Brook Floater

Alasmidonta varicosa

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

The Brook Floater (Alasmidonta varicosa) is a freshwater mussel native to North America, found from Georgia (United States) to the Maritime provinces.

The species is considered a medium-sized mussel. It is distinctly kidney shaped, with one end that is inflated and rounded. The shell is smooth with growth lines forming ridges. The shell exterior varies in colour from yellow-green to brown-black and can be up to 70 mm long, 40 mm high and 30 mm wide. The shell's interior is bluish-white, sometimes with an olive or pink tint.

Similar to other freshwater mussels, the species' larvae rely on certain fish species to complete a portion of its life cycle. This means that the larvae attaches to the gills of a host fish and releases when it has grown to the appropriate size. In this way, the brook floater is dispersed into the water.

Habitat

Brook Floaters in Canada are found in rivers, streams, and lakes. They prefer watercourses with a moderate to high water flow with rocks, cobble and sand-pocket areas and may also be found in certain lakes in Nova Scotia. They are typically found clustered in sand-pocket areas behind boulders and stream banks, likely as a means of protection in high-flow velocity. In Canada, the Brook Floater is only found in New Brunswick and Nova Scotia.

Because this mussel has disappeared from approximately half of its locations in the United States, the Canadian population now represents an important global stronghold for the species.

Threats

The Brook Floater's habitat is subject to impacts such as changes in water quality resulting from excess nutrients or contaminants from forestry and agriculture runoff into watercourses, shoreline development, sedimentation in watercourses, and disturbance of habitat including barriers to migration (dams and culverts) for host fish species.

Further Information

For further information, visit the Species at Risk (SARA) Public Registry Profile.

Brook Floater

Brook Floater

Photo credit: Southeastern Anglers Association Inc.

Scientific name: Alasmidonta varicosa
SARA Status: Special Concern
COSEWIC Status: Special Concern (2009)
Region: New Brunswick, Nova Scotia

This map indicates Brook Floater distribution as described in the following paragraph

Map of the three Maritime provinces outlining the distribution of the Brook Floater. The range of this freshwater mussel is shaded in green within the provinces of New Brunswick and Nova Scotia.

Related information

Alasmidonte renflée

Alasmidonta varicosa

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

L'alasmidonte renflée (Alasmidonta varicosa) est une moule d'eau douce indigène de l'Amérique du Nord que l'on trouve de la Géorgie (États-Unis) aux Maritimes.

On considère que l'espèce fait partie des moules de taille moyenne. Elle a une forme de rein caractéristique et une extrémité arrondie et renflée. Sa coquille est lisse et des lignes de croissance forment des stries. La couleur de la coquille extérieure va du jaune vert au brun noir et peut mesurer jusqu'à 70 mm de long, pour 40 mm de haut et 30 mm de large. L'intérieur de la coquille est d'un blanc bleuté avec parfois une nuance de vert ou rose.

Comme les autres espèces de moules d'eau douce, la larve de l'espèce a besoin de certaines espèces de poissons pour réaliser une partie de son cycle vital. Ainsi, la larve s'accroche aux branchies du poisson hôte et se détache quand elle a atteint la taille qui convient. De cette façon, l'alasmidonte renflée est dispersée dans l'eau.

Habitat

Au Canada, on trouve l'alasmidonte renflée dans des rivières, des ruisseaux et des lacs. Elle préfère les cours d'eau au débit moyen à élevé qui lui offrent des roches, des galets et des poches de sable. Elle a aussi élu domicile dans certains lacs de la Nouvelle-Écosse. On la trouve en général en grappe dans des poches de sable, à l'arrière des blocs rocheux et des berges, sans doute pour se protéger des courants forts. Au Canada, l'espèce est présente uniquement au Nouveau-Brunswick et en Nouvelle-Écosse.

La population de cette espèce a disparu d'environ la moitié des emplacements qu'elle peuplait aux États-Unis. Aujourd'hui, la population canadienne représente une partie importante des individus de l'espèce à l'échelle mondiale.

Menaces

L'habitat de l'alasmidonte renflée est soumis aux effets des changements de la qualité de l'eau qui peuvent être le résultat d'excès de nutriments et de contaminants provoqué par les eaux de ruissellement de la foresterie et de l'agriculture, aménagement du littoral, sédimentation dans les cours d'eau, ou perturbation de l'habitat, notamment à cause d'obstacles à la migration des espèces de poissons hôtes (barrages et ponceaux).

Renseignements supplémentaires

Pour un complément d’information, consultez le Profil de Registre public des espèces en péril (LEP).

Alasmidonte renflée

Alasmidonte renflée

Crédit photo : Association des pêcheurs récréatifs du Sud-Est Inc.

Nom scientifique : Alasmidonta varicosa
Statut selon la LEP : Espèce préoccupante
Statut selon le COSEPAC : Espèce préoccupante (2009)
Région : Nouveau-Brunswick, Nouvelle-Écosse

Cette carte indique la répartition de l’alasmidonte renflée telle que décrite dans le paragraphe suivant

Carte des trois provinces maritimes indiquant l'aire de répartition de l'alasmidonte renflée. La distribution de cette moule d'eau douce est ombragée en vert à l'intérieur des provinces du Nouveau-Brunswick et de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

Renseignements connexes