Integrated Fisheries Management Plan Summary Template

Purpose

Any documents/links that are posted externally on-line or released to the public in paper form must abide by the Treasury Board Official Languages Policy (i.e. English and French must be equally represented). In the case of Integrated Fisheries Management Plans (IFMPs), these documents are often quite lengthy, and are cost-prohibitive to translate in both official languages. 

In addition, departmental stakeholders are not always best served by one or both of Canada’s official languages. This template is designed to assist Regions in posting or printing relevant IFMP material externally in both official languages, and other languages as deemed appropriate to best serve clients, and is an alternative to posting the full IFMP. All translation costs are the responsibility of regions.

In all cases, the summary document is an opportunity to directly copy  some of the relevant information directly from the IFMP and leave the details in the full IFMP. The actual length of the IFMP summary document is dependent upon what information is needed to accurately portray the fishery. The format should be consistent nationally, following this template.

logo-sig

Integrated Fisheries Management Plan Summary

Species (including scientific name(s))
Fishing area(s)
As of 201X
Where available, insert an illustration(s) of the species.

The purpose of this Integrated Fisheries Management Plan (IFMP) summary is to provide a brief overview of the information found in the full IFMP. This document also serves to communicate the basic information on the fishery and its management to DFO staff, legislated co-management boards and other stakeholders.  This IFMP provides a common understanding of the basic “rules” for the sustainable management of the fisheries resource. The full IFMP is available on request.

This IFMP summary is not a legally binding instrument which can form the basis of a legal challenge. The IFMP can be modified at any time and does not fetter the Minister's discretionary powers set out in the Fisheries Act. The Minister can, for reasons of conservation or for any other valid reasons, modify any provision of the IFMP in accordance with the powers granted pursuant to the Fisheries Act

Where DFO is responsible for implementing obligations under land claims agreements, the IFMP will be implemented in a manner consistent with these obligations.  In the event that an IFMP is inconsistent with obligations under land claims agreements, the provisions of the land claims agreements will prevail to the extent of the inconsistency. 

Signature and title of DFO approval authority

General Overview/Introduction, including map
Select information should be used from the IFMP, including type of fishery, participants, location of the fishery and an outline of the characteristics (gear types, management, and timeframe).

Stock Assessment, Science & Traditional Knowledge
<insert text>

Economic, Social, Cultural Importance
The Economics group is developing a new framework for its framework analysis which includes a ‘dashboard’ summary.  The dashboard should be included in the summary. In the meantime, the most relevant economic, social and culture information should be included.

Access and Allocations
Required text: The Minister can, for reasons of conservation or for any other any other valid reasons, modify access, allocations and sharing arrangements outlined in this IFMP in accordance with the powers granted pursuant to the Fisheries Act.

<insert text>

Governance Process
Approximately five lines describing annual advice/management cycle

Shared Stewardship Arrangements
<insert text>

Management of the Fishery
<complete attached table>

For each section, each region should provide the information that is most important for that fishery/their region. This table should address the key management issues in point form.

Compliance Plan
<insert text>

Performance Review & Plan Enhancement
<insert text>

Fisheries and Oceans Canada Contact
For additional information on this IFMP Summary or to request an electronic version of the full IFMP, please contact ____________________. Enter position and phone number.

Management of the Fishery (By-catch provided as an example
# Management Issue Objectives Management Measure
1

Section 4 of the IFMP

By-catch

Section 5 of the IFMP

  • To reduce the by-catch in this fishery to a minimal amount

Section 7 of the IFMP

  • Introduction of new mesh size
  • New logbooks that record by-catch
  • New by-catch protocol in licence
2


     
3

Modèle de résumé du Plan de gestion intégrée des pêches

Objet

Tous les documents et les liens qui sont publiés en ligne à l'externe ou diffusés au public en format papier doivent respecter la politique sur les langues officielles du Conseil du Trésor (c.-à-d. que le français et l'anglais doivent être également représentés). Dans le cas des Plans de gestion intégrée des pêches (PGIP), ces documents sont souvent plutôt longs et il coûte cher de les traduire dans les deux langues.

