Rocky Mountain Ridged Mussel

Gonidea angulata

SARA Status
No Status
NS
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

SARA Status

  • No Status NS
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX
COSEWIC Status
Not at Risk
NR
Special Concern
SC
Threatened
TH
Endangered
EN
Extirpated
EX

COSEWIC Status

  • Not at Risk NR
  • Special Concern SC
  • Threatened TH
  • Endangered EN
  • Extirpated EX

Description

The Rocky Mountain Ridged Mussel (Gonidea angulate) is a large freshwater mussel. The species' shell surface is marked by well-defined ridges. These ridges can be counted as rings to estimate an individual's age. Rocky Mountain Ridged Mussels have been recorded to live up to 60 years. 

The Rocky Mountain Ridged Mussel shell is trapezoidal. The shell dimensions can be up to 12.5 centimetres long, 0.4 centimetres wide and 6.5 centimetres high. Like all other mussel shells, the shell is composed of two parts (known as valves) connected by a single hinge. The dorsal valve has a sharp and prominent ridge. Juvenile Rocky Mountain Ridged Mussel shells are greenish or ochre coloured on the outside, while adults are a darker bluish-black colour. The inside of the shell is white with coppery-blue colour.

Habitat

Globally, this freshwater species occurs from southern British Columbia to southern California. It can also be found eastward to southern Idaho and northern Nevada in the United States. In Canada, the Rocky Mountain Ridged Mussel is only found in the Okanagan Basin. Records for this species have been verified in the Okanagan Lake, Skaha Lake, Okanagan River, Vaseux Lake, Park Rill Creek, and Osoyoos Lake.

At present, all Rocky Mountain Ridged Mussels found in Canada are a part of one population.  Species abundance estimates exist for three sites in the Okanagan River watershed. However a total population size is unknown because the species' density varies and not all suitable habitat has been surveyed.

The Rocky Mountain Ridged Mussel can be found in various sizes of freshwater lakes and streams. The species seems to prefer areas with stable habitat conditions. The mussel is not often found in areas with shifting substrate, water level fluctuations, seasonal low oxygen levels, or murky water. In the Okanagan Basin, the Rocky Mountain Ridged Mussel lives in large cobble, gravel and sand, mud with vegetation, and cobble and gravel over sand. It may attach itself to gravel or firm mud, or bury itself into the substrate.

Threats

The Rocky Mountain Ridged Mussel is particularly vulnerable to threats because the species occurs in small isolated populations. The introduction of aquatic invasive species, such as the Zebra and Quagga Mussels, is the largest current threat to this species. These invasive mussels have had devastating effects on native freshwater mussel communities. They take over and alter habitat, compete for food resources, and smother native species. The Zebra and Quagga Mussels could spread quickly once introduced in the Okanagan Basin. Introduction of these species is likely because they can survive for days out of water and are known to be transported between water bodies on trailered watercrafts.

Other threats to the Rocky Mountain Ridged Mussel are habitat-related. Like all members of this family of mussels, this species is very sensitive to changes in its environment. The Canadian range of the species is within an area of rapid change due to urban development. Some of the specific threats include foreshore/riparian development, historic riverbed channelization, and hydrograph modification and regulation. These all result in habitat fragmentation and habitat loss through direct development of the species' habitat or ecosystem modifications. Several other threats exist to the species as well. These include host fish availability for completion of the life cycle, pollution, direct harm and climate change.

Further Information

Several achievements contributing to the management of the Rocky Mountain Ridged Mussel have occurred in recent years. In 2017, a five-year progress report was published for the implementation of the Management Plan for the period 2011 to 2016.  Over this time period, Fisheries and Oceans Canada and its collaborators have addressed knowledge gaps about the species' life history, including the identification of possible host fish species, have undertaken juvenile and adult abundance surveys, and have conducted preliminary juvenile recruitment and habitat suitability studies. During this time, considerable efforts were made to inventory potential littoral habitat within the known distribution and range. Another key activity has been the identification of potential threats including host fish availability, introduction of invasive plant and aquatic animal species and habitat destruction.

Significant efforts have been made by Fisheries and Oceans Canada, the Province of British Columbia and their collaborators to increase public awareness of the species, decrease incidence of habitat destruction and increase engagement.  This has been achieved through the development and installation of interpretive signage in popular public areas, the production of posters and presentations.  In addition, the known locations of Rocky Mountain Ridged Mussels have been incorporated into land use planning – such as for the Okanagan Large Lakes Foreshore Protocol, the Okanagan Fish Water Management Tool and the Okanagan Water Board Eurasian Water Milfoil rototilling treatment plan – to inform threat mitigation and land use protection.

