Bridle Shiner

Notropis bifrenatus

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

The Bridle Shiner is a small minnow with a slender, somewhat laterally compressed body, whose length seldom exceeds 60 mm. It has a small terminal mouth, and its upper jaw extends back to the lower edge of the eye. Mature individuals have a straw-coloured dorsal surface, and silvery sides with a green-blue iridescence, as well as a silvery-white ventral surface. A black lateral band extends from the snout to the tail. The Bridle Shiner lives for only two years and spawns only once, in its first or second year. It is sexually dimorphic (difference between males and females) during the breeding season which occurs in the spring and the summer. During this period, males turn a bright yellow or gold on the lower sides, and the first five or six pectoral rays become edged with brown.

Habitat

In Canada, Bridle Shiners occupy streams and lakes where there is plenty of aquatic vegetation. There, they can feed, hide from predators and spawn. They prefer substrates of sand, silt or organic debris, and thrive in water that is relatively warm and clear.

Historic and current Bridle Shiner sites in Quebec

Historic and current Bridle Shiner sites in Quebec.
Gilles Fortin, Fisheries and Oceans Canada

Bridle Shiner distribution in Ontario

Bridle Shiner distribution in Ontario.
Carolyn Bakelaar and Brydon MacVeigh, Fisheries and Oceans Canada

Threats

A number of anthropogenic activities (e.g., farming, urban development, forestry and recreational use) can cause the loss or degradation of Bridle Shiner habitat. Some of the main threats to the habitat of this species at risk are:

  • reduced water quality due to pollution (e.g., chemicals, sedimentation and fertilizers),
  • the removal or degradation of aquatic and riparian vegetation,
  • fluctuating water levels, and
  • the disruption of natural water flow patterns, or barriers to fish passage.

In addition, the use of the Bridle Shiner as a baitfish by recreational fishers can also constitute a threat to this species and hinder its conservation.

Further Information

The Bridle Shiner is protected by the Species at Risk Act since June 2004. Fisheries and Oceans Canada, in cooperation with the governments of Ontario and Quebec, has developed a management plan to help protect the Bridle Shiner. Published in June 2011, this plan provides a summary of current knowledge, identifies threats to the species and its habitat and recommends measures to maintain and improve Bridle Shiner populations.

For further information, visit the Species at Risk (SARA) Public Registry Profile.

Bridle Shiner

Bridle Shiner

Bernatchez L, Giroux M. 2000. Les Poissons d'eau douce du Québec et leur répartition dans l'est du Canada. Éditions Broquet. 350p

Scientific name: Notropis bifrenatus
SARA Status: Special Concern
COSEWIC Status: Special Concern (November 2001)
Region: Quebec, Ontario

Did You Know?

A management plan for the Bridle Shiner was published in June 2011. It provides a summary of current knowledge, identifies threats to the species and its habitat and recommends measures to maintain and improve Bridle Shiner populations.

Related information

Méné d'herbe

Notropis bifrenatus

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

Le méné d’herbe est un petit poisson au corps élancé, quelque peu comprimé latéralement et dont la longueur excède rarement 60 mm. Il possède une petite bouche terminale et sa mâchoire supérieure se prolonge vers l’arrière jusqu’au bord antérieur de l’œil. Les adultes présentent une coloration paille sur la face dorsale du corps, des flancs argentés d’un vert bleu irisé de même qu’une teinte blanc argenté sur la face ventrale. Une bande latérale noire s’étend du museau à la queue. Le méné d’herbe ne vit que deux ans et ne fraie qu’une fois, dans sa première ou sa deuxième année. Il existe un dimorphisme sexuel (différences entre les mâles et les femelles) pendant la fraie qui survient au printemps et en été. Les mâles prennent alors une coloration jaune vif ou dorée sur le bas des flancs et les cinq ou six premiers rayons pectoraux se bordent de brun.

Habitat

Au Canada, le méné d'herbe fréquente les zones riches en végétation aquatique des cours d'eau et des lacs. Dans ces herbiers aquatiques, il peut s'alimenter, se cacher des prédateurs et frayer. Il préfère les substrats meubles de sable,  limon ou de débris organiques et les eaux relativement chaudes et limpides.

Occurrences historiques et récentes du méné d'herbe au Québec

Occurrences historiques et récentes du méné d’herbe au Québec.
Gilles Fortin, Pêches et Océans Canada

Répartition du méné d'herbe en Ontario

Répartition du méné d’herbe en Ontario.
Carolyn Bakelaar et Brydon MacVeigh, Pêches et Océans Canada

Menaces

Plusieurs activités humaines (agricoles, urbaines, forestières ou de villégiature) entraînent une perte ou une dégradation de l'habitat du méné d'herbe. Voici les principales menaces qui affectent l'habitat de cette espèce en péril :

  • diminution de la qualité de l'eau due à la pollution par les produits chimiques, les sédiments ou les fertilisants;
  • enlèvement ou dégradation de la végétation aquatique ou riveraine;
  • fluctuation des niveaux d'eau;
  • modification de l'écoulement naturel des eaux ou obstacle au libre passage du poisson.

L'utilisation du méné d'herbe comme poisson-appât par les pêcheurs sportifs peut aussi représenter une menace pour cette espèce et nuire à sa conservation.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Le méné d'herbe est protégé en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril depuis juin 2004. Un plan de gestion qui vise à protéger le méné d’herbe a été élaboré par Pêches et Océans Canada en collaboration avec les gouvernements de l’Ontario et du Québec. Publié en juin 2011, ce plan fait le bilan des connaissances, identifie les menaces à l'espèce et à son habitat et propose des mesures afin de maintenir et d'accroître les populations de méné d'herbe.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter le Registre public des espèces en péril.

Méné d'herbe

Méné d'herbe

Bernatchez L, Giroux M. 2000.
Les Poissons d'eau douce du Québec et leur répartition dans l'est du Canada. éditions Broquet. 350p.

Nom scientifique : Notropis bifrenatus
Statut selon la LEP : Préoccupant
Statut selon le COSEPAC : Préoccupant (novembre 2001)
Région : Québec, Ontario

Le saviez-vous?

Un plan de gestion pour le méné d’herbe a été publié en juin 2011. Il fait le bilan des connaissances, identifie les menaces à l'espèce et à son habitat et propose des mesures afin de maintenir et d'accroître les populations de méné d'herbe.

Renseignements connexes