Beluga Whale (Cumberland Sound Population)

Delphinapterus leucas

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

The Beluga whale (Delphinapterus leucas) is a white and toothed whale that belongs to the family Monodontidae. Its name comes from the Russian word for white, ‘belukha’, and it is also known as white whale, béluga (French), qilalugaq (Inuktitut, Inuvialuktan and Inuinactun dialects) and siqsuaq (Inupiat dialect). This whale’s light colouring makes it easy to spot in calm waters, as well as by the following distinguishing features:

  • prominent and rounded forehead;
  • medium size, ranging in length from 2.6–4.5 m and weighing up to 1,900 kg;
  • dark grey colouring as newborns, sometimes with mottling, and lightening to pure-white by adulthood;
  • thick skinned and lacking a dorsal fin (the unpaired back fin); and
  • known for being very vocal animals, making a cacophony of sounds to communicate that range from high-pitched whistles to low, repeated grunts.

Habitat

Belugas are circumpolar in their distribution, being found in Alaskan, Canadian, Greenlandic, Norwegian and Russian waters. A total of 22 possible beluga populations have been identified, seven of which use Canadian waters for all or part of the year. The Cumberland Sound population spends its whole lifecycle in Cumberland Sound, an Arctic waterway in Nunavut. From mid- July to mid-September, the population gathers near or in the Clearwater Fiord area at the northern head of the sound and spends the rest of the year in the main waters of Cumberland Sound. Large commercial catches and Inuit harvesting between the 1920s and 60s reduced this population of belugas substantially. Recent estimates suggest there are less than 1,000 belugas in Cumberland Sound today.

Beluga whales typically live in cold, Arctic and sub-Arctic waters, but their habitat use varies with the season and progression of ice breakup and freeze. As the ice begins to break up in late spring, they move in large groups, or pods, along ice edges and leads (large fractures in the sea ice) towards their summer habitat of coastlines, shallow waters and specific river estuaries. In late summer and early fall, they leave the estuarine areas for deeper waters, possibly to feed intensively. From there, the pods migrate to offshore winter areas, sometimes over long distances, where they survive the winter in ice leads and other open areas of sea ice. Beluga whales reach sexual maturity around 10 years of age in females and between 12 and 16 years in males. Like most toothed whales, belugas have a slow reproductive rate: one calf is born every three years to each adult female. Mating occurs in late winter or early spring and gestation lasts 14.5 months. Calves will nurse for up to two years. Belugas are known to live between 15 and 30 years, with some individuals living to 40 years or more.

Beluga Whales are a top-level ocean predator, feeding on more than 50 different small fish and crustacean species. In Cumberland Sound, they feed mostly on Arctic Cod (Boreogadus saida) and Greenland Halibut (also known as Turbot, Reinhardtius hippoglossoides). They also eat Arctic Char (Salvelinus alpinus), shrimp, squid, molluscs and marine worms.

© Shutterstock

© Shutterstock

Photo of a Beluga Whale (Delphinapterus leucas)

© W. Klenner

Threats

Belugas rely on echolocation, using the sounds they make to navigate, communicate, locate breathing holes and hunt in dark and murky waters. Masking of these important sounds by noise and disturbance from increasing amounts of vessel traffic in Cumberland Sound is the most serious threat facing this population today. Other possible threats include environmental changes brought on by global warming and pollution, predation by killer whales (Orcinus orca) and polar bears (Ursus maritimus) and commercial fisheries in Cumberland Sound that may compete with belugas for prey, or entangle them in fishing nets.

Further Information

Visit the Species at Risk (SARA) Public Registry.

Beluga Whale (Cumberland Sound Population)

Beluga Whale (Delphinapterus leucas)

Illustration by © Gerald Kuehl

Scientific name: Delphinapterus leucas
SARA Status: Threatened
COSEWIC Status: Threatened
Region: Nunavut

Beluga Whale Distribution

Map showing the distribution of the Beluga Whale, Cumberland Sound population in Canada. The map indicates areas of summer and winter distribution in Arctic waters.

Did You Know?

Beluga whales are in the same family as the narwhal (Monodon monoceros). Both of these whales lack dorsal fins, a likely adaptation to life in ice-filled Arctic waters.

Related information

Béluga (population de la baie Cumberland)

Delphinapterus leucas

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

Le béluga (Delphinapterus leucas) est une baleine à dent à la peau blanche qui appartient à la famille des monodontidés. Elle tire son nom du mot russe « beloukha », qui signifie blanc. Elle est aussi connue sous le nom de baleine blanche, de « qilalugaq » dans les dialectes Inuktitut, Inuvialuktan et Inuinactun et de « siqsuaq » dans le dialecte Inupiat. Le béluga a une robe pâle, ce qui le rend facile à repérer dans les eaux calmes. Il présente aussi les caractéristiques distinctives suivantes :

  • il a une tête proéminente et arrondie;
  • il affiche une taille moyenne, mesurant entre 2,6 et 4,5 m de longueur et pesant jusqu'à 1 900 kg;
  • les nouveau-nés sont gris foncé, parfois avec des marbrures, et ils pâlissent en vieillissant;
  • il a une peau épaisse et est dépourvu de nageoire dorsale;
  • il est reconnu pour émettre beaucoup de sons pour communiquer, une véritable cacophonie qui varie de sifflements aigus à des grognements bas et répétitifs.

