White Hake (Southern Gulf of St. Lawrence)

Urophycis tenuis

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

A fast-growing species that can live longer than 20 years, White hake can grow 60 to 70 centimetres in length. It has the following characteristics:

  • an elongated body with threadlike rays extending from its pelvic fins reaching past the tips of its pectoral fins;
  • a small barbel under its chin, and
  • its large mouth reaches to below its large eyes.

Contrary to its name, White hake isn't white at all. They vary in color. They are typically grey to dark purple-brown on the dorsal area, bronze to golden along their sides, and white to yellow on the belly with many tiny black spots.

Habitat

The Southern Gulf of St. Lawrence population of White hake is primarily found southwest of the Laurentian Channel.

White hake are found near the sea floor and they prefer areas with sandy or muddy bottoms. They seek depths with water temperatures ranging from 4-8º C. Larger fish generally inhabit deeper waters while small juveniles typically occupy shallow areas close to shore or over shallow offshore banks. In the Gulf of St. Lawrence, white hakes of all sizes tend to move shoreward in summer and swim to deeper water in winter.

Threats

A fishing moratorium has protected the White Hake in the southern Gulf of St. Lawrence since 1995. Since then, the Department has also implemented measures requiring smelt fishermen to release all groundfish (primarily white hake and winter flounder) from fishing gear when accidently caught as bycatch.

The primary threat to the Southern Gulf of St. Lawrence population of White Hake is natural mortality which includes seal predation.

Further Information

For more information, visit the SARA Registry.

White Hake (Southern Gulf of St. Lawrence)

White Hake – DFO Quebec Region

Photo credit: Claude Nozères, DFO

Scientific Name: Urophycis tenuis
SARA Status: No Status
COSEWIC Status: Endangered
Region: New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, Quebec

Distribution range

The map represents the location of the two White Hake populations in Canada. The southern Gulf of St. Lawrence population, referred to as DU 1 (Designatable Unit 1), is represented in red and is located in the Southern Gulf of St. Lawrence, lying between the coasts of Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Québec. The green zone represents the distribution of the Atlantic and Northern Gulf of St. Lawrence population, referred to as DU 2 (Designatable Unit 2), which extends from the southern Labrador shelf in the Northwest Atlantic to the border of the United States, excluding the southern Gulf of St. Lawrence. There is an overlap among the two White Hake populations along the southern edge of the Laurentian Channel and a small area northeast of Cape Breton Island.

Related information

Merluche blanche (sud du golfe du Saint-Laurent)

Urophycis tenuis

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

Une espèce à croissance rapide, la merluche blanche peut vivre plus de 20 ans. Elle peut atteindre jusqu'à 60 ou 70 centimètres en longueur. Elle présente les caractéristiques suivantes :

  • son corps élancé est parcouru de rayons filiformes qui s'étendent de ses nageoires inférieures jusqu'au bout de ses nageoires supérieures
  • un petit barbillon au menton
  • et une large bouche qui s'étend jusqu'en dessous des yeux.

Malgré son nom, la merluche blanche n'est pas blanche du tout. Bien que sa couleur varie, cette espèce a habituellement un dos brun ou pourpre, des côtés bronze ou un ventre blanc ou blanc-jaunâtre parsemé de petits points noirs.

Habitat

La merluche blanche du sud du golfe St-Laurent se trouve surtout dans la partie sud-ouest du canal Laurentien.

On retrouve la merluche à  proximité du fond marin et elle préfère les endroits dont les fonds sont sablonneux ou vaseux. Elle cherche les profondeurs où les températures de l'eau varient de 4 à 8º C. Les gros poissons vivent habituellement dans des eaux plus profondes tandis que les juvéniles occupent généralement des eaux peu profondes près de la côte ou sur des bancs extracôtiers peu profonds. Dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent, la merluche blanche de toutes les tailles a tendance à se déplacer vers la côte en été et à nager vers les eaux profondes en hiver.

Menaces

Un moratoire protège la merluche blanche du sud du golfe du Saint-Laurent depuis 1995. Depuis ce temps, le Ministère a également mis en place des mesures obligeant les pêcheurs d'éperlan à relâcher tous les poissons de fond (principalement la merluche blanche et la plie rouge) d'un engin de pêche lorsqu'ils sont capturés accidentellement.

La menace principale de la merluche du sud du golfe du St-Laurent est la mortalité naturelle qui comprend la prédation par les phoques.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter le Registre public des espèces en péril.

Merluche blanche (sud du golfe du Saint-Laurent)

Merluche blanche MPO – Région du Québec

Source : Claude Nozères, MPO

Nom scientifique : Urophycis tenuis
Statut selon la LEP : Aucun statut
Statut selon le COSEPAC : En voie de disparition
Région : Nouveau-Brunswick, Nouvelle-Écosse, Île-du-Prince-Édouard, Québec

Aire de répartition

La carte présente l'emplacement des deux populations de merluche blanche au Canada. La population du sud du golfe du Saint-Laurent, appelée UD 1 (unité désignable 1), est représentée en rouge et est située dans le sud du golfe du Saint-Laurent, dans une zone comprise entre les côtes de la Nouvelle-Écosse, du Nouveau-Brunswick et du Québec. La zone verte représente l'aire de répartition de la population de l'Atlantique et du nord du golfe du Saint-Laurent, appelée UD 2 (unité désignable 2), qui s'étend du sud du plateau continental du Labrador dans le nord-ouest de l'Atlantique jusqu'à la frontière des États-Unis, à l'exception du sud du golfe du Saint-Laurent. Il y a un chevauchement entre les deux populations de merluche blanche, le long de la bordure sud du chenal Laurentien et dans une petite zone au nord-est de l'île du Cap-Breton.

Renseignements connexes