Beluga Whale (Western Hudson Bay Population)

Delphinapterus leucas

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

This population of beluga has been identified as Special Concern by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC). It is currently being considered for listing under the federal Species at Risk Act (SARA). Protection is afforded through the federal Fisheries Act. If listed under the SARA, it will be afforded additional protection. Under the SARA, a management plan must be developed for this population.

General Description

The Beluga Whale (Delphinapterus leucas) is a toothed whale and belongs to the family Monodontidae. It derives its name from the Russian belukha, which means white. This whale is also known as white whale in English, qilalugaq in the Inuktitut, Inuvialuktan and Inuinactun dialects, and siqsuaq in the Inupiat dialect. Belugas have the following characteristics and distinguishing features:

  • Adults range in total length from 2.6 to 4.5 m and weigh up to 1,900 kg;
  • Adult females are about 80% the length of males; newborn calves are about 48% the length of their mothers;
  • Adults are pure white in colour; newborns are born a dark grey, sometimes with mottling, and lighten as they mature; and
  • Belugas lack a dorsal fin, possibly an adaptation to ice-filled waters of the Arctic.

Distribution

Beluga Whales have a circumpolar distribution, and are found in the Arctic as far as 82°N latitude, in the Pacific sub-Arctic south to 60°N (Alaska), and in the St. Lawrence Estuary as far south as 47°N latitude. A total of 22 possible populations have recently been recognized, seven of which are present in Canadian waters during at least part of the year. The Western Hudson Bay population aggregates in the Churchill, Nelson and Seal river estuaries on the southwest coast of Hudson Bay starting around mid-June. They begin a migration to Hudson Strait in late summer or early fall, which they reach in late fall and winter. Most return to western Hudson Bay in spring or early summer when ice conditions allow. It appears that some enter Frobisher Bay during the summer instead of migrating back into Hudson Bay.

Habitat and Life History

The Beluga Whale uses different habitats depending on the season and progression of ice breakup and freeze. Typically, in the late spring, they congregate along ice edges, penetrate leads, and may appear in river estuaries. During the summer, they are found along the coastline and in shallow waters. They also frequent specific river estuaries, which may serve as feeding or moulting sites and shelter from predators. In late summer or early fall, they leave the estuarine areas for deeper waters, possibly to feed intensively. From there, they migrate to offshore winter areas, sometimes over long distances. In late winter to early spring, mating occurs. Very little is known about the breeding behaviour of the Beluga Whale. Females become sexually mature between four and seven years of age, males between six and seven years. Gestation takes about 13 to 14.5 months. The lactation period is estimated to be 20 to 32 months. For this population of beluga, the average lifespan is 15 years, with some individuals reaching 40 to 50 years.

Diet

Beluga Whales feed on crustaceans and small fish. In Hudson Bay, they eat shrimp, Capelin (Mallotus villosus), Sand Lance (Ammodytes americanus). Belugas also eat Arctic Charr (Salvelinus alpinus), Arctic Cod (Boreogadus saida), Turbot (Reinhardtius hippogiossoides), salmon, squid, molluscs and marine worms.

Threats

Beluga Whales are vulnerable to predation by Polar Bears (Ursus maritimus) and Killer Whales (Orcinus orca). Their propensity to return to the same estuaries year after year makes them vulnerable to human hunting, although hunting in Manitoba estuaries is minimal.

© Shutterstock

© Shutterstock

Photo of a Beluga Whale (Delphinapterus leucas)

© W. Klenner

Similar Species

There are no similar species.

Text Sources: Richard 2001; COSEWIC Status Report 2004.

For more information, visit the Species at Risk (SARA) Public Registry.

Beluga Whale (Western Hudson Bay Population)

Illustration of a Beluga Whale (Delphinapterus leucas)

Delphinapterus leucas - Illustration by G. Kuehl

Scientific name: Delphinapterus leucas
SARA Status: No Status
COSEWIC Status: Special Concern (May 2004)
Region: Arctic

Beluga Whale Distribution: Western Hudson Bay Population as described in the following paragraph

Beluga Whale Distribution: Western Hudson Bay Population

Did You Know?

Deep Diving
In order to feed successfully, belugas spend a significant amount of time underwater. The belugas are capable of frequent dives to depths of between 400 and 800 metres. The deepest dive recorded for a beluga was in excess of 1,000 metres. Like other marine mammals, belugas have specific adaptations for diving: twice as much blood in their systems as land animals of similar size, and blood cells that contain 10 times as much oxygen. Other adaptations include a lower sensitivity to carbon dioxide build-up and a greater ability for muscles to function with depleted oxygen levels.

Related Information

Béluga (population de l’ouest de la baie d’Hudson)

Delphinapterus leucas

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Cette population de bélugas a été désignée comme une espèce préoccupante par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC). Elle est présentement évaluée aux fins de son inscription sur la liste des espèces en péril de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) du gouvernement fédéral. Une protection est accordée par le biais de la Loi sur les pêches du gouvernement fédéral. Si l’espèce est inscrite en vertu de la LEP, elle bénéficiera d’une protection supplémentaire. En vertu de la LEP, un plan de gestion doit être élaboré pour cette population.