De plus, les intervenants ministériels parlent parfois une autre langue que les deux langues officielles du Canada. Le présent modèle est conçu pour aider les régions à afficher en ligne ou à imprimer les documents pertinents liés au PGIP dans les deux langues officielles et dans d'autres langues, au besoin, pour mieux servir les clients. Cela évite ainsi de publier le PGIP complet. Les régions doivent assumer tous les coûts de traduction.

Dans tous les cas, il y a l'occasion de copier l'information pertinente directement du PGIP et d'indiquer les détails seulement dans la version intégrale. La longueur réelle du résumé du PGIP est fonction de l'information requise pour décrire précisément la pêche. Le format doit être le même pour l'ensemble du pays, et respecter ce modèle.

logo-sig

Résumé du Plan de gestion intégrée des pêches

Espèce (y compris les noms scientifiques)
Zone(s) de pêche
En date de 201X
Si possible, insérer une illustration de l'espèce

Le présent résumé du Plan de gestion intégrée des pêches (PGIP) vise à donner un aperçu des renseignements présentés dans le PGIP complet. Il permet aussi de communiquer les renseignements de base sur une pêche et sa gestion au personnel de Pêches et Océans Canada, aux conseils de cogestion reconnus par la loi et aux autres intervenants. Ce PGIP fournit une interprétation commune des « règles » fondamentales qui régissent la gestion durable des ressources halieutiques. Le PGIP complet est disponible sur demande.

Le présent résumé du PGIP n’est pas un document exécutoire; il ne peut constituer la base d’une contestation judiciaire. Le PGIP peut être modifié en tout temps, il ne peut entraver l’exercice des pouvoirs discrétionnaires du ministre conférés par la Loi sur les pêches. Le ministre peut, pour des raisons de conservation ou pour toute autre raison valable, modifier toute disposition du PGIP conformément aux pouvoirs qui lui sont conférés par la Loi sur les pêches.

Dans tous les cas où le MPO est responsable de l'exécution d'obligations découlant d'ententes sur des revendications territoriales, la mise en œuvre du PGIP devra être compatible avec ces obligations. Si le PGIP entre en conflit avec les obligations juridiques des ententes sur les revendications territoriales, les dispositions de ces dernières prévaudront dans la mesure de l’incompatibilité.

Signature et titre de l'autorité approbatrice du MPO

Aperçu général/introduction, avec carte
Les renseignements doivent être tirés du PGIP, y compris le type de pêche, les participants, le lieu de la pêche et une description générale des caractéristiques de la pêche (types d'engins, gestion et période).

Évaluation des stocks, connaissances scientifiques et traditionnelles
<insérer le texte>

Importance économique, sociale et culturelle
Le groupe de Politiques et économie élabore un nouveau cadre pour son analyse qui comprend un résumé sous forme de « tableau de bord ». Ce tableau doit être inclus dans le résumé. Entre-temps, il faut indiquer les renseignements de nature économique, sociale et culturelle les plus pertinents.

Accès et allocations
Texte requis : Le ministre peut, pour des raisons de conservation ou pour toute autre raison valable, modifier l’accès, les allocations et les modalités de partage décrites dans le présent PGIP, conformément aux pouvoirs qui lui sont conférés en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches.

<insérer le texte>

Processus de gouvernance
Environ cinq lignes décrivant le cycle annuel de gestion et de consultation

Modalités d’intendance partagée
<insérer le texte>

Gestion de la pêche

<remplir le tableau en pièce jointe>

Pour chaque section, toutes les régions doivent fournir les renseignements les plus importants pour cette pêche ou la région. Le tableau doit présenter les principaux enjeux de gestion de manière abrégée.

Plan de conformité
<insérer le texte>

Examen de rendement et amélioration du plan
<insérer le texte>

Personne-ressource à Pêches et Océans Canada
Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le résumé du PGIP ou pour demander une version électronique intégrale du PGIP, veuillez communiquer avec ____________________. Indiquer le poste et le numéro de téléphone.

Gestion de la pêche (les prises accessoires sont utilisées à titre d'exemple)
No Enjeu de gestion Objectifs Mesure de gestion
1

Section 4 du PGIP

Prises accessoires

Section 5 du PGIP

  • Réduire au minimum les prises accessoires dans le cadre de cette pêche

Section 7 du PGIP

  • Introduire un nouveau maillage
  • Nouveaux journaux de bord où consigner les prises accessoires
  • Nouveau protocole sur les prises accessoires dans les permis
2


   
3