Killer Whale (Northeast Pacific Southern Resident Population)

Orcinus orca

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

The Killer Whale is the largest member of the dolphin family. Its size, distinctive black and white markings, and tall dorsal fin make it easy to distinguish from other whales. Usually the first glimpse of a Killer Whale will be its iconic 1 to 2 metre tall dorsal fin slicing through the water.  Adult males may reach overall lengths of eight to nine metres, and weigh up to five tonnes; females are about 20% smaller. Based on differences in their dorsal fins and saddle patches (the light patch behind a Killer Whale's dorsal fin), researchers can individually identify each Killer Whale.

Three distinct groups, or ecotypes, of Killer Whale are found in Canadian Pacific waters, each having different prey preferences, vocal calls and social organization. These ecotypes are: Transient (also known as Bigg's), Offshore and Resident Killer Whales. The three ecotypes are socially and genetically isolated from one another, despite sharing the same waters. The Resident Killer Whale ecotype is further divided into Northern and Southern populations. Although these two populations overlap in range, they do not interact, and genetic studies indicate that they do not interbreed.

Resident Killer Whales are some of the most thoroughly studied whales in the world. Over 40 years of research has helped us understand their biology, population dynamics and life history. Both males and females reach sexual maturity at about 15 years of age. The gestation period (pregnancy) of Killer Whales is typically 15 to 18 months, and the interval between calving is around five years. The average life expectancy is 50 years for females and 30 years for males. Given the life history of Resident Killer Whales, the greatest rate at which the population can increase is only three to four per cent annually.

The Southern Resident Killer Whale population has fluctuated between 70 and 99 individuals since 1976, and consisted of 76 members in 2017.  Because of their declining population size and small number they are currently facing imminent threats to their survival and recovery.

Resident Killer Whales are highly social animals and live in distinct family groups called matrilines. Matrilines are usually led by the oldest female family member and are made up of her offspring, and the offspring of her daughters. Both male and female Resident Killer Whales stay with their natal group for life. The Southern Resident Killer Whale population consists of three groups of related matrilines, called pods (J pod, K pod, and L pod). At certain times, pods will join together to create large groups, called “super pods.”

Southern Resident Killer Whales use echolocation to locate their prey. These Killer Whales, like Northern Resident Killer Whales, feed primarily on salmon, specializing on Chinook (Onchorhynchus tshawytscha) and Chum (O. keta).

Habitat

The known range of the Southern Resident Killer Whale extends from southeastern Alaska to central California. During the summer months these killer whales concentrate off the southern end of Vancouver Island and northern Washington State, and are frequently sighted in Haro Strait, Georgia Strait and the Strait of Juan de Fuca.

One of the most important features of habitat for the Southern Resident Killer Whale is the availability of their prey, Chinook and Chum Salmon. Chinook Salmon is the predominant prey species taken by Resident Killer Whale populations during May to August, but Chum Salmon becomes an important component of their diet from September to October. The acoustic environment is also an important element of their habitat. An ocean quiet enough for using echolocation clicks and vocalizations is essential for navigation, hunting, cultural and social purposes.

Threats

The greatest threats to Resident Killer Whales are reduction in prey availability, contaminants, and acoustic and physical disturbance; ship strikes have also been recently identified as a threat.  Exposure to toxic spills, interactions with fisheries and aquaculture, and climate change are other human-related threats that may negatively impact the Southern Resident Killer Whale population.

Natural factors may also impact the survival of these whales. These include: diseases, narrow prey selection, complex social structure, late sexual maturity and low birth rate, inbreeding, and mass stranding or natural entrapment.

How current threats may act together to impact Southern Resident Killer Whales is not fully understood, but in other species, multiple stressors have been shown to have strong negative and often lethal effects, particularly when animals carry elevated levels of environmental contaminants.

