Killer Whale - Northeast Pacific (offshore)

Orcinus orca

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

The Killer Whale (Orcinus orca) is the largest member of the dolphin family. Its size, distinctive black and white markings, and tall dorsal fin characterize this unmistakable species. Adult males may reach lengths of eight to nine metres and weigh up to five tonnes; females are smaller, measuring at maximum about seven metres and four tonnes. The average length of adult Killer Whales in Canadian Pacific waters, however, is smaller than these maximum lengths.

Three distinct groups, or ecotypes, of Killer Whale inhabit the waters off British Columbia, each exhibiting different prey preferences, dialects and social organization. The Resident, Bigg's (also called Transient) and Offshore Killer Whale ecotypes are believed to be socially and genetically isolated, despite sharing the same waters. Resident Killer Whales feed exclusively on fish (primarily salmon) and cephalopods, while Bigg's Killer Whales feed primarily on marine mammals. Offshore Killer Whales are the least understood of the three ecotypes, but are believed to primarily consume fish, with shark species comprising a significant part of their diet.

The first sight of a Killer Whale is usually of its iconic triangular dorsal fin, which can reach up to 1.8 metres in height on an adult male. In females and young Killer Whales, the dorsal fin is curved and less than one metre tall. Offshore Killer Whales tend to be smaller and have more nicks and notches in their dorsal fins than the Resident and Bigg's Killer Whale ecotypes.

Offshore Killer Whales have a matrilineal social structure similar to Resident and Bigg's Killer Whales, but are unique in that they are very sociable with each other, across the entire population. They are mostly encountered in large aggregations, often in groups of 50 to more than 100 individuals. In 2013, the population of Offshore Killer Whales was estimated to consist of approximately 300 individuals.

Habitat

Killer Whales are the most widely-distributed mammals in the world. Although they are more commonly found in areas associated with high ocean productivity, in the mid to high latitudes, they can tolerate temperature ranges from polar to tropical waters. In Canada, Killer Whales are found in all three oceans, but are less common in Atlantic and Arctic regions. In British Columbia, they have been observed throughout almost all marine waters, including long inlets, narrow passages and deep embayments, as well as occasionally up brackish river channels.

Offshore Killer Whales appear to be the widest-ranging Killer Whale ecotype in the northeast Pacific Ocean; those identified in British Columbia have also been seen from the Bering Sea to southern California. The population is known as ‘Offshore' due to its range relative to the coast; they are infrequently encountered in inshore waters, and predominantly inhabit continental shelf-edge and outer Canadian Pacific waters.

Perhaps the most important aspect of habitat for Offshore Killer Whales is the abundance and availability of their prey. In British Columbia, Offshore Killer Whales are known to prey on Pacific Sleeper Shark, Blue Shark, North Pacific Spiny Dogfish, Chinook Salmon, and Pacific Halibut. The acoustic environment is also an important element of their habitat; an ocean quiet enough for the transmission and reception of their echolocation clicks and vocalizations is essential for navigation, foraging, cultural and social purposes.

Threats

While a variety of threats may directly or indirectly impact Offshore Killer Whales, they are particularly vulnerable to harmful events (e.g. oil spill, underwater explosion) as they are typically found in large groups, where at least one third of the population may be present in a given time and place.

The greatest threats to Offshores include a reduction in prey availability, exposure to contaminants from prey, toxic spills, and acute acoustic disturbance (e.g. mid-frequency active sonar, seismic surveying, marine construction). Chronic acoustic disturbance, physical disturbance, interactions with commercial fisheries and aquaculture, direct killing and climate change are other human-related threats that have potential to jeopardize the Offshore Killer Whale population.

Natural factors may also impact the survival of Offshore Killer Whales: diseases; fixed dietary preferences and corresponding decreases in prey supply; inbreeding depression (i.e. the genetic deterioration of the population due to breeding of related individuals); tooth wear, likely caused by eating very abrasive shark skin; and mass stranding or natural entrapment.

Further Information

What's being done?

