Pugnose Shiner

Notropis anogenus

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

The Pugnose Shiner (Notropis anogenus) is a member of the minnow family (Cyprinidae) and has the following characteristics:

  • Body is fragile, slender and small, somewhat compressed laterally;
  • Extremely small upturned mouth;
  • Distinct black lateral band extends around snout and chin, through the eye to the caudal peduncle, ending with a small dark wedge-shaped caudal spot;
  • Overall colouration is silver with pale yellow and olive tints above the lateral black band;
  • Males become brightly golden in colour during spawning;
  • All fins are transparent;
  • Eight dorsal rays; and
  • Total length is approximately 50 mm for males and 60 mm for females.

Habitat

The range of the Pugnose Shiner extends from Ontario, south to Illinois and west to North Dakota. The species has a disjunct distribution and it is often absent from theoretically suitable habitat within its range. In Canada, this species has only been found in four main areas of Ontario: 1) southern Lake Huron drainage; 2) Lake St. Clair; 3) Lake Erie; and 4) eastern Lake Ontario/upper St. Lawrence River drainage. It is assumed to be extirpated from Point Pelee and Rondeau Bay.

The Pugnose Shiner is usually found over sand and mud in slow-moving, clear, vegetated streams and lakes. It is found in sheltered ponds, wetlands, stagnant channels and protected bays adjacent to larger waterbodies. Spawning is thought to occur in late spring to early summer, and takes place in shallow, heavily vegetated waters. It does not guard its eggs, but rather distributes them widely over the aquatic plants and substrates.

Threats

The Pugnose Shiner requires clear water with abundant aquatic vegetation. Habitat degradation and loss is the principal threat. Activities that contribute to these threats include agricultural, industrial and urban development, removal of aquatic vegetation, and changes in water quality/quantity. As many habitat areas are fragmented, there is limited connection between populations. Aquatic invasive species are also a growing threat, particularly Common Carp and Eurasian watermilfoil, due to their negative effects on native aquatic vegetation.

Further Information

As of January 2005, the Pugnose Shiner is protected under the Species at Risk Act, which prohibits harming, killing or capturing individuals.

A recovery strategy has been developed in collaboration with the recovery team, which includes representatives from Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources, local conservation authorities, universities, and other interested stakeholders.

Several recovery measures have already been implemented. For example, there is currently an aquatic ecosystem-based recovery strategy for the Essex-Erie region, which helps to support populations of Pugnose Shiner. In addition, stewardship and outreach/awareness programs to reduce identified threats are ongoing.

For more information, visit the SARA Registry.

Pugnose Shiner

Pugnose Shiner

Illustration of a Pugnose Shiner by Ellen Edmonson (NYSDEC)

Scientific Name: Notropis anogenus
SARA Status: Endangered
COSEWIC Status: Threatened
Region: Ontario

Map showing the distribution of the Pugnose Shiner in Canada as described in the following paragraph

Distribution of the Pugnose Shiner in Canada.

Did You Know?

The Pugnose Shiner has a small, almost vertical mouth. It is this vertical mouth that gives the fish its “pugnose” appearance. Its Greek scientific name anogenus means “without a chin”.

Pugnose Shiner (Notropis anogenus)

Photo credit: DFO

Related information

Méné camus

Notropis anogenus

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

Le méné camus (Notropis anogenus) appartient à la famille des ménés (Cyprinidae) et il présente les caractéristiques suivantes :

  • Son corps est fragile, petit, élancé et plutôt aplati;
  • Sa bouche est très petite et tournée vers le haut;
  • Une bande latérale foncée distincte s’étend autour du museau et du menton, de l’oeil au pédoncule caudal, et elle se termine en une petite tache foncée en forme de « V » à la base de la nageoire caudale;
  • Il est argenté et présente une teinte allant de jaune pâle à olive sur le dos;
  • Les mâles deviennent dorés lors du frai;
  • Toutes les nageoires sont transparentes;
  • Sa nageoire dorsale compte huit rayons;
  • La longueur totale des mâles est d’environ 50 mm et celle des femelles d’environ 60 mm.

Habitat

Le territoire occupé par le méné camus s’étend de l’Ontario au sud jusqu’à l’Illinois et à l’ouest jusqu’au Dakota du Nord. Ses populations sont isolées et souvent absentes des habitats théoriquement convenables dans leur territoire. Au Canada, cette espèce n’a été trouvée que dans quatre zones principales de l’Ontario : 1) le drainage sud du lac Huron; 2) le lac Sainte-Claire; 3) le lac Érié; 4) le drainage est du lac Ontario et le cours supérieur du fleuve Saint-Laurent. Elle est présumée disparue dans la pointe Pelée et la baie de Rondeau.

Le méné camus peut généralement être trouvé dans des fonds sableux ou boueux dans des cours d’eau ou des lacs clairs et stagnants avec végétation. On les trouve dans des étangs abrités, des zones humides, des canaux stagnants et des baies protégées près de grandes étendues d’eau. On croit que le frai s’effectue de la fin du printemps au début de l’été, et qu’il a lieu dans des eaux peu profondes à dense couverture végétale. Le méné camus ne protège pas ses œufs. Il les répartit plutôt sur une grande surface sur des plantes aquatiques et des substrats.

Menaces

Le méné camus a besoin d’eau claire avec une végétation aquatique abondante. La perte et dégradation des habitats est la principale menace. Les activités contribuant à ces menaces comprennent le développement agricole, industriel et urbain, le retrait de la végétation aquatique et les changements dans la qualité et la quantité de l’eau. Comme les zones d’habitats sont fragmentées, il y a un lien limité entre les populations. Les espèces aquatiques envahissantes sont aussi une menace grandissante, surtout la carpe commune et le Myriophylle en épi, en raison de leurs effets nocifs sur la végétation aquatique indigène.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Depuis janvier 2005, le méné camus est protégé par la Loi sur les espèces en péril, laquelle interdit de nuire aux individus de l'espèce, de les tuer ou de les capturer.

On travaille actuellement à la conception d'une stratégie de rétablissement en collaboration avec l'équipe de rétablissement, qui comprend des représentants de Pêches et Océans Canada, du ministère des Richesses naturelles de l'Ontario, des organismes locaux de protection de la nature, des universités et d'autres parties intéressées.

Plusieurs mesures de rétablissement ont déjà été mises en œuvre. Par exemple, il existe actuellement une stratégie de rétablissement des écosystèmes aquatiques la région Essex-Érié qui aide à soutenir les diverses populations de méné camus. De plus, des programmes de gérance et de sensibilisation sont en cours pour réduire les menaces reconnues.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, consultez le Registre de la LEP.

Méné camus

Méné camus

Illustration d’un méné camus par Ellen Edmonson (NYSDEC)

Nom scientifique : Notropis anogenus
Statut selon la LEP : En voie de disparition
Statut selon COSEPAC : Menacée
Région : Ontario

Aire de répartition du méné camus au Canada

Aire de répartition du méné camus au Canada.

Le saviez-vous?

Le Méné camus possède une petite bouche, presque verticale. C’est d’ailleurs cette forme particulière qui donne une apparence « combative » à ce poisson. En grec, son nom scientifique anogenus signifie « sans menton ».

Méné camus

Crédit photo : MPO

Renseignements connexes