Integrated Management Planning

Placentia Bay, Newfoundland and Labrador

Coastal Landforms (Geomorphology)

Map: Shoreline Classification Division

Placentia Bay is a large bay on the south coast of Newfoundland. The opening, or mouth, of the bay is approximately 145 km wide, and the bay is approximately 125 km long. At its midpoint, the bay is approximately 240 m deep.Footnote 7 Placentia Bay has many islands, shoals, reefs and banks as well as three well-defined channels. The Western Channel lies between the Burin Peninsula and Merasheen Island, the Central Channel lies between Merasheen Island and Long Island and the Eastern Channel lies between Long Island and the Avalon Peninsula. The Eastern Channel is the largest of the three in both width and depth and is the principal channel in the bay used for shipping and transportation.Footnote 17

Placentia Bay is characterized by deep water and exposure to southwesterly winds and currents. The bay entrance is unobstructed, allowing waves unrestricted access to the region. Shorelines are dominated by coarse-grained gravel deposits and cliffs; mixed sand and gravel beaches are uncommon and sand dominated systems are rare. Estuaries develop at the heads of most deep embayments along the northeastern and northwestern areas of the shore and the development of tidal flats is rare.Footnote 4 Shorelines are dominated by onshore-offshore movement of sediment, with little shore-parallel movement. This pattern implies that sediments and contaminants, once introduced into the system, will remain for a considerable amount of time within individual coves and smaller embayments.

Beaches throughout the region are marked by seasonal and yearly changes in form and texture. The amount that these beaches change over time is exceptional; stability is not a characteristic of most of these shores.

The divisions for shoreline classification have been adopted from Catto et al. (1997) and are listed in the map shown above.

Date modified:

Gestion intégrée de la Baie Placentia, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Reliefs côtiers (géomorphologie)

Carte : Divisions de classification de la côte

La baie Placentia est une vaste baie de la côte sud de Terre-Neuve. Elle a une largeur à l'embouchure d'environ 145 km et une longueur d'environ 125 km. En son centre, elle atteint une profondeur d'approximativement 240 m.Footnote 7 C'est une baie qui compte un grand nombre d'îles, de hauts-fonds, de récifs et de bancs, ainsi que trois chenaux bien définis. Le chenal ouest se situe entre la péninsule de Burin et l'île Merasheen, le chenal central entre les îles Merasheen et Long, et le chenal est entre l'île Long et la péninsule d'Avalon. Celui-ci est le plus grand des trois, tant en largeur qu'en longueur et c'est le principal chenal utilisé dans la baie pour la navigation et le transport.Footnote 17

La baie Placentia se caractérise par des eaux profondes et une exposition aux courants et aux vents du sud-ouest. L'entrée de la baie étant libre d'obstacles, les vagues peuvent y pénétrer sans restriction. Le rivage présente surtout des falaises et des dépôts de gravier à grains grossiers; les plages mixtes de sable et de gravier n'y sont qu'occasionnelles et les systèmes essentiellement sableux y sont rares. Des estuaires se forment au fond de la plupart des échancrures profondes des parties nord-est et nord-ouest de la côte et il est rare que des battures apparaissent.Footnote 4 Les rivages sont dominés par le mouvement des sédiments entre le large et la côte, et il y a peu de mouvement parallèle au trait de côte. Cela signifie qu'une fois introduit dans les petites échancrures et les anses de la côte les sédiments et les contaminants y resteront très longtemps.

Les plages de la région connaissent des changements saisonniers et annuels de forme et de texture. Au fil du temps, elles subissent des changement d'une envergure exceptionnelle; la stabilité n'est pas une caractéristique de la plupart d'entre elles.

Les divisions de classification de la côte qui ont été adoptées viennent de Catto et coll. (1997); elle figurent sur la carte représentée ci-après.

Date de modification :