Further Information

The Recovery Strategy for the Northern and Southern Resident Killer Whales (Orcinus orca) in Canada, published in 2011, includes an overview of threats, recovery objectives and broad strategies to aid in the recovery of these populations, and identifies partial critical habitat that was protected by a SARA Critical Habitat Order in 2009. The objectives outlined in the recovery strategy formed the basis for the 2017 Action Plan for the Northern and Southern Resident Killer Whale (Orcinus orca) in Canada, which describes specific activities and measures needed for recovery.

An amendment to the Recovery Strategy for Northern and Southern Resident Killer Whales is currently underway. This amendment incorporates additional important habitat located off southwestern Vancouver Island to be considered as critical habitat for the Southern Resident population, and provides additional description of the features, functions, and attributes of all Resident Killer Whale critical habitat. This area of special importance to be considered for critical habitat was identified in a 2017 Canadian Science Advisory Secretariat Science Advisory Report. As new information on this process becomes available it will be posted to the SARA Public Registry.

In 2016, the Reporton the Progress of Recovery Strategy implementation for the Northern and Southern Resident Killer Whales (Orcinus orca) in Canada for the period 2009 - 2014 was published, summarizing initial progress toward achieving recovery objectives in the recovery strategy.

In 2017, under the Government of Canada's Oceans Protection Plan, a science-based Review of the Effectiveness of Recovery Measures for Southern Resident Killer Whales identified and recommended five new recovery activities to address threats to the population. These activities focused on management of fisheries to consider Southern Resident Killer Whale prey needs, and mitigation of contaminants and disturbance (acoustic and physical) threats.

Disturbance (harassment) of marine mammals, including Killer Whales, is prohibited by the Marine Mammal Regulations established under Canada's Fisheries Act and by US federal legislation. Government and non-governmental organizations reduce vessel disturbance through boater outreach and education programs as well as on-water enforcement and vessel monitoring, particularly in Resident Killer Whale critical habitats.

This species isprotected under the federal Species at Risk Act (SARA). As such, it is prohibited to kill, harm, harass, capture,take, possess, buy, sell, or trade any individual Southern Resident Killer Whale.

Since 2009, critical habitat for the Southern Resident Killer Whale has been protected against destruction under a SARA Critical Habitat Order.

More information about SARA, including how it protects individual species, is available on the Species at Risk Public Registry.Additionally, the Marine Mammal Regulations and Pollution Prevention Provisions of the Fisheries Act provide protection to this species.

To find out if this species is protected by provincial or territorial laws, consult the provinces' and territories' website.

What can you do?

Killer Whales will get the protection they need only if all Canadians work together to reduce threats. Find out more about Killer Whales and be aware of man-made threats to Southern Resident Killer Whales such as reduced prey and feeding opportunities, acoustic and physical disturbance, contaminants, and collisions with boats.  Report marine mammal incidents including: injury, entanglement or harassment to the Fisheries and Oceans Canada reporting line at 1-800-465-4336. Find out more.

Get to know where Southern Resident Killer Whale critical habitat is located, understand the activities likely to result in the destruction of critical habitat and do your best to reduce your impact in these areas. Following the Be WhaleWise: Marine Wildlife Guidelines for Boaters, Paddlers and Viewers and viewing guidelines can ensure that any disturbance from your activities on the water is minimized.

Join a stewardship program such as the B.C. Cetacean Sightings Network. The Network's main goals are to identify key habitats and help reduce threats to whales. The network also solicits cetacean sighting reports from mariners along British Columbia's coast. Find out more.

You can also join the British Columbia Adopt a Killer Whale Adoption program, run in conjunction with the Vancouver Aquarium. Find out more.

Killer Whale (Northeast Pacific Southern Resident Population)

Killer Whale. Photo credit: Jared Towers.

Killer Whale. Photo credit: Jared Towers.

Scientific name: Orcinus orca
SARA Status: Endangered
COSEWIC Status: Endangered (November 2008)
Region: Pacific Ocean

Region map

Regions: Pacific Ocean

Regions: Pacific Ocean

Killer whale. Copyright: Shutterstock.

Killer whale. © Shutterstock.

Did You Know?

