Deepwater Redfish (Gulf of St. Lawrence and Laurentian Channel population)

Sebastes mentella

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

Deepwater Redfish range in colour from bright orange to red and have spiny rays. They are characterized by their protruding lower jaw, large eyes, and the bony spines that cover their gills. They reach sexual maturity very late, and abundant generations are only observed every 5 to 12 years. Distinctive characteristics of Redfish are their slow growth and long lifespan; they can live up to 75 years.

Habitat

Deepwater Redfish are found on both sides of the Atlantic Ocean. They live primarily along continental slopes and in deep channels, from 350 to 500 metres. In Canadian waters, there are two Deepwater Redfish populations: Northern, and Gulf of St. Lawrence and Laurentian Channel. The latter population can be observed as far as the Scotian Shelf.

Deepwater Redfish are ovoviviparous, meaning that females keep their fertilized eggs inside their bodies until the larvae have hatched. Larvae prefer surface waters, where they feed on copepods and fish eggs, while adults live in cold, deep waters where they prey upon other fish.

Threats

The directed fishery is still the main threat to the survival and recovery of this population, except in the Gulf of St. Lawrence where it is prohibited since 1995. It is estimated that the Gulf of St. Lawrence and Laurentian Channel population of Deepwater Redfish has declined in abundance by 97% since 1984. Deepwater Redfish are also caught as bycatch in other fisheries, such as the Northern Shrimp fishery.

Further Information

The Gulf of St. Lawrence and Laurentian Channel population of Deepwater Redfish has been designated as threatened by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada. Public consultations regarding the addition of this population to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk were held from November 1, 2013 to May 31, 2014. The Governor-in-Council's listing recommendation will published in the Canada Gazette Part I (Government of Canada newspaper where laws and regulations are published) and on the Species at Risk Public Registry.

Deepwater Redfish (Gulf of St. Lawrence and Laurentian Channel population)

Illustration of a redfish

Illustration: DFO

Scientific name: Sebastes mentella
SARA Status: No Status
COSEWIC Status: Endangered (2010)
Regions: Newfoundland and Labrador, Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward island

Deepwater Redfish, Gulf of St. Lawrence and Laurentian Channel population as described in the following paragraphs

This map shows the location of the Gulf of St. Lawrence and Laurentian Channel population of Deepwater Redfish. This population is observed in the Gulf of St. Lawrence and on the Scotian Shelf, up to the continental slope.

Photo of a school of Redfish

Photo credit: DFO: R. Larocque

Did You Know?

The Gulf of St. Lawrence and Laurentian Channel Deepwater Redfish can be found as far as the Saguenay Fjord.

Related information

Sébaste atlantique (population du golfe du Saint-Laurent et du chenal Laurentien)

Sebastes mentella

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

Le sébaste atlantique est un poisson de couleur orange à rouge, à rayons épineux, que l’on reconnait à sa mâchoire inférieure protubérante, ses gros yeux et les épines osseuses qui recouvrent ses branchies. Il devient sexuellement mature très tard et les générations abondantes ne s’observent qu’à tous les 5 à 12 ans. Les sébastes se distinguent des autres poissons par leur croissante lente et leur longévité : ils peuvent vivre jusqu’à 75 ans.

Habitat

Le sébaste atlantique se retrouve des deux côtés de l’océan Atlantique. Il vit principalement le long des talus continentaux et dans les chenaux profonds, de 350 à 500 mètres. Dans les eaux canadiennes, il existe deux populations de sébaste atlantique : celle du Nord et celle du golfe du Saint-Laurent et du chenal Laurentien, qui peut être observée jusque sur le plateau néo-écossais.

Le sébaste atlantique est ovovivipare, c’est-à-dire que la femelle garde ses œufs fécondés en elle, jusqu’à ce que les larves soient écloses. Les larves préfèrent les eaux de surface où elles mangent des œufs de poissons ou des copépodes. Les adultes vivent dans les eaux froides et profondes où ils se nourrissent de poissons.

Menaces

La pêche dirigée demeure la principale menace à la survie et au rétablissement de cette population, sauf à l’intérieur du golfe du Saint-Laurent où elle est interdite depuis 1995. On estime que l’abondance du sébaste atlantique de la population du golfe du Saint-Laurent et du chenal Laurentien a connu un déclin de 97% depuis 1984. Le sébaste atlantique est également capturé accidentellement dans d’autres pêches telle celle de la crevette nordique.

Renseignements supplémentaires

La population du golfe du Saint-Laurent et du chenal Laurentien du sébaste atlantique a été désignée comme étant menacée par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada. Des consultations sur l'ajout de cette population à la Liste des espèces en péril ont eu lieu du 1er novembre 2013 au 31 mai 2014. La recommandation d'inscription du gouverneur en conseil sera publiée dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie 1 (journal du gouvernement du Canada où sont publiés les lois et règlements) et sur le Registre public des espèces en péril.

Sébaste atlantique (population du golfe du Saint-Laurent et du chenal Laurentien)

Illustration d’un sébaste

Illustration : MPO

Nom scientifique : Sebastes mentella
Statut selon la LEP : Aucun statut
Statut selon le COSEPAC : En voie de disparition (2010)
Régions : Île-du-Prince-Édouard, Nouveau-Brunswick, Nouvelle-Écosse, Québec, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Sébaste atlantique, population du golfe du Saint-Laurent et du chenal Laurentien telle que décrite dans les paragraphes suivants.

Cette carte présente la localisation du sébaste atlantique, population du golfe du Saint-Laurent et du chenal Laurentien. Cette population se retrouve dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent et sur le plateau néo-écossais, jusqu’au talus continental.

Photo d’un banc de sébastes

Crédit photo : MPO : R. Larocque

Le saviez-vous?

On trouve le sébaste atlantique du golfe du Saint-Laurent et du chenal Laurentien jusque dans le fjord du Saguenay.

Renseignements connexes