The Fisheries Protection Provisions of the Fisheries Act:  Before and after the 2012/2013 Amendments

Before the 2012/2013 Amendments

To address threats to fish from habitat loss/degradation and changes to natural flow regimes, the Fisheries Protection Program (formerly the Habitat Protection Program) administered the habitat protection provisions of the Fisheries Act, which remained essentially unchanged from 1977 until 2012. 

The habitat protection provisions included two principal prohibitions:

  • a prohibition against of the destruction of fish by means other than fishing (Section 32); and
  • a prohibition against the harmful alteration, disruption or destruction of fish habitat, informally called the HADD prohibition (Section 35).

Under the habitat protection provisions, the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans had the authority to issue authorizations that would allow the impacts to occur under certain conditions.

The application of the former Section 35 prohibition was supported by the Policy for the Management of Fish Habitat, which had as its policy objective the “net gain of habitat for Canada’s fisheries resources,” i.e., to increase the natural productive capacity of habitats for the nation's fisheries resources, to benefit present and future generations of Canadians.

The Fisheries Act also gave the Minister the authority to require the construction, maintenance and operation of fish passage facilities at obstructions, to require sufficient water flow at all times below an obstruction, and to require the installation and maintenance of fish guards and screens to prevent the passage of fish into intakes and channels.

After the 2012/2013 amendments

The intention of the 2012/2013 changes to the Fisheries Act was to:

  • focus the Act’s regulatory regime on managing threats to the sustainability and ongoing productivity of Canada’s commercial, recreational and Aboriginal fisheries;
  • provide enhanced compliance and protection tools;
  • provide clarity, certainty and consistency of regulatory requirements through the use of standards and regulations; and
  • enable enhanced partnerships to ensure agencies and organizations that are best placed to provide fisheries protection services to Canadians are enabled to do so.

A key amendment was the replacement of the two prohibitions in the former Act with one new prohibition (also numbered Section 35) against “the carrying on of a work, undertaking or activity that results in serious harm to fish that are part of or support a commercial recreational or Aboriginal fishery.”

In the amended Act, “serious harm to fish” is defined as: “the death of fish or the permanent alteration to, or destruction of, fish habitat,” with fish habitat defined as “spawning grounds and any other areas, including nursery, rearing, food supply and migration areas, on which fish depend directly or indirectly in order to carry out their life processes.”

Definitions are also provided in the Act to clarify the scope of application of the prohibition against serious harm to fish. The terms “fish,” “commercial,” “recreational” and “Aboriginal” in relation to a fishery are defined.

fish: includes (a) parts of fish, (b) shellfish, crustaceans, marine animals and any parts of shellfish, crustaceans or marine animals, and (c) the eggs, sperm, spawn, larvae, spat and juvenile stages of fish, shellfish, crustaceans and marine animals. (Subsection 2(1))

commercial, in relation to a fishery: means that the fish is harvested under the authority of a licence for the purpose of sale, trade or barter. (Subsection 2(1))

recreational, in relation to a fishery: means that fish is harvested under the authority of a licence for personal use of the fish or for sport. (Subsection 2(1))

Aboriginal, in relation to a fishery: means that fish is harvested by an Aboriginal organization or any of its members for the purpose of using the fish as food, for social or ceremonial purposes or for purposes set out in a land claims agreement entered into with the Aboriginal organization. (Subsection 2(1))

The Minister of Fisheries, Oceans, and the Canadian Coast Guard has the authority to issue authorizations that would allow the works, activities or undertakings to occur that cause serious harm to fish, under certain conditions.

The application of the fisheries protection provisions are supported by policy guidance in the Fisheries Protection Policy Statement (2013), with the policy goal of providing for the sustainability and ongoing productivity of commercial, recreational and Aboriginal fisheries.

Lastly, the provisions related to obstructions and fish passage remained relatively unchanged (Sections 20 and 21). The provisions were consolidated and updated. In summary, these provisions:

  • allow the Minister to request studies and evaluations related to obstructions or other things that may be hindering fish passage or harming fish;
  • allow the Minister to request: the removal of or modifications to obstructions or things that are harmful to fish or impede flow or fish passage; the installation of fish-ways, screens and guards; or that sufficient water flow be provided for fish passage; or
  • prohibit the damage or removal of fish-guards, fish-ways, and screens.

Regulations-making powers

The amended Fisheries Act gives the Minister the ability to develop regulations to ensure compliance with the prohibition and that improve certainty and transparency in the regulatory process.  For example:

  • Regulations that spell out for proponents the information and documentation that must be submitted in applications for authorization under paragraph 35(2)(b) of the Fisheries Act. Once an application for authorization is received, the Department is bound under these regulations by set time limits for the processing of those applications and a decision on the issuance of an authorization, if required.
  • Incorporation by reference into regulations, will allow the department to recognize externally-developed standards (i.e., not developed by Fisheries and Oceans Canada), as appropriate to guide activities in and near waters that require our management.
  • Equivalency of regulatory regimes could be established if the provincial regime “meets or beats” provisions of the Fisheries Act or its regulations.
  • The Act allows the department and the Minister to identify areas where authorization, and therefore analysis by the department, will not be required.
  • Finally, the amendments provide the Minister with the ability to designate ecologically significant areas for fish. The Minister may require higher levels of protection for such areas and proponents would be required to submit plans for review if any activities are proposed within these areas.

