Plains Minnow

Hybognathus placitus

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

The Plains Minnow (Hybognathus placitus) is a member of the Cyprinidae family. The Plains Minnow is one of four species of Hybognathus found in Canada. It has the following characteristics and distinguishing features:

  • A small-sized fish between 50 and 90 mm in total length, with some specimens as large as 125 mm;
  • Slim, slightly compressed body;
  • Short triangular head;
  • Blunt snout;
  • Relatively small eyes;
  • Fins tend to be pointed, rather than rounded;
  • Body colour is tan to olive towards the back, silver along the sides and white along the belly;
  • Maximum weight of 15 g;
  • Spawning males develop small bumps (tubercles) on the top of the head and back, as well as on the pectoral fin. Individuals can live up to two to three years.

Habitat

The Plains Minnow has a widespread distribution in the United States, occurring in the middle of the continent from eastern New Mexico, central Texas and western Arkansas, north to North Dakota and Montana. The existence of the Plains Minnow in Canada was discovered in 2003 in southern Saskatchewan, with its distribution limited to Rock Creek and a portion of one of its tributaries, Morgan Creek.

The Plains Minnow lives in schools, and is found in sand-and silt-bottom rivers and streams of the Central Great Plains. Found in a range of small creeks to fairly large rivers, the Plains Minnow prefers slow, relatively shallow to moderately deep waters with a range of turbidity. Many of these small- to medium-sized streams experience natural seasonal fluctuations, from drought conditions to flash floods and heavy precipitation, indicating a high level of adaptation in withstanding natural changes in water quality. Spawning takes place in areas of moderate flow to maximize the downstream distribution and incubation of the fertilized eggs.

As the discovery of the Plains Minnow in Canada is relatively recent, the majority of the information about its life history is based on U.S. populations. The Plains Minnow lives for about two to three years, and breeds for the first time in its second year. Many individuals die after spawning. The Plains Minnow has an extended spawning period, frequently reproducing after major flow peaks. The majority of reproduction takes place in spring; however, it has also been recorded in the summer. Females carry less than 1,000 eggs. Once hatched, growth takes place quickly and juveniles nearly reach their adult size by the end of their first summer.

Threats

This fish has a very limited distribution in Canada, and has only been found in one area of southern Saskatchewan. At the northern extent of their range, this region of southern Saskatchewan is subject to drought, temperature extremes, decreasing habitat quality from agricultural runoff and potential effects of invasive species (i.e. the Common Carp).

Species at Risk (SARA) Public Registry Profile.

Plains Minnow

Plains Minnow (© J.R. Tomelleri)

© J.R. Tomelleri

Scientific Name: Hybognathus placitus
SARA Status: No Status
COSEWIC Status: Threatened
Region: Saskatchewan

Plains Minnow distribution in Canada

Plains Minnow distribution in Canada.

Did You Know?

The Plains Minnow is one of seven species of Hybognathus found in North America, of which four of the minnows are found in Canada: the Western Silvery Minnow; the Eastern Silvery Minnow; the Brassy Minnow and the Plains Minnow. Distribution of the Plains Minnow, the Brassy Minnow and the Western Silvery Minnow may also overlap in the Rock Creek drainage. The Plains Minnow was originally lumped into a single species of Mississippi Silver Minnow that also included the Western Silvery Minnow. Highly similar in appearance, there are slight differences in the dorsal fins, scales, eyes and snout between these three minnow species.

Related information

Méné des plaines

Hybognathus placitus

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

Le méné des plaines (Hybognathus placitus) appartient à la famille des cyprinidés. Le méné des plaines est une des quatre espèces de Hybognathus que l’on retrouve au Canada. Il présente les caractéristiques suivantes :

  • Ce petit poisson mesure de 50 à 90 mm de longueur, mais peut atteindre 125 mm;
  • Corps allongé et légèrement comprimé;
  • Tête courte et triangulaire;
  • Museau arrondi;
  • Yeux relativement petits;
  • Nageoires pointues plutôt qu’arrondies;
  • Dos allant de l’ocre au vert olive, les flancs argentés et le ventre blanc;
  • Poids maximum de 15 g;
  • Les mâles qui fraient développent des petites bosses (tubercules) sur la tête et le dos ainsi que sur la nageoire pectorale. Le méné des plaines peut vivre jusqu’à trois ans.

Habitat

Le méné des plaines est très répandu au centre des États- Unis, dans une zone au centre du continent allant de l’est du Nouveau-Mexique, du centre du Texas et de l’ouest de l’Arkansas vers le nord jusqu’au Dakota du Nord et au Montana. Au Canada, on a découvert la présence de méné des plaines en 2003 dans une aire restreinte au sud de la Saskatchewan comprenant un ruisseau (Rock Creek) et une partie d’un de ses affluents (Morgan Creek).

Le méné des plaines forme des bancs dans des rivières et des cours d’eau au fond sablonneux ou vaseux des grandes plaines centrales. Présent aussi bien dans les petites rivières que dans les fleuves, le méné des plaines préfère les eaux calmes, peu ou moyennement profondes et d’un niveau de turbidité plus ou moins élevé. Le niveau de ces cours d’eau de petite ou moyenne importance connaît des fluctuations saisonnières – sécheresse, crues soudaines, fortes précipitations – qui exigent une capacité considérable d’adaptation aux variations naturelles de la qualité de l’eau. Le frai nécessite de courants modérés afin de maximiser la répartition à aval des oeufs fécondés et d’en favoriser l’incubation.

Étant donné la date relativement récente de la découverte du méné des plaines au Canada, l’information au sujet de son évolution provient surtout des études sur les populations aux États-Unis. Beaucoup des poissons meurent après le frai. Le méné des plaines connaît une longue période de frai et se reproduit souvent après les périodes où le courant est le plus fort. L’activité reproductive a lieu surtout au printemps; cependant, elle a été aussi observée pendant l’été. Les femelles portent moins de 1 000 oeufs. Une fois les oeufs éclos, la croissance est rapide et les juvéniles atteignent pratiquement leur taille adulte avant la fin du premier été.

Menaces

L’aire de répartition de l’espèce au Canada est très restreinte; on ne l’a retrouvée qu’à un emplacement dans le sud de la Saskatchewan. Au nord de leur aire de répartition, cette région méridionale de la Saskatchewan connaît des sécheresses, des températures extrêmes et une dégradation de la qualité de l’habitat en raison des eaux d’écoulements agricoles et de l’impact potentiel des espèces envahissantes (p. ex., la carpe commune).

Profil du Registre public des espèces en péril (LEP).

Méné des plaines

Méné des plaines (© J.R. Tomelleri)

© J.R. Tomelleri

Nom scientifique : Hybognathus placitus
Statut selon la LEP : Aucun statut
Statut selon le COSEPAC : menacée
Région : Saskatchewan

répartition du méné des plaines au Canada

Répartition du méné des plaines au Canada.

Le saviez-vous?

Le méné des plaines est l’une de sept espèces de Hybognathus que l’on retrouve en Amérique du Nord, dont trois autres sont présentes au Canada : le méné d’argent de l’Ouest, le méné d’argent de l’Est et le méné laiton. Les aires de répartition du méné des plaines, du méné d’argent de l’Ouest et du méné laiton peuvent se chevaucher dans le bassin versant du Rock Creek. Le méné des plaines a d’abord été considéré comme formant une seule et même espèce, le méné d’argent du Mississippi avec le méné d’argent de l’Ouest. D’une apparence très proche, ces trois espèces présentent de légères différences au niveau des nageoires dorsales, des écailles, des yeux et du museau.

Renseignements connexes