It is common for Resident Killer Whales to share food, even a single salmon, among members of their matrilines. That is a close family!

Killer Whale. Photo credit: Cetacean Research Program, DFO.

Killer Whale. Photo credit: Cetacean Research Program, DFO.

Related information

Épaulard (population résidente du sud du Pacifique Nord-Est)

Orcinus orca

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

L'épaulard est le plus grand membre de la famille des dauphins. Sa taille, sa coloration particulière noire et blanche et sa grande nageoire dorsale permettent de le distinguer facilement des autres baleines. En général, la première apparition d'un épaulard est son emblématique nageoire dorsale d'un à deux mètres de haut fendant les flots. Les mâles adultes peuvent atteindre une longueur totale de huit à neuf mètres et peser jusqu'à cinq tonnes ; les femelles sont environ 20 % plus petites. Les chercheurs parviennent à identifier chaque épaulard individuellement à partir des différences dans leurs nageoires dorsales, et leur tache en forme de selle (la tache claire derrière la nageoire dorsale de l'épaulard).

Trois groupes (ou écotypes) distincts d'épaulards sont présents dans les eaux canadiennes du Pacifique. Ils ont chacun des préférences en matière de proies ainsi qu'un dialecte et une organisation sociale différents. Ces écotypes sont les suivants : les épaulards migrateurs (aussi appelés épaulards de Bigg), les épaulards du large et les épaulards résidents. Ces trois écotypes sont socialement et génétiquement isolés les uns des autres, bien qu'ils fréquentent les mêmes eaux. L'écotype d'épaulards résidents est lui-même divisé en deux populations distinctes : les épaulards résidents du nord et les épaulards résidents du sud. Bien que leurs aires de répartition se recoupent, ces deux populations n'interagissent pas et les études génétiques montrent qu'elles ne se croisent pas.

L'épaulard résident est l'une des baleines les plus étudiées au monde. Plus de quarante années de recherche nous ont aidés à comprendre sa biologie, la dynamique de ses populations et leur cycle biologique. Les mâles et les femelles atteignent la maturité sexuelle à 15 ans environ. La période de gestation (grossesse) de l'épaulard est généralement de 15 à 18 mois, et l'intervalle entre les vêlages est d'à peu près cinq ans. L'espérance de vie moyenne est de 50 ans pour les femelles et de 30 ans pour les mâles. Compte tenu du cycle biologique des épaulards résidents, le meilleur taux de croissance annuel de la population est de trois à quatre pour cent. La population d'épaulards résidents du sud a fluctué entre 70 et 99 individus depuis 1976 et elle était composée de 76 membres en 2017.

La population d'épaulards résidents du sud a fluctué entre 70 et 99 individus depuis 1976 et comptait 76 membres en 2017. Ils sont actuellement confrontés à des menaces imminentes pour leur survie et leur rétablissement du fait de la taille de la population en déclin et d'un nombre réduit d'individus.

Les épaulards résidents sont des animaux très sociaux qui vivent en groupes familiaux distincts appelés lignages matrilinéaires. Les lignages matrilinéaires sont généralement dirigés par la femelle adulte la plus âgée de la famille et sont composés de la progéniture de cette dernière et de celle de ses filles. Les épaulards résidents mâles et femelles restent avec leur groupe natal toute leur vie. La population d'épaulards résidents du sud comprend trois lignages matrilinéaires apparentés appelés groupes (groupe J, groupe K, groupe L). À certains moments, des groupes se réunissent pour créer de grands groupes, aussi appelés « super-bancs ».

Les épaulards résidents du sud utilisent l'écholocalisation pour repérer leurs proies. Comme les épaulards résidents du nord, ils se nourrissent principalement de saumon et sont des prédateurs spécialisés du saumon quinnat (Onchorhynchus tshawytscha) et kéta (O. keta).

