Little Quarry Lake Benthic Threespine Stickleback

Gasterosteus aculeatus

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

Little Quarry Lake Benthic and Limnetic Threespine Sticklebacks (Gasterosteus aculeatus) are one of several unique Threespine Stickleback Species Pairs that live in sympatry. Two species are sympatric when they exist in the same area, and evolved together from the same common ancestor. Despite similarities, genetic research supports that each pair evolved separately. The divergence from their common ancestor is thought to have occurred because of the limited competition and predation in their habitat. Benthic and Limnetic Threespine Sticklebacks occupy different parts of their shared environment and have adapted different feeding styles.

The Little Quarry Lake Benthic Threespine Stickleback is a small fish. The species has three (sometimes two) isolated dorsal spines. The Benthic species can be distinguished from the Limnetic species by its deeper and longer body, shorter dorsal and anal fins, smaller eye, and downward mouth. Both species develop a bright red throat during breeding season. Most Little Quarry Lake Benthic Threespine Sticklebacks lack a pelvic girdle. This is an unusual characteristic among Threespine Sticklebacks.

Habitat

The distribution of Little Quarry Lake Benthic and Limnetic Threespine Sticklebacks is very restricted. The two species are only found in Little Quarry Lake on Nelson Island in British Columbia.

Little Quarry Lake Benthic Threespine Sticklebacks live close to shore for their entire lifetime. Both Limnetic and Benthic species nest in nearshore gentle sloping silt, sand, or gravel beaches. Natural light is necessary for the species to recognize their mates. Little Quarry Lake Benthic Threespine Sticklebacks prefer to spawn in more protected areas, such as under aquatic plants. Both Limnetic and Benthic species move to deeper water habitats to overwinter.

Threats

Threats to Little Quarry Lake Benthic and Limnetic Threespine Sticklebacks are similar to those for other Stickleback Species Pairs. These fish are vulnerable to any habitat disruptions that could remove the naturally created barriers between the two species. The primary threat to the Little Quarry Lake Benthic Threespine Stickleback is the introduction of new species into Little Quarry Lake. Introduced species could prey on the Threespine Stickleback species and/or disrupt the habitat requirements of the pair. This has been seen in recent decades and caused the extinction of at least two Stickleback Species Pairs. Also, an introduced predator would likely pose a great threat to the Benthic species because the species does not have a pelvic girdle which acts as an important post-capture defense against fish predators.

Other threats to the Stickleback Species Pair include changes in water use by local recreational properties, forestry activities, and excessive scientific collections. Current land and water use within the habitat of Little Quarry Lake Benthic and Limnetic Threespine Sticklebacks is minimal and has had a limited effect to date.

Further Information

In 2007, a Recovery Strategy was published for Paxton Lake, Enos Lake, and Vananda Creek Stickleback Species Pairs. This Recovery Strategy describes the following for the Stickleback Species Pairs: biology, threats, recovery measures, and stewardship. Scientific collection guidelines for Stickleback Species Pairs, including the Little Quarry Lake Sticklebacks, were developed in 2008, with the aim to mitigate impacts of research activities. 

This species is under consideration for listing as Threatened under the federal Species at Risk Act (SARA). More information about SARA, including how it protects individual species, is available on the Species at Risk Public Registry.

To find out more on how this species is protected by provincial or territorial laws, consult the provinces' and territories' website.

Little Quarry Lake Benthic Threespine Stickleback

Scientific name: Gasterosteus aculeatus
SARA Status: Under Consideration
COSEWIC Status: Threatened (November 2015)
Region: British Columbia

Region map

Region map, British Columbia

Did You Know?

Benthic and Limnetic Threespine Stickleback Species Pairs have evolved recently from their marine ancestors following the end of the last glaciation. This was just 13,000 years ago! Genetic evidence strongly supports the independent evolution of each pair, despite the similarities seen between pairs. The details of each pair’s origin are still not well understood.

Related information

Épinoche benthique à trois épines du lac Little Quarry

Gasterosteus aculeatus

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

L'épinoche à trois épines benthique et l'épinoche à trois épines limnétique du lac Little Quarry (Gasterosteus aculeatus) comptent parmi plusieurs paires d'espèces d'épinoches à trois épines uniques vivant en sympatrie. Deux espèces sont dites sympatriques lorsqu'elles vivent sur un même territoire et ont toutes deux évolué parallèlement à partir d'un ancêtre commun. Malgré des similitudes, les recherches génétiques démontrent que chaque paire a évolué séparément. On croit que leur différenciation par rapport à leur ancêtre commun se serait produite en raison de la compétition et de la prédation limitées dans leur habitat. Les épinoches benthiques et limnétiques à trois épines occupent différentes parties de leur environnement commun et ont adopté différents types d'alimentation.