Habitat

Le béluga a une répartition circumpolaire et est présent dans les eaux de l'Alaska, du Canada, du Groenland, de la Norvège et de la Russie. On a identifié un total de 22 populations possibles de béluga, dont sept qui vivent dans les eaux canadiennes toute l'année ou une partie de l'année. La population de la baie Cumberland passe toute sa vie dans cette baie, une voie navigable arctique au Nunavut. De la mi-juillet à la mi-septembre, la population se rassemble dans la zone du fjord Clearwater à l'extrémité nord de la baie, et elle passe le reste de l'année dans les eaux principales de la baie Cumberland. Les importantes prises commerciales et pêches inuites exercées entre les années 1920 et 1960 ont considérablement réduit cette population de bélugas. Les estimations récentes indiquent que, de nos jours, il resterait moins de 1 000 bélugas dans la baie Cumberland.

Les bélugas vivent généralement dans les froides eaux arctiques et subarctiques, mais leur utilisation de l'habitat varie selon la saison et la progression des glaces (débâcle et englacement). Lorsque la débâcle commence au début du printemps, les bélugas se déplacent en gros groupes, ou « clans », le long des lisières de glace et des fractures larges dans la couche de glace vers leur habitat estival des eaux côtières peu profondes et de certains estuaires. Vers la fin de l'été et le début de l'automne, ils quittent les zones estuariennes et se dirigent vers les eaux plus profondes pour s'alimenter de manière intensive, si possible. De là, les clans migrent vers les zones d'hivernage au large, parfois sur de longues distances. Ils passent l'hiver dans les fractures larges de la couverture de glace et dans d'autres zones libres de glace. Les bélugas femelles atteignent la maturité sexuelle vers 10 ans, et les mâles l'atteignent entre 12 et 16 ans. Comme la plupart des autres baleines à dents, les bélugas ont un faible taux de reproduction : la femelle adulte donne naissance à un petit tous les trois ans. L'accouplement a lieu vers la fin de l'hiver ou au début du printemps, et la gestation dure 14,5 mois. La femelle allaite son petit pendant environ deux ans. Les bélugas sont reconnus pour vivre entre 15 et 30 ans, certains individus pouvant vivre plus de 40 ans.

Les bélugas sont des prédateurs au sommet de la chaîne alimentaire; ils se nourrissent de plus de 50 espèces différentes de petits poissons et de crustacés. Dans la baie Cumberland, ils consomment surtout des morues arctiques (Boreogadus saida) et des flétans du Groenland (Reinhardtius hippoglossoides) (aussi appelés flétans noirs). Ils se nourrissent également d'ombles chevaliers (Salvelinus alpinus), de crevettes, de calmars, de mollusques et de vers marins.

© Shutterstock

© Shutterstock

Photo of a Beluga Whale (Delphinapterus leucas)

© W. Klenner

Menaces

Les bélugas utilisent l'écholocalisation : ils se servent des sons qu'ils produisent pour naviguer, communiquer, localiser les trous d'air et chasser dans les eaux sombres et troubles. Dans la baie Cumberland, la perturbation et les bruits croissants attribuables au transport maritime peuvent brouiller ces sons; cela constitue actuellement la principale menace pour cette population. Les autres menaces comprennent les changements environnementaux découlant du réchauffement de la planète et de la pollution, de la prédation par les épaulards (Orcinus orca) et les ours polaires (Ursus maritimus), ainsi que des pêches commerciales pratiquées dans la baie Cumberland et susceptibles d'entrer en concurrence avec les bélugas pour les proies ou, encore, de causer des enchevêtrements dans les filets de pêche.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Visitez le Registre public des espèces en péril (LEP).

Béluga (population de la baie Cumberland)

Béluga (Delphinapterus leucas)

Illustration par © Gerald Kuehl

Nom scientifique : Delphinapterus leucas
Statut selon la LEP : Menacée
Statut selon le COSEPAC : Menacée
Région : Nunavut

Carte montrant la répartition du béluga (Population de la baie Cumberland)

La carte montrant la répartition de béluga, la population de la baie Cumberland.  La carte indique l’aire de répartition en été et en hiver dans les eaux arctiques.

Le saviez-vous?

Le béluga fait partie de la même famille que celle du narval (Monodon monoceros). Tous deux n’ont pas de nageoire dorsale, ce qui permet probablement leur adaptation aux eaux glaciales de l’Arctique.

Renseignements connexes