Acadian Redfish (Atlantic population)

Sebastes fasciatus

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

Acadian Redfish range in colour from bright orange to red and have spiny rays. They are characterized by their protruding lower jaw, large eyes, and the bony spines that cover their gills. They reach sexual maturity very late, and abundant generations are only observed every 5 to 12 years. Distinctive characteristics of Redfish are their slow growth and long lifespan; they can live up to 75 years.

Habitat

Acadian Redfish are almost exclusively found within Canadian Atlantic waters. They live primarily along continental slopes and in deep channels, from 150 to 300 metres. There are two Acadian Redfish populations: Atlantic and Bonne Bay. Acadian Redfish from the Atlantic population can be observed as far as Baffin Island.

Acadian Redfish are ovoviviparous, meaning that females keep their fertilized eggs inside their bodies until the larvae have hatched. Larvae prefer surface waters, where they feed on copepods and fish eggs, while adults live in cold, deep waters where they prey upon other fish.

Threats

Fishing and bycatch in other fisheries such as the Northern Shrimp fishery are the main threats to the survival and recovery of this population. It is estimated that the Atlantic population of Acadian Redfish has declined 99% in abundance since the late 1970s, except on the Scotian Shelf where it seems to have remained stable. The commercial Redfish fishery is prohibited in some areas of this population’s distribution, but is allowed in some sectors.

Further Information

The Atlantic population of the Acadian Redfish has been designated as threatened by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada. Public consultations regarding the addition of this population to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk were held from November 1, 2013 to May 31, 2014. The Governor-in-Council's listing recommendation will published in the Canada Gazette Part I (Government of Canada newspaper where laws and regulations are published).

Visit the Species at Risk (SARA) Public Registry.

Commercial fisheries

Research Documents

Acadian Redfish (Atlantic population)

Illustration of a redfish. Illustration: DFO

Illustration: DFO

Scientific name: Sebastes fasciatus
SARA Status: No Status
COSEWIC Status: Threatened (2010)
Regions: Newfoundland and Labrador, Nunavut, Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island

Photo of a school of Redfish. Photo credit: DFO: R. Larocque

Photo credit: DFO: R. Larocque

Acadian Redfish, Atlantic population as described in the following paragraphs.

This map shows the location of the Atlantic population of Acadian Redfish. This population is found along most of Canada’s Atlantic coast, from Baffin Island to the Scotian Shelf, as well as in the Gulf of St. Lawrence.

Did You Know?

Acadian Redfish are ovoviviparous, meaning that females keep their fertilized eggs inside their bodies until the larvae have hatched.

Sébaste d'Acadie (population de l'Atlantique)

Sebastes fasciatus

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

Le sébaste d’Acadie est un poisson de couleur orange à rouge, à rayons épineux, que l’on reconnait à sa mâchoire inférieure protubérante, ses gros yeux et les épines osseuses qui recouvrent ses branchies. Il devient sexuellement mature très tard et les générations abondantes ne s’observent qu’à tous les 5 à 12 ans. Les sébastes se distinguent des autres poissons par leur croissante lente et leur longévité : ils peuvent vivre jusqu’à 75 ans.

Habitat

Le sébaste d’Acadie se retrouve presque exclusivement dans les eaux canadiennes de l’Atlantique. Il vit principalement le long des talus continentaux et dans les chenaux profonds, de 150 à 300 mètres. Il existe deux populations de sébaste d’Acadie : de l’Atlantique et de la baie Bonne. Le sébaste d’Acadie de la population de l’Atlantique peut être observé jusqu’au large de l’île de Baffin.

Le sébaste d’Acadie est ovovivipare, c’est-à-dire que la femelle garde ses œufs fécondés en elle, jusqu’à ce que les larves soient écloses. Les larves préfèrent les eaux de surface où elles mangent des œufs de poissons ou des copépodes. Les adultes vivent dans les eaux froides et profondes où ils se nourrissent de poissons.

Menaces

La pêche dirigée et les prises accidentelles telles que dans la pêche à la crevette nordique sont les principales menaces à la survie et au rétablissement de cette population. On estime que l’abondance du sébaste d’Acadie de la population de l’Atlantique a connu un déclin de 99% depuis la fin des années 1970, sauf sur le plateau néo-écossais où elle semble être restée stable. La pêche commerciale au sébaste est interdite dans certaines portions de l’aire de répartition de cette population, mais elle demeure permise dans d’autres secteurs.

Renseignements supplémentaires

La population de l'Atlantique du sébaste d'Acadie a été désignée comme étant menacée par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada. Des consultations sur l'ajout de cette population à la Liste des espèces en péril ont eu lieu du 1er novembre 2013 au 31 mai 2014. La recommandation d'inscription du gouverneur en conseil sera publiée dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie 1 (journal du gouvernement du Canada où sont publiés les lois et règlements).

Visitez le Registre public des espèces en péril (LEP).

Pêches commerciales

Documents de recherche

Sébaste d’Acadie (population de l’Atlantique)

Illustration d’un sébaste. Illustration : MPO

Illustration : MPO

Nom scientifique : Sebastes fasciatus
Statut selon la LEP : Aucun statut
Statut selon le COSEPAC : menacé (2010)
Régions : Île-du-Prince-Édouard, Nouveau-Brunswick, Nouvelle-Écosse, Nunavut, Québec, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Photo d’un banc de sébastes. Crédit photo : MPO : R. Larocque

Crédit photo : MPO : R. Larocque

Sébaste d’Acadie, population de l’Atlantique telle que décrite dans les paragraphes suivants.

Cette carte présente la localisation de la population de l’Atlantique du sébaste d’Acadie. Cette population se trouve sur la presque totalité de la côte atlantique canadienne, de l’île de Baffin jusqu’au plateau néo-écossais, ainsi que dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent.

Le saviez-vous?

Le sébaste d’Acadie est ovovivipare, c’est-à-dire que la femelle garde ses œufs fécondés en elle, jusqu’à ce que les larves soient écloses.