Killer Whales are listed on Appendix II of the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES), which sets controls on the international trade and movement of species that have been, or may be, threatened due to commercial exploitation. International trade of Killer Whales, or parts thereof, by any member countries of CITES requires export permits from the country of origin. Canada is a member of CITES.

The Offshore Killer Whale population is listed as Threatened and protected under Canada's Species at Risk Act (SARA). They are also protected by the Fisheries Act's Marine Mammal Regulations. These regulations make it an offence to kill, harm or harass Offshore Killer Whales. Fisheries and Oceans Canada has collaborated with other organizations to develop whale watching guidelines, and additional public outreach measures are being taken to minimize potentially negative interactions between boats and whales.

Because they were previously listed as Special Concern under SARA, a Management Plan for the Offshore Killer Whale was finalized in December 2009. A recovery strategy is being developed, reflecting its updated Threatened status.

What can you do?

Killer Whales will get the protection they need only if all Canadians work together to reduce threats. Learn more about Killer Whales and be aware of man-made threats to their survival. Do your best to reduce these threats wherever possible to protect Offshore Killer Whale's habitat. Get involved with the Habitat Stewardship Program (HSP), the Aboriginal Fund for Species at Risk (AFSAR), or a conservation organization.

Join a stewardship program such as the British Columbia Cetacean Sightings Network. The Network's main goals are to identify key habitats and help reduce threats. The Network also solicits reports of whale, dolphin and turtle sightings from mariners along British Columbia's coast. Find out more.

While out on the water, follow the ‘Be Whale Wise: Marine Wildlife Guidelines for Boaters, Paddlers, and Viewers', to reduce negative interactions between boats and whales. You can also join the British Columbia Killer Whale Adoption Program, operated in conjunction with the Vancouver Aquarium. Find out more.

Species at Risk Public Registry Profile

Killer Whale - Northeast Pacific (offshore)

Killer whale

Killer Whale - Orcinus orca
Photo credit: B. Peters © Fisheries and Oceans Canada

Scientific Name: Orcinus orca
SARA Status: Threatened (2011)
COSEWIC Status: Threatened (2008)
Region: Pacific Ocean

© Shutterstock

© Shutterstock

Did You Know?

Shark-eaters

Though their exact diet remains unknown, Offshore Killer Whales seem to mostly prey on sharks. They have been observed eating Pacific Sleeper Sharks, Blue Sharks and North Pacific Spiny Dogfish. While these species provide valuable sources of lipids (fats) that are important for the whales' sustenance, it is hypothesized that sandpaper-like shark skin is responsible for the extreme tooth wear seen in Offshore Killer Whales – sometimes worn down to the gums. 

Related information

Épaulard - Pacifique Nord-Est (population du large)

Orcinus orca

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

L'épaulard (Orcinus orca) est l'espèce la plus imposante de la famille des dauphins. Sa taille, ses tâches noires et blanches distinctives et sa grande nageoire dorsale font qu'on ne peut le confondre avec aucun autre mammifère marin. Les mâles adultes mesurent entre huit et neuf mètres de long et pèsent jusqu'à cinq tonnes; les femelles ont un plus petit gabarit : elles atteignent environ sept mètres et quatre tonnes au maximum. Toutefois, dans les eaux canadiennes du Pacifique, la taille moyenne des épaulards adultes est inférieure à ces longueurs maximales.

Trois groupes (ou écotypes) distincts d'épaulards sont présents dans les eaux au large de la Colombie-Britannique, qui ont chacun des préférences en matière de proies, un dialecte et une organisation sociale différents. On pense que les épaulards résidents, les épaulards de Bigg (aussi appelés épaulards migrateurs) et les épaulards du large (aussi appelés épaulards hauturiers) sont des écotypes distincts sur les plans social et génétique, bien qu'ils partagent les mêmes eaux. Les épaulards résidents se nourrissent exclusivement de poisson (principalement de saumon) et de céphalopodes alors que les épaulards de Bigg se nourrissent avant tout de mammifères marins. Les épaulards du large sont les moins connus des trois écotypes, mais ils consommeraient principalement du poisson, les espèces de requin constituant une part importante de leur alimentation.