This work contributes to the management of the species, fills in knowledge gaps, and provides the framework for habitat and population monitoring.

This species is protected under the federal Species at Risk Act (SARA). It is under consideration for listing as Endangered under SARA. More information about SARA, including how it protects individual species, is available on the Species at Risk Public Registry.

To find out more on how this species is protected by provincial or territorial laws, consult the provinces' and territories' website.

Rocky Mountain Ridged Mussel

Photo credit: Canadian Museum of Nature, Ottawa, Canada

Photo credit: Canadian Museum of Nature, Ottawa, Canada

Scientific name: Gonidea angulata
SARA Status: Special Concern, Schedule 1
COSEWIC Status
: Endangered (November 2010)
Region: British Columbia

Region map

Region map, British Columbia

Did You Know?

Freshwater mussels play an important role in aquatic ecosystems and are often used as indicators for an ecosystem’s health. They filter organic matter from the water and their waste can be used as food for algae and other invertebrates. They are also known to increase water and oxygen content in sediment, which is beneficial to other species living in the sediment.

Related information

Gonidée des Rocheuses

Gonidea angulata

Statut LEP
Aucun statut
AS
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut LEP

  • Aucun statut AS
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP
Statut COSEPAC
Non en péril
NP
Préoccupante
P
Menacée
M
En voie de disparition
EVD
Disparue du pays
DP

Statut COSEPAC

  • Non en péril NP
  • Préoccupante P
  • Menacée M
  • En voie de disparition EVD
  • Disparue du pays DP

Description

La gonidée des Rocheuses (Gonidea angulata) est une grande moule d'eau douce. La coquille de cette espèce est marquée de crêtes bien définies. Ces crêtes peuvent être comptées comme des anneaux pour déterminer l'âge de l'individu. L'espèce peut vivre jusqu'à 60 ans, selon les observations.

La coquille de la gonidée des Rocheuses est trapézoïdale. Ses dimensions peuvent atteindre 12,5 centimètres de long, 0,4 centimètre de large et 6,5 centimètres de haut. Comme chez toutes les autres moules, la coquille de cette espèce est constituée de deux parties (appelées valves) reliées entre elles par une seule charnière. La valve dorsale se distingue par une crête saillante bien accentuée. La coquille des juvéniles de cette espèce est de couleur verdâtre ou ocre à l'extérieur, alors que celle des adultes tire sur le bleuâtre-noir foncé. L'intérieur de la coquille est blanc, teinté d'un bleu cuivré.

Habitat

De manière générale, on trouve cette espèce d'eau douce du sud de la Colombie-Britannique au sud de la Californie. Aux États-Unis, on peut aussi la trouver vers l'est dans le sud de l'Idaho et le nord du Nevada. Au Canada, la gonidée des Rocheuses n'est endémique que dans le bassin de l'Okanagan. La présence de cette espèce a été vérifiée dans le lac Okanagan, le lac Skaha, la rivière Okanagan, le lac Vaseux, le ruisseau Park Rill et le lac Osoyoos.

À l'heure actuelle, toutes les gonidées des Rocheuses au Canada appartiennent à une seule population. Des estimations de l'abondance de l'espèce ont été faites pour trois sites dans le bassin hydrographique de la rivière Okanagan. Cependant, la taille de la population totale est inconnue, car la densité de l'espèce varie, mais aussi car tous les habitats convenables n'ont pas été relevés.

La gonidée des Rocheuses est présente dans des lacs et des cours d'eau de différentes tailles et semble préférer les habitats aux conditions stables. On ne la trouve que rarement dans les endroits où le substrat se déplace, où le niveau d'eau fluctue, où les niveaux d'oxygène saisonniers sont faibles et où l'eau est trouble. Dans le bassin de l'Okanagan, cette gonidée vit parmi de grands galets, dans le sable et le gravier, dans la vase et la végétation, ainsi que parmi les galets et le gravier sur le sable. Elle peut s'attacher au gravier ou à la vase ferme, ou s'enfouir dans le substrat.

Menaces

La gonidée des Rocheuses est particulièrement vulnérable aux menaces, puisque l'espèce n'est répartie qu'en petites populations isolées. L'introduction d'espèces aquatiques envahissantes, comme la moule zébrée et la moule quagga, est la plus grande menace pesant actuellement sur l'espèce. Ces moules envahissantes ont eu des effets dévastateurs sur les communautés de moules d'eau douce. Elles s'approprient le territoire et le modifient, font concurrence pour la nourriture et étouffent les espèces indigènes. La moule zébrée et la moule quagga pourraient se propager rapidement si elles étaient introduites dans le bassin de l'Okanagan. L'introduction de ces espèces est possible, puisqu'elles peuvent survivre pendant plusieurs jours hors de l'eau; on sait également qu'elles peuvent être transportées entre les plans d'eau par des embarcations remorquées.

