Eulachon (Nass/Skeena Rivers population)

Thaleichthys pacificus

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

Eulachon are anadromous fish endemic to the Northeastern Pacific, and are one of the ten smelt species in the Family Osmeridae. This species is also referred to as candlefish, oolichan, and ooligan, amongst others.

Eulachon are small and usually less than 20 cm in length; they resemble a small salmon, with an adipose fin and long anal fin, but with a smaller head, more slender body, and without a fleshy flap at the base of the pelvic fin. Eulachon have distinctive lines on the gill covers.

Habitat

Eulachon are found throughout the Northeast Pacific from the eastern Bering Sea to Northern California. They spend more than 95 percent of their life in the marine environment, and only enter freshwater systems during spawning, egg and early larval stages. Within British Columbia, Eulachon are believed to occur in at least 38 glacially fed rivers.

Threats

The factors causing the coast wide decline of Eulachon populations are unclear. Threats to individuals as well as their habitat occur in both freshwater and marine environments.

Presently, commercial fisheries for Eulachon are closed. Historically, commercial fisheries existed on the Fraser, Nass, Skeena, Klinaklini, and Kingcome Rivers. Recreational fishing in freshwater systems with nets is prohibited and recreational harvesting in all tidal waters is currently closed due to conservation concerns. First Nation fisheries for Eulachon once occurred on many rivers, but many are currently not active due to declines in runs. Eulachon is incidentally caught in commercial fisheries, primarily shrimp trawl and groundfish trawl.

Habitat degradation occurs at a local scale and varies between spawning rivers. Activities likely to impact Eulachon mortality include dredging, industrial and agricultural pollution, shoreline development, and forestry. However, it is unlikely that such threats would explain the nearly synchronous coast-wide decline of Eulachon that has occurred.

Climate change effects may impact both the marine and freshwater habitats.

Further Information

Eulachon was assessed by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) in May 2011 as three Designatable Units (DU) within British Columbia waters. These three DUs, or populations, were designated as the Fraser River population (assessed as Endangered), the Central Pacific Coast population (Endangered), and the Nass/Skeena Rivers population (Threatened). In November 2011, COSEWIC considered new information on the Nass/Skeena Rivers population and underwent a reassessment, completed in May 2013 with a reassessed status of Special Concern. Eulachon are not listed under the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) Red List. However, the Province of British Columbia ‘blue' listed Eulachon in 2000, identifying them as particularly sensitive to human activities or natural events. In 2010, the United States listed the southern Eulachon population as threatened under the Endangered Species Act.

Since 1995, DFO has undertaken specific activities to protect Eulachon including:

  • closure of the commercial Eulachon fishery on the Fraser River,
  • suspension of dredging on the Fraser River during Eulachon spawning season,
  • closure of the shrimp fishery in Queen Charlotte Sound,
  • implementation of bycatch reduction measures in the commercial shrimp trawl fishery including bycatch reduction devices and potential closures when cumulative Eulachon bycatch level is reached
  • an annual egg/larval survey to monitor stock on the Fraser River in conjunction with First Nations, and
  • full closure of recreational harvesting for Eulachon in all tidal waters.

The Fraser River and Central Pacific Coast populations of Eulachon are currently being considered for listing as Endangered under the Species at Risk Act (SARA). The Nass/Skeena Rivers population is being considered for listing as Special Concern under SARA. DFO invites all First Nations, stakeholders and members of the public to provide their opinions and feedback in the listing decision. For more information, please visit the SARA regional consultations website or the SARA Registry.

Eulachon (Nass/Skeena Rivers population)

Eulachon

Eulachon - Thaleichthys pacificus

Scientific name: Thaleichthys pacificus
SARA Status: No Status
COSEWIC Status: Special Concern (May 2013)
Region: British Columbia

Related information

Eulakane (population des rivières Nass et Skeena)

Thaleichthys pacificus

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

L'eulakane est un poisson anadrome endémique du nord-est du Pacifique, une des dix espèces d'éperlans de la famille des Osmeridae. Il est également appelé poisson-chandelle, oolichan et ooligan, entre autres.

L'eulakane est un poisson de petite taille, généralement d'une longueur inférieure à 20 cm. Il ressemble à un petit saumon : il est doté d'une nageoire adipeuse et d'une longue nageoire anale, mais avec une plus petite tête et un corps plus fin et sans aileron charnu à la base de la nageoire pelvienne. L'eulakane présente des lignes caractéristiques sur l'opercule des branchies.

