Fisheries and Oceans Canada - Quarterly Financial Report for the quarter ended September 30, 2019

1. Introduction

This quarterly financial report has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board. The quarterly report should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates as well as Budget 2018 and Budget 2019.

This quarterly report has not been subject to an external audit or review.

Further details on Fisheries and Oceans Canada's authority, mandate and programs may be found in the Departmental Plan and the Main Estimates (Part II).

1.1 Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes Fisheries and Oceans Canada's spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the Department consistent with the 2019-20 Main Estimates, Budget 2019 Measures and the Operating and Capital Budget Carry Forwards. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

The Department uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements that are part of the departmental results reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

2. Highlights of the Fiscal Quarter and the Fiscal Year-to-Date (YTD) Results

The following section highlights the financial results and provides explanations for the fiscal quarter ended September 30, 2019 as compared to the same period last year.

Highlights of the Fiscal Quarter and the Fiscal Year-to-Date (YTD) Results (thousands of dollars)

  2018-19 Authorities as at September 30, 2018 2019-20 Authorities as at September 30, 2019 Variance in Authorities Expenditures during the quarter ended September 30, 2018 Expenditures during the quarter ended September 30, 2019 Variance in Expenditures
Vote 1 – Net Operating expenditures 1,607,896 1,784,287 176,391 407,444 488,751 81,307
Vote 5 – Capital expenditures 758,087 1,067,886 309,799 645,263 136,103 (509,160)
Vote 10 – Grants and Contributions 208,986 297,946 88,960 27,490 54,757 27,267
Statutory Authorities 139,039 157,201 18,162 34,025 38,920 4,895
Total 2,714,008 3,307,320 593,312 1,114,222 718,531 (395,691)

Statement of Voted and Statutory Authorities

Total budgetary authorities available for use increased in 2019-20 from those in 2018-19 by $593.3 million (or 21.9%). This is the result of an increase in Vote 1 authorities of $176.4 million, an increase in Vote 5 authorities of $309.8 million, an increase in Vote 10 authorities of $89.0 million, and an increase in spending authority for statutory payments of $18.2 million.

Some of the amounts shown in this table represent planned changes to funding profiles, as well as variances due to timing of the authorities granted by Parliament. As such, the negative amounts do not represent cuts to program spending.

Explanation of Changes
(2019-20 compared to 2018-19)
Change (thousands of dollars)
Vote 1 – Net Operating expenditures
Funding profile change to implement an amended Fisheries Act 42,944
Funding profile change to maintain mission-critical services to Canadians (e.g. fisheries management activities and maintenance of the fleet for continued safety and security of Canadian waters) 31,317
Funding profile change for the 2018 Budget measure "Renewing Canada's Network of Small Craft Harbours" 29,546
Funding profile change to operate the newly procured icebreakers for the Canadian Coast Guard 29,423
Incremental change in the Operating Budget Carry Forward 16,554
Funding profile change for fisheries aerial surveillance and enforcement (FASE) program to deliver core aerial surveillance monitoring activities 13,060
Other Departmental Adjustments 13,547
Sub-total Net Operating expenditures 176,391
Vote 5 – Capital expenditures
Funding profile change for the Canadian Coast Guard Fleet 177,203
Incremental change in the Capital Budget Carry Forward 151,287
Funding profile change to maintain mission-critical services to Canadians (e.g. fisheries management activities and maintenance of the fleet for continued safety and security of Canadian waters) 31,559
Funding profile change for the 2018 Budget measure "Renewing Canada's Network of Small Craft Harbours" 25,156
Funding profile change for the upgrade of federal infrastructure assets (24,821)
Funding profile change for the Oceans Protection Plan to improve marine safety and protect Canadaʼs marine environment (38,010)
Other Departmental Adjustments (12,575)
Sub-total Capital expenditures 309,799
Vote 10 – Grants and Contributions
Funding for the establishment of Fisheries Fund Programs 30,833
Funding profile change for various 2018 Budget measures 17,615
Funding profile change to advance reconciliation on Indigenous and treaty rights issues 14,223
Funding profile change to implement an amended Fisheries Act 11,549
Funding profile change for the enhancement and expansion of the Indigenous fisheries program suite 6,791
Other Departmental Adjustments 7,949
Sub-total Grants and Contributions 88,960
Statutory
Sub-total Statutory Authorities 18,162
Total Authorities 593,312

In the second quarter of 2019-20, total budgetary authorities available for use amounted to $3,307.3 million compared to $2,993.2 million reported in the first quarter of 2019-20, which represents an increase of $314.1 million. This is mostly due to the receipt of the Operating and Capital Budget Carry Forwards ($313.4 million).

