Departmental Plan 2018-19

Future Oriented Statement of Operations (Unaudited)

For the year ending March 31


(in thousands of dollars)
  Forecast Results
2017-18
Planned Results
2018-19
Expenses
Fisheries $628,749 $698,570
Aquatic Ecosystems 254,396 197,209
Marine Navigation 293,728 304,166
Marine Operations and Response 668,383 653,367
Internal Services 465,926 357,946
Total expenses 2,311,182 2,211,258
Revenues
Sales of goods and services 95,280 87,187
Other revenues 4,066 3,815
Revenues earned on behalf of Government (51,431) (52,002)
Total revenues 47,915 39,000
Net cost of operations before government funding $2,263,267 $2,172,258

The accompanying notes form an integral part of these future-oriented financial statements.

 

Notes to the Future-Oriented Statement of Operations

1. Departmental Core Responsibilities

In 2018-19, Fisheries and Oceans Canada transitioned from a reporting framework comprising Strategic Outcomes and Program Alignment Architecture to a Departmental Results Framework comprising Core Responsibilities and Departmental Results (see note 6). For more information on Fisheries and Oceans Canada's Core Responsibilities, see the "Planned results" section of the Departmental Plan.

 

2. Methodology and significant assumptions

The Future-Oriented Statement of Operations has been prepared on the basis of government priorities and the plans of Fisheries and Oceans Canada as described in the Departmental Plan.

The information in the forecast results for fiscal year 2017-18 is based on actual results as at September 30, 2017, and on forecasts for the remainder of the fiscal year. Forecasts have been made for the planned results for the 2018-19 fiscal year.

The main assumptions underlying the forecasts are as follows:

  • The activities of Fisheries and Oceans Canada will remain substantially the same as in the previous year.
  • Expenses and revenues, including the determination of amounts internal and external to the government, are based on experience. The general historical pattern is expected to continue.
  • Allowances for doubtful accounts are based on historical experience. The general historical pattern is expected to continue.

These assumptions are made as at September 30, 2017.

 

3. Variations and changes to the forecast financial information

Although every attempt has been made to forecast final results for the remainder of 2017-18 and for 2018-19, actual results achieved for both years are likely to differ from the forecast information presented, and this variation could be material.

In preparing this Future-Oriented Statement of Operations, Fisheries and Oceans Canada has made estimates and assumptions about the future. These estimates and assumptions may differ from the subsequent actual results. Estimates and assumptions are based on past experience and other factors, including expectations of future events that are believed to be reasonable under the circumstances, and are continually evaluated.

Factors that could lead to material differences between the Future-Oriented Statement of Operations and the historical statement of operations include:

  • the timing and amount of acquisitions and disposals of property, plant and equipment which may affect gains, losses and amortization expense;
  • the implementation of new collective agreements;
  • economic conditions, which may affect both the amount of revenue earned and the collectability of loan receivables; and
  • other changes to the operating budget, such as new initiatives or technical adjustments later in the fiscal year.

After the Departmental Plan is tabled in Parliament, Fisheries and Oceans Canada will not be updating the forecasts for any changes in financial resources made in ensuing supplementary estimates. Variances will be explained in the Departmental Results Report.

 

4. Summary of significant accounting policies

The Future-Oriented Statement of Operations has been prepared using the Government of Canada's accounting policies in effect for fiscal year 2017-18, and is based on Canadian public sector accounting standards. The presentation and results using the stated accounting policies do not result in any significant differences from Canadian public sector accounting standards.

Significant accounting policies are as follows:

(a) Expenses

Expenses are recorded on an accrual basis.

Expenses for Fisheries and Oceans Canada's operations are recorded when goods are received or services are rendered, including services provided without charge for accommodation, employer contributions to health and dental insurance plans, legal services and workers' compensation which are recorded as expenses at their estimated cost. Vacation pay and compensatory leave, as well as severance benefits, are accrued and expenses are recorded as the benefits are earned by employees under their terms of employment.

Transfer payments are recorded as expenses when the recipients have met all the eligibility criteria and the transfers are authorized by March 31. In the case of transfers that do not form part of an existing program, the transfers are considered to be authorized when the government announces a decision to make a non-recurring transfer, provided the enabling legislation or authorization for payment receives parliamentary approval prior to the completion of the financial statements.

Expenses also include provisions to reflect changes in the value of assets, including provisions for bad debt on accounts receivable, provision for valuation on loans, investments and advances and inventory obsolescence or liabilities, including contingent liabilities and environmental liabilities, to the extent the future event is likely to occur and a reasonable estimate can be made.

Expenses also include amortization of tangible capital assets, which are capitalized at their acquisition cost. Amortization of tangible capital assets is done on a straight-line basis over the estimated useful life of the asset.

