Aboriginal Fisheries Strategy

In 1990, the Supreme Court of Canada issued a landmark ruling in the Sparrow decision. This decision found that the Musqueam First Nation has an Aboriginal right to fish for food, social and ceremonial purposes. The Supreme Court found that where an Aboriginal group has a right to fish for food, social and ceremonial purposes, it takes priority, after conservation, over other uses of the resource. The Supreme Court also indicated the importance of consulting with Aboriginal groups when their fishing rights might be affected.

In response to this decision, and to provide stable fishery management, Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) launched the Aboriginal Fisheries Strategy (AFS) in 1992. The AFS is applicable where DFO manages the fishery and where land claims settlements have not already put a fisheries management regime in place.

Background Documents

Strengthening Our Relationship - The Aboriginal Fisheries Strategy and Beyond

Strengthening Our Relationship - The Aboriginal Fisheries Strategy and Beyond - Executive Summary

What are the objectives of the AFS?

  • To provide a framework for the management of fishing by Aboriginal groups for food, social and ceremonial purposes.
  • To provide Aboriginal groups with an opportunity to participate in the management of fisheries, thereby improving conservation, management and enhancement of the resource.
  • To contribute to the economic self-sufficiency of Aboriginal communities.
  • To provide a foundation for the development of self-government agreements and treaties.
  • To improve the fisheries management skills and capacity of Aboriginal groups.

The AFS is of assistance to DFO in managing the fishery in a manner consistent with the Sparrow decision and subsequent Supreme Court of Canada decisions. The AFS seeks to provide for the effective management and regulation of fishing by Aboriginal groups through the negotiation of mutually acceptable and time-limited fisheries agreements between DFO and Aboriginal groups. Where agreement cannot be reached with an Aboriginal group, DFO will review the consultations with the group and the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans will issue a communal fishing licence to the group, containing provisions that the Minister believes are consistent with the Sparrow decision and subsequent Supreme Court of Canada decisions. The licence allows the group to fish for food, social and ceremonial purposes.

Where DFO reaches agreement with an Aboriginal group, the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans will issue a licence to the group that reflects the agreement reached.

Fisheries agreements negotiated under the AFS could contain:

  • provisions with respect to amounts that may be fished for food, social and ceremonial purposes;
  • terms and conditions that will be included in the communal fishing licence (e.g. species, amount that may be fished, area, gear, times, reporting requirements);
  • arrangements for co-operative management by the Aboriginal group and DFO of fishing by the group for food, social and ceremonial purposes;
  • co-operative management projects for the improvement of the management of fisheries in general, such as stock assessment, fish enhancement and habitat management; and
  • provisions related to communal licences under the Allocation Transfer Program (ATP) for obtaining access to commercial fisheries and/or other economic development opportunities.

Annual funding of the AFS is $35 million, with about 125 AFS agreements signed each year since the implementation of the program. Approximately two thirds of these agreements are reached with Aboriginal groups in DFO's Pacific Region, with the balance in Atlantic Canada and Quebec.

The ATP is an integral component of the AFS. This program facilitates the voluntary retirement of commercial licences and the issuance of licences to eligible Aboriginal groups in a manner that does not add to the existing fishing effort, thereby providing Aboriginal groups with much-needed employment and income. Since 1994-95, when the ATP was first launched, approximately 900 commercial licences have been issued to Aboriginal groups.

The AFS program has resulted in:

  • better monitoring of Aboriginal fishing;
  • improved co-operation on enforcement;
  • more selective fishing; and
  • the creation of approximately 1300 seasonal jobs per year since 1993 in such areas as commercial fishing, processing, monitoring and fishery enhancement activities.

Stratégie relative aux pêches autochtones

En 1990, la Cour suprême du Canada a rendu un arrêt-clé dans la cause Sparrow. Selon cette décision, la Première nation de Musqueam a un droit ancestral de pratiquer la pêche à des fins alimentaires, sociales ou rituelles. La Cour suprême a reconnu que lorsqu'un groupe autochtone a le droit de pêcher à des fins alimentaires, sociales ou rituelles, ce droit a préséance sur les autres usages de la ressource, sous réserve de considérations prépondérantes comme la conservation. La Cour suprême a également souligné l'importance de consulter les groupes autochtones lorsque leurs droits de pêche risquent d'être touchés.

