Integrated Management Planning

Placentia Bay, Newfoundland and Labrador

Introduction

Placentia Bay lies on a north-northeast axis, opening to the Atlantic Ocean at the southwest. It separates the Avalon Peninsula on the east from the Burin Peninsula on the west and is large, deep and ice-free, which allows year-round shipping in and out of the bay.

Placentia Bay provides habitat for many species of marine plants, fish, mammals and birds. Historically, valuable fisheries in the area supported communities on the coastline and islands of the bay. Today, Placentia Bay has 26 incorporated and 30 unincorporated communities, and another 10 smaller settlements that have an average population of approximately 40 people. Census totals for 1991 and 1996 were 30,562 and 28,817 people respectively.Footnote 11 By 2001, population had decreased to approximately 25,000 people.

Placentia Bay is an area of expanding marine transportation and coastal development. With the growth of the oil and gas industry in Newfoundland and Labrador, Placentia Bay is the largest oil handling port in Canada.Footnote 2

Date modified:

Gestion intégrée de la Baie Placentia, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Introduction

La baie Placentia s'étend sur un axe nord-nord-est et s'ouvre sur l'océan Atlantique au sud-ouest. Elle sépare la péninsule d'Avalon à l'est de la péninsule de Burin à l'ouest. C'est une étendue d'eau vaste, profonde et libre de glace qui se prête aux allées et venues des navires à longueur d'année.

La baie Placentia offre un habitat à de nombreuses espèces de plantes, poissons, mammifères et oiseaux marins. Les pêches lucratives pratiquées traditionnellement dans la région ont permis aux localités de la côte et des îles de la baie de subvenir à leurs besoins. À l'heure actuelle, on compte autour de la baie 26 localités constituées et 30 autres non constituées, ainsi que 10 plus petits hameaux ayant une population moyenne d'environ 40 personnes. D'après les chiffres des recensements de 1991 et 1996, la population était alors de 30 562 et 28 817 habitants, respectivement.Footnote 11 En 2001, elle était tombée à 25 000 personnes environ.

La baie Placentia est une zone où l'aménagement côtier et le transport maritime sont en expansion. La croissance du secteur pétrolier et gazier à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador en a fait la plus grande zone portuaire de manutention de produits pétroliers au Canada.Footnote 2

Date de modification :