(b) Revenues

Revenues from regulatory fees are recognized in the accounts based on the services provided in the fiscal year.

Funds received from external parties for specified purposes are recorded upon receipt as deferred revenue. These revenues are recognized in the period in which the related expenses are incurred.

Funds that have been received are recorded as deferred revenue, provided Fisheries and Oceans Canada has an obligation to other parties for the provision of goods, services or the use of assets in the future.

Other revenues are accounted for in the period in which the underlying transaction or event that gave rise to the revenue takes place.

Revenues that are non-respendable are not available to discharge Fisheries and Oceans Canada’s liabilities. Although the deputy head is expected to maintain accounting control, she has no authority over the disposition of non-respendable revenues. As a result, non-respendable revenues are considered to be earned on behalf of the Government of Canada and are therefore presented as a reduction of the department's gross revenues.

5. Parliamentary Authorities

Fisheries and Oceans Canada is financed by the Government of Canada through parliamentary authorities. Financial reporting of authorities provided to the department differs from financial reporting according to generally accepted accounting principles because authorities are based mainly on cash flow requirements. Items recognized in the Future-Oriented Statement of Operations in one year may be funded through parliamentary authorities in prior, current or future years. Accordingly, Fisheries and Oceans Canada has different net cost of operations for the year on a government funding basis than on an accrual accounting basis. The differences are reconciled in the following tables:

(a) Reconciliation of net cost of operations to requested authorities

(in thousands of dollars)
  Forecast Results
2017-18
Planned Results
2018-19
Net cost of operations before government funding and transfers $2,263,267 $2,172,258
Adjustments for items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting authorities:
Amortization of tangible capital assets (196,416) (195,478)
Net loss on disposal of tangible capital assets (7,146) (10,469)
Services provided without charge by other government departments (119,375) (119,751)
Decrease (increase) in vacation pay and compensatory leave (8,515) 1,302
Increase in environmental liability (2,245) (1,675)
Increase in contingent liabilities (39,995) 0
Decrease in employee future benefits not charged to authorities 6,278 6,223
Decrease in inventory 2,351 784
Bad debt expense 1,153 (193)
Refunds of previous years' expenditures 5,022 5,334
(Increase) decrease in earmarked supplementary fines (108) (108)
Other 707 687
Total items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting authorities (358,289) (313,344)
 
Adjustment for items not affecting net cost of operations but affecting authorities:
Acquisitions of tangible capital assets 973,116 586,711
Total items not affecting net cost of operations but affecting authorities 973,116 586,711
 
Requested authorities $2,878,094 $2,445,625

(b) Authorities requested

(in thousands of dollars)
  Forecast Results
2017-18
Planned Results
2018-19
Authorities requested
Vote 1 – Operating expenditures $1,594,316 $1,518,592
Vote 5 – Capital expenditures 973,116 586,711
Vote 10 – Grants and contributions 157,429 204,445
Statutory amounts 153,233 135,877
Total authorities requested $2,878,094 $2,445,625

6. Comparative information

The Forecast results for 2017-18 are presented by Core Responsibilities in accordance with Fisheries and Oceans Canada's new Departmental Results Framework.

2018-2019 Plan ministériel

État des résultats prospectif (non audité)

pour l'exercice terminé le 31 mars


(en milliers de dollars)
  Résultats projetés
de 2016-17
Résultats prévus
de 2017-18
Charges
Pêches 628 749 $ 698 570 $
Écosystèmes aquatiques 254 396 197 209
Navigation maritime 293 728 304 166
Opérations maritimes et intervention 668 383 653 367
Services internes 465 926 357 946
Total des charges 2 311 182 2 211 258
Revenus
Vente de biens et de services 95 280 87 187
Autres revenus 4 066 3 815
Revenus gagnés pour le compte du gouvernement (51 431) (52 002)
Total des revenus 47 915 39 000
Coût de fonctionnement net avant le financement et les transferts du gouvernement 2 263 267 $ 2 172 258 $

 

Notes à l'état des résultats prospectif (non audité)

1. Responsabilités essentielles du ministère

En 2018-2019, le ministère des Pêches et Océans Canada a remplacé le cadre redditionnel composé des résultats stratégiques et d’une architecture d’alignement des programmes par un Cadre des résultats ministériels composé de responsabilités essentielles et de résultats ministériels (voir la note 6). Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les responsabilités essentielles de Pêches et Océans Canada, consultez la section « Résultats prévus » du Plan ministériel.

 

2. Méthodologie et hypothèses importantes

L'état des résultats prospectif a été établi en fonction des priorités du gouvernement et des plans de Pêches et Océans Canada qui sont décrits dans le plan ministériel.

