Dolly Varden (Western Arctic populations)

Salvelinus malma

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

The Dolly Varden (Salvelinus malma) belongs to the salmon and trout family (Salmonidae), with members that may be anadromous (use both seawater and freshwater during their lifecycle) or non-anadromous (freshwater only). There are two subspecies recognized in Canada - Western Arctic populations, or "northern form" (S. malma malma) and the Pacific populations, or "southern form" (S. malma lordi). The northern form Dolly Varden has the following characteristics:

  • Body is laterally-compressed, with large eyes below the top of a round, medium-sized head;
  • Caudal peduncle is long and wide; the caudal fin is broad, flat and unusually unforked;
  • Juveniles are brown with a whitish belly, with small red spots on the sides and back, and 8 to twelve rectangular parr marks on their sides and back;
  • Adults have small, pale-pink or red spots with surrounding halos;
  • Spawning sea-run males are brightly coloured and will develop a hook in the lower jaw;
  • females, non-spawners, and non-anadromous males are more muted in colour; and
  • Sea-run adults reach over 350 mm in length, while non-anadromous adults are 300 mm or less.

Habitat

The Western Arctic populations of Dolly Varden is found in northeastern Eurasia and northwestern North America. In North America, the Western Arctic populations ranges north from Bristol Bay along the north slope of Alaska and the Yukon Territory, and east to the Mackenzie River. In Canada, the Western Arctic populations occurs in drainages that flow into the Beaufort Sea. Approximately five to 10 per cent of the global population exists within Canadian waters. Population sizes are largely unknown, with information limited to selected sites.

Several different life history types of Western Arctic populations Dolly Varden exist: i) anadromous (sea-run) types that reside in their natal drainage for about three years, before migrating out to sea to feed for the summer; ii) non-anadromous (freshwater) males that live alongside anadromous fish in the fall and winter and reproduce by "sneaking" into redds to spawn with anadromous females; and iii) other non-anadromous types that are found above falls, a long distance from the sea, or in lakes. Both anadromous and non-anadromous types spend the fall and winter in freshwater environments that are well oxygenated with abundant shoreline cover and vegetation. Spawning occurs in the fall in headwater streams where the females bury their eggs in the gravel. Fry emerge in May or June. The anadromous Dolly Varden remain in their freshwater drainages for about three years, and are known as "parr" before undertaking their first migration out to sea. At this life stage, they evolve into "smolts" and develop the ability to live in sea water. In the fall, they return to freshwater. The non-anadromous types remain in freshwater environments throughout their lives.

Threats

Climate change, particularly the trend towards drier and warmer climates in the Western Arctic, is a key concern. Lower water levels and reduced groundwater flow may have a dramatic impact on Dolly Varden habitat, particularly for spawning and overwintering. Other threats include overfishing, offshore development that impedes the migration and movements of Dolly Varden, and land-based industrial and infrastructure developments that impact freshwater system flows and water quality.

Further Information

For further information, visit the SARA Registry or COSEWIC websites.

Dolly Varden (Western Arctic populations)

Illustration of a spawning sea-run male (Western Arctic populations) (© Joseph R. Tomelleri)

Illustration of a spawning sea-run male Dolly Varden (Western Arctic populations)
© Joseph R. Tomelleri

Scientific name: Salvelinus malma
SARA Status: Special concern
COSEWIC Status: Special concern
Regions: Central & Arctic, Pacific

Range of Dolly Varden (Western Arctic populations) in northwestern Canada and Alaska.

Distribution map of Dolly Varden (Western Arctic populations) in northwestern Canada and Alaska.

Illustration of a sea-run female (Western Arctic populations) (© Joseph R. Tomelleri)

Illustration of a sea-run female (Western Arctic populations)
© Joseph R. Tomelleri

Did You Know?

The southern form of Dolly Varden (Salvelinus malma lordi) differs in genetic attributes and geographic distribution. The northern form is also similar in appearance to the Arctic Charr (Salvelinus alpinus) and Bull Trout (Salvelinus confluentus).

Related information

Dolly Varden (populations de l'ouest de l'Arctique)

Salvelinus malma

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

Le Dolly Varden (Salvelinus malma) appartient à la famille des saumons et des truites (Salmonidae). Certaines espèces de cette famille sont anadromes (c'est-à-dire que durant leur cycle de vie, elles peuvent vivre en eau de mer et en eau douce) et d'autres sont non anadromes (ne vivent qu'en eau douce). Il y a deux sous-espèces connues au Canada: les populations de l'ouest de l'arctique ou «la forme nordique» (Salvelinus malma malma) et les population du Pacifique ou «la forme méridionale» (Salvelinus malma lordi ). La forme nordique du Dolly Varden a les caracéristiques suivantes:

