Green Sturgeon

Acipenser medirostris

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

The Green Sturgeon has a rounded body, small eyes, a sharp snout and a toothless ventral mouth with sensory barbels. The dorsal fin and pelvic fins are located towards the caudal fin (tail), which is broadly pointed. The pectoral fins are large and rounded. The body and upper part of the head are coloured dark green to olive green, while the lower part of the head is a paler green. The ventral surface is white, with a dark olive-green stripe extending down the middle of the belly, often terminating behind the pectoral fins. The pectoral fins are dusky grey to pale green. Sturgeons differ from other bony fish in that they have a cartilaginous skeleton instead of bone, and large bony plates (scutes) instead of scales.

The Green Sturgeon likely lives to 60 to 70 years old, and has a maximum length of 2.1 m and maximum weight of 159 kg. Males generally mature at 15 years of age, while females mature at 17 years. Green Sturgeon is anadromous, meaning it returns to fresh water to reproduce. Spawning is believed to occur every two to five years, with females producing between 60,000 and 140,000 eggs. Juveniles stay in rivers and estuaries for several years before dispersing widely into the marine environment.

In North America, the range of the Green Sturgeon overlaps with that of the White Sturgeon which is generally similar in appearance, but varies in size. An adult White Sturgeon has a maximum length of 6.1 m and maximum weight of 816 kg, substantially larger than its Green Sturgeon counterpart.

Habitat

Green Sturgeon is found along the western coast of North America, from Mexico to southeastern Alaska. The Canadian distribution of Green Sturgeon includes the entire coast of British Columbia, as it is part of the northward oceanic migration pattern for the species along the Pacific coast of North America. There is very little information on the size of Canada's Green Sturgeon population, and population trends are unknown.

Green Sturgeon is usually found in salt water, but occupies fresh water during the spawning season. Spawning occurs primarily in three rivers in the United States . Green Sturgeon is rarely encountered in fresh water in Canada, but will inhabit the brackish waters found at the mouth of large rivers; adult and subadult Green Sturgeon aggregate in non-natal estuaries in coastal bays for periods of up to several months during the marine phase of their life cycle. The reason for this aggregation is unclear, although it has been suggested that feeding does not occur during this time, and that aggregation is related instead to physiological requirements with respect to temperature.

Recent research has identified large concentrations of Green Sturgeon near Brooks Peninsula on northwest Vancouver Island during May through June and October through November, suggesting that important overwintering habitat might exist north of Vancouver Island and south of Cape Spencer, Alaska.

Threats

Although there are currently no directed commercial and recreational fisheries for this species, Green Sturgeon is occasionally caught incidentally in commercial groundfish trawl fisheries, commercial and First Nations salmon gillnet and beach seine fisheries, as well as recreational fisheries. Additionally, habitat loss can have impacts to Green Sturgeon, although the severity of the impact on these populations is unknown. Green Sturgeon is also at risk of exposure to Persistent Bioaccumulative Toxins (PBTs) during their freshwater and estuarine phases, and the species is vulnerable to chronic and acute effects of bioaccumulation due to its long lifespan. Although contaminant levels have not been measured in Green Sturgeon, White Sturgeon has been shown to carry high contaminant loads.

Overall, the threat of accidental mortality through fisheries bycatch is higher than the threats of habitat destruction and pollution; however, this threat is likely of lower risk in Canada. The main threats to Green Sturgeon are likely higher in the US portion of its range where known Green Sturgeon spawning and rearing habitats are located. These threats include freshwater habitat impacts from dams, dikes and other industrial activities that can affect the availability and suitability of habitats for successful reproduction and rearing.

Further Information

Worldwide, the Green Sturgeon is protected by international law under the Convention on International Trade of Endangered Species (CITES) that regulates the trade of this at risk species. The Green Sturgeon is also classified as ‘near threatened' on the International Union for the Conservation of Nature's (IUCN) Red List of Threatened Species.

In Canada, the Green Sturgeon is listed under the federal Species at Risk Act (SARA) as a species of Special Concern. More information about SARA, including how it protects individual species, is available in the Species at Risk Act: A Guide. A SARA Management Plan for Green Sturgeon in Canada is currently being developed. The management plan will highlight the management objectives and strategies for maintaining sustainable population levels of the species.

Provincially, the Green Sturgeon has been placed on the ‘Red List', the British Columbia's Ministry of Environment's tool to identify conservation priorities for species considered at risk in British Columbia. Additionally, under the federal Fisheries Act's British Columbia's Sport Fishing Regulations, it is also illegal to retain any Green Sturgeon caught while sport fishing in Canada.

In the United States, Green Sturgeon has been divided into two populations: the Northern population has been listed under the US Endangered Species Act as a Species of Concern, while the Southern population has been listed as Threatened under the legislation.

Visit the Species at Risk (SARA) Public Registry Profile

What can you do?