Habitat

L'aire de répartition connue de l'épaulard résident du sud va du sud-est de l'Alaska au centre de la Californie. Au cours des mois d'été, ces épaulards se concentrent au large de la pointe sud de l'île de Vancouver et du nord de l'état de Washington et sont fréquemment observés dans les détroits de Haro, de Géorgie et de Juan de Fuca.

L'une des caractéristiques les plus importantes de l'habitat des épaulards résidents du sud est l'abondance et la disponibilité de leurs proies, le saumon quinnat et le saumon kéta. Le saumon quinnat est la proie de prédilection de mai à août, mais le saumon kéta devient une composante importante de leur régime alimentaire de septembre à octobre. L'environnement acoustique est également un élément important de l'habitat. Il est essentiel que l'océan soit suffisamment silencieux pour que les épaulards résidents puissent envoyer et recevoir leurs clics d'écholocalisation et leurs vocalisations pour se déplacer, chasser ou pour leur activités culturelles et sociales.

Menaces

Les plus grandes menaces qui pèsent sur les épaulards résidents du sud sont la diminution des proies disponibles, les contaminants environnementaux (directs et indirects) et les perturbations acoustiques et physiques ; les collisions avec les navires ont été identifiées récemment comme une menace. L'exposition aux déversements toxiques, les interactions avec les pêches et l'aquaculture et les changements climatiques sont d'autres menaces anthropiques qui pourraient avoir un impact négatif sur la population d'épaulards résidents du sud.

Des facteurs naturels peuvent également peser sur la survie de ces baleines : les maladies, le choix restreint de proies, la structure sociale complexe, la maturité sexuelle tardive et le faible taux de naissance, la consanguinité et les échouements en masse ou les piégeages naturels.

On ne comprend pas encore très bien comment les menaces actuelles s'exercent ensembles sur les épaulards du sud. Cependant plusieurs facteurs de stress ayant des effets négatifs importants et souvent mortels ont été observés chez d'autres espèces, notamment lorsque les animaux présentent des concentrations élevées de contaminants environnementaux.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Le Programme de rétablissement des épaulards résidents (Orcinus orca) du nord et du sud (publié en 2011) présente un aperçu des menaces, des objectifs de rétablissement et des stratégies générales visant à faciliter le rétablissement de ces populations et désigne l'habitat essentiel partiel qui a été protégé par un arrêté en conseil visant la protection de l'habitat essentiel pris en vertu de la LEP en 2009. Les objectifs énoncés dans la stratégie de rétablissement constituent la base du Plan d'action de 2017 pour l'épaulard résident du Nord et du Sud (Orcinus orca) au Canada qui décrit les activités et les mesures précises nécessaires au rétablissement.

Une modification au programme de rétablissement des épaulards résidents du nord et du sud est actuellement en cours. Cette modification incorpore un autre habitat important situé au sud-ouest de l'île de Vancouver afin qu'il soit envisagé comme habitat essentiel pour la population résidente du sud, elle fournit une description supplémentaire des caractéristiques, des fonctions et des paramètres de tous les habitats essentiels de l'épaulard résident. Cette zone, qui revêt une importance particulière pour qu'elle soit envisagée comme habitat essentiel, a été décrite dans un avis scientifique du Secrétariat canadien de consultation scientifique de 2017. Au fur et à mesure que de nouveaux renseignements sur ce processus seront disponibles, ils seront publiés dans le Registre public de la LEP.

Le Rapport sur les progrès de la mise en œuvre du programme de rétablissement des épaulards résidents (Orcinus orca) du nord et du sud au Canada pour la période 2009-2014, publié en 2016, résume les premiers progrès accomplis dans le cadre de la stratégie de rétablissement.

En 2017, dans le cadre du Plan de protection des océans du gouvernement du Canada un examen scientifique de l'efficacité des mesures de rétablissement des épaulards résidents du sud recensait et recommandait cinq nouvelles activités de rétablissement répondant aux menaces pesant sur la population. Ces activités se concentraient sur la gestion des pêches afin de tenir compte des besoins en proie de l'épaulard résident du sud et d'examiner les mesures d'atténuation des menaces associées aux contaminants et aux perturbations (acoustiques et physiques).