À la suite de cet arrêt et pour assurer une gestion stable des pêches, Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) a lancé en 1992 la Stratégie relative aux pêches autochtones (SRAPA). Cette stratégie s'applique dans les zones où le MPO gère les pêches et où les règlements de revendications territoriales n'ont pas déjà établi un régime de gestion des pêches.

Documents de référence

Renforcer notre relation – La Stratégie relative aux pêches autochtones et au-delà

Renforcer notre relation – La Stratégie relative aux pêches autochtones et au-delà – Résumé

Quels sont les objectifs de la SRAPA?

  • Fournir un cadre de réglementation pour la gestion de la pêche autochtone à des fins alimentaires, sociales ou rituelles.
  • Offrir aux Autochtones la possibilité de participer à la gestion des pêches, ce qui aura un effet positif sur la conservation, la gestion et la mise en valeur de la ressource.
  • Favoriser l'indépendance économique des collectivités autochtones.
  • Fournir une assise solide pour la conclusion de traités et d'ententes sur l'autonomie gouvernementale.
  • Améliorer les compétences et les capacités des groupes autochtones.

La SRAPA aide le MPO à gérer les pêches en conformité avec l'arrêt Sparrow et d'autres décisions subséquentes de la Cour suprême. La SRAPA vise à assurer la gestion et la réglementation efficaces des pêches autochtones par la négociation d'ententes mutuellement acceptables et de durée limitée entre le MPO et les groupes autochtones. Dans les cas où les parties ne parviennent pas à s'entendre, le MPO réexaminera les consultations avec ce groupe autochtone, et le ministre des Pêches et des Océans octroiera au groupe un permis de pêche communautaire dont les clauses sont conformes à la décision Sparrow et à d'autres décisions subséquentes de la Cour suprême du Canada. Le permis permet au groupe de pratiquer la pêche à des fins alimentaires, sociales ou rituelles .

Lorsque le MPO conclut une entente avec un groupe autochtone, le ministre des Pêches et des Océans octroiera au groupe un permis qui reflète l'entente conclue.

Les ententes de pêche négociées en vertu de la SRAPA peuvent contenir :

  • des conditions en ce qui a trait aux quantités de poisson pouvant être pêché à des fins alimentaires, sociales ou rituelles;
  • les conditions qui seront incluses dans le permis de pêche communautaire (p. ex., espèces, quantités, zones de pêche, engins, saison de pêche, modalités d'application, collecte de données);
  • des mesures sur la gestion conjointe de la pêche à des fins alimentaires, sociales ou rituelles par le groupe autochtone et le MPO;
  • des projets de gestion conjointe pour améliorer la gestion des pêches en général, par exemple pour ce qui est de l'évaluation des stocks, de la mise en valeur de la ressource halieutique et de la gestion de l'habitat;
  • les conditions reliées aux permis de pêche communautaire en vertu du Programme de transfert des allocations aux Autochtones.

Depuis l'entrée en vigueur de la SRAPA, qui dispose d'un budget annuel de 35 millions de dollars, environ 125 ententes ont été signées chaque année. Les deux tiers de ces ententes environ ont été conclues avec des groupes autochtones de la Région du Pacifique du MPO, le reste avec des groupes du Canada atlantique et du Québec.

Le Programme de transfert des allocations fait partie intégrante de la SRAPA. Ce programme facilite le retrait volontaire de permis de pêche commerciale, qui sont réattribués à des groupes autochtones admissibles; cette approche permet de ne pas augmenter l'effort de pêche et de fournir aux collectivités autochtones des possibilités de revenus et d'emplois dont elles ont grand besoin. Depuis 1994-1995, année du lancement de ce programme, environ 900 permis de pêche commerciale ont été délivrés à des groupes autochtones.

La SRAPA a permis :

  • une meilleure surveillance de la pêche autochtone;
  • une meilleure collaboration en ce qui concerne le respect des lois et des règlements;
  • une pêche plus sélective;
  • la création d'environ 1 300 emplois saisonniers par année depuis 1993 dans les secteurs comme la pêche commerciale, la transformation, la surveillance et la mise en valeur de la ressource.