Green Sturgeon will get the protection they need only if all Canadians work together to reduce threats. Find out more about the Green Sturgeon and be aware of human-induced threats. Do your best to reduce threats wherever possible to better protect the Green Sturgeon and its habitat. Get involved with the Habitat Stewardship Program for Species at Risk (HSP) or a conservation organization.

Text Sources:

COSEWIC. 2004. COSEWIC assessment and update status report on the Green Sturgeon Acipenser medirostris in Canada. Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada. Ottawa. Vii + 31 pp.

Lindley, S.T., Moser, M.L., Erickson, D.L., Belchik, M., Welch, D.W., Rechisky, E.L., Kelly, J.T., Heublein, J.C., and Klimley, A.P. 2008. Marine migration of North American Green Sturgeon. Trans. Am. Fish. Soc. 137(1): 182–194.

Moyle, P.B. 2002. Inland Fishes of California. University of California Press, Berkeley, California. 106-113 p.

Green Sturgeon

green sturgeon

D.W. Gotshall

Scientific Name: Acipenser medirostris
SARA Status: Special Concern (2013)
COSEWIC Status: Special Concern (2013)
Region: British Columbia

green sturgeon

D.W. Gotshall

green sturgeon

Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife

green sturgeon

Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife

green sturgeon

Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife

Did You Know?

Road trip, anyone?
Green Sturgeon can be highly migratory. A U.S. study documented these fish as travelling one thousand kilometers. That's farther than going from Quebec City to Toronto!

Related information

Esturgeon vert

Acipenser medirostris

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

L'esturgeon vert présente un corps arrondi, de petits yeux, un museau pointu et une bouche ventrale édentée avec des barbillons sensoriels. Les nageoires dorsales et pelviennes sont situées vers la nageoire caudale (queue), qui est essentiellement pointue. Les nageoires pectorales sont larges et arrondies. La couleur du corps et de la partie supérieure de la tête varie de vert foncé à vert olive, tandis que celle de la partie inférieure du corps est plutôt vert pâle. La surface ventrale est de couleur blanche, avec une bande vert olive foncé qui s'étend jusqu'au milieu du ventre, et qui s'arrête le plus souvent après les nageoires pectorales. La couleur des nageoires pectorales varie du gris sombre au vert pâle. Les esturgeons diffèrent des autres poissons osseux, car ils présentent un squelette cartilagineux et ne contiennent aucun os, et de larges plaques osseuses (scutelles) au lieu d'écailles.

L'esturgeon vert devrait vivre jusqu'à 60 – 70 ans, et atteindre une taille maximale de 2,1 m et un poids maximal de 159 kg. En général, les mâles atteignent la maturité à 15 ans, tandis que les femelles l'atteignent à 17 ans. L'esturgeon vert est une espèce anadrome, ce qui veut dire qu'elle retourne dans l'eau douce pour se reproduire. La période de frai devrait se produire tous les deux à cinq ans, et les femelles produisent de 60 000 à 140 000 œufs. Les juvéniles restent plusieurs années dans les rivières et les estuaires avant de se disperser largement dans le milieu marin.

En Amérique du Nord, l'aire de répartition de l'esturgeon vert chevauche celle de l'esturgeon blanc, qui a habituellement la même apparence, mais une taille différente. Un esturgeon blanc adulte mesure 6,1 m et pèse 816 kg au maximum, ce qui dépasse largement les caractéristiques de l'esturgeon vert.

Habitat

On trouve l'esturgeon vert le long de la côte ouest d'Amérique du Nord, du Mexique jusqu'au sud-est de l'Alaska. Au Canada, son aire de répartition comprend toute la côte de la Colombie-Britannique, car elle se trouve sur le parcours de migration océanique vers le nord des espèces se trouvant le long de la côte Pacifique d'Amérique du Nord. Il existe très peu de renseignements sur la taille de la population canadienne de l'esturgeon vert, et les tendances portant sur ces populations sont inconnues.

D'habitude, on trouve l'esturgeon vert dans l'eau de mer, mais il occupe l'eau douce pendant la période de frai. Aux États-Unis, le frai se déroule principalement dans trois rivières. Au Canada, on trouve rarement l'esturgeon vert dans l'eau douce, mais cette espèce est présente dans les eaux saumâtres se trouvant à l'embouchure des grandes rivières; les esturgeons verts adultes et subadultes se regroupent dans les estuaires non natals des baies côtières pendant plusieurs mois, pendant la phase marine de leur cycle de vie. Les raisons de ce regroupement ne sont pas connues. Cependant, il a été suggéré que cette période ne correspond pas à la phase d'alimentation, et que le regroupement est plutôt lié aux besoins physiologiques en relation avec la température.

Des études récentes ont révélé de grandes concentrations d'esturgeon vert près de la péninsule Brooks, à l'ouest de l'île de Vancouver, de mai à juin et d'octobre à novembre, ce qui laisse entendre qu'il existe probablement un habitat d'hivernage au nord de l'île de Vancouver et au sud du cap Spencer, en Alaska.