  • Le corps est comprimé latéralement, de grands yeux sont situés au sommet d'une tête ronde de taille moyenne;
  • Le pédoncule caudal est long et large, la nageoire caudale est étendue, plate et généralement sans fourche;
  • Les juvéniles ont le corps brun, le ventre blanchâtre, de petits points rouges sur les côtés et sur le dos, et de huit à douze marques de tacon rectangulaires sur les côtés et sur le dos;
  • Les adultes ont de petits points de couleur rose pâle ou rouge encerclés;
  • Les mâles anadromes en frai sont de couleur brillante et développeront un crochet sur la mâchoire inférieure;
  • Les femelles, qui ne fraient pas, et les mâles non anadromes ont des couleurs moins éclatantes;
  • Les adultes anadromes atteignent une longueur de plus de 350 mm, tandis que les adultes non anadromes mesurent 300 mm ou moins.

Habitat

La forme nordique du Dolly Varden vit dans le nordest de l'Eurasie et le nord-ouest de l'Amérique du Nord. En Amérique du Nord, l'aire de répartition de la forme nordique s'étend de la baie de Bristol jusqu'aux pentes du nord de l'Alaska et du Yukon, et à l'est de la rivière Mackenzie. Au Canada, la forme nordique habite également les bassins se jetant dans la mer de Beaufort. Environ 5 à 10 % de la population globale vit dans les eaux canadiennes. La taille des différentes populations de cette espèce demeure inconnue, sauf pour certains sites.

Il y a plusieurs différents cycles biologiques de la forme nordique du Dolly Varden : i) les types anadromes résidant dans leur bassin natal depuis environ trois ans avant de migrer vers la mer pour se nourrir pendant l'été; ii) les mâles non anadromes vivant en eau douce aux côtés de poissons anadromes pendant l'automne et l'hiver, se reproduisant en « se faufilant » pour frayer avec des femelles anadromes; iii) d'autres types non anadromes vivant en amont des chutes, loin de la mer, ou dans les lacs. Les espèces anadromes et non anadromes passent l'automne et l'hiver dans des environnements d'eau douce riches en oxygène, avec d'abondantes aires d'abri et de végétation. Le frai a lieu à l'automne dans les ruisseaux d'amont, où les femelles enfouissent leurs oeufs dans le gravier. Les alevins émergent en mai ou juin. Le Dolly Varden anadrome demeure dans son bassin d'eau douce environ trois ans, avant de migrer vers la mer. On le connaît alors sous le nom de « parr ». À ce stade, il évolue en « smolt », et développe la capacité de vivre en eau salée. À l'automne, il revient en eau douce. Les types non anadromes demeurent en eau douce toute leur vie durant.

Menaces

Les changements climatiques, en particulier le climat plus sec et plus doux qui s'installe dans l'Arctique de l'Ouest, constituent une préoccupation majeure, de même que les niveaux d'eau plus faibles et le débit réduit des eaux souterraines, qui ont un impact dramatique sur l'habitat du Dolly Varden, en particulier en période de frai et d'hivernage. Les autres menaces comprennent la surpêche, le développement industriel en mer qui entrave la migration et les mouvements du Dolly Varden anadrome, ainsi que le développement d'infrastructures à terre qui perturbent les débits des réseaux d'eau douce et la qualité de l'eau.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Pour un complément d'information, consultez les sites Web du Registre public des espèces en péril (LEP) ou COSEPAC.

Dolly Varden (populations de l'ouest de l'Arctique)

Illustration du Dolly Varden mâle anadrone en frai (populations de l'ouest de l'Arctique) (© Joseph R. Tomelleri)

Illustration du Dolly Varden mâle anadrone en frai (populations de l'ouest de l'Arctique)
© Joseph R. Tomelleri

Nom scientifique : Salvelinus malma
Statut selon la LEP : Préoccupante
Statut selon le COSEPAC : Préoccupante
Régions : Pacifique, Centre et Arctique

Aire de répartition du Dolly Varden (populations de l'ouest de l'Arctique) en Alaska et au nord-ouest du Canada

Répartition des populations de l'ouest de l'Arctique du Dolly Varden au Canada et en Alaska.

Illustration du Dolly Varden femelle anadrone (populations de l'ouest de l'Arctique) (© Joseph R. Tomelleri)

Illustration du Dolly Varden femelle anadrone (populations de l'ouest de l'Arctique)
© Joseph R. Tomelleri

Le saviez-vous?

La forme méridionale du Dolly Varden (Salvelinus malma lordi) est très similaire, mais comporte différents attributs génétiques et ne se retrouve pas dans la même zone géographique. La forme nordique ressemble aussi à l’omble chevalier (Salvelinus alpinus) et à l’omble à tête plate (Salvelinus confluentus).

Renseignements connexes