Authorities Used Analysis

In the second quarter of 2019-20, total budgetary expenditures amounted to $718.5 million compared to $1,114.2 million reported in the same quarter of 2018-19, which represents a decrease of $395.7 million or 36%.

Authorities used in Vote 1, Net Operating expenditures, increased by $81.3 million compared to the same quarter last year representing an increase of approximately 20.0% between the two years. This increase is in large part related to a settlement agreement reached with a First Nation group.

Authorities used in Vote 5, Capital expenditures, decreased by $509.2 million compared to the same quarter last year representing a decrease of approximately 79.0% between the two years. This reduction is primarily due to the acquisition of three medium icebreakers which occurred in 2018-19.

Authorities used in Vote 10, Grants and Contributions expenditures, increased by $27.3 million compared to the same quarter last year representing a 100% increase between the two years. This increase is mainly associated with the Department’s commitment to advance the reconciliation agenda on Indigenous and treaty rights issues, including the provision of fisheries access, vessels and gear, and engagement on fisheries policies.

Statutory authorities increased by $4.9 million compared to the same quarter last year representing an increase of approximately 14.4%. The increase to contributions to employee benefit plans is directly aligned with the growth in salary expenditures.

Statement of Departmental Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object

The decrease of $395.7 million in total net budgetary expenditures in the second quarter of 2019-20 as compared to the same quarter in 2018-19 is primarily due to the following:

Personnel expenditures increased by a total of $25.8 million in the second quarter of 2019-20 when compared to the same quarter of 2018-19. The increase is in line with additional funding provided to the Department to maintain mission-critical services to Canadians, along with an increase in contributions to employee benefit plans.

Expenditures related to Professional and Special Services increased by a total of $15.9 million in the second quarter of 2019-20 when compared to the same quarter of 2018-19. The increase is mainly associated with architectural services for the Offshore Oceanographic Science Vessel and the Offshore Fisheries Science Vessels Projects, as well as increased spending on the Leasing Towing Vessels project.

Expenditures related to Repair and Maintenance increased by a total of $16.1 million in the second quarter of 2019-20 when compared to the same quarter of 2018-19. This is mainly attributable to an increased number of projects for the renewal of Small Craft Harbours network to align with the Budget 2018 commitments, along with a growth in the Canadian Coast Guard’s National Vessel Refit Program.

Expenditures related to the Acquisition of Land, Buildings and Works increased by a total of $14.4 million in the second quarter of 2019-20 when compared to the same quarter of 2018-19. The increase is primarily associated with capital projects undertaken as part of the renewal of Small Craft Harbours.

Expenditures related to Acquisition of Machinery and Equipment decreased by a total of $538.9 million in the second quarter of 2019-20 when compared to the same quarter of 2018-19. This decrease is mainly due to the acquisition of three medium icebreakers in 2018-19, partially offset by spending in 2019-20 for the improvement of the same three vessels.

Expenditures related to Transfer Payments increased by a total of $26.8 million in the second quarter of 2019-20 when compared to the same quarter of 2018-19. This increase is primarily associated with the Department’s commitment to advance the reconciliation agenda on Indigenous and treaty rights issues, including the provision of fisheries access, vessels and gear, and engagement on fisheries policies.

Expenditures related to Other Subsidies and Payments increased by a total of $40.6 million in the second quarter of 2019-20 when compared to the same quarter of 2018-19. This is largely driven by increased payments to settle claims against the Crown in the second quarter of 2019-20.

