Illegal, Unreported and Unregulated (IUU) Fishing

Illegal, unreported and unregulated (IUU) fishing is a major contributor to declining fish stocks and marine habitat destruction. Globally, IUU fishing takes many forms both within nationally-controlled waters and on the high seas. While it is not known for sure how much IUU fishing is taking place, it is estimated that IUU fishing accounts for about 30 per cent of all fishing activity worldwide.

Plane and CCG boat

The worldwide value of IUU catches is somewhere between $4 billion and $9 billion per year. Approximately $1.25 billion of this illegally captured fish is thought to be taken from the high seas, with the remainder fished illegally within 200-mile limits of coastal states. Illegal fishing is most prevalent where governance measures to manage fisheries are the weakest, which explains why developing countries are the hardest hit by IUU fishing. An estimated $1 billion in IUU fishing is happening in the coastal waters of sub-Saharan Africa each year.

Strong governance of the high seas through regional fisheries management organizations (RFMOs) is integral to reducing illegal fishing activities. An increasing number of RFMOs are using port and trade measures to discourage IUU fishing activity. Measures include not allowing vessels suspected of fishing illegally to dock or unload in a country’s port, developing IUU fishing lists of vessels taking part in illegal fishing activities, and scrapping vessels found guilty of multiple illegal fishing offences.

Illegal fishing refers to:

  • Fishing by national or foreign vessels within a country’s Exclusive Economic Zone without permission, or, undertaking fishing activities that contravene that country’s laws or regulations.
  • Fishing by a vessel flying the flag of a State party to a relevant Regional Fisheries Management Organization (RFMO) that contravenes conservation or management measures adopted by that organization or part of international law.
  • Fishing that violates national laws or international obligations.

Unreported fishing refers to:

  • Fishing that has not been reported, or has been misreported, to the relevant national authority or RFMO.

Unregulated fishing refers to:

  • Fishing within the regulatory zone of a RFMO of a vessel without a nationality, or by a vessel flying the flag of a state not party to the organization (Flag of convenience), which contravenes the conservation and management measure set out by the RFMO.
  • Fishing outside of regulated zones, which is inconsistent with efforts under international law to conserve living marine resources.

Pêche illicite, non déclarée et non réglementée (INN)

La pêche illégale, non déclarée et non réglementée (INN) contribue fortement au déclin des stocks de poisson et à la destruction des habitats marins. À l'échelle mondiale, la pêche INN revêt de nombreuses formes, tant dans les eaux nationales qu'en haute mer. On ne sait pas vraiment avec précision dans quelle mesure la pêche INN est pratiquée, mais on estime qu'elle compte pour environ 30 pour 100 de l'ensemble des activités de pêche menées dans le monde entier.

Avion et bateau GCC

La valeur des prises INN récoltées à l'échelle mondiale se situe dans les 4 à 9 milliards de dollars par an. Environ 1,25 milliard de dollars de ce poisson capturé illégalement est présumé avoir été pris en haute mer et le reste, dans la limite de la zone économique exclusive de 200 milles des états côtiers. La pêche illégale est plus courante là oû les mesures de gouvernance régissant la gestion des pêches sont les plus faibles, ce qui explique pourquoi les pays en développement sont les plus durement touchés par la pêche INN. Selon des estimations, la pêche INN pratiquée dans les eaux côtières de l'Afrique subsaharienne rapporte 1 milliard de dollars par an.

Un régime rigoureux de gouvernance de la haute mer par des organisations régionales de gestion des pêches (ORGP) est essentiel pour réduire les activités de pêche illégale. Un nombre croissant d'ORGP recourent à des sanctions commerciales et à des mesures d'interdiction d'accès aux ports pour décourager les activités de pêche INN. Les mesures incluent l'interdiction imposée aux navires soupçonnés de faire de la pêche illégale d'accoster ou de décharger leurs prises au port d'un pays, l'établissement de listes de navires pratiquant la pêche INN et la mise à la ferraille des navires trouvés coupables de multiples infractions pour pêche illégale.

La pêche illicite s'entend :

  • de la pêche non autorisée pratiquée par des navires d'un pays ou des navires étrangers dans la zone économique exclusive de ce pays ou de la conduite d'activités de pêche qui contreviennent aux lois et règlements de ce pays;
  • de la pêche pratiquée par un navire battant pavillon d'un état partie à une organisation régionale de gestion des pêches (ORGP) qui contrevient aux mesures de conservation ou de gestion adoptées par cette ORGP ou faisant partie du droit international;
  • de la pêche qui viole les lois nationales ou les obligations internationales.

La pêche non déclarée s'entend :

  • de la pêche qui n'a pas été déclarée ou qui l'a été de façon fallacieuse à l'autorité nationale ou à l'ORGP compétente.

La pêche non réglementée s'entend :

  • de la pêche pratiquée, dans la zone réglementée par une ORGP, par un navire sans nationalité ou par un navire battant pavillon d'un état non partie à cette ORGP (pavillon de complaisance), en contravention des mesures de conservation et de gestion qu'elle a établies;
  • de la pêche pratiquée à l'extérieur des zones réglementées, ce qui va à l'encontre des efforts déployés au titre du droit international pour conserver les ressources marines vivantes.