Compliance and enforcement

The amended Act includes a number of provisions that improve the compliance and protection of commercial, recreational and Aboriginal fisheries. For example, authorities have been granted to the Minister to effectively address threats such as aquatic invasive species.

In addition, a number of provisions enable enhanced protection of these fisheries by:

  • aligning the Fisheries Act with the Environmental Enforcement Act (increased fines and penalties for offences);
  • creating more easily enforceable conditions for Ministerial authorizations;
  • modernizing inspector powers to assist them in ensuring compliance with Section 35; and
  • establishing a “duty to notify” provision to establish obligations on persons whose actions result in harm to fish habitat to report and to take corrective measures.

Finally, the amendments provide the Minister with the ability to designate ecologically significant areas for fish. The Minister may require higher levels of protection for such areas and proponents would be required to submit plans for review if any activities are proposed within these areas.

Les dispositions concernant la protection des pêches figurant dans la Loi sur les pêches : avant et après les modifications de 2012/2013

Avant les modifications de 2012/2013

Pour traiter les menaces pesant sur le poisson par suite de la perte ou de la dégradation de l'habitat et des changements des régimes d'écoulement naturels, le Programme de protection des pêches (anciennement le Programme de protection de l'habitat) a administré les « dispositions sur la protection de l'habitat » de la Loi sur les pêches, qui sont demeurées essentiellement les mêmes de 1977 à 2012. 

Les dispositions sur la protection de l'habitat comprenaient deux interdictions principales :

  • une interdiction de détruire le poisson par des moyens autres que la pêche (article 32);
  • une interdiction de réaliser toute activité entraînant la détérioration, la destruction ou la perturbation de l'habitat du poisson (DDPH) (article 35).

En vertu des dispositions sur la protection de l'habitat, le ministre des Pêches et des Océans avait le droit d'émettre des autorisations qui permettaient ces impacts sous certaines conditions.

La mise en application de l'interdiction prévue à l'ancien article 35 était appuyée par la Politique de gestion de l'habitat du poisson, dont l'objectif était le gain net d'habitat pour les ressources halieutiques du Canada, c'est-à-dire l'augmentation de la capacité productive naturelle des habitats pour les ressources halieutiques du pays, dans l'intérêt des générations actuelles et futures de Canadiens.

La Loi sur les pêches conférait également au ministre le pouvoir d'exiger la construction, l'entretien et l'exploitation d'installations de passes à poissons aux points d'obstruction, d'exiger un débit d'eau suffisant en tout temps sous un point d'obstruction et d'exiger l'installation et l'entretien de dispositifs de retenue de poissons pour empêcher le passage de poissons dans des prises d'eau et des chenaux.

Modifications apportées à la Loi sur les pêches après 2012/2013

Les modifications récentes à la Loi sur les pêches avaient pour but :

  • d'encourager le régime réglementaire de la Loi à mettre l'accent sur la gestion des menaces qui pèsent sur la durabilité et la productivité continue des pêches commerciales, récréatives et autochtones du Canada;
  • de fournir des outils améliorés pour la conformité et la protection;
  • d'assurer la clarté, la certitude et l'uniformité des exigences réglementaires au moyen de normes et de règlements;
  • de former des partenariats renforcés de manière à ce que les agences et les organismes compétents puissent assurer des services de protection des pêches pour les Canadiens.

Le remplacement des deux interdictions de l'ancienne Loi par une nouvelle interdiction (également énoncée à l'article 35), qui stipule qu'« Il est interdit d'exploiter un ouvrage ou une entreprise ou d'exercer une activité entraînant des dommages sérieux à tout poisson visé par une pêche commerciale, récréative ou autochtone, ou à tout poisson dont dépend une telle pêche », est l'une des principales modifications.

Dans la Loi modifiée, tout « dommage sérieux » est défini comme « la mort d'un poisson ou la modification permanente ou la destruction de son habitat », et « l'habitat du poisson » comme « des frayères et autres zones, y compris les zones d'alevinage, d'élevage et d'alimentation et les routes migratoires dont dépend, directement ou indirectement, la survie des poissons ».

Des définitions sont également fournies dans la Loi pour préciser le champ d'application de l'interdiction visant tout dommage sérieux au poisson.  Les termes « poisson », « pêche commerciale », « pêche récréative » et « pêche autochtone » sont définis dans le contexte d'une pêche.

