Atlantic Sturgeon (St. Lawrence populations)

Acipenser oxyrinchus

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
Atlantic Sturgeon

Photo: Exploramer

Description

The Atlantic Sturgeon is a large-bodied, slow-growing and late-maturing anadromous fish, which lives and grows in brackish, salty water, but spawns in fresh water. The largest fish to be captured in the St. Lawrence River (160 kg or 350 lb) was estimated to be about 60 years old.

Habitat

According to the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada, Atlantic Sturgeon found in Canadian waters form two distinct populations: the St. Lawrence and Maritimes populations. The Atlantic Sturgeon, St. Lawrence populations, is mainly found east of Trois-Rivières, into the Estuary and past the Gulf of St. Lawrence, into the Atlantic up until Ungava Bay in the north, and along the northeastern coast of Newfoundland in the south. The species gathers in areas between Québec City and Petite-Rivière-Saint-François to rear and feed its young, and potentially so adults can spawn, rest and feed as well. The Atlantic sturgeon feeds primarily on benthic invertebrates, although large juveniles and adults also feed on small fish.

Threats

The main threats to the Atlantic Sturgeon are commercial fishing and the degradation and loss of habitat. Dredging could constitute a major threat, especially in juvenile feeding areas. Marine and fresh water pollution was also identified as a potential threat to the Atlantic Sturgeon's habitat.

Further Information

The Atlantic Sturgeon, St. Lawrence populations, has been designated threatened by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada. Public consultations regarding the addition of this population to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk were held from November 17, 2014 to February 27, 2015. The Governor-in-Council's listing recommendation will published in the Canada Gazette Part I (Government of Canada newspaper where laws and regulations are published) and on the Species at Risk Public Registry.

Atlantic Sturgeon (St. Lawrence populations)

Illustration of an Atlantic Sturgeon

Illustration: DFO, D. Peddle

Scientific name: Acipenser oxyrinchus
SARA Status: No Status
COSEWIC Status: Threatened (2011)
Region: Quebec, New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador

Atlantic Sturgeon, St. Lawrence populations distribution

Atlantic Sturgeon, St. Lawrence populations distribution. Map adapted from the COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the Atlantic Sturgeon (Acipenser oxyrinchus) in Canada.

This map shows the distribution of the Atlantic Sturgeon, St. Lawrence populations, targeted for the consultation. It uses Mercator projection. This map was adapted from the COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the Atlantic Sturgeon Acipenser oxyrinchus in Canada, published in 2011. The St. Lawrence Atlantic Sturgeon population is present in the St. Lawrence River, from Trois-Rivières upstream to the Gulf of St. Lawrence. Outside the Gulf, the distribution extends northward along the Atlantic coast of Labrador to South Aulatsivik Island. The southern border of the distribution in the Atlantic is at Springdale, Newfoundland. In the Gulf of St. Lawrence, the southern border of the distribution forms a straight line between Baie-des-Chaleurs to the west and a point on the coast of Newfoundland around Corner Brook to the east.

Did You Know?

The Atlantic Sturgeon is the largest fresh water fish of the east coast of North America. Biologically, there is great scientific interest in its origin, which dates back at least 200 million years.

Related information

Esturgeon noir (populations du Saint-Laurent)

Acipenser oxyrinchus

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Esturgeon noir

Photo: Exploramer

Description

L'esturgeon noir est un poisson anadrome de grande taille, à croissance lente et à maturité tardive, qui vit et se développe en eau saumâtre et salée, mais qui se reproduit en eau douce. On estime que le plus gros poisson (160 kg ou 350 lb) capturé dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent avait environ 60 ans.

Habitat

Selon le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada, l'esturgeon noir qui vit en eaux canadiennes forme deux unités distinctes : l'esturgeon noir des Maritimes et celui du Saint-Laurent.  L'esturgeon noir du Saint-Laurent se répartit principalement à l'est de Trois-Rivières jusque dans l'estuaire et au-delà du golfe du Saint-Laurent. Dans l'Atlantique, on le trouve jusque dans la baie d'Ungava au nord, et au sud, le long de la côte nord-est de Terre-Neuve. Entre Québec et Petite-Rivière-Saint-François, il existe des aires où l'espèce se concentre, pour l'élevage et l'alimentation des juvéniles et potentiellement pour la reproduction, le repos et l'alimentation des adultes. L'esturgeon noir se nourrit principalement d'invertébrés benthiques, bien que les juvéniles de grande taille et les adultes s'alimentent aussi de petits poissons.

Menaces

Les principales menaces qui affectent l'esturgeon noir sont la pêche commerciale et la dégradation et la perte d'habitats. Le dragage constituerait une menace importante, principalement dans l'aire d'alimentation des juvéniles. La pollution en milieu marin et en eau douce a aussi été identifiée comme étant une menace potentielle à l'habitat de l'esturgeon noir.

Renseignements supplémentaires

La population d'esturgeon noir du Saint-Laurent a été désignée comme étant menacée par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada. Des consultations sur l'ajout de cette population à la Liste des espèces en péril ont eu lieu du 17 novembre 2014 au 27 février 2015. La recommandation d'inscription du gouverneur en conseil sera publiée dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie 1 (journal du gouvernement du Canada où sont publiés les lois et règlements) et sur le Registre public des espèces en péril.

Esturgeon noir (populations du Saint-Laurent)

Illustration d’un esturgeon noir

Illustration : MPO, D. Peddle

Nom scientifique : Acipenser oxyrinchus
Statut selon la LEP : Aucun statut
Statut selon le COSEPAC : menacé (2011)
Région : Québec, Nouveau-Brunswick, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Aire de répartition de la population d'esturgeon noir du Saint-Laurent

Aire de répartition de la population d'esturgeon noir du Saint-Laurent. Carte adaptée de l'Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur l'esturgeon noir (Acipenser oxyrinchus) au Canada.

Cette carte présente la répartition de l’esturgeon noir (population du Saint-Laurent) ciblé pour la consultation. Elle utilise une projection Mercator. Il s’agit d’une carte adaptée de l’Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur l'esturgeon noir (Acipenser oxyrinchus) au Canada publié en 2011. La population d’esturgeon noir du Saint-Laurent est présente dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent, de la région de Trois-Rivières en amont, jusque dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent. Hors du golfe, la répartition s’étend vers le nord, le long de la côte Atlantique du Labrador, jusqu’à l’île de South Aulatsivik. La limite sud de la répartition dans l’Atlantique se trouve à la hauteur de Springdale sur l’île de Terre-Neuve. Dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent, la frontière sud de la répartition forme une ligne droite, entre la Baie-des-Chaleurs à l’ouest et un point de la côte de Terre-Neuve à la hauteur de Corner-Brook à l’est.

Le saviez-vous?

L'esturgeon noir est le plus gros poisson d'eau douce de la côte est de l'Amérique du Nord. Sur le plan biologique, il est d'un grand intérêt scientifique par son origine, qui remonte à au moins 200 millions d'années.

Renseignements connexes