Les renseignements présentés dans les résultats projetés de l’exercice 2017-18 sont fondés sur les résultats réels en date du 30 septembre 2017 et sur les prévisions pour le reste de l’exercice. Des prévisions ont été réalisées pour les résultats prévus de l’exercice 2018-19.

Les principales hypothèses qui sous-tendent les prévisions sont les suivantes :

  • Les activités de Pêches et Océans Canada resteront, pour l'essentiel, les mêmes que celles de l’exercice précédent.
  • Les charges et les revenus, y compris la détermination des montants de sources internes et externes au gouvernement, sont fondés sur l’expérience acquise. L’évolution générale historique devrait se poursuivre.
  • Les provisions pour créances douteuses sont estimées à la lumière de l’expérience acquise. L’évolution générale historique devrait se poursuivre.

Ces hypothèses sont adoptées en date du 30 septembre 2017.

 

3. Variation et évolution des prévisions financières

Même si tous les efforts ont été déployés pour prévoir les résultats définitifs pour le reste de l’exercice 2017-18 et pour 2018-19, les résultats réels des deux exercices risquent de différer des prévisions financières présentées, et l'écart pourrait être important.

Lors de la préparation du présent état des résultats prospectif, Pêches et Océans Canada a établi des estimations et des hypothèses à l'égard d'événements futurs. Ces estimations et hypothèses pourraient différer des résultats financiers réels subséquents. Elles sont fondées sur l’expérience acquise et d’autres facteurs, notamment les prévisions relativement aux événements futurs qui sont considérées comme raisonnables compte tenu des circonstances, et sont évaluées de façon continue.

Les facteurs qui pourraient donner lieu à des écarts importants entre l'état des résultats prospectif et l'état des résultats historique incluent :

  • le moment et le montant des acquisitions et des aliénations de biens immobiliers, d'installations de production et d'équipements qui peuvent influer sur les gains ou les pertes et les charges d’amortissement;
  • la mise en oeuvre de nouvelles conventions collectives;
  • la conjoncture économique, qui peut avoir une incidence à la fois sur le montant des revenus perçues et sur la possibilité de recouvrer les créances de prêts;
  • les modifications supplémentaires au budget de fonctionnement en raison de nouvelles initiatives ou de rajustements techniques mis en oeuvre plus tard au cours de l’exercice.

Une fois que le plan ministériel est déposé au Parlement, Pêches et Océans Canada ne fera pas de mise à jour des prévisions, quelles que soient les modifications apportées aux ressources financières dans les budgets supplémentaires des dépenses. Les écarts seront expliqués dans le rapport ministériel sur les résultats.

 

4. Sommaire des principales conventions comptables

L’état des résultats prospectif a été préparé conformément aux conventions comptables du gouvernement du Canada en vigueur pour l’exercice financier 2017-2018, et s’appuie sur les normes comptables canadiennes pour le secteur public. La présentation et les résultats qui découlent de l’utilisation des conventions comptables énoncées ne donnent lieu à aucune différence notable par rapport aux normes comptables canadiennes pour le secteur public.

Les principales conventions comptables sont les suivantes :

(a) Charges

Les charges sont comptabilisées selon la méthode de comptabilité d’exercice.

Les charges de fonctionnement de Pêches et Océans Canada sont constatées lorsque les biens sont reçus ou que les services sont rendus, y compris les services fournis gratuitement pour les locaux, les cotisations de l’employeur aux régimes de soins de santé et de soins dentaires, les services juridiques et les indemnités d’accident du travail, qui sont comptabilisés à titre de charges de fonctionnement à leur coût estimatif. Les indemnités de vacances et de congés compensatoires ainsi que les indemnités de cessation d’emploi sont accumulées et comptabilisées au fur et à mesure que les employés en acquièrent le droit en vertu de leurs conditions d’emploi.

Les paiements de transfert sont passés en charges lorsque les bénéficiaires répondent aux critères d’admissibilité et les transferts sont autorisés au plus tard le 31 mars. Dans le cas des transferts qui ne s'inscrivent pas dans le cadre d'un programme existant, les transferts sont considérés être autorisés lorsque le gouvernment annonce une décision de procéder à un transfert non récurrent, en autant que la loi habilitante ou l’autorisation de paiement soit approuvée par le Parlement avant l’achèvement des états financiers.

Les charges incluent également des provisions qui tiennent compte de changements dans la valeur d’actifs. Cela comprend des provisions pour créances douteuses sur les comptes débiteurs, des provisions pour évaluation de prêts, de placements et d’avances, ainsi que la désuétude des stocks ou les passifs, dont les passifs éventuels et les passifs environnementaux, dans la mesure où l’événement futur est susceptible de se produire et où une estimation raisonnable peut être établie.