Le Règlement sur les mammifères marins, établi en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches du Canada, et la législation fédérale américaine interdisent la perturbation (harcèlement) des mammifères marins, notamment les épaulards. Les organisations gouvernementales et non gouvernementales réduisent les perturbations causées par les navires en mettant en place des programmes de sensibilisation et d'éducation des plaisanciers, de surveillance des navires et de mise en application de la loi en mer, en particulier dans l'habitat essentiel des épaulards résidents.

Cette espèce est protégée en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP). Par conséquent, il est interdit de tuer, de blesser, de harceler, de capturer, de prendre, de posséder, d'acheter, de vendre ou d'échanger un épaulard résident du sud.

Depuis 2009, l'habitat essentiel de l'épaulard résident du sud est protégé contre la destruction au moyen d'un arrêté en conseil pris en vertu de la LEP visant la protection de l'habitat essentiel.

De plus amples renseignements sur la LEP, notamment la façon dont elle protège chaque espèce, sont disponibles sur le site du Registre public des espèces en péril.En outre, les dispositions du Règlement sur les mammifères marins et celles de la Loi sur les pêches relatives à la prévention de la pollution assurent également la protection de l'espèce.

Pour savoir si cette espèce est protégée par des lois provinciales ou territoriales, consultez les sites Web des provinces et territoires.

Que pouvez-vous faire?

Les épaulards obtiendront la protection dont ils ont besoin seulement si les Canadiens travaillent ensemble à réduire les menaces. Renseignez-vous sur les épaulards et soyez conscients des menaces créées par l'homme envers les épaulards résidents du sud telles que, la réduction des proies et des possibilités d'alimentation, les perturbations acoustiques et physiques, les contaminants et les collisions avec les navires, les enchevêtrements ou les harcèlements, en appelant le numéro sans frais de la ligne d'appel « Observez, notez, signalez » (1-800-465-4336) de Pêches et Océans Canada. Pour en savoir davantage.

Apprenez où se trouve l'habitat essentiel de l'épaulard résident du sud, comprenez les activités qui risquent de détruire l'habitat essentiel et faites de votre mieux pour réduire votre impact sur ces zones. En suivant les recommandations et en suivant les instructions de Respectez les baleines : Directives pour l'observation de la faune marine à l'intention des plaisanciers et des observateurs, vous pouvez garantir que vos activités dérangent les animaux le moins possible lorsque vous êtes en mer.

Engagez-vous auprès du Réseau d'observation des cétacés de la Colombie-Britannique ou d'un autre organisme de conservation. Les principaux objectifs du Réseau sont d'identifier les habitats essentiels et d'aider à réduire les menaces auxquelles font face les baleines.

Le réseau demande également aux marins de lui fournir des rapports d'observation de cétacés le long de la côte de la Colombie-Britannique. Pour en savoir davantage.

Vous pouvez également vous inscrire au programme « Adopt a Killer Whale » (« Adoptez un épaulard ») de la Colombie-Britannique, administré en collaboration avec l'Aquarium de Vancouver. Pour en savoir davantage.

Épaulard (population résidente du sud du Pacifique Nord-Est)

Épaulard. © Jared Towers.

Épaulard. © Jared Towers.

Nom scientifique : Orcinus orca
Statut LEP : En voie de disparition
Statut COSEPAC : En voie de disparition (novembre 2008)
Région : Océan Pacifique

Carte de la région

Région : Océan Pacifique

Région : Océan Pacifique

Épaulard. Copyright: Shutterstock.

Épaulard. © Shutterstock.

Le saviez-vous?

Il est courant que les épaulards résidents partagent leur nourriture, même un seul saumon, avec les membres de leur lignage matrilinéaire. Un bel exemple de famille très proche!

Épaulard. © Programme de recherche sur les cétacés, MPO.

Épaulard. © Programme de recherche sur les cétacés, MPO.

Renseignements connexes

Date de modification :