D'autres menaces pesant sur la gonidée des Rocheuses sont liées à l'habitat. Comme tous les autres membres de cette famille de moules, cette espèce est très sensible aux changements dans son environnement. Son aire de répartition canadienne est située dans une zone de changements rapides en raison de l'aménagement urbain. Plus précisément, certaines des menaces qui pèsent sur la gonidée comprennent l'aménagement des zones de basse plage et riveraines, la canalisation des cours d'eau ainsi que la modification et la régulation des caractéristiques hydrographiques. Toutes ces situations ont pour conséquence la fragmentation et la perte de l'habitat résultant de l'aménagement réalisé directement dans l'habitat de l'espèce ou des modifications apportées à l'écosystème. Plusieurs autres menaces pèsent également sur l'espèce, notamment la disponibilité de poissons hôtes pour terminer son cycle vital, la pollution, les dommages directs et les changements climatiques.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Au cours des dernières années, plusieurs réalisations ont contribué à la gestion de la gonidée des Rocheuses. En 2017, un rapport d'étape de cinq ans a été publié suivant la mise en œuvre de plan de gestion pour la période allant de 2011 à 2016. Au cours de cette période, Pêches et Océans Canada et ses partenaires ont comblé les lacunes dans les connaissances sur le cycle biologique de l'espèce, dont l'identification des espèces de poissons hôtes, entrepris des relevés d'abondance des juvéniles et des adultes, et réalisé des études préliminaires sur le recrutement des juvéniles et la qualité de l'habitat. Des efforts considérables ont été déployés simultanément pour inventorier l'habitat littoral potentiel à l'intérieur de l'aire de répartition connue. Une autre activité importante a été la détermination des menaces possibles, dont la disponibilité de poissons hôtes, l'introduction d'espèces envahissantes de plantes et d'animaux aquatiques et la destruction de l'habitat.

Des efforts importants ont été fournis par Pêches et Océans Canada, la province de la Colombie-Britannique et leurs partenaires pour mieux faire connaître l'espèce au public, réduire l'incidence de la destruction de l'habitat et augmenter la participation. Ce résultat est le fruit de l'élaboration et de l'installation de panneaux d'interprétation dans les espaces publics populaires, de la production d'affiches et de la présentation d'exposés. De plus, les emplacements connus de la gonidée des Rocheuses ont été intégrés à la planification de l'utilisation des terres – comme le Protocole relatif aux basses plages des grands lacs de la région de l'Okanagan, l'outil de gestion de l'eau et des poissons dans la rivière Okanagan et le plan de traitement de l'office des eaux du bassin de l'Okanagan visant à labourer le myriophylle en épi avec un motoculteur – pour appuyer l'atténuation des menaces et la protection de l'utilisation des terres.

Ce travail contribue à la gestion de l'espèce, comble les lacunes dans les connaissances et fournit le cadre de la surveillance de l'habitat et de la population.

Cette espèce est protégée en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP). On envisage actuellement de l'inscrire comme espèce en voie de disparition en vertu de la LEP. De plus amples renseignements sur la LEP, y compris comment elle protège chaque espèce, sont disponibles dans le Registre public des espèces en péril.

Pour en savoir davantage sur la manière dont cette espèce est protégée par des lois provinciales ou territoriales, consultez les sites Web des provinces et des territoires.

Gonidée des Rocheuses

Mention de la source : Musée canadien de la nature (Ottawa)  Canada

Mention de la source : Musée canadien de la nature (Ottawa) Canada

Nom scientifique : Gonidea angulata
Désignation LEP : Préoccupante, Annexe 1
Désignation COSEPAC : En voie de disparition (novembre 2010)
Région : Colombie-Britannique

Carte de la région

Carte de la région, Colombie britannique

Le saviez-vous?

Les moules d'eau douce jouent un rôle important dans les écosystèmes aquatiques et sont souvent utilisées comme indicateurs de leur santé. Elles filtrent la matière organique dans l'eau et leurs déjections peuvent servir de nourriture aux algues et à d'autres invertébrés. Elles sont aussi connues pour augmenter le contenu en eau et en oxygène dans les sédiments, ce qui profite aux autres espèces vivant dans ces sédiments.

Renseignements connexes