3. Risks and Uncertainties

Fisheries and Oceans Canada operates in a dynamic environment that is affected by a number of factors, including: increased northern development; expansion of navigable waters; environmental changes; climate change; severe weather events; demographics; technological advances; changing maritime safety and security demands; and global geopolitical and economic conditions. The Department continues to assess how it conducts its business, provides services and delivers its programs to meet client and stakeholder needs. The Department maintains a Corporate Risk Profile which identifies and assesses high-level risks that could affect the achievement of its objectives and priorities. Additional information regarding the Department’s key risk areas is presented in the 2019-20 Departmental Plan.

Certain risks would have financial impacts should they materialize, for example many factors affecting the timing of transfer payments lie outside the control of the Department and could require funds to be reprofiled to future years. To minimize these impacts, the Department continuously monitors its program funding and expenditures throughout the year.

The Government of Canada implemented a new pay system as part of the Transformation of Pay Administration Initiative in 2016. Given the complexity of our workforce coupled with the nature of our organization, the Department continues to experience a significant number of pay related issues. To mitigate the impact on its employees, Fisheries and Oceans Canada created a pay support team to help employees whose pay has been impacted and to accelerate urgent matters to the Pay Centre. The Department continues to work with employees to recover salary overpayments through repayment plans to ensure no undue hardship on the employee. The Department will continue to work internally and with external stakeholders to resolve these issues.

4. Significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs

The following changes in personnel were made during the second quarter:

5. Approval by Senior Officials

Approved by:

Original signed by
_________________________
Tim Sargent, Deputy Minister

Original signed by
_________________________
Jen O’Donoughue,
Chief Financial Officer

Ottawa, Canada
November 27, 2019

Statement of Authorities (unaudited)

(in thousands of dollars)

  Fiscal year 2018-19 Fiscal year 2019-20
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2019* Used during the quarter ended September 30, 2018 Year to date used at quarter-end Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2020* Used during the quarter ended September 30, 2019 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 1 – Net Operating expenditures 1,607,896 407,444 731,131 1,784,287 488,751 836,071
Vote 5 – Capital expenditures 758,087 645,263 692,379 1,067,886 136,103 220,728
Vote 10 – Grants and Contributions 208,986 27,490 42,109 297,946 54,757 71,355
Statutory Authorities
Statutory - Contributions to employee benefit plans 138,953 33,948 67,895 157,113 38,898 77,786
Statutory - Minister of Fisheries and Oceans – Salary and motor car allowance 86 22 43 88 22 44
Statutory - Spending of proceeds from the disposal of surplus Crown assets 0 55 55 0 0 0
Statutory – Refunds of amounts credited to revenues in previous years 0 0 11 0 0 1
Total Statutory Authorities 139,039 34,025 68,004 157,201 38,920 77,831
Total Authorities 2,714,008 1,114,222 1,533,623 3,307,320 718,531 1,205,985

*Includes only Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.

Departmental Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)

(in thousands of dollars)

  Fiscal year 2018-19 Fiscal year 2019-20
Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2019* Expended during the quarter ended September 30, 2018 Year to date used at quarter-end Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2020* Expended during the quarter ended September 30, 2019 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures:
Personnel 1,048,209 272,266 539,366 1,189,920 298,101 587,230
Transportation and communications 62,880 21,242 39,310 67,843 24,044 42,217
Information 2,253 533 1,030 2,417 403 892
Professional and special services 313,523 75,870 115,719 373,804 91,780 149,488
Rentals 17,726 8,612 13,039 19,827 6,991 13,480
Repair and maintenance 220,496 22,709 43,957 213,468 38,797 62,643
Utilities, materials and supplies 114,511 29,705 47,735 109,364 32,273 51,175
Acquisition of land, buildings and works 219,948 23,588 34,047 301,769 37,978 54,511
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 522,254 594,349 616,195 737,927 55,443 93,173
Transfer payments 208,986 27,490 42,109 297,946 54,257 70,855
Other subsidies and payments 22,223 47,589 60,733 33,046 88,148 102,070
Total gross budgetary expenditures 2,753,009 1,123,953 1,553,240 3,347,331 728,215 1,227,734
Less Revenues netted against expenditures:
Sales of goods and services 39,001 9,731 19,617 40,011 9,684 21,749
Total Revenues netted against expenditures 39,001 9,731 19,617 40,011 9,684 21,749
Total net budgetary expenditures 2,714,008 1,114,222 1,533,623 3,307,320 718,531 1,205,985

* Includes only Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.

