Atlantic Salmon (Gaspé-Southern Gulf of St. Lawrence population - DU12)

Salmo salar

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

The Atlantic salmon has a fusiform body shape that is somewhat compressed laterally and has an average length of about 457 mm. Its back is blue-green, its sides are silvery with several markings that are either round or x-shaped, and its belly is white. During the reproduction period, the Atlantic salmon loses its silver colour and takes on a greenish or reddish hue; a few large, white-edged spots then appear on its sides.

Habitat

Atlantic salmon spawn in fresh water, generally in their native river. Juveniles spend one to eight years in fresh water before migrating to salt water in the North Atlantic. After staying at sea for one to four years, adults return to fresh water to spawn. Salmon rivers are generally clear, cool and well oxygenated, with gravel, cobble and boulder substrates.

Because Atlantic salmon have a high degree of fidelity to their natal rivers and given their adaptation to the stream they frequent (e.g., difference in morphology, life cycle and behaviour), the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) has identified 16 designatables units (DU) of Atlantic Salmon, 11 of which are considered at risk. Atlantic salmon of the Gaspe-Southern Gulf of St. Lawrence population (DU12) reproduce in the tributaries of the river's south shore and of the Gulf of St. Lawrence, more specifically between the Sud-Ouest River in Quebec and the rivers in the northern tip of Cape Breton, Nova Scotia. This population has 78 known salmon rivers.

Threats

The causes of the widespread decline of Atlantic salmon are not well understood. Several major reviews have attempted to identify and prioritize the causes of this situation. The low rate of survival at sea was cited as the primary cause of the decline. The populations are also threatened by climatic changes and environmental changes in the ocean; Aboriginal, recreational and illegal fishing; obstacles in fresh water (e.g. dams); agriculture; urbanization; aquaculture and invasive species. In some cases, the habitat used for freshwater spawning is degraded.

In the Gaspe–Southern Gulf of St. Lawrence population, the number of small (that spent one winter at sea) and large (that spent more than one winter at sea) individuals decreased over the past three generations. This represents a decline of approximately 28% in the total number of mature individuals. This recent decline over the past three generations represents the continuation of a decline that dates back to at least the 1980s. There are still over 100,000 mature individuals but most of them spawn in New Brunswick's Miramichi River. Freshwater habitat quality is cause for concern in some areas, particularly in Prince Edward Island where some remaining populations are maintained by hatchery supplementation. Invasive species and illegally introduced species also constitute a threat that is poorly understood.

Further Information

The Atlantic salmon commercial fishery was closed progressively in Canadian waters from the mid-1980s until the complete closure in 2000. Aboriginal peoples continue to fish in several salmon rivers for food, social and ceremonial purposes. Salmon represents an important cultural tradition to which they attach great value. Lastly, recreational fishing is still authorized. Restrictive management measures are imposed for each river based on abundance estimates. These measures include catch limits, mandatory release of large salmon to the water, and closures of certain watercourses. Salmon habitat is protected under the fish habitat protection provisions of the Fisheries Act.

Visit the Species at Risk (SARA) Public Registry.

Atlantic Salmon (Gaspé-Southern Gulf of St. Lawrence population - DU12)

Atlantic Salmon

Scientific name: Salmo salar
SARA Status: No Status
COSEWIC Status: Special Concern (November 2010)
Region: Quebec and Maritimes

Distribution map

Map of Atlantic salmon designable unit 12 which includes Salmon Fishing Areas 15, 16, 17 and 18 in the Provinces of New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island and Quebec Salmonid Zones Q1, Q2 and Q3).

Distribution range for the Gaspé-southern Gulf of St.Lawrence population of Atlantic Salmon.

Related information

Saumon de l'Atlantique (population de la Gaspésie et du sud du Golfe Saint-Laurent – UD12)

Salmo salar

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

Le saumon de l'Atlantique a un corps fusiforme quelque peu comprimé latéralement, d'une longueur moyenne d'environ 457 mm. Le dos est bleu-vert, les flancs sont argentés avec plusieurs taches rondes ou en forme de « x » et le ventre est blanc. En période de reproduction, le saumon atlantique perd sa couleur argentée et devient plutôt d'une teinte verdâtre ou rougeâtre; quelques grandes taches bordées de blanc sont alors présentes sur ses flancs.

