Misty Lake Stickleback (Lotic form)

Gasterosteus aculeatus

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

Descended from the marine Threespine Stickleback (Gasterosteus aculeatus), the Misty Lake Stickleback is a darkly pigmented freshwater fish, marked by three back-spines and typically 40 - 65 mm in length. The Misty Lake Stickleback complex includes an inlet stream form (lotic), a lake-dwelling form (lentic), and a population in the outlet stream that is considered part of the lentic species. These lentic and lotic forms are “parapatric” (meaning their ranges do not significantly overlap but are immediately adjacent to each other). In comparison to the lentic form, lotic sticklebacks have fewer gill rakers and tail fins, shorter spines, and a less streamlined body.

Habitat

The Misty Lake Lotic Stickleback occurs only within the Misty Lake watershed, a sub-basin of the Keogh River drainage on northern Vancouver Island, British Columbia. Misty Lake is a small (35.6 ha) and shallow (less than 10 m deep) coastal lake. Stream-dwelling sticklebacks probably occupy low velocity areas in the streams. The habitat of at least some fish of both forms overlaps in nesting areas among the swampy transition zones between the lake and the streams. Stream nests are probably built on gravel.

Threats

Key threats to Misty Lake Sticklebacks include: the introduction or invasion and subsequent establishment of aquatic exotic and invasive species that predate upon, or compete with, the Misty Lake Sticklebacks or degrade habitat quality; point and non-point source water pollution from contaminants such as hydrocarbons or pesticides, and increased sediment loads and degradation of water quality from land use activities in the watershed respectively; nonconforming use of the ecological reserve (e.g. use of motorized vehicles and canoes, hunting, fishing, camping, livestock grazing, and, removal of materials, plants or animals); riparian vegetation removal; water extraction; climate change; and excessive removal of individuals for scientific research.

Further Information

The Misty Lake Ecological Reserve was established in 1996 under the Protected Areas of British Columbia Act. Misty Lake and short sections of the inlet and outlet streams are contained within the reserve, affording protection from consumptive uses that include hunting, fishing, and camping. Sticklebacks are protected from capture or retention within the boundaries of the reserve, except when authorized by permit. Additionally, taxonomic investigations, including some molecular genetics work, as well as population and distribution studies have been initiated and are ongoing. Fisheries and Oceans Canada has incorporated best monitoring approaches into a draft SARA multi-species compendium report. Finally, Fisheries and Oceans Canada is developing a Recovery Strategy for the Misty Lake Sticklebacks (Gasterosteus aculeatus) in Canada.

This species is protected under the federal Species at Risk Act (SARA). More information about SARA, including how it protects individual species, is available on the Species at Risk Public Registry.

To find out if this species is protected by provincial laws, consult the Province of British Columbia's website.

Misty Lake Stickleback (Lotic form)

Misty Lake Stickleback

Misty Lake Stickleback (Lotic form)

Scientific Name: Gasterosteus aculeatus
SARA Status: Endangered
COSEWIC Status: Endangered
Region: British Columbia

Did You Know?

Lake dwelling Misty Lake Sticklebacks are only able to swim downstream, while those in the inlet of Misty Lake can swim both upstream and downstream.

Related information

Épinoche du lac Misty (population lotique)

Gasterosteus aculeatus

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

Descendante de l'épinoche à trois épines marine (Gasterosteus aculeatus), l'épinoche du lac Misty est un poisson d'eau douce caractérisé par une pigmentation foncée et trois épines dorsales; elle mesure généralement entre 40 et 65 mm. Le complexe des épinoches du lac Misty se compose d'une forme lotique (qui fréquente le tributaire), d'une forme lentique (que l'on trouve dans le lac) et d'une population qui fréquente l'émissaire et qui est considérée comme faisant partie de l'espèce lentique. Les deux formes sont parapatriques (ce qui signifie que leurs aires de répartition se chevauchent peu, mais sont immédiatement adjacentes). Par rapport à la forme lentique, la population lotique présente moins de branchiospines et de nageoires caudales, des épines plus courtes et un corps moins fuselé.

Habitat

Les populations lotiques d'épinoches du lac Misty se trouvent uniquement dans le bassin hydrographique du lac éponyme, un sous-bassin de la rivière Keogh situé dans le nord de l'île de Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique. Le lac Misty est un petit lac côtier (35,6 ha) peu profond (moins de 10 m de profondeur). Les épinoches du tributaire occupent probablement les zones à faible courant. L'habitat de certains individus des deux populations se chevauche dans des aires de nidification qui se trouvent dans des zones de transition marécageuses entre le lac et les cours d'eau. Les nids des populations de cours d'eau sont probablement construits sur du gravier.

Menaces

Les principales menaces pesant sur les épinoches du lac Misty sont : l'introduction et, par la suite, l'établissement d'espèces aquatiques exotiques et envahissantes qui se nourrissent des épinoches, entrent en compétition avec elles ou dégradent la qualité de leur habitat, ou l'invasion par de telles espèces; les sources ponctuelles ou diffuses de pollution de l'eau par des contaminants comme des hydrocarbures ou des pesticides; l'augmentation des charges sédimentaires et la dégradation de la qualité de l'eau en raison de l'utilisation des terres du bassin hydrographique; l'utilisation non conforme de la réserve écologique (p. ex. utilisation de canots et de véhicules motorisés, chasse, pêche, camping, pâturage de bétail); le retrait de la végétation riveraine; l'extraction d'eau; les changements climatiques; le prélèvement excessif d'individus à des fins de recherche scientifique.

Renseignements supplémentaires

La Misty Lake Ecological Reserve a été établie en 1996 en vertu de la Protected Areas of British Columbia Act (en anglais seulement). Le lac Misty et de petits tronçons des cours d'eau tributaire et émissaire sont compris dans la réserve, ce qui les protège de toute exploitation non rationnelle, comme la chasse, la pêche et le camping. Il est interdit de capturer ou de conserver des épinoches dans les limites de la réserve, à moins d'une d'autorisation. De plus, des études taxonomiques, notamment certains travaux de génétique moléculaire, ainsi que des études sur les populations et leur répartition ont été entreprises et sont en cours. Pêches et Océans Canada a inclus les meilleures méthodes de surveillance dans une ébauche de recueil de rapports sur plusieurs espèces protégées par la LEP. Enfin, Pêches et Océans Canada met au point un Programme de rétablissement des épinoches du lac Misty (Gasterosteus aculeatus) au Canada.

Cette espèce est protégée en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP). De plus amples renseignements sur la LEP, y compris comment elle protège chaque espèce, sont disponibles dans le Registre public des espèces en péril.

Pour savoir si cette espèce est protégée par des lois provinciales, consultez le site Web de la province de la Colombie-Britannique.

Épinoche du lac Misty (population lotique)

Épinoche du lac Misty

Épinoche du lac Misty (population lotique)

Nom scientifique : Gasterosteus aculeatus
Statut selon la LEP : En voie de disparition
Situation selon le COSEPAC : En voie de disparition
Région : Colombie-Britannique

Le saviez-vous?

Les épinoches du lac Misty occupant le lac peuvent seulement nager vers l'aval, alors que les individus du tributaire peuvent nager vers l'aval et l'amont.

Renseignements connexes