Round Hickorynut

Obovaria subrotunda

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

The Round Hickorynut (Obovaria subrotunda) is one of Canada’s 54 freshwater mussel species, and is one of only two species of the genus Obovaria found in the country (both are listed as endangered). It is a small mussel, easily recognized by its almost perfectly round shape, with the following features:

  • thick, solid shell is olive-brown to dark brown in colour, with a light-coloured band along the top front surface;
  • shell is mostly smooth;
  • maximum length about 6 cm (in Canada);
  • entrally located beak (raised part at the top of the shell) curves inward and is raised well above the hinge line;
  • heavy, strong hinge teeth; and
  • the inside of the shell (nacre) is silvery-white, sometimes with a tinge of blue or pink.

Habitat

In Canada, the Round Hickorynut was historically found in western Lake Erie, Lake St. Clair and the Welland, Grand, Sydenham, Thames and Detroit rivers of Ontario. It has been lost from Lake Erie, the Detroit River and the offshore waters of Lake St. Clair due to the impact of the invasive Zebra Mussel (Dreissena polymorpha). It is no longer found in the Grand and Thames rivers and has significantly declined in the Sydenham River. Overall, the Round Hickorynut has been lost from about 90% of its historical range in Canada and is considered critically imperiled. This species is now limited to a 12 km² region of the Canadian waters of the St. Clair River delta and a 60 km reach of the East Sydenham River. In the U.S., the Round Hickorynut was historically found in 13 states, but most populations are now in decline and it has been lost from Georgia, Illinois and New York.

The Round Hickorynut lives mainly in medium- to large-sized rivers with steady moderate flows, and sand and gravel bottoms (substrates) at depths up to 2 m. However, in Ontario it has mainly been found in murky, slow-moving rivers with clay/sand or clay/gravel substrates. The Round Hickorynut is a moderately long-lived species with a lifespan of at least 10 years. Spawning likely occurs in late summer and the glochidia (the mussel’s larvae) are released the following June. Like most other freshwater mussels, the glochidia are parasitic on fish - the glochidia attach to the gills of their host fish until they reach their juvenile, free-living stage and drop off onto the substrate below. Adult mussels are sedentary and spend their lives partially or completed buried in the substrate.

The host fishes for the Round Hickorynut in Canada are the Blackside Darter (Percina maculata), Fantail Darter (Etheostoma flabellare) and Iowa Darter (Etheostoma exile).

Like all species of freshwater mussels, the Round Hickorynut filters its food from the water. Bacteria and algae are its primary food source.

Threats

Invasive Zebra Mussels (Dreissena polymorpha) compete with the Round Hickorynut for food and also attach to its shells by the hundreds-to-thousands, killing the Round Hickorynut by interfering with its ability to feed, breathe and move. Intensive agriculture and increasing urbanization also threaten remaining populations, particularly heavy loadings of silt, sediments, nutrients and pollution that destroy mussel habitat, clog their gills and reduce water quality.

Further Information

Under SARA, a recovery strategy and an action plan have been developed to prevent the loss of the Round Hickorynut in Canada. Research, land and water stewardship, monitoring and awareness activities are underway. Provincial legislation regulating agricultural nutrients and protecting clean water in Ontario have been enacted, while habitat needed to recover the Round Hickorynut is now legally protected under SARA.

For more information, visit the Species at Risk (SARA) Public Registry Profile.

Round Hickorynut

Hickory Nut (Obovaria subrotunda)
Obovaria subrotunda
Photo credit: Environment Canada

Scientific Name: Obovaria subrotunda
SARA Status: Endangered
COSEWIC Status
: Endangered
Region: Ontario

Round Hickorynut distribution as described in the following paragraphs

Map showing the Round Hickorynut distribution in Canada. The map indicates areas of current and historic sites in southern Ontario.

Did You Know?

Freshwater mussels are molluscs, soft-bodied animals without a skeleton (invertebrates), that live on the bottom of streams, rivers, lakes and ponds. They use a muscular foot to burrow and crawl and have a pair of hinged shells. Mussels are filter feeders — nature’s water purifiers — and are food for other wildlife like fishes, otters, mink, muskrats and some birds. They are also among the most endangered creatures in the world.

Round hickorynuts

Round hickorynuts

Related information

Obovarie ronde

Obovaria subrotunda

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

L’obovarie ronde (Obovaria subrotunda) fait partie des 54 espèces de moules d’eau douce du Canada, mais c’est l’une des deux seules espèces du genre Obovaria trouvée ici (les deux étant inscrites sur la liste des espèces en voie de disparition). Il s’agit d’une petite moule facilement distinguable par sa forme ronde presque parfaite qui présente les caractéristiques suivantes :

  • Sa coquille est épaisse et solide de couleur brun foncé, caractérisée par une bande pâle sur la partie supérieure du devant;
  • Sa coquille est surtout lisse;
  • Sa longueur maximale est d’environ 6 cm (au Canada);
  • Son sommet (partie en relief sur le dessus de la coquille), qui situé au centre et est incurvé vers l’intérieur, s’élève bien au-dessus de la ligne de charnière;
  • Les dents de la charnière sont épaisses et fortes;
  • L’intérieur de sa coquille, c’est-à-dire la nacre, est blanc argenté, parfois teinté de bleu ou de rose.

