Aquatic Species

Browse the list of the most popular aquatic species living in Canadian waters. These species have been classified under eight categories: freshwater, finfish, groundfish, diadromous and pelagic species, invertebrates, marine mammals and molluscs. For each name listed, you will find a description of the species and its habitat.

For more information: Underwater World.

Some of the species listed are Species at RiskThe Species at Risk Act (SARA) protects many aquatic species, including fish, reptiles, marine mammals and molluscs. (Read the Act at the Species at risk Public Registry website.)

And some species are Invasive Species – An aquatic invader is a non-native species whose introduction will likely cause (or has already caused) damage to the host ecosystem, existing species therein, the economy or human well-being.

Aquatic Species of particular interest

  • Coastal Zone of Atlantic Canada: Species Lists ― Species representative of this region.
  • Pacific Salmon ― For thousands of years, the history, economy and culture of Canada’s west coast have been inextricably linked to Pacific salmon.
  • Pacific Region Marine Mammals & Turtles ― Find general information on marine mammals, turtles, information for the public about DFO's role and programs, and news on marine mammal initiatives and programs within the Department. 
  • Seals and Sealing in Canada ― Find facts on seals, including highlights from the Department’s seal hunt management plans.
  • Sharks of Atlantic Canada ― Sharks are marine fishes that can be found throughout the world’s oceans, including the Arctic Ocean. Only 19 shark species reside in Canadian Atlantic waters, five of which are considered to be occasional visitors.

Espèces aquatiques

Consultez la liste des espèces aquatiques les plus populaires au Canada. Ces espèces sont classées en huit catégories : poissons de fond, poissons à nageoires, mammifères marins, mollusques, invertébrés et espèces diadromes, pélagiques et d’eau douce. Vous trouverez une description de l’espèce et de son habitat pour chaque nom répertorié.

Pour plus d'information: Monde sous-marin

Certaines de ces espèces sont des Espèces aquatiques en péril – La Loi sur les espèces en péril a été promulguée pour protéger plusieurs espèces aquatiques notamment les poissons, les reptiles, les mammifères marins et les mollusques. (Consultez la Loi sur le site Web du Registre public des espèces en péril.)

Et certaines espèces sont des Espèces aquatiques envahissantes – Une espèce aquatique envahissante est une espèce étrangère dont l’introduction au Canada causera probablement (ou a déjà causé) des dommages à l’écosystème qu’il a envahi, aux espèces qui y vivent, à l’économie ou au bien-être de la population canadienne.

Espèces aquatiques d’un intérêt particulier

  • Vous trouverez dans ce site des renseignements sur les mammifères marins et les tortues, de l’information sur le rôle et les programmes du MPO, de même que de l’information sur les initiatives et les programmes mis en œuvre par le Ministère relativement à ces espèces.
  • Phoques et chasse au phoque – Vous trouverez dans ce site des renseignements sur les phoques ainsi que sur les plans de gestion de la chasse au phoque du Ministère.
  • Requins du Canada atlantique – Les requins sont des poissons marins qui vivent dans tous les océans, y compris l'océan Arctique. Seules 19 espèces de requins se retrouvent dans les eaux du Canada atlantique, dont 5 sont en fait des visiteurs saisonniers.
  • Saumon du Pacifique – Depuis des milliers d’années, l’histoire, l’économie et la culture de la côte Ouest du Canada sont étroitement liées au saumon du Pacifique.
  • Zone côtière du Canada atlantique : Liste des espèces – Espèces représentatives de cette région.