Banded Killifish (Newfoundland)

Fundulus diaphanus

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

The Banded Killifish is a small fish, between 5 and 10 cm long, which can live in salt or fresh water, although it prefers the latter. It is pale olive in colour with gray to black vertical bands irregularly spaced along its body. Male Banded Killifish have light bands that are more distinct at spawning time. The female has darker thin bands that are spaced farther apart. The Banded Killifish spawns in the summer, attaching its eggs to aquatic plants. It feeds on small crustaceans, insects, larvae and plant material at the water’s surface.

Habitat

Banded Killifish are distributed throughout eastern North America, ranging from South Carolina as far north as the Atlantic Provinces. The Newfoundland population of Banded Killifish is found in isolated locations around the island, including the Avalon Peninsula (an introduced population), Burin Peninsula, St. George’s Bay, Bonavista Bay North, Northern Peninsula, Ramea Island and southwestern Newfoundland. Previously, there were 10 documented locations of Banded Killifish on the island. However, recent research and field surveys conducted by DFO have verified 42 locations.

Banded Killifish are typically found in shallow water (<1 m deep), near vegetation, in ponds, lakes and estuaries.

Threats

Banded Killifish have a scattered and limited known distribution on the island of Newfoundland. This makes them susceptible to habitat disturbances (e.g., increased sediment in the water or changes to water flow) which could result from various land use/development activities (e.g., road construction, forestry activities).

Further Information

The Newfoundland population of Banded Killifish is listed as Special Concern under the Species at Risk Act. A Management Plan was published in 2011 for Banded Killifish which provides guidance and mitigation measures to help conserve and protect the species. For more information on Banded Killifish, please see the SARA Registry.

Did You Know?

There are two species of killifish in Newfoundland waters, the Banded Killifish (Fundulus diaphanous) and the Mummichog (F. heteroclitus). They are very similar in appearance and size and are often found schooling together. Due to these factors, it may be difficult to distinguish between the two species.

banded killifish (<span lang='la'>Fundulus diaphanus</span>)

banded killifish (Fundulus diaphanus)

mummichog (<span lang='la'>Fundulus heteroclitus</span>)

mummichog (Fundulus heteroclitus)

Banded Killifish (Newfoundland)

Illustration of a Banded killifish. Photo credit: Philip Sargent.

Illustration of a Banded killifish. Photo credit: Philip Sargent.

Scientific name: Fundulus diaphanus
SARA Status: Special Concern
COSEWIC Status: Special Concern
Region: Newfoundland

Map displaying the current (2015) known distribution of the Newfoundland population of Banded Killifish, based on research and field surveys conducted by DFO (from 2013-2015).The map shows the Island of Newfoundland and uses red stars to identify locations where Banded Killifish have been found. Nearby cities and towns have been labeled with a black dot and the name of the city or town in black text. Water is depicted with dark blue coloration, land is pale grey and watersheds are outlined with a dark grey line. A scale for kilometres is centered at the bottom of the map. A key is located in the top right hand corner to show symbols used for the Banded Killifish location and city/town labels.

Map displaying the current (2015) known distribution of the Newfoundland population of Banded Killifish, based on research and field surveys conducted by DFO (from 2013-2015).

Banded killifish

Banded killifish

Related information

Fondule barré (Terre-Neuve)

Fundulus diaphanus

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

Le fondule barré est un petit poisson, mesurant entre 5 et 10 cm de long, qui peut vivre dans l'eau salée ou douce, bien qu'il préfère cette dernière. Il est de couleur olive pâle, avec des bandes verticales de couleur grise à noire espacées de manière irrégulière le long de son corps. Le fondule barré mâle a des bandes pâles qui sont plus distinctes au moment du frai. La femelle a des bandes minces plus foncées qui sont plus espacées. Le fondule barré fraie durant l'été, fixant ses œufs aux plantes aquatiques. Il se nourrit de petits crustacés, d'insectes, de larves et de substances végétales à la surface de l'eau.

Habitat

Le fondule barré est présent dans l'ensemble de l'est de l'Amérique du Nord, de la Caroline du Sud jusqu'aussi loin au nord que les provinces de l'Atlantique. La population de fondules barrés de Terre-Neuve est présente dans des endroits isolés autour de l'île, notamment dans la presqu'île Avalon (une population introduite), la péninsule de Burin, la baie Saint George's, le nord de la baie de Bonavista, la péninsule Northern, les îles Ramea et le sud-ouest de Terre-Neuve. Précédemment, on a documenté dix emplacements de fondule barré à l'échelle de l'île. Toutefois, des recherches récentes et des relevés sur le terrain menés par Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) ont permis de vérifier 42 emplacements.

On retrouve habituellement le fondule barré dans des eaux peu profondes (< 1 m de profondeur), près de la végétation, dans des étangs, des lacs et des estuaires.

Menaces

Le fondule barré affiche une aire de répartition éparse et limitée à l'échelle de l'île de Terre-Neuve. Il est ainsi vulnérable aux perturbations de l'habitat (p. ex., augmentation des sédiments dans l'eau ou changements du débit d'eau), qui peuvent découler de diverses activités d'utilisation des terres et de développement (p. ex., construction de routes, activités forestières).

Renseignements supplémentaires

La population du fondule barré de Terre-Neuve est inscrite en tant qu'espèce préoccupante sur la liste de la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Un plan de gestion a été publié en 2011 pour le fondule barré, lequel fournit une orientation et des mesures d'atténuation afin d'aider à préserver et à protéger l'espèce. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le fondule barré, veuillez consulter le Registre public des espèces en péril.

Le saviez-vous?

On compte deux espèces de fondule dans les eaux de Terre-Neuve, le fondule barré (Fundulus diaphanus) et le choquemort (F. heteroclitus). Ils sont très semblables en apparence et en taille et se rassemblent souvent en bancs. En raison de ces facteurs, il peut être difficile de faire la distinction entre les deux espèces.

fondule barré (<em><span lang='la'>Fundulus diaphanus</span></em>)

fondule barré (Fundulus diaphanus)

choquemort (<em><span lang='la'>Fundulus heteroclitus</span></em>)

choquemort (Fundulus heteroclitus)

Fondule barré (Terre-Neuve)

Fondule barré (Terre-Neuve)

Crédit photo: Philip Sargent

Nom scientifique : Fundulus diaphanus
Statut LEP : Préoccupante
Statut COSEPAC : Préoccupante
Région : Terre-Neuve

Carte de la répartition actuelle (2015) connue de la population de fondules barrés, fondée sur les recherches et les relevés sur le terrain menés par le MPO (de 2013 à 2015). La carte montre l'île de Terre-Neuve et utilise des étoiles rouges pour indiquer les endroits où le fondule barré a été observé. Les villes avoisinantes ont été désignées par un point noir et le nom de la municipalité ou de la ville apparaît en caractères noirs. L'eau est représentée par une coloration bleu foncé, le sol est représenté par une coloration gris pâle et les bassins hydrographiques sont délimités par une ligne gris foncé. Une échelle en kilomètres est centrée au bas de la carte. Une légende se trouve dans le coin supérieur droit afin de montrer les symboles utilisés pour les emplacements où se trouve le fondule barré et les désignations des villes/municipalités.

Carte de la répartition actuelle (2015) connue de la population de fondules barrés de Terre-Neuve, selon les recherches et les relevés sur le terrain menés par le MPO (entre 2013 et 2015).

Fondule barré

Fondule barré

Renseignements connexes