Fisheries and Oceans Canada - Quarterly Financial Report for the Quarter Ended June 30, 2018

1. Introduction

This quarterly financial report has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board. The quarterly report should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates as well as Budget 2017 and Budget 2018.

This quarterly report has not been subject to an external audit or review.

Further details on Fisheries and Oceans Canada's authority, mandate and programs may be found in the Departmental Plan and the Main Estimates (Part II).

1.1 Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes Fisheries and Oceans Canada's spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the Department consistent with the Main Estimates for 2018-19. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

The Department uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements that are part of the departmental results reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

2. Highlights of the Fiscal Quarter and the Fiscal Year-to-Date (YTD) results

The following section highlights the financial results and provides explanations for the fiscal quarter ended June 30, 2018 as compared to the same period last year.

Highlights of the Fiscal Quarter and the Fiscal Year-to-Date (YTD) results (thousands of dollars)

  2017-18 Authorities as at June 30, 2017 2018-19 Authorities as at June 30, 2018 Variance in Authorities Year-to-date expenditures as at June 30, 2017 Year-to-date expenditures as at June 30, 2018 Variance in Expenditures
Vote 1 – Net Operating expenditures 1,473,648 1,549,032 75,384 290,891 323,686 32,795
Vote 5 – Capital expenditures 831,693 587,211 (244,482) 96,876 47,117 (49,759)
Vote 10 – Grants and Contributions 135,236 206,011 70,775 11,409 14,619 3,210
Statutory Authorities 135,742 138,514 2,772 30,250 33,980 3,730
Total 2,576,319 2,480,768 (95,551) 429,426 419,402 (10,024)

Statement of Voted and Statutory Authorities

Total budgetary authorities available for use decreased in 2018-19 from those in 2017-18 by $95.5 million (3.7%). This is the result of an increase in Vote 1 authorities of $75.4 million, a decrease in Vote 5 authorities of $244.5 million, an increase in Vote 10 authorities of $70.8 million, and an increase in spending authority for statutory payments of $2.8 million.

Some of the amounts presented in this table represent the achievement of milestone projects as well as planned changes in the funding profile of initiatives. As well, some variances are due to timing of the authorities granted by Parliament. As such, the negative amounts do not represent cuts to program spending.

Explanation of Changes
(2018-19 compared to 2017-18)
Change (thousands of dollars)
Vote 1 – Net Operating expenditures
Funding for the Oceans Protection Plan to improve marine safety and protect Canadaʼs marine environment 57,611
Funding to maintain mission-critical services to Canadians (e.g. fisheries management activities and maintenance of the fleet for continued safety and security of Canadian waters) 30,003
Funding for signing the collective agreements 26,207
Funding for the 2018 Budget measure "Protecting Canada's Nature, Parks and Wild Spaces" and funding for the 2017 Budget measure "Indigenous Guardians" 15,420
Funding to expand the Aquatic Invasive Species Program 6,219
Funding for the 2018 Budget measure, Protecting Marine Life, to implement a comprehensive initiative for the protection and recovery of endangered whale populations 5,497
Other Departmental Requirements 2,601
Funding profile change for the upgrade of federal infrastructure assets (20,799)
Sunsetting funding for the removal of the Kathryn Spirit vessel (20,000)
Transfer between votes (14,868)
Sunsetting funding for Species at Risk (7,486)
Funding profile change for the implementation of a World-Class Tanker Safety System South of 60° North Latitude (Phase II) (5,021)
Sub-total Net Operating expenditures 75,384
Vote 5 – Capital expenditures
Funding for the Oceans Protection Plan to improve marine safety and protect Canadaʼs marine environment 43,632
Funding to maintain mission-critical services to Canadians (e.g. fisheries management activities and maintenance of the fleet for continued safety and security of Canadian waters) 36,943
Transfer between votes 10,802
Transfer from Transport Canada to Fisheries and Oceans for the Port de Carleton 10,500
Funding profile change for the upgrade of federal infrastructure assets (207,278)
Funding profile change for the Canadian Coast Guard Vessels, Lifeboats and Helicopters (138,152)
Other Departmental Requirements (929)
Sub-total Capital expenditures (244,482)
Vote 10 – Grants and Contributions
Funding to support the implementation of the Atlantic Fisheries Fund Program 52,333
Funding for the Oceans Protection Plan to improve marine safety and protect Canadaʼs marine environment 16,705
Funding for the enhancement and expansion of the Indigenous fisheries program suite 7,325
Funding for the Fisheries and Aquaculture Clean Technology Adoption Program 4,136
Transfer between votes 4,066
Other Departmental Requirements 1,210
Funding to support negotiations on fisheries and marine matters (15,000)
Sub-total Grants and Contributions 70,775
Statutory
Sub-total Statutory Authorities 2,772
Total Authorities (95,551)