Les charges incluent également l’amortissement des immobilisations corporelles, lesquelles sont capitalisées à leur coût d’acquisition. Les immobilisations corporelles sont amorties selon la méthode de l’amortissement linéaire sur la durée de vie utile estimative de l’actif.

(b) Revenus

Les revenus provenant de droits réglementaires sont constatés dans les comptes en fonction des services fournis au cours de l’exercice.

Les fonds reçus de tiers de l'extérieur à des fins précises sont comptabilisés à leur réception en tant que revenus reportés. Ils sont constatés dans l'exercice au cours duquel les charges connexes sont engagées.

Les fonds qui ont été reçus sont comptabilisés en tant que revenus reportés, dans la mesure où Pêches et Océans Canada a une obligation envers d'autres parties de fournir des biens, des services, ou des actifs qui seront utilisés à une date ultérieure.

Les autres revenus sont comptabilisés dans l’exercice pendant lequel les opérations ou les événements qui ont généré les revenus surviennent.

Les revenus non disponibles pouvant maintenant être dépensés ne peuvent servir à acquitter les passifs de Pêches et Océans Canada. Bien que l’on s’attende à ce que l'administrateur général maintienne le contrôle comptable, elle n’a pas l'autorité pour disposer des revenus non disponibles pouvant maintenant être dépensés. Par conséquent, les revenus non disponibles pouvant maintenant être dépensés sont considérés comme étant gagnés pour le compte du gouvernement du Canada et sont présentés en réduction du montant brut des revenus de l’entité.

5. Autorisations parlementaires

Pêches et Océans Canada est financé par le gouvernement du Canada au moyen d’autorisations parlementaires. La formule de comptabilisation des autorisations consenties au ministère ne correspond pas à celle des rapports financiers établis selon les principes comptables généralement reconnus, étant donné que les autorisations sont principalement fondées sur les besoins de trésorerie. Les postes comptabilisés dans l'état des résultats prospectif d’un exercice donné peuvent être financés au moyen d'autorisations parlementaires approuvées au cours de l'exercice précédent, de l’exercice en cours ou d’exercices futurs. Par conséquent, le coût de fonctionnement net de Pêches et Océans Canada pour l'exercice diffère suivant qu’il est calculé selon les principes du financement public ou selon la méthode de comptabilité d’exercice. Les différences sont rapprochées dans les tableaux suivants :

(a) Rapprochement du coût de fonctionnement net et des autorisations demandées

(en milliers de dollars)
  Résultats projetés
de 2017-18
Résultats prévus
de 2018-19
Coût de fonctionnement net avant le financement et les transferts du gouvernement 2 263 267 $ 2 172 258 $
Rajustements pour les postes ayant une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais aucune incidence sur les autorisations :
Amortissement des immobilisations corporelles (196 416) (195 478)
Perte nette découlant de l'aliénation des immobilisations corporelles (7 146) (10 469)
Services fournis gratuitement par d’autres ministères (119 375) (119 751)
Diminution (augmentation) des indemnités de vacances et de congés compensatoires (8 515) 1 302
Diminution (augmentation) des passifs environnementaux (2 245) (1 675)
Diminution (augmentation) des passifs éventuels (39 995) 0
Diminution (augmentation) des avantages sociaux futurs 6 278 6 223
Augmentation (diminution) des stocks 2 351 784
Créances douteuses 1 153 (193)
Remboursement de charges des exercices antérieurs 5 022 5 334
Augmentation (diminution) des comptes affectés des amendes supplémentaires pour infractions (108) (108)
Autres 707 687
Total des postes qui ont une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais aucune incidence sur les autorisations (358 289) (313 344)
 
Rajustement pour les postes qui n'ont pas incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais qui ont une incidence sur les autorisations :
Acquisition d’immobilisations corporelles 973 116 586 711
Total des postes qui n'ont pas d'incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais qui ont une incidence sur les autorisations 973 116 586 711
 
Autorisations demandées 2 878 094 $ 2 445 625 $

(b) Autorisations demandées

(en milliers de dollars)
  Résultats projetés
de 2017-18
Résultats prévus
de 2018-19
Autorisations demandées :
Crédit 1 – Dépenses de fonctionnement 1 594 316 $ 1 518 592 $
Crédit 5 – Dépenses en capital 973 116 586 711
Crédit 10 – Subventions et contributions 157 429 204 445
Montants des postes législatifs 153 233 135 877
Autorisations demandées totales 2 878 094 $ 2 445 625 $

6. Renseignements comparatifs

les Résultats projetés de 2017-18 sont présentées par Responsabilité essentielle, conformément au nouveau Cadre des résultats ministériels du ministère.