire; nous devons assurer une présence et veiller à ce que tout soit en place pour une gestion durable de l'industrie.

Voix hors champ
Ils sont sur les lieux pour s'assurer que les piscicultures répondent aux exigences en matière de fonctionnement et de signalement, conformément aux règlements fédéraux. Pêches et Océans Canada réglemente maintenant l'industrie de l'aquaculture en Colombie-Britannique.

Leurs visites durent des heures. Ils vérifient les détails, les protocoles, les documents et l'installation elle-même, pour s'assurer que la pisciculture respecte les conditions nécessaires du permis fédéral d'aquaculture et que l'industrie est gérée de manière durable.

C'est une lourde tâche; l'équipe de la gestion de l'aquaculture de la C.-B. devra faire preuve de diligence dans la supervision du développement durable de l'industrie. Actellement, il existe plus de 700 sites d'aquacultures sur la côte incluant l'élevage de mollusques, de poissons à nageoires et de poissons d'eau douce.
Texte : mollusques et crustacés, poissons marins, sites en eau douce

Voix hors champ
Les agents d'application de la loi, en plus des employés du programme de santé du poisson et de la Direction générale de la gestion de l'aquaculture visitent jusqu'à trois piscicultures par jour; beaucoup de visites sont inattendues. Et l'on s'attend à ce que tout soit en ordre.

Vidéoclip de monsieur Ballard
Nous nous sommes rendus sur place et nous avons consulté tous les documents. Nous avons jeté un œil sur les inventaires et aujourd'hui, nous visitons les installations pour vérifier si les numéros de contrôle de l'inventaire des filets et du matériel correspondent aux documents consultés.

Nous avons fait une inspection visuelle du parc clos pour nous assurer que les filets sont tous tendus et que les bons systèmes de contrôle de prédateurs sont en place.

Ce que j'ai vu ici aujourd'hui est excellent.

Voix hors champ
Le programme régional de gestion de l'aquaculture de Pêches et Océans Canada a été élargi lorsqu'une décision de la Cour a ordonné que le contrôle des pêches soit transféré de la Colombie-Britannique au gouvernement fédéral en 2010.

Selon la Loi sur les pêches, la nouvelle Réglementation régissant l’aquaculture du Pacifique ont été élaborées pour s'assurer que l'industrie de l'aquaculture en Colombie-Britannique fonctionne de manière durable, dans le but de protéger l'environnement marin pour les générations futures.

Pour jouer son nouveau rôle, le Ministère a réuni les ressources nécessaires et une équipe pour patrouiller, protéger, surveiller et gérer l'industrie de l'aquaculture en Colombie-Britannique.

Vidéoclip du Dr Mark Sheppard, chef vétérinaire, programme de santé du poisson et de l'aquaculture, Pêches et Océans Canada
Nous commençons par nous rendre aux piscicultures qui ont un plan de gestion de la santé des poissons pour nous assurer que ces plans sont suivis.

Nous avons deux types de pêcheries sur place, l'une de poissons d'élevage et l'autre de poissons sauvages, et nous voulons nous assurer qu'elles ne se contaminent pas entre elles.

Voix hors champ
Après que l'équipe chargée de la santé des poissons a terminé ses collectes de données sur place et ses évaluations, certains poissons peuvent être rapportés au laboratoire protégé de Courtenay pour de plus amples examens et tests, au besoin.

Vidéoclip de Mark Sheppard
Notre but à tous, les pisciculteurs, les organismes de réglementation et bien sûr le public, est d'avoir des poissons propres, sains et en santé.

Voix hors champ
En plus des employés qui travaillent sur le terrain, une équipe spéciale de la Direction de la Gestion des ressources aquacoles consulte les intervenants, évalue les données de l'industrie et assure la liaison entre les ministères du gouvernement fédéral et provincial afin de coordonner l'évaluation des demandes de permis et les modifications.

Sur l'eau comme au laboratoire, l'équipe des actions sur l'environnement de l'aquaculture travaille fort. Ses membres voyagent également tout le long de la côte pour visiter les conchylicultures ainsi que les piscicultures terrestres, pendant que d'autres sont responsables d'effectuer les tests des fonds marins.
Robyn Pearce, Biologiste, Opérations environnementales de l'aquaculture, Pêches et Océans Canada
Nous installons le bossoir et la benne pour effectuer un échantillonnage benthique des sédiments des fonds marins.

Voix hors champ
De mai jusqu'à la fin de septembre, le groupe d'actions sur l'environnement visite activement les piscicultures et met à l'essai des fonds marins durs et des fonds meubles afin de mesurer tous les effets des piscicultures sur ces derniers.

Des seuils et des indicateurs ont été déterminés afin d'aider le personnel du gouvernement fédéral à évaluer les répercussions que chacune des piscicultures a sur son environnement. Par exemple, la mesure du sulfure dans un échantillon fournit un indicateur chimique des effets sur les sédiments sous les piscicultures. Si la teneur en sulfure est trop élevée, la matière organique ne se décompose pas et le site doit être laissé libre jusqu’à ce que la teneur soit jugée acceptable.

Vidéoclip de Robyn Pearce
Nous visons précisément la conformité des mesures aux conditions stipulées sur les permis pour poissons à nageoires.

Nous appliquons le règlement selon le niveau moyen de sulfure. Dès que nous recevons le sous-échantillon de sédiments, sur les lieux, nous mesurons la quantité de sulfure et prenons la mesure redox permettant d'estimer si la pisciculture respecte ou non les seuils.

Voix hors champ
La réglementation de l'industrie aquicole en C.-B. est une entreprise importante.

Pêches et Océans Canada possède les compétences nécessaires pour assumer ce rôle qui se résume à la gestion de l'industrie aquicole et de la pêche sauvage incluant la pêche commerciale, récréative et autochtone.

Cette perspective unique permet au Ministère d'adopter une approche coordonnée et équilibrée en matière de durabilité et d'intendance d'une des plus précieuses ressources du Canada. En Colombie-Britannique, la gestion et les conditions réglementaires mises en place assurent non seulement la réussite et la croissance de l’industrie de l’aquaculture, mais également la protection de nos ressources marines et des intérêts de la population canadienne.

Vidéoclip de Mark Sheppard
Nous voulons nous assurer que l'élevage est fait de manière durable et avec le minimum d'effet sur l'habitat environnant.

Voix hors champ
Pour en apprendre davantage, consultez le http://www.pac.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/aquaculture/index-fra.htm

Coast of Bays

La région de Coast of Bays est située sur la côte sud de Terre Neuve et Labrador, et couvre la côte nord de la baie Fortune, la baie d’Espoir et la péninsule Connaigre. La région compte une douzaine de collectivités, dont Pool’s Cove, St. Alban’s, Milltown, Belleoram, Harbour Breton, Conne River, Hermitage et Rencontre East. Ce ne sont que quelques unes des collectivités qui ont bénéficié de la croissance de l’industrie aquacole.

Gain Net : Une conchyliculture canadienne durable

Cette vidéo a été produite en 2006 par AquaNet, un réseau fédéral de recherche en aquaculture.

Lisez la transcription