Rocky Mountain Sculpin (Eastslope populations)

Cottus bairdii

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

The Rocky Mountain Sculpin (Eastslope populations) (Cottus sp.), also known as the Eastslope Sculpin or St. Mary Sculpin, is a small bottom-dwelling freshwater fish. It is a member of the Cottidae family and has the following characteristics:

  • Large head;
  • Body is heavy and tapers from the head to the tail;
  • Does not have an air bladder;
  • First dorsal and pelvic fins have protective spines;and
  • Maximum fork length is 114 mm (Milk River).

Habitat

The Rocky Mountain Sculpin has a very limited distribution, found only in the Milk and St. Mary river watersheds in Alberta, Montana and Wyoming (upper Missouri River system), and possibly the Flathead River in British Columbia. In Alberta, the Rocky Mountain Sculpin distribution (i.e. the Eastslope populations) is limited to the St. Mary River system above the St. Mary Reservoir, and the upper Milk and North Milk rivers. In the St. Mary River system, distribution is limited to the lower 35 km of Lee Creek, the lower 500 m of Aetna Creek, and the St. Mary River upstream of the St. Mary Reservoir. Distribution also extends from the North Milk River at the Alberta/Montana border, downstream to its confluence with the Milk River, and within the Milk River, downstream to within 85 km of the international border.

The Rocky Mountain Sculpin is found in cool, clear streams with shallow runs and riffles, rock, gravel or cobble substrate. It is usually absent from pools with bottoms of clay or sand. It is nocturnal and remains under cover during the day. Life history information on the Rocky Mountain Sculpin is very limited. Both sexes are believed to be sexually mature by 23 months of age. Spawning occurs in late spring at temperatures between 7.5° and 15ºC. The fecundity generally ranges from 100 to 700 eggs, which hatch within two-to-three weeks, depending on the temperature. The young-of-the-year are 30-to-40 mm in total length by the end of their first summer and yearlings are about 50 mm. This fish does not appear to migrate. Longevity is likely less than five years.

Threats

The greatest threat to the Rocky Mountain Sculpin (Eastslope populations) of the St. Mary and Milk River watersheds is habitat alteration or loss due to the reduction of flowing water. This may be caused by impoundment of water in reservoirs, diversions and water removal for irrigation. In addition, low water flow results from the frequent and extreme droughts that southern Alberta experiences during the summer. Other undesirable changes to sculpin habitat include elevated water temperature, increased siltation of substrate and loss of riffle habitat.

Further Information

For further information, visit the Species at Risk (SARA) Public Registry Profile or COSEWIC.

Rocky Mountain Sculpin (Eastslope populations)

Rocky Mountain Sculpin (© J. R. Tomelleri)

Illustration of a Rocky Mountain Sculpin - © J. R. Tomelleri

Scientific name: Cottus bairdii
SARA Status: Threatened
COSEWIC Status: Threatened
Region: Central and Arctic

Distribution of the Rocky Mountain Sculpin in Canada

Distribution of the Rocky Mountain Sculpin in Canada.

Did You Know?

The Rocky Mountain Sculpin forages primarily at night, and eats aquatic insect larvae, molluscs and fishes. It may also forage on fish eggs, including sculpin eggs.

Related information

Chabot des montagnes Rocheuses (population du versant est)

Cottus bairdii

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

Le chabot des montagnes Rocheuses (population du versant est) (Cottus sp.), également connu sous le nom de chabot du versant est ou de chabot de la rivière St. Mary, est un petit poisson de fond d’eau douce. C’est un membre de la famille des cottidés qui présente les caractéristiques suivantes :

  • Grosse tête;
  • Corps épais qui s’effile vers la queue;
  • Dépourvu de vessie gazeuse;
  • Épines protectrices sur les premières nageoires dorsale et pelvienne; et
  • Longueur maximale à la fourche de 114 mm (rivière Milk).

Habitat

Le chabot des montagnes Rocheuses est a une répartition très limitée et on le trouve seulement dans les bassins hydrographiques des rivières Milk et St. Mary en Alberta, au Montana et au Wyoming (haut bassin du Missouri), ainsi que dans la rivière Flathead en Colombie- Britannique. En Alberta, la répartition du chabot des montagnes Rocheuses (population du versant est) semble se limiter au bassin de la rivière St. Mary en amont du réservoir St. Mary et aux tronçons supérieurs des rivières Milk et Milk Nord. Dans le bassin de la rivière St. Mary, sa présence se limite aux 35 derniers kilomètres du cours inférieur du ruisseau Lee, aux 500 derniers mètres du cours inférieur du ruisseau Aetna et au tronçon de la rivière St. Mary en amont du réservoir du même nom. On le retrouve également dans la rivière Milk Nord, à la frontière entre l’Alberta et le Montana, en aval du point de confluence avec la rivière Milk, et en aval de la rivière Milk jusqu’à 85 km de la frontière avec les États-Unis.

On trouve le chabot des montagnes Rocheuses dans les cours d’eau frais et clairs avec radiers et rapides peu profonds et substrat de roche, de gravier ou de pierre. Il est habituellement absent des fosses avec fond d’argile ou de sable. Le chabot est nocturne et reste caché durant la journée. Les renseignements sur le cycle biologique du chabot des montagnes Rocheuses est sont très limités. On estime que les deux sexes atteignent la maturité sexuelle à l’âge de 23 mois. Le frai a lieu à la fin du printemps à des températures variant entre 7.5° et 15ºC. La fécondité varie généralement de 100 à 700 oeufs, qui éclosent normalement en deux à trois semaines, selon la température. Les jeunes de l’année ont une longueur totale de 30 à 40 mm à la fin de leur premier été et les poissons d’un an mesurent 50 mm. Ce poisson ne semble pas migrer. La longévité est probablement inférieure à cinq ans.

Menaces

La plus grande menace pour les populations de chabots des montagnes Rocheuses est des bassins hydrographiques des rivières St. Mary et Milk est la perturbation ou la perte de l’habitat attribuable à la réduction de l’eau vive, laquelle peut être causée par la retenue de l’eau dans les réservoirs, les dérivations et le prélèvement de l’eau pour l’irrigation. En outre, le faible débit d’eau est le résultat des fréquents épisodes de sécheresse extrême que subit le sud de l’Alberta durant l’été. Parmi les autres perturbations de l’habitat du chabot, mentionnons la hausse de la température de l’eau, l’envasement accru du substrat et la perte d’habitat de radier.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Pour un complément d’information, consultez le Profil du Registre public des espèces en péril (LEP) ou COSEPAC.

Chabot des montagnes Rocheuses (population du versant est)

Illustration d'un chabot des montagnes Rocheuses - © J. R. Tomelleri

Illustration d'un chabot des montagnes Rocheuses - © J. R. Tomelleri

Nom scientifique : Cottus bairdii
Statut selon la LEP : Menacée
Statut selon COSEPAC : Menacée
Région : Centre et Arctique

Répartition du chabot des montagnes Rocheuses (population du versant est)

Répartition du chabot des montagnes Rocheuses (population du versant est) au Canada.

Le saviez-vous?

Le chabot du versant est cherche principalement sa nourriture la nuit et consomme surtout des larves d'insectes aquatiques; il se nourrit aussi de mollusques et de poissons ainsi que d'œufs de poissons, y compris les œufs de chabot.

Renseignements connexes