C'est souvent la nageoire dorsale triangulaire emblématique de l'épaulard, qui peut atteindre 1,8 mètre de hauteur chez les mâles adultes, qu'on aperçoit en premier lieu. Chez les femelles et les jeunes, cette nageoire est incurvée et mesure moins d'un mètre de haut. En règle générale, les épaulards du large sont plus petits et leur nageoire dorsale présente davantage d'entailles et d'encoches que celle des épaulards résidents et des épaulards de Bigg.

Les épaulards du large ont une structure sociale matrilinéaire semblable à celle des épaulards résidents et des épaulards de Bigg, mais leur grande sociabilité entre eux à l'échelle de la population les rend uniques. Le plus souvent, ils vivent en grands groupes comptant de 50 à plus de 100 individus. En 2013, on a estimé que la population d'épaulards du large comptait environ 300 animaux.

Habitat

Les épaulards sont les mammifères qui ont la plus vaste aire de répartition du monde. On les observe plus souvent dans les zones de forte productivité de l'océan, à des latitudes moyennes à élevées, mais ils peuvent tolérer une amplitude thermique allant des eaux polaires aux eaux tropicales. Au Canada, les épaulards sont présents dans les trois océans, mais on les trouve moins communément dans les régions de l'Atlantique et de l'Arctique. En Colombie-Britannique, on les a observés dans presque toutes les eaux marines, dont les longs bras de mer, les passages étroits et les échancrures profondes, et parfois aussi dans les chenaux de rivière saumâtres.

Les épaulards du large sont l'écotype d'épaulard qui a la plus vaste aire de répartition dans le nord-est de l'océan Pacifique; ceux qui ont été repérés en Colombie-Britannique ont également été observés de la mer de Béring au sud de la Californie. Cette population est dite hauturière en raison de sa répartition par rapport à la côte. Elle est rarement présente dans les eaux côtières et vit principalement au bord du plateau continental et dans les eaux canadiennes du large.

L'aspect le plus important de l'habitat des épaulards du large est peut-être l'abondance et la disponibilité de leurs proies. En Colombie-Britannique, on sait que les épaulards du large chassent la laimargue du Pacifique, le requin bleu, l'aiguillat commun du Pacifique Nord, le saumon quinnat et le flétan du Pacifique. L'environnement acoustique est également un élément important de leur habitat; ils ont besoin d'un océan suffisamment calme pour la transmission et la réception de leurs vocalisations et de leurs clics d'écholocalisation qui leur servent à s'orienter, à chercher la nourriture, ainsi que pour leurs activités culturelles et sociales.

Menaces

Diverses menaces sont susceptibles de nuire directement ou indirectement aux épaulards du large, mais ils sont particulièrement vulnérables aux événements nocifs (p. ex., déversement de pétrole, explosion sous-marine) étant donné qu'ils font habituellement partie de groupes de grande taille et que de ce fait au moins un tiers de la population est susceptible d'être présent à un endroit et un moment donnés.

Parmi les principales menaces pesant sur les épaulards du large, citons la baisse de l'abondance des proies, l'exposition aux contaminants par l'intermédiaire des proies, les déversements de substances toxiques et les perturbations acoustiques aiguës (p. ex., sonar actif de moyenne fréquence, relevés sismiques, construction en milieu marin). Les perturbations acoustiques chroniques, les perturbations physiques, les interactions avec la pêche commerciale et l'aquaculture, la mise à mort directe et le changement climatique sont d'autres menaces anthropiques qui pourraient mettre en danger la population d'épaulard du large.

