Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Illegal, Unreported and Unregulated Vessel Listing

The publication of lists of vessels known to be involved in illegal fishing activities is another important international tool for combating overfishing and contributing to sustainable fish stocks and healthy ocean ecosystems. Many regional fisheries management organizations have now developed IUU vessel lists as part of their conservation efforts.

United Nation’s Food and Agriculture Organization’s (FAO) International Plan of Action to Prevent, Deter and Eliminate Illegal, Unreported and Unregulated Fishing sets out procedures for IUU listing aimed at ensuring that the process is transparent, equitable and non-discriminatory. An IUU list includes information about any vessels considered to be fishing illegally within a regional fisheries management organization’s (RFMO) convention area. The listings include vessels from contracting and non-contracting countries.

In addition to RFMOs, some countries such as Norway and conservation organizations such as Greenpeace and World Wildlife Federation (WWF) have developed their own lists to deter illegal fishing activity by bringing attention to specific vessels, and as well as flag states that are contributing to the global problem of IUU fishing.

IUU Vessel Lists:

Liste de navires de pêche illicite, non déclarée et non réglementée

La publication de listes de navires impliqués dans des activités de pêches illégales constitue un autre important outil international de lutte contre la surpêche, qui contribue également à la durabilité des stocks de poissons et à la santé des écosystèmes marins. De nombreuses organisations régionales de gestion des pêches ont dressé leurs propres listes de navires de pêche INN dans le cadre de leurs efforts de conservation.

Le plan international visant à prévenir, à contrecarrer et à éliminer la pêche illicite, non déclarée et non réglementée de l'Organisation des Nations Unies pour l'alimentation et l'agriculture (FAO) expose les procédures à suivre pour dresser une liste des navires de pêche INN de manière à ce que le processus soit transparent, équitable et non discriminatoire. Une liste de navires de pêche INN comprend des renseignements sur tout navire que l'on soupçonne de pêcher illégalement à l'intérieur d'une zone de convention d'une organisation régionale de gestion des pêches (ORGP). Les listes incluent les navires battant le pavillon de tout état, qu'il coopère avec les ORGP ou non.

En plus des ORGP, certains pays comme la Norvège et des organisations de conservation comme Greenpeace et la Fédération mondiale de la faune (WWF) ont dressé leurs propres listes afin de décourager les pratiques de pêche illégale en signalant des navires ainsi que des états du pavillon qui contribuent à exacerber le problème mondial de la pêche INN.

Listes des navires de pêche INN :