Authorities Used Analysis

In the first quarter of 2018-19, total budgetary expenditures amounted to $419.4 million compared to $429.4 million reported in the same quarter of 2017-18, which represents a decrease of $10.0 million or 2.3%.

Authorities used in Vote 1, Net Operating expenditures, increased by $32.8 million compared to the same quarter last year representing an increase of approximately 11.3% between the two years. The increase is mostly due to the hiring of staff and transportation and communication costs in support of the Oceans Protection Plan and the Departments’ efforts to maintain mission-critical services to Canadians.

Authorities used in Vote 5, Capital expenditures, decreased by $49.8 million compared to the same quarter last year representing a decrease of approximately 51.4% between the two years. The decrease in capital expenditures is mainly due to the successful completion of the Federal Infrastructure investments and the winding down of initiatives such as the Offshore Fisheries Science Vessels as the vessels are approaching the final stage.

Authorities used in Vote 10, Grants and Contributions expenditures, increased by $3.2 million compared to the same quarter last year representing an increase of approximately 28.1% between the two years. The increase is mostly aligned with the incremental investments in transfer payment programs in 2017-18. Some examples are the Oceans and Freshwater Science Contribution Program and the Coastal Restoration Fund which support the implementation of the Oceans Protection Plan.

Statutory authorities increased by $3.7 million compared to the same quarter last year representing an increase of approximately 12.3%. The increase to contributions to employee benefit plans is directly aligned with the hiring of new incremental staff.

Statement of Departmental Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object

The decrease of $10.0 million in total net budgetary expenditures in the first quarter of 2018-19 as compared to the same quarter in 2017-18 is primarily due to the following:

Personnel expenditures increased by a total of $33.0 million in the first quarter of 2018-19 when compared to the same quarter of 2017-18. The increase is mostly due to the hiring of staff in support of the Oceans Protection Plan and the Departments’ efforts to maintain mission-critical services to Canadians.

Expenditures related to Transportation and Communications increased by a total of $3.7 million in the first quarter of 2018-19 when compared to the same quarter of 2017-18. The increase is mainly due to travel costs associated with Canadian Coast Guard vessel crew changes resulting from increased operations in support of the Oceans Protection Plan and individual environmental responses.

Expenditures related to Professional and Special Services decreased by a total of $49.0 million in the first quarter of 2018-19 when compared to the same quarter of 2017-18. The decrease is mainly due to the successful completion of the Federal Infrastructure investments and the winding down of initiatives such as the Offshore Fisheries Science Vessels as the vessels are approaching the final stage.

Expenditures related to Repair and Maintenance decreased by a total of $6.0 million in the first quarter of 2018-19 when compared to the same quarter of 2017-18. This is primarily attributable to fluctuations in the Canadian Coast Guard vessel maintenance schedule. In addition, this decrease is partially due to some Vessel Life Extension work that now appears under Acquisition of Machinery and Equipment, as the Department has aligned and adjusted its approach to categorizing capitalizable extension projects.

Expenditures related to Utilities, Materials, and Supplies increased by a total of $2.6 million in the first quarter of 2018-19 when compared to the same quarter of 2017-18. The increase is mainly due to increased diesel fuel purchases by the Canadian Coast Guard.

Expenditures related to the Acquisition of Land, Buildings and Works decreased by a total of $5.8 million in the first quarter of 2018-19 when compared to the same quarter of 2017-18. The decrease is mainly due to the successful completion of Federal Infrastructure investments.