Pêches et Océans Canada – Rapport financier trimestriel pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2019

1. Introduction

Ce rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé par la direction, comme l’exige l’article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, et selon les modalités prescrites par le Conseil du Trésor. Ce rapport doit être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses ainsi que le Budget de 2018 et le Budget de 2019.

Le présent rapport trimestriel n’a pas fait l’objet d’une vérification externe ou d’un examen.

Des renseignements supplémentaires sur les autorisations, le mandat et les programmes peuvent se retrouver dans le Plan ministériel et le Budget principal des dépenses (Partie II).

1.1 Méthode de la présentation

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L’état des autorisations joint à ce rapport comprend les autorisations de dépenser de Pêches et Océans Canada accordées par le Parlement et celles utilisées par le Ministère de manière cohérente avec le Budget principal des dépenses pour l'exercice 2019-2020, les mesures du Budget 2019 et le report du budget de fonctionnement et du budget d’immobilisation. Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé à l'aide d'un cadre à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d’information financière à l’égard de l’utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut pas dépenser sans l’autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l’entremise de lois de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par l’entremise de lois sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Le Ministère utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice intégrale pour la préparation et la présentation de ses états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur les résultats ministériels. Toutefois, les pouvoirs de dépenses votés par le Parlement sont encore en fonction d’une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

2. Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

La section qui suit expose les faits saillants des résultats financiers et donne une explication des écarts entre les données du trimestre ayant pris fin le 30 septembre 2019 et celles correspondant à la même date de l’année précédente.

Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs (en milliers de dollars)

  2018-2019 Autorisations au 30 septembre 2018 2019-2020 Autorisations au 30 septembre 2019 Écarts des autorisations Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre au 30 septembre 2018 Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre au 30 septembre 2019 Écart des dépenses
Crédit 1 – Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 1 607 896 1 784 287 176 391 407 444 488 751 81 307
Crédit 5 – Dépenses en capital 758 087 1 067 886 309 799 645 263 136 103 (509 160)
Crédit 10 – Subventions et contributions 208 986 297 946 88 960 27 490 54 757 27 267
Autorisations législatives 139 039 157 201 18 162 34 025 38 920 4 895
Total 2 714 008 3 307 320 593 312 1 114 222 718 531 (395 691)

État des autorisations votées et législatives

De 2018-2019 à 2019-2020, le total des autorisations budgétaires disponible ont augmenté de 593,3 millions de dollars (17,9 %). Cela découle d’une augmentation des autorisations de 176,4 millions de dollars au titre du crédit 1, d’une augmentation de 309,8 millions de dollars au titre du crédit 5, d’une augmentation de 89,0 millions de dollars au titre du crédit 10, et par une augmentation de 18,2 millions de dollars de l’autorisation d’effectuer des paiements législatifs.

Certains des montants présentés dans ce tableau représentent des changements planifiés aux profils de financement. De plus, certains écarts sont dus à la synchronisation des autorités accordées par le Parlement. Ainsi, les montants négatifs dans le tableau ci-dessous ne représentent pas des coupures de dépenses de programme.

