Fin Whale (Pacific)

Balaenoptera physalus

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

At a glance

The fin whale (balaenoptera physalus) is the second largest whale in the world, after the blue whale (balaenoptera musculous). Fin whales are characterized by fast swimming speeds and streamlined bodies. Adult fin whales reach physical maturity at 25 years of age, and range in size from 20-27 metres, and 60-80 tonnes, with northern hemisphere populations tending to be slightly smaller than their southern counterparts. They can live for up to 100 years, and females reproduce at two to three year intervals. The species is often confused with blue, sei and Bryde’s whales due to similar sizes and characteristics, though fin whales can be distinguished by the asymmetrical pigmentation on their lower jaws, which is dark on the left and light on the right.

About the fin whale

Fin whales are found in all oceans of the world, but are more abundant in temperate to polar latitudes. They generally make seasonal migrations from low-latitude wintering areas to high-latitude summer feeding grounds. In Canada, fin whale populations occur in both the North Atlantic and North Pacific. The fin whale was once quite common in Canadian Pacific waters, but commercial whaling activity has greatly reduced their numbers. Fin whales generally travel alone or in small groups far offshore.

Why Fin Whales are at risk

Both historic and current threats have contributed to the decline of fin whales, resulting in the species being designated as threatened by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) and protected under the Species at Risk Act (SARA). Fin whale populations off the coast of British Columbia were reduced by whaling in parallel with blue whale populations, following the introduction of modern whaling.

Local populations suffered further loss when the coastal whaling fleet was upgraded in the 1950s. At least 7,605 fin whales were taken by British Columbia coastal whaling stations between 1908 and 1967, before being put under worldwide protection by the International Whaling Commission (IWC) in 1975. Today, fin whales face many threats, including ship strikes and increasing noise levels from shipping, sonar, military operations and oil and gas exploration. Other threats include entanglements in fishing gear and exposure to pollution. Any activities that degrade or displace fin whales from critical foraging habitat also pose a threat to the species.

What’s being done

The threatened North Pacific fin whale population is protected under the Species at Risk Act (SARA). It is also protected under the Marine Mammals Regulations, which fall under the Fisheries Act”. A Recovery Strategy for large whales (blue, fin and sei) has been finalized and an action plan is currently being developed.

Species at Risk Public Registry Profile

Rorqual commun (Pacifique)

Balaenoptera physalus

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Coup d'œil

Le rorqual commun (Balaenoptera physalus) est la deuxième plus grande baleine du monde, après le rorqual bleu (Balaenoptera musculus). Il est capable de nager très rapidement grâce à son corps hydrodynamique. Il devient mature à 25 ans et atteint alors une taille de 20 à 27 m pour 60 à 80 tonnes, les spécimens vivant dans l’hémisphère Nord ayant tendance à être légèrement plus petits que ceux de l’hémisphère Sud. Il peut vivre jusqu’à 100 ans, et les femelles mettent bas tous les deux ou trois ans. Cette espèce est souvent confondue avec le rorqual bleu, le rorqual boréal ou le rorqual de Bryde à cause de leurs caractéristiques similaires, notamment la taille. Les rorquals communs peuvent cependant être reconnus à leur pigmentation asymétrique sur leur mandibule inférieure, foncée à gauche, claire à droite.

Au sujet du rorqual commun

Les rorquals communs se rencontrent dans tous les océans du monde, mais sont plus abondants à des latitudes tempérées et dans les zones polaires. Ils effectuent généralement des migrations saisonnières entre les aires d’hivernage des hautes latitudes et les aires d’alimentation méridionales. Au Canada, des populations de rorquals communs sont présentes dans le Pacifique Nord et dans l’Atlantique Nord. Cette baleine était autrefois très commune dans les eaux canadiennes du Pacifique, mais la chasse a grandement réduit les effectifs. Le rorqual commun voyage habituellement seul ou en petits groupes, loin au large.

Pourquoi le rorqual commun est-il en péril?

Des menaces passées et actuelles ont contribué au déclin des rorquals communs, qui figurent aujourd’hui sur la liste officielle des espèces en voie de disparition du Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) et sont donc protégés par la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP). Les populations de rorquals communs qui fréquentaient le large de la Colombie-Britannique ont été décimées par la chasse moderne, tout comme les populations de rorquals bleus.

Les populations locales ont été frappées encore plus durement lorsque la flottille des baleiniers a été modernisée dans les années 1950.Au moins 7 605 rorquals communs ont ainsi été tués par les stations baleinières de la Colombie-Britannique entre 1908 et 1967 avant la mise en place de la protection internationale du mammifère par la Commission baleinière internationale en 1975.

Ce qui est fait

La population menacée de rorquals communs du Pacifique Nord est protégée au Canada par la LEP et par le Règlement sur les mammifères marins, qui relève de la Loi sur les pêches. Le développement d’un programme de rétablissement des grandes baleines (rorqual bleu, rorqual commun et rorqual boréal) est terminé et un plan d’action est en cours d’élaboration.

Profil du Registre public des espèces en péril