Expenditures related to Acquisition of Machinery and Equipment increased by a total of $8.7 million in the first quarter of 2018-19 when compared to the same quarter of 2017-18. The increase is mainly due to some Vessel Life Extension work, that previously appeared in Repair and Maintenance, that is now reported as Acquisition of Machinery and Equipment. This shift is the result of the Department aligning and adjusting its approach to categorizing capitalizable extension projects. Other increases were noted in computers and telecommunication equipment in support of the hiring of new staff.

Expenditures related to Transfer Payments increased by a total of $3.2 million in the first quarter of 2018-19 when compared to the same quarter of 2017-18. The increase is aligned with the incremental investments in transfer payment programs in 2017-18. Some examples are the Oceans and Freshwater Science Contribution Program and the Coastal Restoration Fund which support the implementation of the Oceans Protection Plan.

Other Subsidies and Payments decreased by a total of $3.2 million in the first quarter of 2018-19 when compared to the same quarter of 2017-18. This is partially due to a net decrease in accounts receivable related to salary overpayments stemming from technical issues with the Phoenix pay system and a decrease in expenditures related to International Fisheries Commissions Agreements.

3. Risks and Uncertainties

Fisheries and Oceans Canada operates in a dynamic environment that is affected by a number of factors, including: increased northern development; expansion of navigable waters; environmental changes; climate change; severe weather events; demographics; technological advances; changing maritime safety and security demands; and global geopolitical and economic conditions. The Department continues to assess how it conducts its business, provides services and delivers its programs to meet client and stakeholder needs. The Department maintains a Corporate Risk Profile which identifies and assesses high-level risks that could affect the achievement of its objectives and priorities. Additional information regarding the Department’s key risk areas is presented in the 2018-19 Departmental Plan.

4. Significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs

The following changes in personnel were made during the first quarter:

5. Approval by Senior Officials

Approved by:

Original signed by
_________________________
Catherine Blewett, Deputy Minister

Original signed by
_________________________
Jen O’Donoughue,
Chief Financial Officer

Ottawa, Canada
August 24, 2018

Statement of Authorities (unaudited)

(in thousands of dollars)

  Fiscal year 2017-18 Fiscal year 2018-19
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2018* Used during the quarter ended June 30, 2017 Year to date used at quarter-end Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2019* Used during the quarter ended June 30, 2018 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 1 – Net Operating expenditures 1,473,648 290,891 290,891 1,549,032 323,686 323,686
Vote 5 – Capital expenditures 831,693 96,876 96,876 587,211 47,117 47,117
Vote 10 – Grants and Contributions 135,236 11,409 11,409 206,011 14,619 14,619
Statutory Authorities
Statutory - Contributions to employee benefit plans 135,658 29,930 29,930 138,428 33,948 33,948
Statutory - Minister of Fisheries and Oceans – Salary and motor car allowance 84 21 21 86 21 21
Statutory - Spending of proceeds from the disposal of surplus Crown assets 0 299 299 0 0 0
Statutory – Refunds of amounts credited to revenues in previous years 0 0 0 0 11 11
Total Statutory Authorities 135,742 30,250 30,250 138,514 33,980 33,980
Total Authorities 2,576,319 429,426 429,426 2,480,768 419,402 419,402

* Includes only Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.

Departmental Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)

(in thousands of dollars)

  Fiscal year 2017-18 Fiscal year 2018-19
Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2018* Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2017 Year to date used at quarter-end Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2019* Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2018 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures:
Personnel 977,980 234,055 234,055 1,045,060 267,100 267,100
Transportation and communications 60,832 14,415 14,415 58,123 18,068 18,068
Information 3,236 355 355 2,086 497 497
Professional and special services 277,829 88,819 88,819 289,567 39,849 39,849
Rentals 19,423 4,509 4,509 16,369 4,428 4,428
Repair and maintenance 201,658 27,242 27,242 203,553 21,248 21,248
Utilities, materials and supplies 114,728 15,457 15,457 105,769 18,030 18,030
Acquisition of land, buildings and works 145,864 16,230 16,230 169,519 10,459 10,459
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 667,566 13,193 13,193 403,163 21,846 21,846
Transfer payments 135,236 11,409 11,409 206,011 14,619 14,619
Other subsidies and payments 19,882 16,311 16,311 20,549 13,144 13,144
Total gross budgetary expenditures 2,624,234 441,995 441,995 2,519,769 429,288 429,288
Less Revenues netted against expenditures:
Sales of goods and services 47,915 12,569 12,569 39,001 9,886 9,886
Total Revenues netted against expenditures 47,915 12,569 12,569 39,001 9,886 9,886
Total net budgetary expenditures 2,576,319 429,426 429,426 2,480,768 419,402 419,402

* Includes only Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.