Description générale

Le béluga (Delphinapterus leucas) est une baleine à dents membre de la famille des monodontidés. Elle tire son nom du mot russe, belukha, qui signifie blanc. Cette baleine est également connue sous le nom de baleine blanche, de qilalugaq dans les dialectes Inuktitut, Inuvialuktan et Inuinactun et de siqsuaq dans le dialecte Inupiat. Les bélugas présentent les caractéristiques et les traits distinctifs suivants :

  • Les adultes peuvent atteindre une longueur totale variant entre 2.6 et 4.5 m et peuvent peser jusqu’à 1,900 kg;
  • La longueur des femelles adultes est d’environ 80% celle des mâles, tandis que la longueur des nouveau-nés est d’environ 48% celle de leur mere;
  • Les adultes ont une couleur blanc pur; les nouveau-nés sont gris foncé, parfois avec des marbrures, et ils pâlissent en vieillissant; et
  • Les bélugas n’ont pas de nageoire dorsale, ce qui est possiblement une adaptation aux eaux glaciales de l’Arctique.

Répartition

Le béluga a une aire de répartition circumpolaire. Un total de 22 populations possibles ont été désignées récemment, sept d’entre elles étant présentes dans les eaux canadiennes au moins une partie de l’année. La population de l’ouest de la baie d’Hudson se regroupe dans les estuaires des rivières Churchill, Nelson et Seal sur la côte sud-ouest de la baie d’Hudson, à compter de la mi-juin environ. Les bélugas entament une migration vers le détroit d’Hudson à la fin de l’été ou au début de l’automne, qu’ils atteignent à la fin de l’automne ou à l’hiver. La plupart retournent dans l’ouest de la baie d’Hudson au printemps ou au début de l’été lorsque les conditions de glace le permettent. Il semble bien que certains exemplaires pénètrent la baie Frobisher durant l’été au lieu de retourner dans la baie d’Hudson.

Habitat et cycle biologique

Le béluga fréquente différents habitats selon la saison et la progression de la débâcle et de l’englacement. Les bélugas se rassemblent habituellement à la fin du printemps le long des lisières de glaces, ils pénètrent les passages et peuvent se retrouver dans les estuaires des rivières. Durant l’été, on les retrouve sur la côte et dans les eaux peu profondes. Ils fréquentent également des estuaires de rivières particuliers, qui peuvent servir d’aires de mue ou d’abris contre les prédateurs. À la fin de l’été ou au début de l’automne, ils quittent les zones estuariennes pour des eaux plus profondes, possiblement pour se nourrir en abondance. Ils migrent ensuite vers les aires d’hivernage au large, parfois sur de longues distances. L’accouplement a lieu à la fin de l’hiver ou au début du printemps. Les femelles atteignent la maturité sexuelle entre quatre et sept ans, les mâles entre six et sept ans. La gestation dure environ de 13 à 14.5 mois, la période de lactation entre 20 et 32 mois. Pour cette population de bélugas, l’espérance de vie est de 15 ans, certains exemplaires atteignant 40 ou 50 ans.

Régime alimentaire

Dans la baie d’Hudson, le béluga se nourrit de capelans (Mallotus villosus), de lançons (Ammodytes americanus) et de crevettes. Son régime comprend aussi l’omble chevalier (Salvelinus alpinus), la morue polaire (Boreogadus saida), le flétan noir (Reinhardtius hippogiossoides), le saumon, les calmars et les mollusques.

Menaces

Le béluga est vulnérable à la prédation par les ours polaires (Ursus maritimus) et les orques (Orcinus orca). Sa propension à retourner aux mêmes estuaires d’une année à l’autre le rend vulnérable à la chasse par l’être humain, bien que la chasse dans les estuaires du Manitoba soit minimale.

© Shutterstock

© Shutterstock

Photo of a Beluga Whale (Delphinapterus leucas)

Crédit photo : J. Klenner, MPO

Espèces similaires

Il n’y a pas d’espèces semblables.

Sources du texte : Richard 2001; Rapport de situation du COSEPAC 2004.

Pour un complément d’information, consultez le Registre public des espèces en péril (LEP).

Béluga (population de l’ouest de la baie d’Hudson)

Illustration d'un Béluga (Delphinapterus leucas)

Delphinapterus leucas - Illustration par G. Kuehl

Nom scientifique : Delphinapterus leucas
Statut selon la LEP: Aucun statut
Statut selon COSEPAC: Préoccupante (mai 2004)
Région : Arctique

Répartition du béluga telle que décrite dans le paragraphe suivant

Répartition du béluga (Population de l’ouest de la baie d’Hudson)

Le saviez vous?

Plonger profondément
Pour pouvoir bien se nourrir, les bélugas passent beaucoup de temps sous l’eau. Les bélugas sont capables de plonger fréquemment à des profondeurs variant entre 400 et 800 mètres. Le plongeon le plus profond enregistré pour un béluga a dépassé les 1 000 mètres. Comme tout mammifère marin, les bélugas ont dû développer un mécanisme spécifique pour la plongée en eaux profondes : leur système compte deux fois plus de sang qu’un animal terrestre de même taille et leurs cellules sanguines contiennent 10 fois plus d’oxygène. Entre autres adaptations, on compte une faible sensibilité au dioxyde de carbone et une plus grande habileté de leurs muscles à fonctionner à des niveaux d’oxygène peu élevés.

Information connexe