American Plaice (Newfoundland and Labrador Population)

Hippoglossoides platessoides

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

American Plaice

American Plaice

American Plaice is a flat fish with a rounded tail fin. When a young plaice hatches, it has a normal fish shape. As it develops and settles to the bottom of the ocean, one side of its body becomes flat and its left eye migrates to the right side. This flattened body allows the plaice to lie flat on the ocean floor and swim on its side. The underside of the fish is white and the upper side (which now has both eyes) is coloured reddish-brown so that the plaice can camouflage itself in the sediment. The mouth is large, and the jawbone extends below the mouth. A relatively slow-growing fish, adult plaice can grow upwards of 60 cm in length.

Habitat

The Newfoundland and Labrador population of American Plaice occurs in the waters immediately south of Hudson Strait southeast to the Grand Banks (east of Newfoundland), and west to Cape Ray (southwestern tip of Newfoundland) (Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Organization Areas 2GHJ3K, 3LNO, and 3Ps3Pn).

American Plaice eggs and larvae drift in the open water for the first few weeks of life. As they grow, plaice settle to the ocean floor. Both juveniles and adults prefer areas with sediment suitable for burrowing. Burrowing allows plaice to hide from predators and ambush prey, making sediment type a significant factor in habitat selection. American Plaice are typically found at depths ranging from 100 to 300 metres, and preferred water temperatures are between -0.5ºC and 2.5ºC in the Newfoundland and Labrador area.

Threats

According to the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC), the primary factor thought to be responsible for the decline of American Plaice stocks is overfishing, although increased natural mortality due to unusually cold water conditions may also have played a role. COSEWIC indicates that by-catch in fisheries directing for other species is also a threat.

Further Information

Text Sources: COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the American Plaice, Hippoglossoides platessoides, in Canada (2009).

Visit the Species at Risk (SARA) Public Registry.

American Plaice (Newfoundland and Labrador Population)

American Plaice

Scientific name: Hippoglossoides platessoides
SARA Status: No Status
COSEWIC Status: Threatened 2009
Region: Newfoundland and Labrador

American plaice cod distribution for the Newfoundland population

A map depicting the range of the Newfoundland and Labrador Designatable Unit of American Plaice.

Did You Know?

The number of eggs produced by an individual female plaice depends on body size. A 30 cm female can produce as many as 400,000 eggs, while a 60 cm female can produce more than one million eggs.

Related Information

Plie canadienne (population de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador)

Hippoglossoides platessoides

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

Plie canadienne

Plie canadienne.

La plie canadienne est un poisson plat doté d'une nageoire caudale arrondie. Au moment de son éclosion, le fretin a la forme d'un poisson normal. À mesure qu'elle grandit, la plie s'installe sur le fond marin, le côté gauche de son corps devient plat et son œil gauche migre vers le côté droit de son corps. Ce corps aplati permet à la plie de reposer à plat sur le fond de l'océan et de nager sur le côté. Le côté inférieur du poisson est blanc et son côté supérieur (qui porte maintenant les deux yeux) est de couleur brun rouge de façon à ce que la plie puisse se camoufler dans les sédiments. La bouche est grande et l'os de la mâchoire s'étend en dessous de la bouche. La plie canadienne est un poisson dont la croissance est relativement lente, la plie adulte pouvant atteindre une longueur de 60 cm.

Habitat

On trouve la population de plie canadienne de la région de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador dans les eaux immédiatement au sud du détroit d'Hudson au sud-est des Grands Bancs (à l'est de Terre-Neuve) et à l'ouest du cap Ray (extrémité sud-ouest de Terre-Neuve) (dans les divisions 2GHJ3K, 3LNO et 3Ps3Pn de l'Organisation des pêches de l'Atlantique Nord-Ouest).

Durant les premières semaines de leur vie, les œufs et les larves dérivent vers les eaux libres. Pendant leur croissance, les plies s'installent sur le fond de l'océan. Les juvéniles et les adultes préfèrent les zones avec des sédiments dans lesquels ils peuvent s'enfouir. L'enfouissement permet aux plies de se cacher des prédateurs et de tendre des embuscades à leurs proies, faisant du type de sédiment un facteur important de la sélection de l'habitat. On trouve généralement la plie canadienne à des profondeurs allant de 100 à 300 mètres, et elle préfère des températures de l'eau entre -0,5 ºC et 2,5 ºC dans la région de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador.

Menaces

Selon le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC), le facteur principal de la diminution des stocks de plies canadiennes serait la surpêche, bien que l'augmentation de la mortalité naturelle en raison de conditions des eaux exceptionnellement froides ait pu également jouer un rôle. Le COSEPAC indique que les prises accessoires réalisées durant des pêches visant d'autres espèces représentent également une menace.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Sources : Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la plie canadienne, Hippoglossoides platessoides, au Canada (2009).

Visitez le Registre public des espèces en péril (LEP).

Plie canadienne (population de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador)

Plie canadienne

Nom scientifique : Hippoglossoides platessoides
Statut selon la LEP : Aucun statut
Statut selon le COSEPAC : Espèce menacée (2009)
Région : Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

aire de répartition de l'unité désignable de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador de la plie canadienne

Carte montrant l'aire de répartition de l'unité désignable de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador de la plie canadienne.

Le saviez-vous?

Le nombre d'œufs pondus par une plie femelle dépend de sa taille. Une femelle de 30 cm peut pondre jusqu'à 400 000 œufs, tandis qu'une femelle de 60 cm peut pondre plus d'un million d'œufs.

Information connexe