Pêches et Océans Canada – Rapport financier trimestriel pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2018

1. Introduction

Ce rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé par la direction, comme l’exige l’article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, et selon les modalités prescrites par le Conseil du Trésor. Ce rapport doit être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses, ainsi que le Budget de 2017 et le Budget de 2018.

Le présent rapport trimestriel n’a pas fait l’objet d’une vérification externe ou d’un examen.

Des renseignements supplémentaires sur les autorisations, le mandat et les programmes peuvent se retrouver dans le Plan ministériel et le Budget principal des dépenses (Partie II).

1.1 Méthode de la présentation

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L’état des autorisations joint à ce rapport comprend les autorisations de dépenser de Pêches et Océans Canada accordées par le Parlement et celles utilisées par le Ministère de manière cohérente avec le Budget principal des dépenses pour l'exercice 2018-2019. Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé à l'aide d'un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d’information financière à l’égard de l’utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut pas dépenser sans l’autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l’entremise de lois de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par l’entremise de lois sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Le Ministère utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice intégrale pour la préparation et la présentation de ses états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur les résultats ministériels. Toutefois, les pouvoirs de dépenses votés par le Parlement sont encore en fonction d’une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

2. Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

La section qui suit expose les faits saillants des résultats financiers et donne une explication des écarts entre les données du trimestre ayant pris fin le 30 juin 2018 et celles correspondant à la même date de l’année précédente.

Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs (en milliers de dollars)

  2017-2018 Autorisations au 30 juin 2017 2018-2019 Autorisations au 30 juin 2018 Écarts des autorisations Cumul des dépenses au 30 juin 2017 Cumul des dépenses au 30 juin 2018 Écart des dépenses
Crédit 1 – Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 1 473 648 1 549 032 75 384 290 891 323 686 32 795
Crédit 5 – Dépenses en capital 831 693 587 211 (244 482) 96 876 47 117 (49 759)
Crédit 10 – Subventions et contributions 135 236 206 011 70 775 11 409 14 619 3 210
Autorisations législatives 135 742 138 514 2 772 30 250 33 980 3 730
Total 2 576 319 2 480 768 (95 551) 429 426 419 402 (10 024)

État des autorisations votées et législatives

De 2017-2018 à 2018-2019, le total des autorisations budgétaires disponible a diminué de 95,5 millions de dollars (3,7 %). Cela découle d’une augmentation des autorisations de 75,4 millions de dollars au titre du crédit 1, d’une diminution de 244,5 millions de dollars au titre du crédit 5, d’une augmentation de 70,8 millions de dollars au titre du crédit 10, et par une augmentation de 2,8 millions de dollars de l’autorisation d’effectuer des paiements législatifs.

Certains des montants présentés dans ce tableau représentent des étapes essentielles de projets ainsi que les changements prévus dans le profil de financement de ces initiatives. De plus, certains écarts sont dus à la synchronisation des autorités accordées par le Parlement. Ainsi, les montants négatifs dans le tableau ci-dessous ne représentent pas des coupures de dépenses de programme.

