Interim code of practice: End-of-pipe fish protection screens for small water intakes in freshwater

1 About this code of practice

This code of practice provides national guidance on the design, installation and maintenance of small end-of-pipe water intake fish screens to prevent entrainment and impingement of fish. Entrainment occurs when a fish is drawn into a water intake and cannot escape. Impingement occurs when a fish is held in contact with the intake screen and is unable to free itself.

The end-of-pipe fish screen code of practice describes best practices to follow when designing, installing, maintaining and cleaning low volume water intakes that have the potential to impact fish. This code of practice is for small-scale water intakes (e.g. irrigation, construction, municipal and private water supplies, mining exploration) where the water intake flow rate is up to 0.150 m3/s, or 150 litres per second (L/s). Impacts related to fish habitat and changes in flow conditions are not covered by this code of practice.

When working in water, it is important to have a good understanding of local conditions. For example, water velocity, flow, depth, the type of fish species present and their abundance and swimming abilities are all important factors to consider when designing, installing, maintaining and cleaning small end-of-pipe water intake fish screens. This code of practice provides necessary information and guidance on the measures to follow to ensure maximum protection of fish. The sizing and design specifications of fixed screens in this code are exclusively for fish that have a minimum fork length of 25 mm. Entrainment and impingement impacts on eggs and larval fish can be minimized by following the measures below.

A project review is not required when the conditions and measures set out in this code of practice and all applicable measures to protect fish and fish habitat are applied.

This code does not remove or replace the obligation to comply with all applicable statutory and regulatory requirements in place by other sections of the Fisheries Act, or other federal, provincial, or municipal legislation and policies associated with water extraction.

2 You can use this code of practice if:

Request a project near water review when the works, undertakings or activities do not meet all the criteria listed in this section.

3 Measures to protect fish and fish habitat for end-of-pipe fish screens

1 Fish screen design

Three criteria need to be considered when designing a fish screen for water intakes:

1.1 Effective screen area

Larger screens reduce the approach velocity so fish are more likely to outswim the flow entering the intake. The screen area needed depends on the amount of water being withdrawn and the species of fishes that frequent the intake location. The total submerged screen area available for the free flow of water is referred to as the effective screean area.

1.2 Screen material

For a fish screen to prevent entrainment, the openings must be small enough so a fish cannot pass through. The narrowest dimension of any opening on the screen, regardless of opening shape, is referred to as the design opening (Figure 1). The maximum design opening for a fish of 25 mm fork length is estimated at 2.54 mm.

Figure 1

Figure 1: Drawing showing the profile of the wedge wire screen with features pointed out: design opening, flow, long narrow slots, wedge wire, increasing opening size reduces clogging. The design opening should not exceed 2.54 millimetres.

Figure 2

Figure two. Drawing showing typical end-of-pipe screen designs including perforated plate (punched), circular mesh screen, square mesh screen, square edge wire screen, drum or cylinder with perforated pipe, and box-type with mesh screen.

1.3 Screen shape

Use a manifold on designs where the flow would be uneven across the surface of the screen (e.g.: cylindrical or box type) (Figure 3).

Figure 3

Figure three. Drawing showing the common screen area shapes and area formula. Includes sizing for circular screen, square screen, box screen, and cylindrical screen.

2 Fish screen installation

Consider the following best practices when installing a fish screen:

3 Screen maintenance and cleaning

Debris or damage to screens can cause uneven intake flow across the screen surface. Uneven flow may result in higher intake velocities on some sections of the screen, increasing the likelihood of impinged fish. You can verify the pump’s approach velocity to assess the need for screen cleaning using a flow meter. Keeping fish screens clean maintains their effectiveness for supplying water and protecting fish.

4 Project notification

Please submit a Notification Form to your regional DFO office to help us improve this fish and fish habitat protection guidance over time.

You must download and save this PDF form to your computer before filling it out.
How to download and open a PDF form

5 Contact us

If you have questions regarding this Code of Practice contact the Fish and Fish Habitat Protection Program located in your region.

