Integrated Management Planning

Placentia Bay, Newfoundland and Labrador

Industry

Industries in Placentia Bay include an oil refinery, shipyard, ferry terminal and an offshore oil transshipment facility. There was also a United States of America Naval Station and an elemental phosphorus plant in the area in the past, but both have been decommissioned. Proposed future developments include a second oil refinery, a Liquified Natural Gas handling facility and a wind generated electricity project.

Marystown Shipyard and Cow Head Fabrication Facility

Kiewit Offshore Services (KOS) currently operates a shipyard facility in Marystown and a fabrication facility in Cow Head. The KOS shipyard is the largest shipbuilding and repair facility in the province. Work at the shipyard ranges from the construction and repair of fishing vessels to the commissioning, maintenance and decommissioning of offshore oil rigs. Both the shipyard and fabrication facilities have built/produced major components of the Hibernia production platform and related systems.Footnote 9 The shipyard, which has constructed specialized tugs used by the Newfoundland Transshipment Limited, has also undertaken fabrication tasks related to the Terra Nova development, and has done work related to the exploration activity at White Rose.Footnote 10

Argentia Ferry Terminal

The Argentia Ferry terminal provides docking and offloading facilities for the passenger ferry that operates between Argentia, Newfoundland and Labrador and North Sydney, Nova Scotia during the summer period. The terminal is operated by Marine Atlantic Inc., a Canadian Federal Crown Corporation.

North Atlantic Refining Limited

North Atlantic Refining Limited is the province's only oil refinery and has the largest refinery dock in North America.Footnote 13 The site features a deep water, ice-free port that is closer to international sources of crude in the North Sea, West Africa, and the Arabian Gulf, than any other refinery in North America. The refinery was constructed in 1971 and today, the company's products are exported to more than 25 countries worldwide. At present, the refinery has the capacity to process 105,000 barrels of oil per day. It also has a 300,000 barrel butane storage facility.

Newfoundland Transshipment Limited

Newfoundland Transshipment Limited owns and operates an oil handling facility located at Whiffen Head along the northeastern edge of Placentia Bay. The facility commenced operations in October 1998 and currently serves as a year-round storage and transshipment facility for crude from the Hibernia and Terra Nova oil fields. Oil is currently shipped to the terminal on shuttle tankers, where it is temporarily held in storage tanks on land, and then taken from the terminal to market on second-leg tankers. The tank farm consists of six tanks, each with a working capacity of 500,000 barrels.Footnote 12 Future opportunities also exist for other offshore developments such as White Rose and Hebron.

Vale Inco Newfoundland & Labrador Limited (Vale Inco NL)

Vale Inco NL plans to construct a commercial plant to process nickel concentrate in Long Harbour, Placentia Bay. If Hydromet technology is technically and economically feasible, the company will proceed with the construction of a commercial processing plant with a design capacity of 50,000 tonnes per year of finished nickel product, together with associated cobalt and copper products. As an alternative, a Matte Plant facility of the same design capacity will be constructed using a proven, state of the art technology. Both processing technolgies under consideration have completed environmental assessment and construction is pending with a requirement for completion by the end of 2011.

Marystown Shipyard

Marystown Shipyard

Cow Head Fabrication Facility

Cow Head Fabrication Facility

Argentia Ferry Terminal

Argentia Ferry Terminal

North Atlantic Refining Limited

North Atlantic Refining Limited

Newfoundland Transshipment Terminal

Newfoundland Transshipment Terminal

Vale Inco NL Demonstration Plant

Vale Inco NL Demonstration Plant

Date modified:

Gestion intégrée de la Baie Placentia, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Industries

La baie Placentia compte comme industries une raffinerie de pétrole, un chantier naval, une gare maritime et un terminal de transbordement du pétrole extracôtier. S'y trouvaient aussi autrefois une station navale américaine et une usine de transformation du phosphore élémentaire, mais toutes deux ont maintenant été déclassées. Il est prévu dans l'avenir d'installer dans la région une seconde raffinerie de pétrole, une usine de gaz naturel liquéfié et une centrale d'électricité éolienne.