Habitat

Les saumons de l'Atlantique se reproduisent en eau douce, généralement dans la rivière qui les a vus naître. Les jeunes saumons passent d'une à huit années en eau douce avant de migrer vers l'eau salée de l'Atlantique Nord. Après avoir séjourné entre une à quatre années en mer, les saumons, devenus adultes, reviendront en eau douce pour frayer. Les cours d'eau fréquentés sont généralement clairs, frais et bien oxygénés avec un fond de gravier, de galets et de blocs rocheux.

En raison de la grande fidélité du saumon atlantique à sa rivière natale ainsi qu'une adaptation au cours d'eau fréquenté (p. ex. différence dans la morphologie, le cycle vital et le comportement), le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) a divisé le saumon atlantique en 16 unités désignables (UD), dont 11 ont obtenu un statut d'espèce en péril.

Le saumon de l'Atlantique de la population de la Gaspésie-sud du golfe Saint-Laurent se reproduit dans les affluents de la rive sud du fleuve et du golfe Saint-Laurent, plus précisément entre la rivière Sud-Ouest au Québec jusqu'aux rivières à l'extrémité nord du Cap-Breton en Nouvelle-Écosse. Cette population compte 78 rivières à saumon connues.

Menaces

Les causes du déclin généralisé du saumon de l'Atlantique ne sont pas bien comprises. Plusieurs examens importants ont été réalisés pour tenter de cerner et de prioriser les causes de cette situation. Le faible taux de survie en mer a été cité comme la première cause de déclin. Les populations sont aussi menacées par les changements climatiques et les changements environnementaux dans les océans, les pêches autochtones, récréatives, et illégales, les obstacles en eau douce comme les barrages, l'agriculture, l'urbanisation, l'aquaculture et les espèces envahissantes.

Dans certains cas, l'habitat utilisé pour la reproduction en eau douce est dégradé. Pour la population de la Gaspésie-sud du golfe du Saint-Laurent, l'abondance des individus de petite taille (qui n'ont passé qu'un hiver en mer) et des individus de grande taille (qui ont passé plusieurs hivers en mer) a diminué au cours de trois dernières générations. Ceci représente un déclin du nombre total d'individus matures d'environ 28 %. Ce déclin récent au cours de trois générations représente la continuité d'un déclin datant d'au moins des années 1980. Le nombre d'individus matures demeure supérieur à 100 000, mais la plupart d'entre eux frayent dans la rivière Miramichi au Nouveau-Brunswick. La qualité de l'habitat d'eau douce est préoccupante dans certaines régions, en particulier à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard, où certaines populations restantes sont maintenues par alevinage. Les espèces envahissantes et les espèces introduites illégalement constituent également une menace peu comprise.

Renseignements supplémentaires

La pêche commerciale au saumon atlantique a été fermée progressivement dans les eaux canadiennes du milieu des années 1980 jusqu'à la fermeture complète en 2000. Pour leur part, les peuples autochtones pratiquent toujours la pêche dans plusieurs rivières à saumon à des fins alimentaires, sociales et rituelles. De tout temps, cette activité représente une tradition culturelle importante à laquelle les Autochtones accordent une très grande valeur. Enfin, la pêche sportive est toujours autorisée. Des mesures de gestion restrictives sont imposées par rivière en fonction des estimations d'abondance; ces mesures peuvent comprendre, par exemple, des limites de prise, une obligation de remettre à l'eau les grands saumons et une fermeture de certains cours d'eau. L'habitat du saumon est protégé en vertu des dispositions portant sur la protection de l'habitat du poisson de la Loi sur les pêches.

Visitez le Registre public des espèces en péril (LEP).

Saumon de l'Atlantique (population de la Gaspésie et du sud du Golfe Saint-Laurent – UD12)

Saumon atlantique

Nom scientifique : Salmo salar
Statut selon la LEP : Aucun statut
Statut selon le COSEPAC : Préoccupant (novembre 2010)
Région : Québec et Maritimes

carte de distribution

Carte de l'unité désignable 12 qui comprend les zones de pêche du saumon 15, 16, 17 et 18 des provinces du Nouveau-Brunswick, Nouvelle-Écosse et l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard et les zones de pêche du saumon Q1, Q2 et Q3, au Québec.

Aire de répartition de la population de saumon de l’Atlantique de Gaspé-sud du Golfe St-Laurent.

Renseignements connexes