Cutlip Minnow

Exoglossum maxillingua

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

The Cutlip Minnow is a small freshwater fish in the Cyprinidea family (minnows). It can reach a length of about 160 mm. It can be distinguished from other fish species by its stout body, its silvery sides with a greenish purple sheen and its tri-lobed lower lip.

Habitat

In Canada, the Cutlip Minnow is found in the St. Lawrence River watershed, from Ivy Lea, Ontario to Saint-Pascal, Quebec. In Ontario, the species is now found in only three of the seven waterbodies where it was historically present. The species is more widespread in Quebec but, since 2002, the species has been collected in only 79 of 206 waterbodies where it was historically present. It is difficult to determine if this is the result of a decline in the species, a lack of sampling in more recent times, or a combination thereof.

The Cutlip Minnow is found primarily in clear rivers and streams with slow currents and channel substrate composed of cobbles, gravel, sand, mud and aquatic vegetation. It is a bottom feeder, consuming a variety of aquatic invertebrates.

During a survey, this fish was captured and then released unharmed back into the water.
Photo credit: Nate Tessler

Threats

Little is known about threats that are specific to the Cutlip Minnow. The species may be intolerant of persistent turbidity and excessive siltation, both potential consequences of certain agricultural and urban activities. The Round Goby and the Tench, two invasive species known to negatively impact native fishes, may also have adverse effects on the Cutlip Minnow.

Further Information

The Cutlip Minnow was assessed by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) as a species of special concern. Public consultations regarding the addition of this population to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk were held from November 17, 2014 to February 27, 2015. The Governor-in-Council's listing recommendation will published in the Canada Gazette Part I (Government of Canada newspaper where laws and regulations are published) and on the Species at Risk Public Registry.

Cutlip Minnow

Cutlip Minnow

© E. Edmonson, New York State Department of Environmental Conservation

Scientific name: Exoglossum maxillingua
SARA Status: No Status
COSEWIC Status: Special Concern (2013)
Region: Quebec and Ontario

Cutlip minnow distribution area in Canada

Cutlip minnow distribution area in Canada.

Did You Know?

The Cutlip Minnow possesses several characteristics that make it unique. For example, it is the only North American minnow to have a tri-lobed lower lip, and one of the few minnows that demonstrate post-hatching care of fry. It is also known to attack and consume the eyes of other species of fish, which is the source of its common name, "eye picker."

Related information

Bec-de-lièvre

Exoglossum maxillingua

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

Le bec-de-lièvre est un petit poisson d'eau douce de la famille des cyprins (ou ménés). Il peut atteindre une longueur d'environ 160 mm. Il se distingue des autres espèces de poisson par son corps trapu, ses flancs argentés aux teintes violet verdâtre et sa lèvre inférieure à trois lobes.

Habitat

Au Canada, le bec-de-lièvre vit dans le bassin versant du fleuve Saint-Laurent, depuis Ivy Lea, en Ontario, jusqu'à Saint-Pascal au Québec. En Ontario, l'espèce occupe maintenant trois des sept plans d'eau où elle se trouvait autrefois. Au Québec, l'espèce est plus répandue, mais depuis 2002, sa présence a été confirmée seulement dans 79 plans d'eau sur les 206 où elle était présente autrefois. Il est difficile de déterminer si cette baisse résulte d'un déclin de l'espèce ou d'un manque d'activités d'échantillonnage récentes, ou des deux.

Le bec-de-lièvre vit principalement dans des ruisseaux ou des rivières à l'eau claire, au courant lent, au fond composé de galet, gravier, sable, boue, et généralement couvert de végétation aquatique. Il se nourrit sur le fond des cours d'eau d'une variété d'invertébrés aquatiques.

Dans le cadre d’un inventaire, ce poisson a été capturé et remis à l’eau vivant.
Photos : Nate Tessler

Menaces

Les menaces spécifiques pesant sur le bec-de-lièvre sont peu connues. L'espèce tolère probablement mal la turbidité persistante et l'envasement excessif, deux conséquences possibles de certaines activités agricoles et urbaines. Le gobie à taches noires et la tanche, deux espèces envahissantes réputées pour nuire aux poissons indigènes, pourraient aussi avoir des effets néfastes sur le bec-de-lièvre.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Le bec-de-lièvre a été évalué comme étant préoccupant par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC). Des consultations sur l'ajout de cette population à la Liste des espèces en péril ont eu lieu du 17 novembre 2014 au 27 février 2015. La recommandation d'inscription du gouverneur en conseil sera publiée dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie 1 (journal du gouvernement du Canada où sont publiés les lois et règlements) et sur le Registre public des espèces en péril.

Bec-de-lièvre

Bec-de-lièvre

© E. Edmonson, New York State Department of Environmental Conservation

Nom scientifique : Exoglossum maxillingua
Statut selon la LEP : Aucun statut
Statut selon le COSEPAC : Préoccupant (2013)
Région : Québec et Ontario

Aire de répartition du bec-de-lièvre au Canada

Aire de répartition du bec-de-lièvre au Canada.

Le saviez-vous?

Le bec-de-lièvre possède plusieurs caractéristiques qui le rendent unique. Par exemple, il est le seul méné d'Amérique du Nord à posséder une lèvre inférieure à trois lobes et l'un des rares à s'occuper de ses alevins après l'éclosion. L'espèce est aussi réputée pour attaquer et manger les yeux des autres espèces de poissons, ce qui est à l'origine de son nom familier en anglais, « eye picker ».

Renseignements connexes