Chantier naval de Marystown et usine de fabrication de Cow Head

Kiewit Offshore Services (KOS) exploite actuellement un chantier naval à Marystown et une usine de fabrication à Cow Head. Le chantier naval de KOS est le plus grand du genre dans la province. Les travaux qui y sont effectués vont de la construction et de la réparation des navires de pêche à la mise en service, à l'entretien et au déclassement des plateformes de l'industrie pétrolière extracôtière. Le chantier naval et l'usine de fabrication ont tous deux produit de grandes composantes de la plateforme de production d'Hibernia et des systèmes connexes.Footnote 9 Le chantier naval, auquel on doit aussi les remorqueurs spécialisés utilisés par la Newfoundland Transshipment Limited, a également effectué des travaux de fabrication associés à la mise en valeur du champ Terra ainsi que d'autres travaux dans le cadre des opérations d'exploration à White Rose.Footnote 10

Gare maritime d'Argentia

La gare maritime d'Argentia offre des installations d'accostage et de débarquement pour le traversier qui assure l'été le service entre Argentia (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador) et North Sydney (Nouvelle-Écosse). Elle est gérée par Marine Atlantic Inc., qui est une société d'État du Canada.

North Atlantic Refining Limited

La North Atlantic Refining Limited est la seule raffinerie de pétrole de la province. De toutes les installations du genre en Amérique du Nord, c'est aussi celle qui a le plus grand quai.Footnote 13 Elle comporte un port en eau profonde libre de glace qui est plus proche des sources internationales de pétrole brut de la mer du Nord, d'Afrique occidentale et du Golfe persique que toute autre raffinerie d'Amérique du Nord. Elle a été construite en 1971 et ses produits sont aujourd'hui exportés dans plus de 25 pays. Actuellement, la raffinerie a une capacité de production de 105 000 barils de pétrole par jour. Il a aussi un entrêpot de butane d'une capacité de 300 000 barils.

Newfoundland Transshipment Limited

La Newfoundland Transshipment Limited possède et exploite des installations de manutention du pétrole à Whiffen Head, le long de la côte nord-est de la baie Placentia. Elles sont entrées en service en octobre 1998 et servent actuellement à longueur d'année à entreposer et à transborder du pétrole brut provenant des champs pétrolifères d'Hibernia et de Terra Nova. Ce pétrole arrive par des pétroliers-navettes et est entreposé temporairement dans des citernes à terre, d'où il est subséquemment transporté par des pétroliers conventionnels. L'infrastructure d'entreposage se compose de six citernes, d'une capacité de 500 000 barils chacune.Footnote 12 Le terminal offre aussi des possibilités associées à la mise en valeur d'autres champs pétrolifères extracôtiers, comme White Rose et Hebron.

Vale Inco Newfoundland & Labrador Limited (Vale Inco NL)

La Vale Inco NL prévoit de construire une usine de transformation commerciale du minerai de nickel concentré à Long Harbour, dans la baie Placentia. Si le procédé hydrométallurgique s'avère techniquement et économiquement viable, l'entreprise procédera à la construction de cette usine, d'une capacité annuelle théorique de 50 000 tonnes de nickel fini, ainsi que de produits connexes de cobalt et de cuivre. L'autre option envisagée porte sur la construction d'une usine de matte, ayant la même capacité théorique, mais faisant appel à une technique de pointe qui a fait ses preuves. Les deux techniques de transformation envisagées ont fait l'objet d'une évaluation environnementale et la construction de l'usine devrait commencer sous peu et être terminée d'ici la fin de 2011.

Chantier naval de Marystown

Chantier naval de Marystown

Usine de fabrication de Cow Head

Usine de fabrication de Cow Head

Gare maritime d'Argentia

Gare maritime d'Argentia

North Atlantic Refining Limited

North Atlantic Refining Limited

Terminal de transbordement de Terre-Neuve

Terminal de transbordement de Terre-Neuve

Usine pilote de Vale Inco NL

Usine pilote de Vale Inco NL

Date de modification :