Aquatic Invasive Species

An aquatic invader is a non-native species, whose introduction will likely cause (or has already caused) damage to the host ecosystem, existing species therein, the economy or human well-being. Invasive species thrive in the absence of their natural predators and have the potential to drastically alter habitat, rendering it inhospitable for native species.

Aquatic invasive species (AIS) have already been responsible for significant devastation of some native fish species and fisheries in Canada. Annually, the problem is responsible for billions of dollars in lost revenue and control measures. Canada, with its huge freshwater resources and extensive coastlines, is especially vulnerable to this threat. Fisheries and Oceans Canada’s environmental science knowledge and resources play an invaluable role in the government’s efforts to address the problem. As an example, the department provided scientific advice on alternate ballast water exchange zones. (Ballast water contained on international ships is a major pathway by which invasive species can enter Canadian waters.) The work done by our scientists facilitated Transport Canada's proposed revisions of the Canada Shipping Act Ballast Water Regulations.

Consultations on the Proposed Aquatic Invasive Species Regulations

Fisheries and Oceans Canada is proposing new federal regulations to manage and control aquatic invasive species in Canada. The proposed Aquatic Invasive Species Regulations were pre-published in the Canada Gazette, Part I, on December 6th, 2014.

Funding and Collaborative Research on Aquatic Invasive Species

Fisheries and Oceans Canada provides funding to universities and organizations, through established funding programs, for new projects on aquatic invasive species. In addition, DFO collaborates with other levels of governments and national and international organizations to ensure a coordinated and effective approach to aquatic invasive species. Together, these efforts complement the work already undertaken by federal scientists to ensure the best science-based advice and decision-making.

The Canadian Action Plan to Address the Threat of Aquatic Invasive Species (PDF 101,69 KB), was approved by the Canadian Council of Fisheries and Aquaculture Ministers (CCFAM), and outlines a national approach for managing AIS.

The Aquatic Invasive Species Identification Booklet contains information on major species that have invaded marine environments in eastern Canada, how to identify them and what you can do to prevent their spread and establishment.

Espèces aquatiques envahissantes

Une espèce aquatique envahissante est une espèce étrangère dont l'introduction causera probablement (ou a déjà causé) des dommages à l'écosystème qu'elle a envahi, aux espèces qui y vivent, à l'économie ou à notre bien-être. Les espèces envahissantes prospèrent en l'absence de leurs prédateurs naturels et peuvent modifier l'habitat jusqu'au point de le rendre inhospitalier pour les espèces indigènes.

Les espèces aquatiques envahissantes ont déjà provoqué une importante dévastation de certaines espèces de poissons indigènes et le déclin de certaines pêches au Canada. Chaque année, ce problème est à l'origine de milliards de dollars de pertes en recettes et en mesures de contrôle. Le Canada, doté de volumineuses ressources en eau douce et d'un immense littoral, est particulièrement vulnérable à cette menace. Les ressources et les connaissances en science de l'environnement de Pêches et Océans Canada jouent un rôle primordial dans l'effort gouvernemental visant à résoudre ce problème. Par exemple, le Ministère a offert des avis scientifiques au sujet des autres zones pour l'échange des eaux de ballast. (Les eaux de ballast transportées par les navires transocéaniques constituent une importante voie d'entrée des espèces envahissantes dans les eaux canadiennes.) Les travaux réalisés par nos scientifiques ont facilité les révisions proposées par Transports Canada au Règlement sur le contrôle et la gestion de l'eau de ballast.

Règlement sur les espèces aquatiques envahissantes

Pêches et Océans Canada a élaboré un nouveau règlement fédéral pour gérer et contrôler les espèces aquatiques envahissantes au Canada. Le Règlement sur les espèces aquatiques envahissantes a été publié dans la Partie II de la Gazette du Canada le 17 juin 2015.

Financement et recherche en collaboration sur les espèces aquatiques envahissantes

Pêches et Océans Canada finance des universités et des organismes, dans le cadre des programmes de financement établis, pour la réalisation de nouveaux projets sur les espèces aquatiques envahissantes. De plus, le Ministère collabore avec d'autres ordres de gouvernement et des organisations nationales et internationales pour assurer une approche coordonnée et efficace à l'égard des espèces aquatiques envahissantes. Ces efforts s'ajoutent aux travaux déjà réalisés par les scientifiques fédéraux pour offrir les meilleurs avis scientifiques et assurer que les meilleures décisions soient prises en fonction de données scientifiques.

Le plan d'action canadien de lutte contre les espèces aquatiques envahissantes ( PDF), approuvé par le Conseil canadien des ministres des pêches et de l'aquaculture, décrit une approche nationale pour la gestion des espèces aquatiques envahissantes.

Le Carnet d'identification des espèces aquatiques envahissantes présente les principales espèces qui ont envahi certains milieux marins de l'Est du Canada, la manière de les identifier et ce que vous pouvez faire pour prévenir leur propagation et leur établissement.