Explication des changements
(2018-2019 comparativement à 2017-2018)
Changement (milliers de dollars)
Crédit 1 – Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement
Fonds pour le Plan de protection des océans visant à améliorer la sécurité maritime et à protéger l’environnement marin du Canada 57 611
Fonds pour le maintien des services essentiels offerts aux Canadiens (p. ex. les activités de gestion des pêches et l’entretien de la flotte pour assurer la sécurité des eaux canadiennes à long terme) 30 003
Fonds pour la signature des conventions collectives 26 207
Fonds pour la mesure du budget de 2018 « Protéger la nature, les parcs et les espaces sauvages du Canada » et pour les fonds de la mesure du budget de 2017 « Gardiens autochtones » 15 420
Fonds visant à élargir le Programme sur les espèces aquatiques envahissantes 6 219
Fonds pour la mesure du budget de 2018 « Protection de la vie marine », pour mettre en œuvre une initiative exhaustive pour la protection et le rétablissement des populations de baleines en voie de disparition 5 497
Autres exigences ministérielles 2 601
Changement au profil de financement pour la modernisation des biens d’infrastructure fédérale (20 799)
L'arrivé à échéance des fonds pour l’enlèvement du navire Kathryn Spirit (20 000)
Transfert entre crédits (14 868)
L'arrivé à échéance des fonds pour les espèces en péril (7 486)
Changement au profil de financement pour la mise en œuvre d'un système de sécurité de classe mondiale pour les navires-citernes au sud du 60e parallèle de latitude nord (phase II) (5 021)
Total partiel - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 75 384
Crédit 5 - Dépenses en capital
Fonds pour le Plan de protection des océans visant à améliorer la sécurité maritime et à protéger l’environnement marin du Canada 43 632
Fonds pour le maintien des services essentiels offerts aux Canadiens (p. ex. les activités de gestion des pêches et l’entretien de la flotte pour assurer la sécurité des eaux canadiennes à long terme) 36 943
Transfert entre crédits 10 802
Transfert de Transports Canada à Pêches et Océans Canada pour le Port de Carleton 10 500
Changement au profil de financement pour la modernisation des biens d’infrastructure fédérale (207 278)
Changement au profil de financement des Navires, canots de sauvetage et hélicoptères pour la Garde côtière canadienne (138 152)
Autres exigences ministérielles (929)
Total partiel - Dépenses en capital (244 482)
Crédit 10 - Subventions et contributions
Fonds à l'appui de la mise en œuvre du programme du Fonds des pêches de l'Atlantique 52 333
Fonds pour le Plan de protection des océans visant à améliorer la sécurité maritime et à protéger l’environnement marin du Canada 16 705
Fonds pour l'amélioration et l'expansion de la gamme des programmes des pêches autochtones 7 325
Fonds pour le Programme d'adoption des technologies propres pour les pêches et l'aquaculture 4 136
Transfert entre crédits 4 066
Autres exigences ministérielles 1 210
Fonds pour soutenir les négociations sur les pêches et le secteur maritime (15 000)
Total partiel - Subventions et contributions 70 775
Législatif
Total partiel - Autorisations législatives 2 772
Autorisations Totales (95 551)

Analyse des autorisations utilisées

Au premier trimestre de 2018-2019, les dépenses budgétaires totales se chiffraient à 419,4 millions de dollars par rapport à 429,4 millions de dollars pour le même trimestre en 2017-2018, ce qui représente une diminution de 10,0 millions de dollars ou 2,3 %.

Les autorisations utilisées au titre du crédit 1, Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement, ont augmenté de 32,8 millions de dollars par rapport au même trimestre de l’exercice précédent, ce qui représente une hausse d’environ 11,3 % d’un exercice à l’autre. Cette augmentation est principalement attribuable à l’embauche de personnel et aux services de transportation et communication à l’appui du Plan de protection des océans ainsi qu’aux efforts du Ministère afin de maintenir les services essentiels offerts aux Canadiens.

Les autorisations utilisées au titre du crédit 5, Dépenses en capital, ont diminué de 49,8 millions de dollars par rapport au même trimestre de l’exercice précédent, ce qui représente une baisse d’environ 51,4 % d’un exercice à l’autre. Cette diminution des dépenses en capital s’explique principalement par les investissements visant les infrastructures fédérales puisque la majorité de ces initiatives ont été menées à terme et une réduction progressive des initiatives telles que les navires hauturiers de sciences halieutiques puisque les navires approchent la phase d’achèvement.

Les autorisations utilisées au titre du crédit 10, Subventions et contributions, ont augmenté de 3,2 millions de dollars par rapport au même trimestre de l’exercice précédent, ce qui représente une hausse d’environ 28,1 % d’un exercice à l’autre. Cette hausse est principalement alignée avec le financement supplémentaire des programmes de paiements de transfert en 2017-18. Certains exemples, tels que le Programme de contribution aux sciences marines et d'eaux douces ainsi que le Fonds de restauration des côtes appuient la mise en œuvre du Plan de protection des océans.