Poisson : Comprend
 a) Les poissons proprement dits et leurs parties;
 b) par assimilation :
(i) les mollusques, les crustacés et les animaux marins ainsi que leurs parties,
(ii) selon le cas, les œufs, le sperme, la laitance, le frai, les larves, le naissain et les petits des animaux mentionnés à l'alinéa a) et au sous-alinéa (i).
(Paragraphe 2[1])

Commerciale, dans le contexte d'une pêche : Qualifie la pêche pratiquée sous le régime d'un permis en vue de la vente, de l'échange ou du troc du poisson. (Paragraphe 2[1])

Récréative, dans le contexte d'une pêche : Qualifie la pêche pratiquée sous le régime d'un permis à des fins sportives ou personnelle. (Paragraphe 2[1])

Autochtone, dans le contexte d'une pêche : Qualifie la pêche pratiquée par une organisation autochtone ou ses membres à des fins de consommation personnelle, à des fins sociales ou cérémoniales ou à des fins prévues dans un accord sur des revendications territoriales conclu avec l'organisation autochtone. (Paragraphe 2[1]).

Le ministre des Pêches, des Océans et de la Garde côtière canadienne a le pouvoir d'émettre des autorisations qui permettent l'exécution de travaux, d'activités ou d'initiatives causant des dommages sérieux au poisson, sous certaines conditions.

L'application des dispositions sur la protection des pêches est appuyée par l'orientation stratégique de l'Énoncé de politique sur la protection des pêches (2013), qui a pour objectif la durabilité et la productivité continue des pêches commerciales, récréatives et autochtones.

Enfin, les dispositions liées aux obstructions et aux passages de poissons sont demeurées relativement les mêmes (articles 20 et 21).  Les dispositions ont été regroupées et mises à jour.  En résumé, ces dispositions :

  • permettent au ministre de demander des études et des évaluations sur les obstructions ou d'autres choses qui pourraient entraver le passage du poisson ou blesser le poisson;
  • permettent au ministre de demander le retrait ou la modification d'obstacles ou de choses qui sont nuisibles aux poissons ou qui entravent le débit d'eau ou le passage du poisson; l'installation de passes migratoires, de grillages et de protections; ou de faire en sorte que le débit d'eau soit suffisant pour le passage du poisson;
  • interdisent les dommages ou le retrait des dispositifs de retenue des poissons, des passes migratoires et des grillages.

Pouvoirs de réglementation

La Loi sur les pêches modifiée confère au ministre la capacité de prendre des règlements qui assurent le respect de l'interdiction et qui améliorent la certitude et la transparence du processus réglementaire. Par exemple :

  • Un règlement qui définit clairement les renseignements et les documents que les promoteurs doivent soumettre lorsqu'ils présentent une demande d'autorisation en vertu de l'alinéa 35(2)b) de la Loi sur les pêches.  Une fois la demande d'autorisation reçue, le Ministère est tenu de la traiter et de prendre une décision quant à la délivrance de l'autorisation, le cas échéant, dans les délais prescrits par ce règlement.
  • L'incorporation par renvoi aux règlements, qui permettra au Ministère d'utiliser des normes provenant de sources externes (c'est-à-dire qui n'ont pas été élaborées par Pêches et Océans Canada), au besoin, pour orienter les activités entreprises dans l'eau ou à proximité et qui doivent être gérées par le Ministère.
  • Il sera possible d'établir une équivalence des régimes réglementaires si le régime provincial respecte ou dépasse les dispositions de la Loi sur les pêches ou les règlements afférents.
  • La Loi permet au Ministère et au ministre de déterminer des zones pour lesquelles des autorisations, et par conséquent des analyses par le Ministère, ne seront pas nécessaires.
  • Enfin, les modifications permettent au ministre de désigner des zones d'importance écologique pour les poissons. Le ministre pourra ainsi exiger un niveau de protection plus élevé pour ces zones et obliger les promoteurs à soumettre leurs plans à l'examen s'ils envisagent d'entreprendre des activités dans ces zones.

Conformité et mise en application

La Loi modifiée renferme maintenant un certain nombre de dispositions qui améliorent la conformité et la protection des pêches commerciales, récréatives et autochtones.  Par exemple, des pouvoirs ont été conférés au ministre pour lutter efficacement contre les menaces telles que les espèces aquatiques envahissantes.
En outre, plusieurs dispositions renforceront la protection de ces pêches en :

  • harmonisant la Loi sur les pêches avec la Loi sur le contrôle d'application de lois environnementales (amendes plus élevées et peines plus sévères en cas d'infractions);
  • créant des conditions exécutoires pour les autorisations ministérielles;
  • modernisant les pouvoirs des inspecteurs afin de les aider à faire appliquer l'article 35;
  • établissant une disposition « d'obligation de signaler », stipulant que chacun est tenu de signaler toute activité entraînant des dommages aux pêches et d'entreprendre des mesures correctives.

Enfin, les modifications permettent au ministre de désigner des zones d'importance écologique pour les poissons. Le ministre pourra ainsi exiger un niveau de protection plus élevé pour ces zones et obliger les promoteurs à soumettre leurs plans à l'examen s'ils envisagent d'entreprendre des activités dans ces zones.