2021-2022 Protocol for Gear Tagging in Atlantic Commercial Fisheries

APPLICATION

This protocol applies to fishing gear tagging for all commercial fisheries (including communal commercial) where prior to the 2013 fishing season, Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) was providing gear tags to the commercial fishing industry.

As is currently the case, DFO will continue to provide tags in the Atlantic Bluefin Tuna fishery, and where they are required in non-commercial fisheries (recreational, scientific, Aboriginal food, social, ceremonial).

As of April 1, 2013, and following a repeal of the gear tagging requirements contained in the Atlantic Fishery Regulations, fishing industry began assuming the responsibility to obtain and pay for any gear tags used in the commercial fisheries where gear tagging is required as a condition of licence. Licence holders must tag their gear with a valid tag that has been obtained from a DFO-approved gear tag supplier.

APPROVED TAG SUPPLIER

In accordance with this Gear Tagging Protocol, DFO provides, on a three-year cyclical basis, the opportunity for organizations or other interested parties to express interest in becoming approved tag suppliers by submitting a Tagging Plan application to the Department for consideration.

A tag supplier that has been identified in a Tagging Plan approved by DFO is referred to as an “approved tag supplier”.

A list of all DFO ‘‘approved tag suppliers’’ is available on DFO’s website.

Licence holders may obtain gear tags from any “approved tag supplier” that services their fishing area.

DFO Criteria for Tagging Plan Approval

In order for DFO to approve a Tagging Plan, the following conditions must be met:

Submission of Tagging Plan

Areas/Fisheries to be Supplied

Duration of Tagging Plans

Single Year and Multi-Year Tags

ASSESSMENT CRITERIA FOR TAGGING PLANS

DFO will assess Tagging Plans against the following criteria:

Tag Supplier

Description of the Tag to be Used

LFA27 xx zzzzzz ABC – where LFA27 is the fishing area; xx is the two digit Tag Supplier Identification Number assigned by DFO and zzzzzz is the unique tag number. Tags must also include the manufacturer’s stamp (whatever form that takes) somewhere on the tag.

Colour of Tags

Replacement Tags

Distribution of Tags

Record Keeping

Note: If the option of up to 10% replacement is applicable, the number of replacement tags shipped or picked up with the original set and the sequence numbers for those replacement tags (including the number of the first replacement tag and the number of the last replacement tag in the sequence).

Gulf Region - GulfInfoGolfe@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Maritimes Region - XMARTAGS@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Newfoundland and Labrador Region – Gary.Bruce@dfo-mpo.gc.ca  
Quebec Region - infostatqc@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Reviews and Verifications

Approval of Tagging Plan

Approval or Renewal in Subsequent Years

Protocole de 2018-2020 pour l'étiquetage des engins dans les pêches commerciales de l'Atlantique

APPLICATION

Ce protocole s'applique à l'étiquetage des engins de pêche pour toutes les pêches commerciales (y compris la pêche commerciale communautaire) qui recevaient leurs étiquettes d'engins de pêche de Pêches et Océans Canada avant la saison de pêche de 2013.

Comme c'est actuellement le cas, le Ministère continuera de fournir des étiquettes aux pêcheurs de thon rouge de l'Atlantique et aux pêcheurs non commerciaux qui en ont besoin (pêche récréative, scientifique, ou à des fins alimentaires, sociales ou rituelles pour les Autochtones).

Depuis le 1er avril 2013, à la suite de l'abrogation des exigences relatives à l'étiquetage des engins énoncées dans le Règlement de pêche de l’Atlantique, l’industrie a la responsabilité de se procurer à ses propres frais, les étiquettes utilisées dans le cadre de pêches commerciales où l’étiquetage des engins est obligatoire; cette mesure sera appliquée dans le cadre des conditions des permis. Les pêcheurs doivent étiqueter leurs engins à l'aide d'une étiquette valide qu'ils ont obtenue dans le cadre d'un plan d'étiquetage approuvé par Pêches et Océans Canada qui a été soumis au Ministère par un fournisseur d'étiquettes.

FOURNISSEUR D'ÉTIQUETTES APPROUVÉ

Conformément au présent protocole pour l'étiquetage d'engins, le MPO offre tous les trois ans l’opportunité aux organisations intéressées, d'exprimer leur intérêt pour devenir des fournisseurs d'étiquettes en lui soumettant une demande de plan d'étiquetage pour examen.

Un fournisseur d’étiquettes qui a été désigné dans un plan d'étiquetage approuvé par le Ministère est considéré comme un « fournisseur d'étiquettes approuvé ».

La liste de tous les «fournisseurs d’étiquettes approuvés» par le ministère est disponible sur le site Internet du MPO (/fm-gp/sdc-cps/nir-nei/tags-supplier-region-fra.htm).

Les détenteurs de permis peuvent obtenir des étiquettes d'engins auprès de n'importe quel « fournisseur d'étiquettes approuvé » qui dessert leur zone de pêche.

Critères du MPO pour l'approbation des plans d'étiquetage

Pour faire approuver un plan d'étiquetage par Pêches et Océans Canada, il faut respecter les conditions suivantes :

Soumission du plan d'étiquetage

Zones et pêches à desservir

Durée des plans d'étiquetage

Étiquettes annuelles et pluriannuelles

CRITÈRES D'ÉVALUATION DES PLANS D'ÉTIQUETAGE

Pêches et Océans Canada évaluera les plans d'étiquetage en fonction des critères suivants :

Fournisseur d'étiquettes

Description de l'étiquette à utiliser

ZPH27 xx zzzzzz ABC – où ZPH27 correspond à la zone de pêche, xx au numéro d'identification à deux chiffres du fournisseur d'étiquettes attribué à celui-ci par le Ministère et zzzzzz correspond au nombre séquentiel unique. Le timbre du fabricant (quelle qu'en soit la forme) doit également figurer sur les étiquettes.

Couleur des étiquettes

Étiquettes de remplacement

Distribution des étiquettes

Tenue des dossiers

Région du Golfe - GulfInfoGolfe@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Région des Maritimes - XMARTAGS@dfo-mpo.gc.ca  
Région de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador - Ellen.Careen@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Région du Québec - infostatqc@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Examens et vérifications

Approbation du plan d'étiquetage

Approbation ou renouvellement dans les années subséquentes