Les autorisations législatives ont augmenté de 3,7 millions de dollars par rapport au même trimestre de l’exercice précédent, ce qui représente une hausse d’environ 12,3 % d’un exercice à l’autre. L’augmentation des contributions au régime d’avantages sociaux des employés est directement liée à l’embauche de personnel supplémentaire.

État des dépenses budgétaires ministérielles par article courant

La diminution de 10,0 millions de dollars des dépenses budgétaires nettes totales durant le premier trimestre de 2018-2019, comparativement au même trimestre de 2017-2018, est principalement attribuable aux dépenses suivants :

Les dépenses de personnel ont augmenté globalement de 33,0 millions de dollars au premier trimestre de 2018-2019, comparativement au même trimestre en 2017-2018. Cette augmentation est attribuée majoritairement à l’embauche de personnel à l’appui du Plan de protection des océans et aux efforts du Ministère afin de maintenir les services essentiels offerts aux Canadiens.

Les dépenses relatives aux services de transport et de communication ont augmenté de 3,7 millions de dollars au total au premier trimestre de 2018-2019, comparativement au même trimestre en 2017-2018. Cette augmentation est principalement attribuable aux coûts des voyages associés aux changements des équipages des navires de la Garde côtière canadienne, en raison des opérations accrues de cette dernière à l’appui du Plan de protection des océans et aux diverses interventions environnementales.

Les dépenses relatives aux services professionnels et spéciaux ont diminué de 49,0 millions de dollars au total au premier trimestre de 2018-2019, comparativement au même trimestre de 2017-2018. Cela s’explique principalement par les investissements visant les infrastructures fédérales puisque la majorité de ces initiatives ont été menées à terme et une réduction progressive des initiatives telles que les navires hauturiers de sciences halieutiques puisque les navires approchent la phase d’achèvement.

Les dépenses relatives aux services de réparation et d’entretien ont diminué de 6,0 millions de dollars au total au premier trimestre de 2018-2019, comparativement au même trimestre en 2017-2018. Cette diminution tient essentiellement aux fluctuations qui se produisent dans le calendrier d’entretien des navires de la Garde côtière canadienne. De plus, cette diminution est attribuable à du travail accompli sur le Programme de prolongement de vie des navires, qui se trouve maintenant sous l’acquisition de machines et d’équipement, puisque le Ministère a aligné et ajusté l’approche de catégorisation des projets d’extension capitalisables.

Les dépenses relatives aux services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements ont augmenté de 2,6 millions de dollars au total au premier trimestre de 2018-2019, comparativement au même trimestre en 2017-2018. Ce constat est principalement attribuable à une augmentation des achats de la Garde côtière canadienne en carburant diesel.

Les dépenses pour l’acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et d’ouvrages ont diminué de 5,8 millions de dollars au total au premier trimestre de 2018-2019, comparativement au même trimestre en 2017-2018. Cette diminution est principalement attribuable aux investissements visant les infrastructures fédérales puisque la majorité de ces initiatives ont été menées à terme.

Les dépenses pour l’acquisition de machines et d’équipement ont augmenté de 8,7 millions de dollars au total au premier trimestre de 2018-2019, comparativement au même trimestre en 2017-2018. Cette hausse tient principalement à du travail accompli sur le Programme de prolongement de vie des navires, qui était précédemment inclut dans les services de réparation et d’entretien, mais qui est maintenant inclut dans l’acquisition de machines et d’équipement. Ce changement est le résultat d’un réalignement et un ajustement de l’approche de catégorisation des projets d’extension capitalisables au sein du Ministère. D’autres hausses furent constatées dans les dépenses de matériel informatique et à l’équipement de télécommunication afin d’appuyer l’embauche de nouveau personnel.

Les dépenses relatives aux paiements de transfert ont augmenté de 3,2 millions de dollars au total au premier trimestre de 2018-2019, comparativement au même trimestre de 2017-2018. La hausse est alignée avec le financement supplémentaire au sein des programmes de paiements de transfert en 2017-18. Certains exemples, tels que le Programme de contribution aux sciences marines et d'eaux douces ainsi que le Fonds de restauration des côtes appuient la mise en œuvre du Plan de protection des océans.