L'épinoche à trois épines benthique du lac Little Quarry est un petit poisson. L'espèce a trois (parfois deux) épines dorsales isolées. On peut distinguer l'espèce benthique de l'espèce limnétique grâce à son corps plus épais et long, ses nageoires dorsale et anale plus courtes, ses yeux plus petits et sa bouche vers le bas. La gorge des deux espèces devient très rouge durant la saison de frai. La plupart des épinoches à trois épines benthiques du lac Little Quarry n'ont pas de ceinture pelvienne. Il s'agit d'une caractéristique inhabituelle chez les épinoches à trois épines.

Habitat

L'aire de répartition des épinoches benthiques et limnétiques à trois épines du lac Little Quarry est très restreinte. On ne trouve les deux espèces que dans le lac Little Quarry sur l'île Nelson en Colombie-Britannique.

Les épinoches à trois épines benthiques du lac Little Quarry vivent toute leur vie à proximité des côtes. Les espèces limnétique et benthique nidifient dans les plages de limon, de sable ou de gravier en pente douce près du littoral. Elles ont besoin de lumière pour reconnaître leurs partenaires. Les épinoches à trois épines benthiques du lac Little Quarry préfèrent frayer dans des zones mieux protégées, sous des plantes aquatiques. Les deux formes de l'espèce migrent vers des habitats aux eaux plus profondes pour hiverner.

Menaces

Les menaces qui pèsent sur les épinoches benthiques et limnétiques à trois épines du lac Little Quarry sont semblables à celles auxquelles les autres paires d'espèces d'épinoches font face. Ces poissons sont vulnérables à toute perturbation de l'habitat qui pourrait supprimer les obstacles naturellement créés entre les deux espèces. La principale menace qui pèse sur l'épinoche benthique à trois épines du lac Little Quarry est l'introduction de nouvelles espèces dans le lac Little Quarry. Les espèces introduites pourraient se nourrir d'espèces d'épinoches à trois épines ou perturber les besoins en matière d'habitat de la paire. Cela a été constaté au cours des récentes décennies et a causé l'extinction d'au moins deux paires d'espèces d'épinoches. En outre, un prédateur introduit serait susceptible de représenter une menace importante pour l'espèce benthique, car celle-ci n'a pas de ceinture pelvienne qui agit comme une défense importante après la capture contre des poissons prédateurs.

Les autres menaces qui pèsent sur la paire d'espèces d'épinoches sont notamment les changements dans l'utilisation de l'eau par les propriétés de loisirs locales, les activités forestières et la collecte excessive de données scientifiques. L'utilisation actuelle des terres et de l'eau dans l'habitat des épinoches benthiques et limnétiques à trois épines du lac Little Quarry est minime et a eu, à ce jour, un effet limité.

Renseignements supplémentaires

En 2007, un programme de rétablissement concernant les paires d'espèces d'épinoches du lac Paxton, du lac Enos et du ruisseau Vananda a été publié. Le programme de rétablissement décrit ce qui suit relativement aux paires d'espèces d'épinoches : la biologie, les menaces, les mesures de rétablissement et l'intendance. Des lignes directrices scientifiques sur le prélèvement de ces paires d'espèces, y compris les épinoches du lac Little Quarry, ont été élaborées en 2008 afin d'atténuer les répercussions des activités de recherche.

On envisage actuellement d'inscrire cette espèce comme menacée en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP). De plus amples renseignements sur la LEP, y compris comment elle protège chaque espèce, sont disponibles dans le Registre public des espèces en péril.

Pour en savoir davantage sur la manière dont cette espèce est protégée par des lois provinciales ou territoriales, consultez les sites Web des provinces et des territoires.

Épinoche benthique à trois épines du lac Little Quarry

Nom scientifique : Gasterosteus aculeatus
Désignation LEP : Actuellement à l’étude
Désignation COSEPAC : Menacée (novembre 2015)
Région : Colombie-Britannique

Carte de la région

Carte de la région, Colombie britannique

Le saviez-vous?

Les paires d’espèces d’épinoches benthiques et limnétiques à trois épines ont évolué récemment par rapport à leurs ancêtres marins, après la fin de la dernière glaciation. Cela a eu lieu il y a 13 000 ans! Les données génétiques appuient fermement l’évolution indépendante de chaque paire, malgré les similitudes observées entre les paires. Les détails concernant l’origine de chaque paire ne sont pas encore bien compris.

Renseignements connexes