Habitat

Autrefois, l’obovarie ronde était présente au Canada dans le bassin ouest du lac Érié, dans le lac Sainte-Claire et dans les rivières Welland, Grand, Sydenham, Thames et Détroit. Elle a disparu du lac Érié, de la rivière Detroit et des eaux du large du lac Sainte-Claire en raison de la présence des moules zébrées envahissantes (Dreissena polymorpha). Elle a disparu des rivières Grand et Thames, et sa population a décliné de façon spectaculaire dans la rivière Sydenham. De manière générale, l’obovarie ronde a disparu de près de 90 % de son aire de répartition historique au Canada et elle est considérée comme étant gravement en péril. En effet, on ne la signale plus maintenant que dans un périmètre de 12 km² des eaux canadiennes du delta de la rivière Sainte-Claire et sur 60 km de la rivière Sydenham. Auparavant, aux États-Unis, l’obovarie ronde se trouvait dans 13 États, mais la plupart de ses populations sont maintenant en déclin et l’espèce a disparu des États de la Géorgie, de l’Illinois et de New York.

L’obovarie ronde vit en général dans les rivières de taille moyenne à grande au débit modéré et régulier ainsi que dans les substrats de sable et de gravier à des profondeurs allant jusqu’à 2 m. Cependant, en Ontario, elle a été observée principalement dans des rivières aux eaux troubles et à débit lent, où le substrat est constitué d’argile et de sable ou d’argile et de gravier. C’est une espèce dont la durée de vie est modérément longue, soit au moins 10 ans. Le frai a lieu à la fin de l’été et les glochidies (larves) sont libérées au mois de mai ou juin suivant. Comme c’est le cas pour la plupart des autres moules d’eau douce, les glochidies de l’obovarie ronde mènent une vie parasitaire sur les poissons, puisque les glochidies s’accrochent aux branchies du poisson hôte et y demeurent jusqu’à ce qu’elles deviennent des juvéniles autonomes, après quoi elles se détachent pour tomber sur le substrat. Les adultes sont sédentaires et passent leur vie partiellement ou complètement enfouis dans le substrat.

Au Canada, les poissons hôtes de l’obovarie ronde sont le dard noir (Percina maculata), le dard barré (Etheostoma flabellare) et le dard à ventre jaune (Etheostoma exile).

Comme toutes les espèces de moules d’eau douce, l’obovarie ronde filtre la nourriture présente dans l’eau et se nourrit surtout de bactéries et d’algues.

Menaces

Les moules zébrées (Dreissena polymorpha) et l’obovarie ronde se disputent la nourriture, et les moules zébrées s’accrochent par centaines, voire par milliers, à la coquille des obovaries rondes et finissent par les tuer en nuisant à leur mécanisme d’alimentation, à leur respiration et à leur capacité de se déplacer. L’agriculture intensive et l’urbanisation croissante menacent également les populations restantes de l’obovarie ronde, en particulier les lourdes charges de limon, de sédiments, d’éléments nutritifs et de polluants, qui détruisent son habitat, obstruent ses branchies et réduisent la qualité de l’eau.

Renseignements supplémentaires

En vertu de la LEP, un programme de rétablissement et un plan d'action ont été élaborés dans le but d'empêcher la disparition de l'obovarie ronde au Canada. Des activités de recherche, de gérance des terres et de l'eau, de surveillance et de sensibilisation sont en cours. Une législation provinciale qui réglemente les nutriments agricoles et protège l'eau saine en Ontario a été promulguée, alors que l'habitat nécessaire au rétablissement de l'obovarie ronde est désormais protégé légalement en vertu de la LEP.

Pour un complément d’information, consultez le Profil du Registre public des espèces en péril (LEP).

Obovarie ronde

Obovarie ronde (Obovaria subrotunda)

Obovaria subrotunda
Crédit photo : Environnement Canada

Nom scientifique : Pleurobema sintoxia
Statut selon la LEP : En voie de disparition
Statut selon COSEPAC : En voie de disparition
Région : Ontario

répartition de l'obovarie ronde telle que décrite dans les paragraphes suivants

La carte montre la répartition d’un obovarie ronde. La carte indique les sites courants et historiques dans la sud-ouest de l’Ontario.

Le saviez-vous?

Les moules d’eau douce sont des mollusques au corps mou sans squelette, donc des invertébrés, qui vivent au fond des ruisseaux, des rivières, des lacs et des étangs. Elles utilisent leur pied musculeux pour creuser et nager et elles sont dotées d’une paire de coquilles articulées. Ce sont des organismes filtreurs, c’est-à-dire des purificateurs d’eau naturelle, qui servent de nourriture à d’autres espèces de la faune comme les poissons, les loutres, les visons, les rats musqués et certains oiseaux. Les moules d’eau douce sont aussi l’une des espèces les plus menacées de disparition sur terre.

obovarie ronde

obovarie ronde

Renseignements connexes