Les dépenses pour les autres subventions et paiements ont diminué de 3,2 millions de dollars au total au premier trimestre de 2018-2019, comparativement au même trimestre de 2017-2018. Ceci est partiellement attribuable à une diminution nette des comptes débiteurs liés aux salaires payés en trop découlant des problèmes techniques du système de paye Phénix. Il convient également de mentionner une réduction au sein des dépenses liées aux ententes des commissions internationales des pêches.

3. Risques et incertitudes

Pêches et Océans Canada mène ses activités dans un environnement dynamique sur lequel influent divers facteurs, comme le développement accru dans le Nord, l’expansion des voies navigables, les changements environnementaux, le changement climatique, les phénomènes météorologiques extrêmes, la démographie, les progrès technologiques, l’évolution des exigences de sécurité et de sûreté maritime, de même que la situation économique et géopolitique mondiale. Le Ministère continue d’évaluer la façon dont il exerce ses activités, offre ses services et exécute ses programmes afin de répondre aux besoins des clients et des intervenants. Le Ministère tient à jour un profil de risque ministériel qui identifie et évalue les risques de haut niveau qui pourraient affecter la réalisation de ses objectifs et de ses priorités. Des informations supplémentaires concernant les principaux secteurs de risque du ministère sont présentées dans le Plan ministériel 2018-19.

4. Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Les changements au personnel suivants ont été apportés au cours du premier trimestre :

5. Approbation des cadres supérieurs

Approuvé par :

Original signé par
_________________________
Catherine Blewett, sous-ministre

Original signé par
_________________________
Jen O’Donoughue,
Dirigeante principale des finances

Ottawa, Canada
24 août 2018

État des autorisations (non vérifié)

(en milliers de dollars)

  Exercice 2017-2018 Exercice 2018-2019
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2018* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2017 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2019* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2018 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 1 – Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 1 473 648 290 891 290 891 1 549 032 323 686 323 686
Crédit 5 – Dépenses en capital 831 693 96 876 96 876 587 211 47 117 47 117
Crédit 10 – Subventions et contributions 135 236 11 409 11 409 206 011 14 619 14 619
Autorisations législatives
Dépenses législatives – Contributions aux régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés 135 658 29 930 29 930 138 428 33 948 33 948
Dépenses législatives – Ministre des Pêches et des Océans – Traitement et allocation pour automobile 84 21 21 86 21 21
Dépenses législatives – Dépense des produits de la vente de biens excédentaires de l’État 0 299 299 0 0 0
Dépenses législatives – Remboursements de montants portés aux revenus d’exercices antérieurs 0 0 0 0 11 11
Autorisations législatives totales 135 742 30 250 30 250 138 514 33 980 33 980
Autorisations totales 2 576 319 429 426 429 426 2 480 768 419 402 419 402

* N’inclut que les autorisations disponibles pour l’exercice financier et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.

Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)

(en milliers de dollars)

  Exercice 2017-2018 Exercice 2018-2019
Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2018* Total dépensé durant le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2017 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2019* Total dépensé durant le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2018 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses :
Personnel 977 980 234 055 234 055 1 045 060 267 100 267 100
Transport et communications 60 832 14 415 14 415 58 123 18 068 18 068
Information 3 236 355 355 2 086 497 497
Services professionnels et spéciaux 277 829 88 819 88 819 289 567 39 849 39 849
Location 19 423 4 509 4 509 16 369 4 428 4 428
Services de réparation et d'entretien 201 658 27 242 27 242 203 553 21 248 21 248
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 114 728 15 457 15 457 105 769 18 030 18 030
Acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et ouvrages 145 864 16 230 16 230 169 519 10 459 10 459
Acquisition de matériel et d’équipement 667 566 13 193 13 193 403 163 21 846 21 846
Paiements de transfert 135 236 11 409 11 409 206 011 14 619 14 619
Autres subventions et paiements 19 882 16 311 16 311 20 549 13 144 13 144
Total des dépenses budgétaires brutes 2 624 234 441 995 441 995 2 519 769 429 288 429 288
Moins les revenus affectés aux dépenses :
Ventes de biens et services 47 915 12 569 12 569 39 001 9 886 9 886
Total des revenus affectés aux dépenses 47 915 12 569 12 569 39 001 9 886 9 886
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 2 576 319 429 426 429 426 2 480 768 419 402 419 402

* N’inclut que les autorisations disponibles pour l’exercice financier et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.