Les facteurs naturels peuvent aussi avoir un effet sur la survie des épaulards du large : maladies, préférences alimentaires fixes qui font diminuer la quantité de proies, dépression consanguine (c.-à-d. la détérioration génétique de la population en raison de la reproduction entre individus apparentés), usure de la dentition probablement due à la consommation de la peau des requins, très abrasive, et échouement massif ou piégeage naturel.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Les mesures qui sont prises

Les épaulards figurent à l'annexe II de la Convention sur le commerce international des espèces de faune et de flore sauvages menacées d'extinction (CITES), qui régit le commerce international et le transport des espèces qui sont, ou pourraient être, menacées par suite de l'exploitation commerciale. Le commerce international d'épaulards, ou de parties de celui-ci, par tout pays signataire de la CITES nécessite un permis d'exportation délivré par le pays d'origine. Le Canada a signé la CITES.

La population d'épaulards du large est inscrite en tant qu'espèce menacée et protégée en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP). Elle est également protégée par la Réglementation des mammifères marins de la Loi sur les pêches. Cette Réglementation stipule que quiconque tue, blesse ou importune un épaulard du large commet une infraction. Pêches et Océans Canada a collaboré avec d'autres organisations pour élaborer des lignes directrices sur l'observation des baleines et mène actuellement des activités supplémentaires de sensibilisation du public en vue de minimiser les interactions potentiellement négatives entre les bateaux et les baleines.

Comme les épaulards du large étaient déjà inscrits en tant qu'espèce préoccupante en vertu de la LEP, un Plan de gestion de l'épaulard du large a été mis au point en décembre 2009. On élabore actuellement un programme de rétablissement correspondant à son nouveau statut d'espèce menacée.

Que pouvez-vous faire?

Les épaulards obtiendront la protection dont ils ont besoin seulement si les Canadiens travaillent ensemble à réduire les menaces. Renseignez-vous davantage sur l'épaulard et soyez sensible aux menaces que l'homme fait peser sur sa survie. Faites votre possible pour atténuer ces menaces et protéger ainsi l'habitat essentiel de l'épaulard du large. Engagez-vous auprès du Programme d'intendance de l'habitat, du Fonds autochtone pour les espèces en péril (FAEP) ou d'un autre organisme de conservation.

Participez à un programme d'intendance tel que le réseau d'observation de cétacés de la Colombie-Britannique. Les principaux objectifs du réseau sont de repérer les habitats essentiels et d'aider à atténuer les menaces. Le réseau demande également aux navigateurs circulant le long de la côte de la Colombie-Britannique de leur signaler toute observation de baleine, de dauphin et de tortue. Pour en savoir davantage.

Quand vous êtes sur l'eau, suivez le document « Respectez les baleines – Directives concernant la faune marine à l'intention des plaisanciers, des pagayeurs et des observateurs » afin de réduire les interactions négatives entre les bateaux et les baleines. Vous pouvez également vous inscrire au programme « Adopt a Killer Whale » (« Adoptez un épaulard ») de la Colombie-Britannique, administré en collaboration avec l'Aquarium de Vancouver. Pour en savoir davantage.

Profil du Registre public des espèces en péril

Épaulard - Pacifique Nord-Est (population du large)

Épaulard

Épaulard - Orcinus orca
Crédit photo : B. Peters © Pêches et Océans Canada

Nom scientifique : Orcinus orca
Statut LEP : Espèce menacée (2011)
Statut COSEPAC : Espèce menacée (2008)
Région : Océan Pacifique

© Shutterstock

© Shutterstock

Le saviez-vous?

Mangeurs de requin

Bien qu'on ne connaisse pas exactement la composition de leur alimentation, les épaulards du large semblent chasser principalement les requins. On sait qu'ils mangent les laimargues du Pacifique, les requins bleus et les aiguillats communs du Pacifique Nord. Ces espèces constituent de précieuses sources de lipides (matière grasse) qui sont importants pour la subsistance des épaulards. Néanmoins, on soupçonne que la peau des requins, qui a une texture semblable à celle du papier abrasif, est responsable de l'usure extrême des dents (parfois jusqu'aux gencives) que l'on observe sur les épaulards du large.

Renseignements connexes