Explication des changements
(2019-2020 comparativement à 2018-2019)
Changement (milliers de dollars)
Crédit 1 – Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement
Changement au profil de financement pour mettre en oeuvre une loi sur les pêches modernisée 42 944
Changement au profil de financement pour le maintien des services essentiels offerts aux Canadiens (p. ex. les activités de gestion des pêches et l’entretien de la flotte pour assurer la sécurité des eaux canadiennes à long terme) 31 317
Changement au profil de financement pour la mesure du budget de 2018 « Renouvellement du réseau de ports pour petits bateaux » 29 546
Changement au profil de financement pour l'opération des brise-glaces nouvellement acquis pour la Garde côtière canadienne 29 423
Changement graduel dans le Report du budget de fonctionnement 16 554
Changement au profil de financement pour le Programme de surveillance aérienne et d’application de la loi relative à la pêche (SALP) afin de livrer des activités de surveillance aérienne essentielle 13 060
Autres ajustements ministériels 13 547
Total partiel - Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 176 391
Crédit 5 - Dépenses en capital
Changement au profil de financement pour la flotte de la Garde côtière canadienne 177 203
Changement graduel dans le Report du budget des dépenses en capital 151 287
Changement au profil de financement pour le maintien des services essentiels offerts aux Canadiens (p. ex. les activités de gestion des pêches et l’entretien de la flotte pour assurer la sécurité des eaux canadiennes à long terme) 31 559
Changement au profil de financement pour la mesure du budget de 2018 « Renouvellement du réseau de ports pour petits bateaux » 25 156
Changement au profil de financement pour la modernisation des biens d’infrastructure fédérale (24 821)
Changement au profil de financement pour le Plan de protection des océans visant à améliorer la sécurité maritime et à protéger l’environnement marin du Canada (38 010)
Autres ajustements ministériels (12 575)
Total partiel - Dépenses en capital 309 799
Crédit 10 - Subventions et contributions
Financement pour l'établissement des Programmes de fonds des pêches 30 833
Changement au profil de financement pour les diverses mesures du budget 2018 17 615
Changement au profil de financement pour faire progresser la réconciliation sur les questions relatives aux droits autochtones et issus de traités 14 223
Changement au profil de financement pour mettre en oeuvre une loi sur les pêches modernisée 11 549
Changement au profil de financement pour l'amélioration et l'expansion de la gamme des programmes des pêches autochtones 6 791
Autres ajustements ministériels 7 949
Total partiel - Subventions et contributions 88 960
Législatif
Total partiel - Autorisations législatives 18 162
Autorisation totales 593 312

Au deuxième trimestre de 2019-2020, les autorisations budgétaires totales pouvant être utilisées se chiffraient à 3 307,3 millions de dollars, contre 2 993,2 millions de dollars pour le premier trimestre de 2019-2020, soit une hausse de 314,1 millions de dollars. Il s'agit majoritairement du résultat des sommes reportées du budget de fonctionnement et des dépenses en capital (313,4 millions de dollars).

Analyse des autorisations utilisées

Au deuxième trimestre de 2019-2020, les dépenses budgétaires totales se chiffraient à 718,5 millions de dollars, comparativement à 1 114,2 millions de dollars pour le même trimestre en 2018-2019, soit une baisse de 395,7 millions de dollars, ou 36 %.

Les autorisations utilisées au titre du crédit 1, Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement, ont augmenté de 81,3 millions de dollars par rapport au même trimestre de l’exercice précédent, ce qui représente une hausse d’environ 20 % d’un exercice à l’autre. Cette hausse est en grande partie liée à une entente de règlement conclue avec un groupe des Premières Nations.

Les autorisations utilisées au titre du crédit 5, Dépenses en capital, ont diminué de 509,2 millions de dollars par rapport au même trimestre de l’exercice précédent, ce qui représente une baisse d’environ 79 % d’un exercice à l’autre. Cette diminution est principalement attribuable à l’acquisition de trois brise-glaces moyens en 2018-2019. Elle est en grande partie contrebalancée par les dépenses d’amélioration des immobilisations pour les trois mêmes navires, ainsi que le projet de renouvellement des ports pour petits bateaux.

Les autorisations utilisées au titre du crédit 10, Subventions et contributions, ont augmenté de 27,3 millions de dollars par rapport au même trimestre de l’exercice précédent, ce qui représente une hausse de 100 % d’un exercice à l’autre. Cette augmentation est principalement associée à l’engagement du Ministère visant à faire progresser la réconciliation sur les questions relatives aux droits des Autochtones et aux droits issus de traités, y compris l’accès aux pêches, aux navires et aux engins de pêche, et la mobilisation à l’égard des politiques sur les pêches.

Les autorisations législatives ont augmenté de 4,9 millions de dollars comparativement au même trimestre de l’exercice précédent, soit une hausse d’environ 14,4 %. L’augmentation des cotisations aux régimes d’avantages sociaux des employés est directement reliée à la croissance des dépenses salariales.