6 Glossary

Affected area
Area within which potential impacts from works, undertakings or activities are likely to occur.
Approach velocity
The water velocity measured directly in front of the intake screen.
Benthos
Organisms that live on or in the bottom sediments of a body of water.
Design opening
The narrowest dimension of any opening on the screen, regardless of opening shape.
Effective screen area
The area of the open spaces available for the free flow of water, including screen material but excluding major support structures.
Entrainment
Occurs when a fish is drawn into a water intake and cannot escape.
Fork length
The straight line distance measured from the tip of the nose to the fork of the tail of a fish.
Impingement
Occurs when an entrapped fish is held in contact with the intake screen and is unable to free itself.
Intake flow rate
The amount of water withdrawn over time.
Littoral zone
The shallow water near shore. The depth of the littoral zone varies but is generally 2-5 meters deep in most freshwater systems.

Code de pratique provisoire – Grillages à poissons à l’entrée des petites prises d’eau douce

1. À propos du présent code de pratique

Le présent code de pratique fournit des lignes directrices nationales sur la conception, l’installation et l’entretien de petits grillages à poissons à l’entrée des prises d’eau visant à prévenir l’entraînement et l’impaction du poisson. L’ENTRAÎNEMENT se produit lorsqu’un poisson est attiré dans une prise d’eau et ne peut s’en échapper. L’IMPACTION se produit lorsqu’un poisson piégé est maintenu en contact avec le grillage d’entrée et ne peut se libérer.

Le code de pratique sur les grillages à poissons à l’entrée des canalisations décrit les pratiques exemplaires à suivre lors de la conception, de l’installation, de l’entretien et du nettoyage des prises d’eau de faible volume qui peuvent avoir un impact sur les poissons. Le présent code de pratique vise les prises d’eau à petite échelle (par exemple, irrigation, construction, approvisionnement en eau municipal et privé, exploitation minière) pour lesquelles LE DÉBIT DE PRISE D’EAU peut atteindre 0,150 m3/s, ou 150 litres par seconde (L/s). Les impacts liés à l’habitat du poisson et aux changements dans les conditions d’écoulement ne sont pas couverts par le présent code de pratique.

Lorsqu’on travaille dans l’eau, il est important de bien comprendre les conditions locales. Par exemple, la vitesse de l’eau, le débit, la profondeur, le type d’espèces de poissons présentes, leur abondance et leur capacité de nage sont tous des facteurs importants à considérer lors de la conception, de l’installation, de l’entretien et du nettoyage des petits grillages à poissons à l’entrée des prises d’eau. Le présent code de pratique fournit les informations et les orientations nécessaires sur les mesures à prendre pour assurer une protection maximale des poissons. Les spécifications de dimension et de conception des grillages fixes figurant dans le présent code s’appliquent exclusivement aux poissons dont la longueur à la fourche est d’au moins 25 mm. Les impacts de l’entraînement et de l’impaction sur les œufs et les larves de poissons peuvent être réduits au minimum en prenant les mesures ci-dessous.

Il n’est pas nécessaire de procéder à un examen du projet par le MPO lorsque les conditions et les mesures énoncées dans le présent code de pratique et toutes les mesures visant à éviter les dommages causés au poisson et à son habitat pertinentes sont appliquées.

Le présent code ne supprime ni ne remplace l’obligation de se conformer à toutes les exigences législatives et réglementaires de la Loi sur les pêches ou d’autres lois et politiques fédérales, provinciales ou municipales liées à l’extraction d’eau.

2. Vous pouvez utiliser le présent code de pratique si :

Demandez l’examen d’un projet près de l’eau lorsque les ouvrages, entreprises ou activités ne répondent pas à tous les critères énumérés dans cette section.

3. Mesures de protection du poisson et de l’habitat du poisson relatives aux grillages à poissons installés à l’entrée des canalisations

3.1 Conception des grillages à poissons

Trois critères doivent être pris en compte lors de la conception d’un grillage à poissons pour les prises d’eau : 

  1. la superficie utile du grillage;
  2. le matériau du grillage;
  3. la forme du grillage.

