Mountain Sucker (Pacific populations)

Catostomus platyrhynchus

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

The Mountain Sucker (Catostomus platyrhynchus) is a freshwater bottom-dwelling fish belonging to the family Catostomidae. They are identifiable by their elongated, dark green to grey or brown cylindrical body, with the underneath colored pale yellow to white. Blotches of black are often seen on the sides, and a straight lateral line (green to black) is also present. During breeding season this line turns red and fleshy bumps on the surface of the body develop, called “nuptial tubercles.” This species' mouth is large and ventral with a large upper lip and a lower lip shaped like paired wings. Lips are covered in fleshy bumps called papillae. Notches at the corners of the mouth and an incomplete cleft on the lower lip help to distinguish this population from most other catostomids. Mountain Suckers have a dorsal fin, caudal fin, anal fin, and two each of pectoral and pelvic fins. Adult individuals typically range from 127 to 15mm in length.

Habitat

Three designatable units (DUs; representing discrete and evolutionarily significant units of the species) exist in Canada: Saskatchewan-Nelson River populations and Milk River populations (occurring in Saskatchewan/Alberta), and Pacific populations (occurring in British Columbia). Pacific populations are found in the Similkameen River and its tributaries including the Columbia River system, North Thompson River, lower Fraser River and potentially at the confluence of the Salmo and Pend d'Oreille Rivers. Little information is available on Canadian habitat requirements; in many instances therefore, studies from other regions are used as a proxy. Small streams (e.g. 2 – 10m wide and <1 m deep) are preferred over large ones, although they have been found in lakes and large streams on rare occasions. Water clarity (clear to turbid) and elevation (20-800 m) vary greatly across habitats. Fish are typically found along shorelines where cover is more abundant, however larger vegetation, including pondweeds, muskgrass, algae, and cress, is not always present. Studies from Montana show that substrate composition varies widely, but cobbles appear to be the most common type.

Threats

Threats to Pacific populations include:

  • water availability, use and climate change;
  • channelization and siltation;
  • impoundments and flow regulation;
  • toxicity (e.g. chemical spills); and
  • exotic species.

The Mountain Sucker's naturally fragmented habitat renders them more susceptible to cumulative effects from a multitude of threats, rather than one primary threat. Populations of the Similkameen River are likely the most affected by habitat degradation due to development and mining activities.

Further Information

Provincially, the Mountain Sucker is on the Blue List in British Columbia. It is also considered vulnerable in British Columbia by NatureServe.

To know if this species is protected by provincial or territorial laws, consult the provinces' and territories' websites.

For more information, visit the Species at Risk (SARA) Public Registry Profile.

Mountain Sucker (Pacific populations)

Illustration of a Mountain Sucker (© Joseph R. Tomelleri)

© Joseph R. Tomelleri

Scientific name: Catostomus platyrhynchus
SARA Status: Special Concern
COSEWIC Status: Special Concern
Region: British Columbia

Did You Know?

The Mountain Sucker was not discovered in British Columbia until the mid-1950's.

Related information

Meunier des montagnes (populations du Pacifique)

Catostomus platyrhynchus

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

Le meunier des montagnes (Catostomus platyrhynchus) est un poisson benthique d'eau douce appartenant à la famille des Catostomidae (meuniers). Il est reconnaissable par son corps allongé et cylindrique, dont la couleur varie de vert foncé à gris ou brun; son ventre est de jaune pâle à blanc. Des taches noires sont souvent visibles sur les côtés, et une ligne latérale droite (de verte à noire) est également présente. Durant la saison de frai, cette ligne devient rouge et des tubercules nuptiaux (protubérances charnues) apparaissent à la surface du corps. La bouche du meunier des montagnes est large et ventrale, avec une large lèvre supérieure et une lèvre inférieure en forme de paire d'ailes. Les lèvres sont recouvertes de protubérances charnues appelées papilles. Des dentelures aux coins de la bouche et une entaille incomplète sur la lèvre inférieure aident à distinguer cette population de la majorité des autres meuniers. Le meunier des montagnes a une nageoire dorsale, une nageoire caudale, une nageoire anale, deux nageoires pectorales et deux nageoires pelviennes. Les adultes mesurent habituellement de 127 à 152 mm de longueur.

Habitat

Il existe trois unités désignables (UD; unités importantes de l'espèce qui sont distinctes et évoluent différemment) au Canada : les populations de la rivière Saskatchewan et du fleuve Nelson, les populations de la rivière Milk (présentes en Saskatchewan et en Alberta) et les populations du Pacifique (présentes en Colombie-Britannique). Les populations du Pacifique vivent dans la rivière Similkameen et ses affluents, notamment le réseau du fleuve Columbia, la rivière Thompson Nord, le bas Fraser et potentiellement au point de confluence des rivières Salmo et Pend d'Oreille. On connaît mal les exigences en matière d'habitat des populations canadiennes; on se sert donc souvent des données tirées d'études menées dans d'autres régions en tant que données indicatrices. L'espèce préfère les petits cours d'eau (p. ex., 2-10 m de largeur et < 1 m de profondeur), mais on a déjà observé des individus dans des lacs et de grands cours d'eau à quelques reprises. La clarté de l'eau (de claire à turbide) et l'élévation du cours d'eau (20-800 m) varient grandement en fonction des habitats. Les poissons vivent généralement le long des rivages, où la couverture est plus abondante; cependant, la végétation plus grande, notamment du potamot, du chara, des algues et du cresson, ne s'y trouve que parfois. Des études menées au Montana indiquent que la composition du substrat varie fortement, mais que les galets semblent constituer le type de substrat le plus commun.

Menaces

Les menaces pour les populations du Pacifique comprennent :

  • la disponibilité et l'utilisation de l'eau de même que le changement climatique;
  • la canalisation et l'envasement;
  • les barrages et la régularisation du débit;
  • la toxicité (p. ex., déversements de produits chimiques);
  • les espèces exotiques.

L'habitat naturellement fragmenté du meunier des montagnes rend cette espèce plus vulnérable aux effets cumulatifs d'un grand nombre de menaces, plutôt qu'aux effets d'une seule grande menace. Les populations de la rivière Similkameen semblent être les plus touchées par la dégradation de l'habitat attribuable aux activités minières et d'aménagement des terres.

Renseignements supplémentaires

À l'échelle provinciale, le meunier des montagnes est inscrit à la liste bleue de la Colombie-Britannique. Il est aussi considéré comme vulnérable en Colombie-Britannique par NatureServe.

Pour savoir si cette espèce est protégée par les lois de votre province ou de votre territoire, consultez son site Web.

Profil du Registre public des espèces en péril (LEP).

Meunier des montagnes (populations du Pacifique)

Illustration d'un meunier des montagnes (© Joseph R. Tomelleri)

© Joseph R. Tomelleri

Nom scientifique: Catostomus platyrhynchus
Statut selon la LEP : Préoccupant
Statut selon COSEPAC : Préoccupant
Région : Colombie-Britannique

Le saviez-vous?

Le meunier des montagnes n'a été découvert en Colombie-Britannique que vers le milieu des années 1950.

Renseignements connexes