État des dépenses budgétaires ministérielles par article courant

La baisse de 395,7 millions de dollars des dépenses budgétaires nettes totales au deuxième trimestre de 2019-2020 par rapport au trimestre correspondant de 2018-2019 est principalement attribuable aux facteurs suivants :

Les dépenses en personnel ont augmenté globalement de 25,8 millions de dollars au deuxième trimestre de 2019-2020, comparativement au même trimestre en 2018-2019. Cette augmentation est en accord avec le financement supplémentaire accordé au Ministère pour maintenir la prestation des services essentiels à la mission destinés aux Canadiens, ainsi qu’à l’augmentation des cotisations aux régimes d’avantages sociaux des employés.

Au total, les dépenses relatives aux services professionnels et spéciaux ont augmenté de 15,9 millions de dollars au deuxième trimestre de 2019-2020, comparativement au même trimestre de 2018-2019. L’augmentation est principalement associée aux services d’architecture dans le cadre des projets de navires hauturiers de sciences océanographiques et de sciences halieutiques, ainsi qu’à l’augmentation des dépenses pour le projet de location de navires remorqueurs.

Les dépenses relatives aux réparations et à l’entretien ont augmenté globalement de 16,1 millions de dollars au deuxième trimestre de 2019-2020, comparativement au même trimestre de 2018-2019. Cette hausse est principalement attribuable à l’augmentation du nombre de projets pour le renouvellement du réseau des ports pour petits bateaux afin de s’aligner avec les engagements du Budget de 2018, ainsi qu’à la croissance du Programme national de radoub des navires de la Garde côtière canadienne.

Les dépenses pour l’acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et d’ouvrages ont augmenté globalement de 14,4 millions de dollars au deuxième trimestre de 2019-2020, comparativement au même trimestre de 2018-2019. L’augmentation est principalement attribuable aux projets d’immobilisations entrepris dans le cadre du renouvellement des ports pour petits bateaux.

Les dépenses liées à l’acquisition de machines et d’équipement ont diminué globalement de 538,9 millions de dollars au deuxième trimestre de 2019-2020, comparativement au même trimestre en 2018-2019. Cette diminution est principalement attribuable à l’acquisition de trois brise-glaces de taille moyenne en 2018-2019, partiellement compensée par des dépenses en 2019-2020 pour l’amélioration des trois navires en question.

Au total, les dépenses concernant les paiements de transfert ont augmenté de 26,8 millions de dollars au deuxième trimestre de 2019-2020, comparativement au même trimestre de 2018-2019. Cette augmentation est principalement associée à l’avancement du programme de réconciliation du Ministère sur les questions relatives aux droits des Autochtones et aux droits issus de traités, y compris l’accès aux pêches, aux navires et aux engins de pêche, et la mobilisation à l’égard des politiques sur les pêches.

Les dépenses associées aux autres subventions et paiements ont augmenté globalement de 40,6 millions de dollars au deuxième trimestre de 2019-2020, comparativement au même trimestre de 2018-2019. Ceci s’explique en grande partie par l’augmentation des paiements pour régler les réclamations contre la Couronne au deuxièmes trimestre de 2019-2020.

3. Risques et incertitudes

Pêches et Océans Canada mène ses activités dans un environnement dynamique sur lequel influent divers facteurs, comme le développement accru dans le Nord, l’expansion des voies navigables, les changements environnementaux, le changement climatique, les phénomènes météorologiques extrêmes, la démographie, les progrès technologiques, l’évolution des exigences de sécurité et de sûreté maritime, de même que la situation économique et géopolitique mondiale. Le Ministère continue d’évaluer la façon dont il exerce ses activités, offre ses services et exécute ses programmes afin de répondre aux besoins des clients et des intervenants. Le Ministère maintient un profil de risque organisationnel qui lui permet de cerner et d’évaluer les risques de haut niveau susceptibles de nuire à la réalisation de ses objectifs et de ses priorités. Des renseignements supplémentaires concernant les principaux secteurs de risque du Ministère figurent dans le Plan ministériel 2019-2020.

Certains risques peuvent avoir des répercussions financières s’ils se matérialisent; par exemple, plusieurs facteurs ayant une incidence sur le moment des paiements de transfert sont hors du contrôle du Ministère et peuvent nécessiter que les fonds soient reportés aux exercices subséquents. Afin de minimiser ces répercussions, le Ministère surveille continuellement le financement de ses programmes et les dépenses tout au long de l’année.

