Bigmouth Buffalo (Saskatchewan – Nelson River)

Ictiobus cyprinellus

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

The Bigmouth Buffalo (Ictiobus cyprinellus) is a member of the sucker family Catostomidae. It is 1 of 18 sucker species found in Canada. It has the following characteristics:

  • Body is large, deep and laterally compressed;
  • Caudal peduncle is very short and deep;
  • Very large, oblique, terminal mouth with thin, faintly striated lips;
  • Dorsal fin ray count at 24 to 32;
  • Slate or olive bronze dorsal surface, olive yellow sides, and yellow and white belly;
  • Light brownish-slate fins;
  • Measures 254 to 457 mm in length; maximum reported length of 1143 mm; and
  • Maximum weight reported as 36 kg.

Habitat

The distribution of Bigmouth Buffalo is limited to central North America where it is found in the Mississippi drainage from the Gulf of Mexico northward to Minnesota and North Dakota, including the Missouri and Ohio rivers. In the Great Lakes basin, it has been reported in Lake Erie, Lake St. Clair, the Bay of Quinte, Hamilton Harbour and in several rivers including the Grand, Sydenham, Thames, Welland and Ausable. Within the Hudson Bay basin, Bigmouth Buffalo has been reported in the Red and Assiniboine rivers, as well as the south basin of Lake Winnipeg and Lake Manitoba (likely entering via the Assiniboine River floodway). This species is relatively abundant in the Qu’Appelle Lakes in Saskatchewan.

The Bigmouth Buffalo has a preference for warm, turbid, highly eutrophic waters. It is usually found in schools near the middle of the water column as well as along the bottom of medium- to large-sized rivers of low gradient and moderate to slow current. Spring flooding is an important factor in successful reproduction as it provides access to spawning areas and activates spawning activity. Also required for spawning is an increase in water temperature. Bigmouth Buffalo spawn in groups. There is no nest preparation and eggs are scattered on flooded vegetation and abandoned. Lifespan may exceed 20 years of age.

Threats

The loss and degradation of spawning habitat due to water management practices, particularly the regulation of water levels and channelization, have contributed to declines in Bigmouth Buffalo in the Qu’Appelle River basin. In addition, prolonged periods of drought, agricultural demands for water, and commercial exploitation have also reduced the population size. The genetic integrity of this fish could also be compromised through hybridization with other buffalo species.

Further Information

For more information, visit the SARA Registry Website.

Bigmouth Buffalo (Saskatchewan – Nelson River)

Bigmouth Buffalo

Illustration © J.R. Tomerelli

Scientific name: Ictiobus cyprinellus
SARA Status: Special Concern (June 2011)
COSEWIC Status: Special Concern (April 2009)
Region: Saskatchewan, Manitoba and Ontario

Distribution of Bigmouth Buffalo

Distribution of Bigmouth Buffalo

Did You Know?

Using a highly adapted and size-selective filtering mechanism, the Bigmouth Buffalo feeds almost exclusively on invertebrates. They are also known to consume dead plant material and sediment. Unlike other suckers, the Bigmouth Buffalo has the ability to feed on the bottom as well as within the water column, giving it a wider range of prey sources.

Related information

Buffalo à grande bouche (Populations des rivières Saskatchewan et Nelson)

Ictiobus cyprinellus

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

Le buffalo à grande bouche (Ictiobus cyprinellus) appartient à la famille des Catostomidae. Il est l’une des 18 espèces de meunier vivant au Canada. Il présente les caractéristiques suivantes :

  • Un corps gros, profond et comprimé latéralement;
  • Un pédoncule caudal très court et épais;
  • Une bouche très grande et oblique, en position terminale avec des lèvres minces et très légèrement striées;
  • Une nageoire dorsale comptant de 24 à 32 rayons;
  • Une surface dorsale de couleur ardoise ou bronze-olive, des flancs jaune-olive et un ventre jaune et blanc;
  • Des nageoires brunâtres-ardoise pâle;
  • Mesure entre 254 et 457 mm de longueur. La longueur maximale observée est de 1143 mm; et
  • Le poids maximal observé est de 36 kg.

Habitat

La répartition du buffalo à grande bouche est limitée au centre de l’Amérique du Nord, où on le rencontre dans le bassin hydrographique du Mississipi à partir du golfe du Mexique jusque vers le nord, au Minnesota et au Dakota du Nord, y compris dans les rivières Missouri et Ohio. Dans le bassin des Grands Lacs, il a été signalé dans les lac Érié et Sainte-Claire, la baie de Quinte, le port de Hamilton et dans plusieurs rivières incluant les rivières Grand, Sydenham, Thames, Welland et Ausable. Dans le bassin de la baie d’Hudson, le buffalo à grande bouche a été observé dans les rivières Rouge et Assiniboine ainsi que dans le bassin sud du lac Winnipeg et le lac Manitoba. Cette espèce est relativement abondante dans les lacs Qu’Appelle, en Saskatchewan.

Le buffalo à grande bouche préfère les eaux chaudes, turbides et hautement eutrophiques. Ces poissons forment habituellement des bancs à mi-profondeur ou près du fond, dans des cours d’eau de moyenne et de grande taille, à faible pente et où le courant est de modéré à faible. Les crues printanières constituent un facteur important dans le succès de la reproduction puisqu’elles donnent accès aux zones de frai et activent l’activité de frai. Le frai est aussi déclenché par la hausse de la température de l’eau. Le buffalo à grande bouche fraie en groupes. Il n’y pas de formation de nid; les oeufs sont dispersés sur la végétation inondée et abandonnés. La durée de vie des individus de l’espèce peut dépasser 20 ans.

Menaces

La perte et la dégradation de l’habitat de frai attribuables aux pratiques de gestion des cours d’eau (en particulier la régularisation des niveaux d’eau et les redressement de canaux) ont contribué au déclin du buffalo à grande bouche dans le bassin de la rivière Qu’Appelle. De plus, les périodes de sécheresse prolongées, la demande agricole en eau et l’exploitation commerciale ont aussi réduit la taille de la population.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Pour un complément d'information, consultez le site Web du Registre de la LEP.

Buffalo à grande bouche (Populations des rivières Saskatchewan et Nelson)

Buffalo à grande bouche

Illustration © J.R. Tomerelli

Nom scientifique : Ictiobus cyprinellus
Statut selon la LEP : Préoccupante
Statut selon COSEPAC : Préoccupante (avril 2009)
Région: Saskatchewan, Manitoba et Ontario

Carte de la distribution du buffalo à grande bouche

Carte de la distribution du buffalo à grande bouche

Le saviez-vous?

Le buffalo à grande bouche se nourrit presque exclusivement d’invertébrés à l’aide d’un mécanisme de filtration hautement adapté et sélectif en fonction de la taille. Il consomme également des détritus végétaux et des sédiments. Contrairement aux autres meuniers, le buffalo à grande bouche est en mesure de se nourrir autant sur le fond que dans la colonne d’eau, ce qui lui donne accès à un plus grand éventail de proies.

Renseignements connexes