Habitat

L'eulakane se rencontre dans l'ensemble du nord-est du Pacifique, de l'est de la mer de Béring au nord de la Californie. Il passe plus de 95 % de sa vie dans le milieu marin; il n'a besoin d'eau douce que pendant le frai, le stade de l'œuf et au début du stade larvaire. En Colombie-Britannique, l'eulakane est présent dans au moins 38 rivières alimentées par des glaciers.

Menaces

Les facteurs provoquant le déclin des populations d'eulakanes sur toute la côte sont inconnus. Les individus et leur habitat sont menacés en eau douce comme en milieu marin.

À l'heure actuelle, la pêche commerciale de l'eulakane est fermée. La pêche commerciale de l'espèce était pratiquée auparavant dans le fleuve Fraser et les rivières Nass, Skeena, Klinaklini et Kingcome. La pêche récréative au filet est interdite en eau douce et la pêche récréative en eau de marée est fermée en ce moment pour des raisons de conservation. Les Premières Nations pêchaient autrefois l'eulakane dans de nombreuses rivières, dont plusieurs sont désormais fermées à la pêche en raison du déclin des montaisons. L'eulakane est victime de captures accidentelles dans certaines pêches commerciales, principalement la pêche au chalut de la crevette et du poisson benthique.

La dégradation de l'habitat est locale et varie d'une rivière de frai à l'autre. Les activités suivantes sont susceptibles d'agir sur la mortalité de l'eulakane : dragage, pollution industrielle et agricole, aménagement du littoral et foresterie. Toutefois, il est peu probable que ces menaces puissent expliquer le déclin quasi synchrone de l'eulakane qui s'est produit sur l'ensemble de la côte.

Le changement climatique peut avoir des répercussions sur les habitats marins et d'eau douce.

Renseignements supplémentaires

L'eulakane a été évalué par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) en mai 2011, sous trois unités désignables (UD) des eaux de la Colombie-Britannique. Ces trois unités désignables, ou populations, sont la population du fleuve Fraser (évaluée comme en voie de disparition), la population centrale de la côte du Pacifique (en voie de disparition) et la population des rivières Nass et Skeena (menacée). En novembre 2011, le COSEPAC a examiné de nouvelles données sur la population des rivières Nass et Skeena qui ont mené à la réévaluation de la population, dont la situation a été jugée préoccupante en mai 2013. L'eulakane n'est pas classé sur la liste rouge de l'Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN). Cependant, la province de la Colombie-Britannique a inscrit l'espèce sur sa liste « bleue » en 2000, indiquant qu'elle était particulièrement vulnérable aux activités humaines et aux phénomènes naturels. En 2010, les États-Unis ont inscrit la population de l'eulakane du sud du Pacifique comme espèce en voie de disparition en vertu de l'Endangered Species Act.

Depuis 1995, le MPO a pris les mesures suivantes pour assurer la protection de l'eulakane :

  • Fermeture de la pêche commerciale de l'eulakane dans le fleuve Fraser;
  • Interruption des activités de dragage dans le fleuve Fraser durant la saison du frai;
  • Fermeture de la pêche à la crevette dans le détroit de la Reine-Charlotte;
  • Mise en place de mesures de réduction des prises accidentelles par la pêche au chalut de la crevette au moyen, entre autres, de dispositifs de réduction des prises accidentelles et possibilité de fermetures lorsque le nombre cumulé de prises accidentelles d'eulakanes est atteint;
  • Relevé annuel des œufs et des larves afin de contrôler le stock du fleuve Fraser, en collaboration avec les Premières Nations;
  • Fermeture de la pêche récréative de l'eulakane dans toutes les eaux de marées.

La population du fleuve Fraser et la population centrale de la côte du Pacifique sont en cours d'examen pour être inscrites à la liste des espèces en voie de disparition de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP). À l'heure actuelle, on étudie l'éventuelle inscription de la population des rivières Nass et Skeena à la liste des espèces préoccupantes de la LEP. Pêches et Océans Canada invite tous les intervenants, les Premières Nations et le public à faire part de leur opinion et de leurs commentaires sur la décision d'inscription. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter le site Web des consultations régionales en vertu de la LEP ou le Registre public des espèces en péril.

Eulakane (population des rivières Nass et Skeena)

Eulackane

Eulakane - Thaleichthys pacificus

Nom scientifique : Thaleichthys pacificus
Statut selon la LEP : Aucun statut
Statut selon le COSEPAC : Préoccupante
Région : Colombie-Britannique

Renseignements connexes