Menaces

Bien qu'il n'existe actuellement aucune pêche commerciale et récréative dirigée pour cette espèce, l'esturgeon vert est pêché accidentellement par les pêches commerciales au poisson de fond au chalut, les pêches commerciales et autochtones au saumon au filet maillant et à la senne de plage et, enfin, les pêches récréatives. De plus, la perte de l'habitat peut avoir des répercussions sur l'esturgeon vert, bien que l'étendue des effets sur ces populations soit inconnue. De plus, l'esturgeon vert est susceptible d'être exposé aux toxines bioaccumulables persistantes pendant ses phases dans l'eau douce et les estuaires, et l'espèce est vulnérable aux effets chroniques et aigus de la bioaccumulation en raison de sa durée de vie importante. Même si les niveaux de contaminants n'ont pas été mesurés chez l'esturgeon vert, on a conclu que l'esturgeon blanc contient de grandes concentrations de contaminants.

Dans l'ensemble, la menace que pose la mortalité accidentelle liée aux prises accessoires est plus importante que celle posée par la destruction de l'habitat et la pollution. Cependant, cette menace devrait être plus faible au Canada. Les principales menaces pour l'esturgeon vert devraient être plus importantes dans son aire de répartition aux États-Unis, où l'on trouve l'habitat pour le frai et l'élevage de l'esturgeon vert. Ces menaces comprennent les effets éventuels des barrages, digues et autres activités industrielles sur l'habitat dulcicole, touchant la disponibilité et la durabilité des habitats pour la reproduction et l'élevage.

Renseignements supplémentaires

À l'échelle mondiale, l'esturgeon vert est protégé par les lois internationales, en vertu de la Convention sur le commerce international des espèces de faune et de flore sauvages menacées d'extinction (CITES) qui réglemente le commerce de cette espèce en péril. L'esturgeon vert a aussi été ajouté sur la Liste rouge des espèces menacées de l'Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN) comme étant une espèce « quasi menacée ».

Au Canada, l'esturgeon vert est inscrit en vertu de la loi fédérale Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) comme étant une espèce préoccupante. De plus amples renseignements sur la LEP, y compris comment elle protège chaque espèce, sont disponibles dans le document Loi sur les espèces en péril : un guide. Un plan de gestion de l'esturgeon vert au Canada en vertu de la LEP est actuellement en cours d'élaboration. Ce plan de gestion mettra l'accent sur les objectifs et les stratégies de gestion visant le maintien de niveaux de population durables pour cette espèce.

À l'échelle provinciale, l'esturgeon vert a été inscrit sur la Liste rouge, qui est l'outil du ministère de l'Environnement de la Colombie-Britannique pour identifier les priorités de conservation pour les espèces classées comme étant en péril dans la province. De plus, en vertu du Règlement de pêche sportive de la Colombie-Britannique de la Loi sur les pêches fédérale, il est interdit de conserver tout esturgeon vert capturé dans le cadre de la pêche sportive au Canada.

Aux États-Unis, il existe deux populations d'esturgeon vert : la population du nord a été classée comme étant une espèce préoccupante en vertu de la Endangered Species Act des États-Unis, tandis que la population du sud a été classée comme étant menacée, en vertu de la loi.

Visitez le Profil du Registre public des espèces en péril (LEP).

Que pouvez-vous faire?

L'esturgeon vert obtiendra la protection dont il a besoin seulement si tous les Canadiens et Canadiennes travaillent ensemble à l'élimination des menaces. Renseignez-vous davantage sur l'esturgeon vert et soyez sensible aux menaces présentées par l'homme. Faites votre possible pour éliminer ces menaces et mieux protéger l'esturgeon vert et son habitat. Participez en joignant le Programme d'intendance de l'habitat pour les espèces en péril ou un organisme de conservation.

Sources :

COSEPAC. 2004. Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur l'esturgeon vert Acipenser medirostris au Canada. Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada Ottawa. Vii + 31 p.

Lindley, S.T., Moser, M.L., Erickson, D.L., Belchik, M., Welch, D.W., Rechisky, E.L., Kelly, J.T., Heublein, J.C., et Klimley, A.P. 2008. Marine migration of North American Green Sturgeon. Trans. Am. Fish. Soc. 137(1): 182–194.

Moyle, P.B. 2002. Inland Fishes of California. University of California Press, Berkeley, California. 106-113 p.

Esturgeon vert

esturgeon vert

D.W. Gotshall

Nom scientifique : Acipenser medirostris
Statut LEP : Préoccupante (2013)
Statut COSEPAC : Préoccupante (2013)
Région : Colombie-Britannique

esturgeon vert

D.W. Gotshall

esturgeon vert

Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife

esturgeon vert

Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife

esturgeon vert

Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife

Le saviez-vous?

Vous avez des envies de voyage?
L'esturgeon vert peut être un grand voyageur. Une étude américaine a révélé que ces poissons peuvent parcourir jusqu'à mille kilomètres. C'est plus que la distance qui sépare le Québec de Toronto!

Renseignements connexes