3.1.1 Superficie utile du grillage

Plus la superficie du grillage est élevée, plus le grillage réduit la vitesse d’approche, de sorte que les poissons sont plus susceptibles de dépasser le débit entrant dans la prise d’eau. La superficie utile du grillage requise dépend de la quantité d’eau prélevée et des espèces de poissons qui fréquentent l’emplacement de la prise d’eau. On appelle SUPERFICIE UTILE DU GRILLAGE la surface totale submergée du grillage disponible pour l’écoulement libre de l’eau.

3.1.2 Matériau du grillage

Pour qu’un grillage à poissons empêche l’entraînement, les ouvertures doivent être suffisamment petites pour qu’un poisson ne puisse pas passer. La dimension la plus étroite de toute ouverture du grillage, peu importe la forme de l’ouverture, est appelée OUVERTURE (figure 1). On évalue l’ouverture maximale de la conception à 2,54 mm pour un poisson ayant une longueur à la fourche de 25 mm.

Figure 1

Figure 1. dessinée qui démontre le profil du grillage de fils métalliques et positionne l`ouverture, le débit, les fentes longues et étroites, le grillage de fils métalliques, et que l`augmentation de la dimension de l`ouverture réduit les obstructions. L’òuverture ne doit pas dépasser 2,54 millimètres.

Figure 2

Dessin illustrant les conceptions typiques de grillage d`entrée, y compris une plaque perforée (poinçonnée), un grillage à mailles circulaires, un grillage à mailles carrées, un grillage métallique carré à fentes carrées, un tambour ou cylindre avec tuyau perforé et un grillage en caisson avec grillage métallique.

3.1.3 Forme du grillage

Figure 3

Dessin illustrant les formes courantes des grillages et le formule de calcul de la superficie. Comprend les dimensions pour un grillage circulaire, un grillage carré, un grillage cylindrique et un grillage en caisson.

3.2 Installation des grillages à poissons

Tenir compte des pratiques exemplaires suivantes lors de l’installation d’un grillage à poissons :

3.3 Entretien et nettoyage des grillages

Les débris ou les dommages aux grillages peuvent causer un débit entrant inégal sur la surface du grillage. Un débit inégal peut causer des vitesses d’admission supérieures sur certaines sections du grillage, ce qui entraîne l’augmentation de la probabilité d’impaction du poisson. Vous pouvez vérifier la vitesse d’approche de la pompe pour évaluer la nécessité de nettoyer le grillage à l’aide d’un débitmètre. Le fait de garder les grillages propres permet de conserver leur efficacité d’approvisionnement en eau et de protection des poissons.

4.0 Déclaration de projet

Veuillez soumettre un formulaire de déclaration de projet à Pêches et Océans Canada pour nous aider à améliorer ces lignes directrices sur la protection des poissons au fil du temps.

5.0 Coordonnées

Si vous avez des questions au sujet du présent code de pratique, veuillez communiquer avec le Programme de protection du poisson et de son habitat dans votre région.

6.0 Glossaire

Benthos :
Organismes vivant sur ou dans les sédiments des fonds marins d’un plan d’eau.
Débit de la prise d’eau : La quantité d’eau prélevée au fil du temps.
Entraînement :
Se produit lorsqu’un poisson est attiré dans une prise d’eau et ne peut s’en échapper.
Impaction :
Se produit lorsqu’un poisson piégé est maintenu en contact avec le grillage d’entrée et ne peut se libérer.
Longueur à la fourche : Longueur en ligne droite mesurée à partir du museau du poisson jusqu’à la fourche de la queue.
Ouverture :
La plus petite dimension de toute ouverture sur un grillage, peu importe la forme de l’ouverture.
Superficie utile du grillage : La superficie des espaces ouverts dans lesquels l’eau peut circuler librement, incluant le matériau du grillage, mais excluant les principales structures de soutien.
Vitesse d’approche :
La vitesse de l’eau mesurée directement devant le grillage d’entrée.
Zone littorale :
Eau peu profonde près du rivage. La profondeur de la zone littorale varie, mais elle est généralement de 2 à 5 mètres dans la plupart des systèmes d’eau douce.
Zone touchée :
Zone à l’intérieur de laquelle les impacts potentiels résultant des ouvrages, des entreprises ou des activités sont probables.