Commercial fishery requirements

Licensing

Electronic Logbooks (ELOGS)

Paper Logbooks

Logbook keeping is mandatory under the Fisheries Act. Fish harvesters are required to record information about fishing catch and effort, and submit this data as specified in the conditions of licence. Fish harvesters are responsible for obtaining their own logbook or electronic logbook application and/or combined forms as applicable.

Gear Tags and Tabs

Gear tags and tabs are required in some commercial fisheries in Canada. Fish harvesters are responsible for obtaining and paying for their own gear tags and tabs, through an approved tag supplier.

At-Sea Observer Program

The At-Sea Observer Program provides independent third party verification of fish harvesting activities. Observers are assigned to fishing vessels operating in the offshore, inshore and near-shore areas. The program provides accurate and timely information on fish harvests. It also provides scientific catch and sampling data. The fishing industry and the department use this information for fisheries management and scientific research purposes.

Commercial fishers make agreements with service providers qualified by the Canadian General Standards Board and designated by Fisheries and Oceans Canada.

Dockside monitoring

The Dockside Monitoring Program provides independent third party verification of fish landings. Commercial fishing licences require participation in the program for most species (for all or a portion of fleets and landings).

The program supports fisheries management by providing accurate and timely harvest data, including the weight and species landed. The program is paid for by the fishing industry. Commercial fishers make agreements with service providers qualified by the Canadian General Standards Board and designated by Fisheries and Oceans Canada.

Vessel Monitoring System

The Vessel Monitoring System is a program for tracking the positions and movements of vessels. Licence conditions for certain Canadian and foreign fishing vessels require them to participate in the Vessel Monitoring System. Participating vessels must buy, carry and register an approved vessel monitoring unit.

Exigences relatives à la pêche commerciale

Émission de permis

Journaux de bord électroniques (JBE)

Journaux de bord papier

Tenir un journal de bord est obligatoire en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches. Comme le précisent les conditions de permis, les pêcheurs doivent consigner les renseignements sur les prises et les efforts de pêche et soumettre ces données. Les pêcheurs sont responsables de se procurer leurs propres journaux de bord et formulaires combinés au besoin, et de l'application du journal de bord électronique.

Étiquettes et plaquettes d'engins de pêche

Les étiquettes et plaquettes d'engins de pêche sont requises pour certaines pêches commerciales au Canada. Les pêcheurs doivent se procurer leurs propres étiquettes et plaquettes d'engins de pêche auprès d'un fournisseur d'étiquettes approuvé.

Programme des observateurs en mer

Le Programme des observateurs en mer permet la vérification des activités de pêche par un tiers indépendant. On affecte des observateurs aux navires de pêche exploités dans des zones extracôtières (au large des côtes), des zones côtières et des zones près des côtes. Le programme permet de recueillir des renseignements exacts et opportuns sur les prises. Des données scientifiques sur les prises et l'échantillonnage sont également recueillies. L'industrie de la pêche et le Ministère utilisent ces renseignements pour la gestion des pêches et la recherche scientifique.

Les pêcheurs commerciaux signent des ententes avec des fournisseurs de services accrédités par l'Office des normes générales du Canada et désignés par Pêches et Océans Canada.

Vérification à quai

Le programme de vérification à quai assure une vérification des débarquements de poisson par des tiers indépendants. Les permis de pêche commerciale exigent la participation au programme pour la plupart des espèces (pour l'ensemble ou une partie des flottes et des débarquements).

Le programme soutient la gestion des pêches en fournissant des données exactes et opportunes sur les prises, y compris le poids et les espèces. Le programme est financé par l'industrie de la pêche. Les pêcheurs commerciaux signent des ententes avec des fournisseurs de services accrédités par l'Office des normes générales du Canada et désignés par Pêches et Océans Canada.

Système de surveillance des navires

Le Système de surveillance des navires est un programme qui assure le suivi des positions et des déplacements des navires. Conformément aux conditions de leurs permis de pêche, ceux qui exploitent certains navires de pêche canadiens et étrangers doivent participer au Système de surveillance des navires. Ceux qui exploitent des navires concernés doivent se procurer, transporter et enregistrer une unité de surveillance des navires approuvée.