Le gouvernement du Canada a mis en œuvre un nouveau système de paye dans le cadre de son initiative de transformation de l’administration de la paye en 2016. Compte tenu de la complexité de notre effectif et de la nature de notre organisation, le Ministère a connu un nombre important de problèmes liés à la rémunération. Afin d’atténuer les répercussions sur ses employés, Pêches et Océans Canada a créé une équipe de soutien à la paye afin d’aider les employés dont la paye a été touchée et d’accélérer le traitement des questions urgentes par le Centre des services de paye. Le Ministère continue de travaillé avec les employés afin de récupérer les trop-payés salariaux grâce à des plans de remboursement afin qu’il n’y ait pas de contrainte excessive pour les employés. Le Ministère continuera de travailler à l’interne et avec les intervenants externes afin de résoudre ces problèmes.

4. Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Les changements au personnel suivants ont été apportés au cours du deuxième trimestre :

5. Approbation des cadres supérieurs

Approuvé par :

Original signé par
_________________________
Tim Sargent, sous-ministre

Original signé par
_________________________
Jen O’Donoughue,
Dirigeante principale des finances

Ottawa, Canada
27 novembre 2019

État des autorisations (non vérifié)

(en milliers de dollars)

  Exercice 2018-2019 Exercice 2019-2020
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2019 * Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2018 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2020* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2019 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 1 – Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 1 607 896 407 444 731 131 1 784 287 488 751 836 071
Crédit 5 – Dépenses en capital 758 087 645 263 692 379 1 067 886 136 103 220 728
Crédit 10 – Subventions et contributions 208 986 27 490 42 109 297 946 54 757 71 355
Autorisations législatives
Dépenses législatives – Contributions aux régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés 138 953 33 948 67 895 157 113 38 898 77 786
Dépenses législatives – Ministre des Pêches et des Océans – Traitement et allocation pour automobile 86 22 43 88 22 44
Dépenses législatives – Dépense des produits de la vente de biens excédentaires de l’État 0 55 55 0 0 0
Dépenses législatives – Remboursements de montants portés aux revenus d’exercices antérieurs 0 0 11 0 0 1
Autorisations législatives totales 139 039 34 025 68 004 157 201 38 920 77 831
Autorisations totales 2 714 008 1 114 222 1 533 623 3 307 320 718 531 1 205 985

* N’inclut que les autorisations disponibles pour l’exercice financier et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.

Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)

(en milliers de dollars)

  Exercice 2018-2019 Exercice 2019-2020
Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2019 * Total dépensé durant le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2018 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2020 * Total dépensé durant le trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2019 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses :
Personnel 1 048 209 272 266 539 366 1 189 920 298 101 587 230
Transport et communications 62 880 21 242 39 310 67 843 24 044 42 217
Information 2 253 533 1 030 2 417 403 892
Services professionnels et spéciaux 313 523 75 870 115 719 373 804 91 780 149 488
Location 17 726 8 612 13 039 19 827 6 991 13 480
Services de réparation et d'entretien 220 496 22 709 43 957 213 468 38 797 62 643
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 114 511 29 705 47 735 109 364 32 273 51 175
Acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et ouvrages 219 948 23 588 34 047 301 769 37 978 54 511
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 522 254 594 349 616 195 737 927 55 443 93 173
Paiements de transfert 208 986 27 490 42 109 297 946 54 257 70 855
Autres subventions et paiements 22 223 47 589 60 733 33 046 88 148 102 070
Total des dépenses budgétaires brutes 2 753 009 1 123 953 1 553 240 3 347 331 728 215 1 227 734
Moins les revenus affectés aux dépenses :
Ventes de biens et services 39 001 9 731 19 617 40 011 9 684 21 749
Total des revenus affectés aux dépenses 39 001 9 731 19 617 40 011 9 684 21 749
Dépenses budgétaires nettes totales 2 714 008 1 114 222 1 533 623 3 307 320 718 531 1 205 985

* N’inclut que les autorisations disponibles pour l’exercice financier et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.